SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V7, The ultimate Android super smartphone ??

xyz_cityhunter
post Jul 3 2011, 07:43 PM

238 posts

Went to Queensbay to watch Transformer 3 today and also went to see the road show Maxis put up for the SGS2.... DAMNED~! SGS2 is way thinner that what i expected~! =)
Didn't get to play with it much as there're a lot of people around...
Oh, and also I saw SenQ was doing roadshow there and so i went and ask one of the staff, he say that SenQ will be selling SGS2 by next week with the price of 2049 and with 3 years warranty... =D
xyz_cityhunter
post Jul 3 2011, 07:57 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Jul 3 2011, 07:51 PM)
8.49mm buddy, not even 1cm, not even 8.5mm, it's 8.49mm  rclxms.gif
brows.gif Yeah, just love the screen... I tried to look real close at the screen to look at the individual pixel but the pixels are so damned close together i cannot see the line for the rows and columns... Maybe my sense for this sort of screen still stucked back at 2006 when i got my 1st colour screen phone, can see clear lines of separation of each pixel... shocking.gif Technology sure evolve fast~! rclxms.gif Oh wait, it's already 4 years since then... doh.gif

This post has been edited by xyz_cityhunter: Jul 3 2011, 07:58 PM
xyz_cityhunter
post Jul 4 2011, 12:41 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(aun104 @ Jul 3 2011, 08:57 PM)
Really?? then i might go ask SenQ next week. Thanks for your info.
Well, that's what he told me... unless he want to bull me for what ever reason... shocking.gif

QUOTE(snowcrash @ Jul 3 2011, 09:33 PM)
This guy seems to be selling some.

On a related note, anyone got see GS2 cases with kickstands being sold anywhere here? Something like this:

or

Here's few that i know... Maybe you can try find some ppl which also wish to buy then try bulk ordering to reduce the shipment cost... Not sure i've seen anyone selling this in the Garage Sales... whistling.gif
1. http://www.zenuscase.net/product-29897.html
2. http://www.zenuscase.net/product-29872.html

This post has been edited by xyz_cityhunter: Jul 4 2011, 12:44 AM
xyz_cityhunter
post Jul 4 2011, 03:22 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(eolmanagement @ Jul 4 2011, 01:45 AM)
Somebody said that SenQ will start to sell some where around next week. and they do provide for 3 years waranty ..... is that true?

Then it will be a good news for those who are still waiting for the SGS2 like me.
Well, from what i heard is that they're selling at RM2049, the 3 years warranty would only for those with the PlusOne membership... Without the PlusOne membership i think only the normal 2 years warranty from Samsung... brows.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Jul 4 2011, 10:28 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Jul 4 2011, 09:57 PM)
Monday BLUE? yawn.gif
[attachmentid=2312269][attachmentid=2312271]
How's the performance of the SP? Good in anti-fingerprint?
QUOTE(Jer @ Jul 4 2011, 10:24 PM)
Just received my 32GB Class-10 DNA card today. Managed to transfer some video files, then played them on the default player and they lag! ohmy.gif 
Tried playing the same video file off my phone storage and I got a smooth playback instead. *sadface*
Did you tried to test the Read/Write speed of the card?
xyz_cityhunter
post Jul 4 2011, 10:38 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(Jer @ Jul 4 2011, 10:37 PM)
I'm on lite'ning ROM 1.5. I'm getting 10Mbps R/W speed which is normal. I thought that it was my SD memory card that was faulty.
I thought class 10 card should have 10Mbps for Write speed but Read speed suppose to be higher like 20Mbps...
xyz_cityhunter
post Jul 5 2011, 01:38 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(mryellow19 @ Jul 5 2011, 12:28 AM)
drool.gif Really nice design... Dual color makes it really stands out rclxms.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Jul 5 2011, 01:53 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(gsfeng @ Jul 5 2011, 01:43 AM)
Which kernel I can use to remove the exclamation after i flash to lightning rom?
No connectivity between phone and PC? blink.gif

Maybe you'll need the JIG - http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry40642755

This post has been edited by xyz_cityhunter: Jul 5 2011, 01:58 AM
xyz_cityhunter
post Jul 5 2011, 02:24 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Jul 5 2011, 02:20 AM)
Ya .... Zenus is nice as well , something almost alike
Which model of Zenus?
xyz_cityhunter
post Jul 5 2011, 02:37 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Jul 5 2011, 02:33 AM)
Air Bumper Metallic Series  or Air Bumper Vivid Color Series
Still felt that the SGP looks nicer... laugh.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Jul 5 2011, 02:46 AM

238 posts

Hope to get the phone by end of this month... Donno will go for either Digi or SenQ... icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by xyz_cityhunter: Jul 5 2011, 02:47 AM
xyz_cityhunter
post Jul 6 2011, 02:56 AM

238 posts

Anyone using DNA microSD card here? Want to know about the quality since it is a Malaysia brand... hmm.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Jul 6 2011, 03:09 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(StephLim @ Jul 6 2011, 02:57 AM)
Im new.. any guides here on deals?
You mean to compare the deal from Maxis and the upcoming deal from SenQ?

QUOTE(Xxr0xr0xX @ Jul 6 2011, 02:57 AM)
hmm since now samsung galaxy 2 just launched so can i know how long will it takes for the next 1 to come up? as in like a newer model? usually how often or how long does an android phone come up with newer model? will it be faster or slower compare to iphone?
For phone, you might need to check with all the major cellphone maker as there's no trend to when or how fast they upgrade the hardware. Just look at Samsung themself, now they already announce about an upgraded version of CPU of speed 1.4GHz of SGS2 in Sept this year... Or maybe some other model name for that upgraded version SGS2+? laugh.gif
If compare to iPhone? I would say spec wise, SGS2 would be faster,dual core with higher speed & larger RAM. But those guys at Apple really did a good job at making the iPhone4 really smooth even though it's only single core compared to SGS2 dual core... cool.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Jul 6 2011, 04:23 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Jul 6 2011, 03:56 AM)
Here we r talking about dual-core and Nvdia is coming out with not Quad-core but eight-Core version , supposingly 10times the speed of Telgra 2 and 2x speed of Kal-EL

http://digital.sina.com.hk//news/7/4/1/1064013/1.html

Enjoy our SGSII while it still last tongue.gif
Well, even Intel already developed a 12-core server processor about 3 years ago but till now still not for sales... (Got to know this from a friend working in a firm that's designing server MoBo for Intel)blink.gif
And i dun think they'll launch that right away, they still will have some period for Kal-EL or not it would be a waste for their research money... nod.gif

This post has been edited by xyz_cityhunter: Jul 6 2011, 04:29 AM
xyz_cityhunter
post Jul 6 2011, 03:38 PM

238 posts

Uncle Benny, does the SGS2 only support external memory card which were formatted in FAT32 only? Or other FAT system also compatible, like the new FAT64?
xyz_cityhunter
post Jul 6 2011, 03:52 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jul 6 2011, 03:41 PM)
my SGS 2 still running stock ROM until now.. NO root..

BUT, I'M NOT SATISFIED WITH THE PERFORMANCE OF THIS PHONE!

day by day, it become slower and slower.. become more and more choppy.. can see more checkerboard on web browser, and choppy when i zoom in and out. and few times encounter forced close!!

the fon is quite empty. only angry bird installed.. some pics.. NO MP3, NO VIDEO downloaded inside.. still got very spacious memory (with +8gb memory card).. but why it becoming slower and slower?? only SMSs become accumulated inside.. i mean, ITS A DUO-CORE!  its not even better than a single core iphone 4 in term of smoothness.

do android phone always needed to be rooted and installed custom ROM to run better? sighh.... will do hard reset later.. hope its just some bugs.
Did you clear cache? How long did you use your phone? If it's a hardware defect and get it change 1-to-1 fast... sweat.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Jul 6 2011, 03:59 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jul 6 2011, 03:56 PM)
No ... FAT64 or more commonly known as exFAT is not supported by the OS (Android) at the moment. You may insert cards with other format and the phone will likely to prompt you whether you want to format the SDCard or not.

Under normal circumstances, the 4GB file size should be sufficient. IMHO, I don't think it is such a good idea to watch movies on such a small screen for an extended period of time. Take care of your only pair of eyes folks. But to those who still want to do so ... it is entirely your own prerogative.
cry.gif ... Since i'm getting a 32GB card i was hoping it can support higher then FAT32 so that sometimes can use it as mass storage device to copy some HD movie to friends... Guess that i'll need to get another device for that... Oh, wanted to ask this too, if i'm to connect a portable HDD via the USB-OTG function, that HDD also can supported till FAT32? hmm.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Jul 6 2011, 04:34 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(rayzy22 @ Jul 6 2011, 04:30 PM)
can SGS2 play loss less audio format?what can be use?
Well, it supports Free Lossless Audio Codec (FLAC)... If you want it to support APE or Monkey's Audio then maybe need to find some other player on the market... rolleyes.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Jul 6 2011, 06:04 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(Norazam @ Jul 6 2011, 06:01 PM)
can somebody teach me how to rooted sgs2 step by step. the in the front from xda dev is too complicated to do. i just wanna to root thats all. tq. please.
Go to page 1... doh.gif
xyz_cityhunter
post Jul 7 2011, 02:38 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(Ryutaro @ Jul 7 2011, 02:04 AM)
add me into da list

and i have a question...y it don't have chinese character or pinyin input?
any easy way to solve it or there is samsung firmware update to make S2 have chinese input?

p/s: hope u understand my question^^
Go get Google Pin Yin. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by xyz_cityhunter: Jul 7 2011, 02:44 AM

0.0500sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:59 PM