❤ LYN Proton INSPIRA: Owners/Fan Thread V7 ❤, SMART GUYS GET IT! | Got yours yet?

lacteavia
post Jul 4 2011, 02:40 PM

I am thinking of buying an Inspira. Maybe within this month.
Can anyone tell me which type of Ecotint is being used? Raybarrier or Hybrid 4 or Hybrid 6? Or something else?
lacteavia
post Jul 4 2011, 05:52 PM

QUOTE(Rubz77 @ Jul 2 2011, 06:04 PM)

Current promotion options :
1. 5 yr warranty + 4k discount
2. 5 yr warranty + 5 yr free service + low interest

Option 1 does not qualify for 5 yr free service and the interest rate is 3%

Option 2 interest rate are as follows :
2.33% for 5 yr loan period
2.60% for 7 yr loan period
2.80% for 9 yr loan period
Minimum loan for Option 2 is 30k
I must say the above is very informative which even Proton Edar didn't answer me. Credit to Rubz77 for putting this information down.

I have 1 question though, what is the cost like to maintain Inspira up to 100Km mileage (inclusive) if we follow Proton's default maintenance recommendation? Does this amount to RM 4K? I am asking because the promotion states if we go for RM 4K discount, then we are not eligible for the 5 year free service.
lacteavia
post Jul 5 2011, 09:23 AM

QUOTE(Rubz77 @ Jul 4 2011, 06:04 PM)
No worries chief. Just sharing info.
By the way, i was told the 5 yr free service is worth RM3,900.
Thanks again! For a nine year loan, that RM 4K would translate to an additional interest of about RM 1K.
A small value over a period of 9 years, it goes off the mind immediately.

lacteavia
post Jul 5 2011, 09:47 AM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 4 2011, 07:18 PM)
Not really sure, i think it's 4mm. Somebody sayz it worth RM3k...i duno, but it's good enough oready. Don't waste money doing more tints. Better save it for autofoam and sound proofing further, you'll enjoy more. smile.gif
Thanks Matrix! Now, I found poadster post somewhere in the forum stating the following:

EcoTint branded, HB6 (6mil thick) for windows and rear, while "custom" RayBarrier (50% TSER) on front and RayBarrier (60% TSER - Total Solar Energy Reflection) for back.

Well certainly that is very good already. So for sides, we are having VLT of 60% IRR 90%.
For front and back, I suppose it is the 64% TSER for the front which gives us VLT 58% and IRR 97%.
For the back, the 60% TSER gives us VLT 63% and IRR 95%.

If not mistaken JPJ regulation is 70% for side and 75% for front windshield? So this 60% and 58% VLT for sides and front respectively is darker than allowed by the regulation? (I am just thinking of making it a bit darker).
lacteavia
post Jul 5 2011, 11:25 AM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 5 2011, 10:58 AM)
Frankly, i think none of these tints passed the JPJ regulations...even the new tint i've just done for my Savvy..also 5x% VLT....but i dunno maybe you can blame Proton if JPJ saman you....after all, this is default tint from Proton....that's why better than doing our own tint....now can write to Star and blame Proton if JPJ ever saman u. laugh.gif

Here's a good read:
http://www.autoworld.com.my/v2/news/nb_det...D=RT.ATC.CAR.NW

See the specs here already failed the 70% VLT requirement....remember, this is tint level only...add to your glass maybe another 8% VLT loss....sure all failed....

http://www.ecotint.com/p_automotive-solarsecurity.html
http://www.v-kool.com.my/automotive_cat.php

I think as long as your tint isn't totally dark (like some cars i saw on the road...these guys don't give a fcuk...), modified with big oversized spoilers, looks like Ah Beng cars...most likely police/JPJ won't kacau u.

Seriously, this 70% VLT i believe, is made for JPJ to cari makan...they should raise the standard to 50%, a more realistic figure and you still can see the people inside. I mean they can always ask people to roll down windows in road block....if people have intention to ram your road blocks (criminals), Zero tint also they'll ram....
Thanks Matrix. Now that make sense. Typical. They come out with the regulations and the public is not aware. Then they used it against us. Another example would be house renovation. It is difficult to find the specification on the do(s) and the don't(s). Then we were slammed with the authority letters.

BTW, I just found out that JPJ actually specified the following:
The tint for front windscreen is allowed at 70% light penetration while it should be 50% for the rest.
So for Inspira, the windscreen is a little bit dark while the rest is acceptable. But then as you said, it's from Proton anyway.

The Ecotint is considered a good tint, so it would be wasteful to replace the tint with something else.

This post has been edited by lacteavia: Jul 5 2011, 11:38 AM
lacteavia
post Jul 5 2011, 12:18 PM

Is 48% the VLT reading (ILLEGAL) or does it mean it just does not allow 48% of light but 52% can pass through (LEGAL)? Applicable for side only. For front VLT should be 70%.
Important to know for whoever is thinking of adding any 2nd layer which would surely break the so-called law.

This post has been edited by lacteavia: Jul 5 2011, 12:20 PM
lacteavia
post Jul 5 2011, 02:08 PM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 5 2011, 12:53 PM)
Either way also failed...48% VLT failed...52% VLT failed...that's why kepala pusing...LOL.
But I thought 50% VLT (for side) is the so-called regulation from JPJ? 70% for front? So 52% for side should pass because it allows 2% more light than the minimum.

Anyway, just like you said, don't touch anything. The disclaimer is always pointing towards Proton.

Added on July 5, 2011, 2:12 pmI found this LYN through google and I like the discussion Inspira owners are having so far. There are quite a lot of useful information around. It would be more convenient if this information is structured properly. Is that being done or is there a sort of index that newcomers can refer to so that they don't repeat the same question again?

This post has been edited by lacteavia: Jul 5 2011, 02:12 PM
lacteavia
post Jul 5 2011, 04:23 PM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 5 2011, 02:44 PM)
Yes, but the windscreen of the Inspira is Ecotint hybrid 6mil or 4 mil....either one also failed the 70% VLT requirement.

I dun think anyone can structure these information properly...this is a forum, not a Document Management System...lol.
70% VLT requirement is for front windscreen.
50% VLT requirement for side so 52% should pass. I am just referring to Zuladha's original post in regards to 48% reading (by puspakom? LPJ?). But even the 48% reading does not match the Econtint spec. So, yes, confusing. Just stick to whatever Proton delivered then ask them to explain to JPJ.

If no one can structure those information, then it also means everyone should learn how to use the search function lor.

Added on July 5, 2011, 4:26 pm
QUOTE(ubuntu @ Jul 5 2011, 04:11 PM)
Guys, what is the current loan interest rate for 5 years? Does the 2.33% interest rate applicable to loan for 5 years?
Yes, the 2.33% interest rate is only applicable for 5 years. 2.6% for 7 years. I like what Rubz77 has put it:

QUOTE(Rubz77 @ Jul 2 2011, 06:04 PM)
Hmmm...this afternoon I was at the Taman Tun showroom...saw a silver 2.0P with chasis number 91xx. Only the front windscreen is Mitsubishi. Side windows and rear windscreen are Proton.
The sales guy told me the leather seats are Nappa leather. Is that true ?

Current promotion options :
1. 5 yr warranty + 4k discount
2. 5 yr warranty + 5 yr free service + low interest

Option 1 does not qualify for 5 yr free service and the interest rate is 3%

Option 2 interest rate are as follows :
2.33% for 5 yr loan period
2.60% for 7 yr loan period
2.80% for 9 yr loan period
Minimum loan for Option 2 is 30k

Extended warranty is not tied to any insurance companies. It is given by Proton. They will issue a certificate within 2 months of purchase of the car.

Added on July 5, 2011, 4:28 pm
QUOTE(Poadster @ Jul 5 2011, 04:11 PM)
+1million...!!!
and cannot be replaceable with Insurance.

This post has been edited by lacteavia: Jul 5 2011, 04:28 PM
lacteavia
post Jul 5 2011, 04:45 PM

QUOTE(Poadster @ Jul 5 2011, 04:30 PM)
.... only by a newer model...???  blush.gif  blush.gif  blush.gif
That also has to consider how the maintenance fee is like and whether genuine or plastico hmm.gif
lacteavia
post Jul 5 2011, 04:52 PM

QUOTE(Poadster @ Jul 5 2011, 04:40 PM)
"Zul just reminded us our correct priorities in life... Wife's more important than a car..."

Correct-ted it...!!!
Zul reminded us, Poadster touched my heart, oh my inspira wife....I mean inspirational wife, the one and only. I dedicated Inspira to you. Drive it, whatever happened to it, I still sayang you.

lacteavia
post Jul 5 2011, 05:45 PM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 5 2011, 04:59 PM)
QUOTE(XCInspire @ Jul 5 2011, 04:54 PM)
Someone getting cheesy... kekeke...
doh.gif
Hahahaha
Siti Inspira (nothing to do with Honda City).

lacteavia
post Jul 5 2011, 06:13 PM

Does the iPod shuffle comes with bluetooth that we can connect to our Inspira audio system? Otherwise what do you use?
lacteavia
post Jul 5 2011, 06:25 PM

QUOTE(XCInspire @ Jul 5 2011, 06:18 PM)
Plug into the 3.5mm jack.. its in at the front of the HU. Find a 3.5mm male-to-male cable.
Thanks a lot, XC! thumbup.gif
lacteavia
post Jul 9 2011, 08:21 PM

Haahh! I suppose I will be getting my Inspira within the next 2 weeks. I am loving it already. I've just read the V2 thread from pg 1 till pg 100 and I can understand the miserable long wait for the car delivery. I am fortunate that mine would be delivered within 2 weeks. I don't have a long list of what I am gonna enhanced. The rim isn't the best looking but it moves the car and serves that purpose. The body represent the larger look of the car and I just want to ensure the paint look good for a long time. So automatically something like PPS is in my list. Next would be the autofoam for the door. Those are just the two items in my list and that's all about it. Hence my question:

1) Can anyone who has done PPS share with me with your feedback - it is effective and serve the purpose well? Is it a one-time payment or there are some periodical maintenance that we have to pay to ensure effectiveness? Any negative side-efffect in the long run?

2) For the foam, which part of Inspira do you apply it? What are the desirable benefits that you feel you are getting from this exercise? Any negative side-effect in the long run?

I ask because I have never done the above two items for my previous cars so appreciate this sharing of information from lovely and helpful LYN Inspira community.

Many thanks.
lacteavia
post Jul 10 2011, 12:05 AM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 9 2011, 11:09 PM)
PPS still need maintenance every 6 nmonths or so...i think cost around RM180 or so each time..

As for the autofoam, it is best you ask klautofoam....but frankly, i dun like the guy.....PM and SMS him also never reply...look at his youtube video talk also quiet lanci...calling Malaysians stupid...
6 months interval return with a slap of RM 180 approximately? Remind me of termite treatment like a contract. Have fellow Inspirians (Inspira owners) tried other alternatives? SG? Any positive feedback?

Oh. Oh. Calling Malaysians stupid is a no go. I hope he is not Malaysian himself. Thanks Matrix for the pointers. Really appreciate that. Anybody else with other alternatives and feedback?

lacteavia
post Jul 10 2011, 12:58 AM

QUOTE(SothysSaleShop @ Jul 10 2011, 12:34 AM)
I chose SG due to the fact it does not need the regular 6 months "maintenance" back to the shop like PPS, its too much hassle and time consuming for me personally. And SG's upfront cost is slightly cheaper than PPS and minus the regular 6 month maintenance cost, I find SG being more cost effective and less hassle in the long run. The owner of SG is very friendly and their workers are very professional. They even explain to you what they are doing and show you where are the defects in your paint that needs correction.

There are cases where those returned to SG for touch up at accident area (due to re-spray), changed bumpers or even with water marks issues are given FREE follow up service and it takes the SG team about 1-2 hours (depending on complexity of the issue) to do the free service for you.

Please note that SG is not the way to no more car wash, or just spray water and wipe, from my experience you will still need to apply mild shampoo and wash regularly to be truly clean. SG just offer an additional layer of protection so that you do not need to apply wax or polish your car in 5 years. But those have done SG can attest the fact washing is much easier, dirt comes off easier and the shine is superb (if properly maintained).

hope this will help you decide, for I am one happy SG customer.
Your satisfaction does show in your post. Just what I am looking for I believe. So with that layer of protection, SG suppose to keep the shine for the next 5 years if properly maintained? I suppose we must wash the car ourselves then since the car wash usually work out the car treating metal as metal. But I like the idea that if the wash is easy then we would have better quality time with our Inspira bathing together. wink.gif sounds like it. Sothy, pal, I believe your Inspira might have been part of your family for about 6 months by now (I read v2 thread) and the SG effect must still be there doing its job. How about Road Tar or stubborn dirt? Do we need to use Tar Remover (impact on SG?) or that tar would still be easily removed with mild soap? Do you have a website link to SG? Many thanks for your quality sharing. Really appreciate that.

Added on July 10, 2011, 1:03 amEarlier, when I say the car wash usually work out the car treating metal as metal, I mean car wash= car wash shop.

This post has been edited by lacteavia: Jul 10 2011, 01:03 AM
lacteavia
post Jul 11 2011, 09:37 AM

QUOTE(SothysSaleShop @ Jul 10 2011, 10:37 AM)
SierraGlow "SG" http://www.sierraglow.com/ or PPS www.shinenshield.com
Washing the car yourself is a must if you wanna take care of your car properly - no short cuts. Outside car wash do not and will not dedicate much effort to ensure its "correctly" washed. Why do I say this, is because they use the same old/worn cloths from 1 car to another, so imagine how many dirt, sand and dust particles they carry from one car and to another and another and then to yours? This in the long run will scratch the paint, and you see plenty of swirl marks/"spider webs" under proper lighting. It will surely spoil the shine after SG.

So by applying proper washing technique, regular maintenance and use correct tools will ensure your car is well taken care off, and you know it is because its washed by yourself.

So if you are really into doing the wash by yourself after SG, I would recommend that you try

1. Optimum No Rinse Wash & Shine (ONR) - Just rinse your car properly, wash 1 section of the car each time (top 1st then to bottom) with this ONR and then wipe dry, no need to do any rinsing. Its surprisingly cleaner than normal shampooing products, slightly pricier than conventional car shampoo but its well worth it for me. If you want to buy this please PM the seller KC http://forum.lowyat.net/user/344336 for more info.

2. Use 3 Microfiber towels, 1 to wash and 2 to dry, whole car can be washed & dried within 20mins. Towels should be replaced after 3 months of usage.

3. Wash with 2 bucket system, 1 with ONR/shampoo and the other bucket normal water to rinse the towel after washing each section to remove any potential dirt/sand/dust from the towel before proceeding to the next section of your car.

For me using ONR saves time and effort, so with SG and ONR is doubly easy to wash and maintain your car regularly.

As for the tar question, it is a tricky situation to handle, it does stick to the surface on the car even with SG, what you can do is to clay the tar spots and it will come out, if the tar is like a big patch/splash then use the Tar Remover or Optimum Power Clean straight or if you have the time go back to SG, let them handle it for you if you worry about damaging the SG layer, which means probably you have to leave the tar stains there for some time before they have slot to help you, so either DIY or go back to SG. That's why its tricky... laugh.gif
Thanks to Sothy for his detailed information sharing. Really appreciate that. Many thanks!
lacteavia
post Jul 11 2011, 02:17 PM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 10 2011, 11:52 AM)
QUOTE(lacteavia @ Jul 10 2011, 12:58 AM)

But I like the idea that if the wash is easy then we would have better quality time with our Inspira bathing together.
Fuiyo....scary people.....spend more time with your girlfriend lar....not healthy to bath together with your Inspira... whistling.gif
sweat.gif sound like my unker already, liow.
Good advice. Actually I and my girlfriend would spend quality time with the Inspira bathing together. After that I and my girlfriend would spend quality time in the Inspira together.

lacteavia
post Jul 12 2011, 12:07 PM

QUOTE(DM3 @ Jul 12 2011, 11:40 AM)

The drop in sales of the Inspira is one of the reasons analysts are suggesting Proton has a lot to do in persuading buyers of its new car should it go beyond the affordable price range.

“People have more choice with Korean cars being priced within an earshot of what Proton's price range is. With interest rates low, affording a more expensive car is not as difficult as when rates are higher,” said an analyst.

Added on July 12, 2011, 11:40 amthts why lots of good promo now.
.... and I am one of those who grab this promo.
Only time will tell if this promotion can spur the sale. If it isn't then Proton has to understand it is more than the selling package that make the car sell if they want to go beyond affordable range.

I have done a lot of consideration before I finally decided to book an Inspira. Can't really go wrong with this choice and I think it is my smart move. At least for me, I smile when I read the slogan again 'smart guys get it'. For now, I feel that way.... thumbup.gif
lacteavia
post Jul 28 2011, 04:19 PM

For those who just got their Inspira, does it come with the GPS together or you have to collect it later?

0.0245sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:04 AM