WTA - Water Heater with PUMP or Just Pump, Low water pressure for bathroom shower

TSGibsonBFG
post Jun 30 2011, 01:55 AM, updated 15y ago

124 posts

guys, need feedback from u as currently having problem wit bathroom shower, old heater unable to use as water pressure too low unable to even get it 'start or turn on'... threrfore wondeirng whether those joven or alpha water heater wit built in pump usable... prefereable low noise or silent version...

thx in advance...
zeese
post Jun 30 2011, 12:33 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

The water heater pump will improve the water flow, definitely.
But if the water pressure is too low, your water shower won't be
as fast as you hope, but definitely much better than without the pump.

Another option is to put water pump at your tank.. I think, this is better because it improves water flow throughout your whole house.

weikee
post Jun 30 2011, 12:44 PM

12,019 posts

If the water flow are weak, build in pump will also make higher noise. Cause not enough fluid.
zheilwane
post Jun 30 2011, 01:00 PM

4,184 posts

Installing a master pump like grundfos would b a better solution. However, if ur house is old and the pipes connection is not strong, you might have some place leaking after installing the pump.
ozak
post Jun 30 2011, 01:06 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jun 30 2011, 01:00 PM)
Installing a master pump like grundfos would b a better solution. However, if ur house is old and the pipes connection is not strong, you might have some place leaking after installing the pump.
Do the pump have a regulator to adjust the desire water pressure?
mingwong
post Jun 30 2011, 01:09 PM

This is the only way.

Water heater with pump is 99% useless, just another gimmick to cheat your money.

Make sure the master(suction) pump water supply is from direct source, i.e., after the water meter. The idea is to suck from the main supply line .

TSGibsonBFG
post Jun 30 2011, 01:13 PM

124 posts

hmmm... besides grundfos... i check from another thread theres hitachi as well as panasonic water pump cost below rm500... and i assume its for whole house... water heater wit pump alr cost more than rm500...

will chk wit hardware shop guys... i should b able to get enough info from harware shop guy rite?

thx agn...
weikee
post Jun 30 2011, 01:45 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(mingwong @ Jun 30 2011, 01:09 PM)
This is the only way.

Water heater with pump is 99% useless, just another gimmick to cheat your money.
Make sure the master(suction) pump water supply is from direct source, i.e., after the water meter. The idea is to suck from the main supply line .
Nope, it does work. My current house using it. Without the pump the water is weak. With pump it improve. It take 1/2 the time to fill up my daughter bath tub when i on the water heater build in pump.

TSGibsonBFG
post Jun 30 2011, 01:54 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 30 2011, 01:45 PM)
Nope, it does work. My current house using it. Without the pump the water is weak. With pump it improve. It take 1/2 the time to fill up my daughter bath tub when i on the water heater build in pump.
hmm.. now lagi confused... whether to go wit water pump or water heater wit pump.. any actual owner or user with experince... apprecaite more feedback... think wil geteither unit this wkend...
weikee
post Jun 30 2011, 01:58 PM

12,019 posts

Center pump, you need to ensure the current pipe condition are good. Cause you risk crack the aged pipe.

Water heater with pump, is easier if your water flow is weak, and only want to use for bath only.

You mention your current water flow are really bad, can't even push on the heater, maybe your house pipe is clog. So with Water heater build in pump may improve some but not major.
kelvyn
post Jun 30 2011, 02:43 PM

3,173 posts

if using the water heater with built-in pump, will be noisy if the incoming supply is not strong. If you supply is good, then will be less noisier
ozak
post Jun 30 2011, 02:44 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(GibsonBFG @ Jun 30 2011, 01:54 PM)
hmm..  now lagi confused... whether to go wit water pump or water heater wit pump..  any actual owner or user with experince...  apprecaite more feedback...  think wil geteither unit this wkend...
I m using water heater with pump for over 10yrs. And currently is a 2nd water heater with pump. More silent n compact. It did improve the pressure but not the type like big shower high pressure.

Water heater with pump will cost you less than rm500. While separate will cost rm500 for the pump and rm300 for the heater. Not yet include the installation.

Another cheaper way is modify the piping to branch out the main pipe direct to your bathroom pipe. Bypass the water tank. Than just use back your old water heater.

Added on June 30, 2011, 2:46 pm
QUOTE(kelvyn @ Jun 30 2011, 02:43 PM)
if using the water heater with built-in pump, will be noisy if the incoming supply is not strong. If you supply is good, then will be less noisier
It just a 10min bath. And new type is more silent and compact.

This post has been edited by ozak: Jun 30 2011, 02:46 PM
zheilwane
post Jun 30 2011, 04:42 PM

4,184 posts

QUOTE(mingwong @ Jun 30 2011, 01:09 PM)
This is the only way.

I think u got the wrong idea. THe master pump should b installed next to your water tank and not from the direct source. THis is bcoz
1) It is illegal
2) If ur direct water is slow, adding a pump is also useless as there is insufficient water to pump
3) If u install at the direct source, it will only boost the water from direct to ur water tank but from water tank to ur shower is still weak. So, there is no boost of water pressure for ur shower.

Added on June 30, 2011, 4:45 pmFIrst, get a professional plumber to check on ur piping, most probably it is clogged.

This post has been edited by zheilwane: Jun 30 2011, 04:45 PM
glamour
post Jun 30 2011, 05:14 PM

Under Cover Police
425 posts

can complain PBA for this problem?
mine below 1 Bar....
luckily i got pump....
my wife house is 4 Bar..without pump...
the water is so strong...
mingwong
post Jun 30 2011, 06:19 PM

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jun 30 2011, 04:42 PM)
I think u got the wrong idea. THe master pump should b installed next to your water tank and not from the direct source. THis is bcoz
1) It is illegal
2) If ur direct water is slow, adding a pump is also useless as there is insufficient water to pump
3) If u install at the direct source, it will only boost the water from direct to ur water tank but from water tank to ur shower is still weak. So, there is no boost of water pressure for ur shower.

Added on June 30, 2011, 4:45 pmFIrst, get a professional plumber to check on ur piping, most probably it is clogged.
Keke. Not wrong idea. I know it is "illegal". Anyway, what is actually LEGAL in Malaysia ? Ask some of your neighbour who use this system is it "illegal" ??? If our government do their duty properly, there won't be any "illegal" event like this. Hehe, good for you pump supplier eh !! icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

If put external pump b4 water tank, might as well don't do anything like this. waste all the money.

Proper legal way, expensive lah. Install an additional big water tank (this act as a 1st reserve tank) and a pump installed after this reserve tank. Pressure in house line drops, this pump kicks in and draw water from this reserve tank. This reserve tank will get fill up slowly after any draw down . With this system, no need any good pump, just any noisy China cheap pump is boleh.

HW-Racer
post Jun 30 2011, 09:36 PM

729 posts

hi Zheilwane, if our pipes connection not strong, do you guys offer any solution ? or remedy work ? how much is the
charges ??
TSGibsonBFG
post Jul 1 2011, 01:20 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 30 2011, 01:45 PM)
hmm.. now lagi confused... whether to go wit water pump or water heater wit pump.. any actual owner or user with experince... apprecaite more feedback... think wil geteither unit this wkend...
HW-Racer
post Jul 1 2011, 10:15 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(GibsonBFG @ Jul 1 2011, 01:20 AM)
hmm..  now lagi confused... whether to go wit water pump or water heater wit pump..  any actual owner or user with experince...  apprecaite more feedback...  think wil geteither unit this wkend...
i heard from a hardware shop got other ways eg. re-connect the water piping to improve the water pressure besides installating water
pump
zheilwane
post Jul 1 2011, 11:39 PM

4,184 posts

yeah, there are ways to improve the water pressure but only slight improvement may b 5%. You can actually get some feedbacks from Forumer REEN YONG. Recently she listened to her plumber, modify her piping to main water, use bigger pipes and only convert to 1/2". Basin taps modify to use PVC pipes for the connection instead of flexible hose. Total cost ard RM 400. Result, not very satisfying, she is now going to spend extra RM 1k+ to buy a grundfos water pump from me. Wasted the RM 400+ that her plumber recommended her to do.

Here is a video of before and after installing a Grundfos CH2-50PC
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0xLScYj9-Bk

This post has been edited by zheilwane: Jul 2 2011, 12:01 AM
vtwl1979
post Sep 9 2011, 11:53 AM

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jul 1 2011, 11:39 PM)
yeah, there are ways to improve the water pressure but only slight improvement may b 5%. You can actually get some feedbacks from Forumer REEN YONG. Recently she listened to her plumber, modify her piping to main water, use bigger pipes and only convert to 1/2". Basin taps modify to use PVC pipes for the connection instead of flexible hose. Total cost ard RM 400. Result, not very satisfying, she is now going to spend extra RM 1k+ to buy a grundfos water pump from me. Wasted the RM 400+ that her plumber recommended her to do.

Here is a video of before and after installing a Grundfos CH2-50PC
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0xLScYj9-Bk
this Grundfos CH2-50PC sufficient for 2 bathroom? my house tangki is located just above my room above the plaster ceiling. if install the pump near the tangki, will it be very noisy until the whole room can hear?

0.0188sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:19 PM