ARCHIDEX 2011, 30 June - 3 July, Just for info
catpowder
Jul 4 2011, 03:01 PM

I enjoyed this more than Home Dec! Less crowd, no kiasu families pushing around. And some solutions were not available at Home Dec... for example, Bitumen Cellulose Fibre awnings (in contrast to the tacky polycarbonate stuff exhibited all over Home Dec) and a lot of nice claddings and structural materials from big foreign companies  ... I suppose most of these structural things would be 'recommended' by a contractor, but aiya so many contractors in Msia won't know a lot of these things also lor; need a middleman (interior designer/architect) to introduce it into the renovations... but this exhibition was a good chance for a consumer like me to break down that border between professional contacts and the contractor...
ozak
Jul 4 2011, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(catpowder @ Jul 4 2011, 03:01 PM) I enjoyed this more than Home Dec! Less crowd, no kiasu families pushing around. And some solutions were not available at Home Dec... for example, Bitumen Cellulose Fibre awnings (in contrast to the tacky polycarbonate stuff exhibited all over Home Dec) and a lot of nice claddings and structural materials from big foreign companies  ... I suppose most of these structural things would be 'recommended' by a contractor, but aiya so many contractors in Msia won't know a lot of these things also lor; need a middleman (interior designer/architect) to introduce it into the renovations... but this exhibition was a good chance for a consumer like me to break down that border between professional contacts and the contractor...  And you probably have more knowledge than your contractor.  Many contractor or ID will have less knowledge on all this material and structure. And you have a chance to implement on your renovation since you come across it.
sl2007
Jul 4 2011, 09:22 PM

Seriously to say, construction is vast and huge.. They should not be a Jack of all trade in the market...