Headphones Headphone Amplifier and DAC Recommendation, portables, desktops, amps, dac, lai

wim1983
post Jun 11 2013, 09:53 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

I got these setup:

Sonic Gear Blue Thunder I
Sennheiser PX 100-II
Sennheiser HD 598
HiVi Swans MW50
HiVi Swans M200MKII

What would you recommend? rclxms.gif Most probably budget around MYR500

Thanks rolleyes.gif
wim1983
post Jun 11 2013, 11:54 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(Leolabs @ Jun 11 2013, 12:39 PM)
Portable or desktop??require build in audio DAC or not?? hmm.gif
hmm? DAC ady got built in audio filter? What mean build in audio DAC? I prefer more flexible, which the DAC can accept any audio source and output back as digital/analog

With DAC mean better SQ, with AMP mean louder right?
wim1983
post Jun 11 2013, 03:50 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(FunnyNinja @ Jun 11 2013, 04:40 PM)
Hi every one,

Need some advise for a sound card here, actually my ass a bit itchy  tongue.gif  and want to make some improvement for my old Edifier C3 2.1 speakers.

i Currently using Mobo : Gigabyte EP45-UD3R, Realtek onboard sound card :

Desktop PC : Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit

Realtek ALC889A codec
High Definition Audio
2/4/5.1/7.1-channel
Support for S/PDIF In/Out
Support for CD In

65% for Movie, especially for the action movie which contain a lot of boom scene.  laugh.gif
25% for Music, MP3 320kbps song, mostly K-Pop song.
10% Game, Dota 2 and some other game like Resident Evil 5/6.

1) Asus Xonar DX
2) CREATIVE SOUND BLASTER X-FI XTREME AUDIO PCI SOUND CARD (SB0790)
2) Creative Audigy2 ZS

Don't know which one to choose  rclxub.gif But the way, is the difference will be large with these sound cards for my Edifier C3 or just slightly improve?
yay, me also wonder, got difference or not? Coz DAC is like analog to digital, since our PC ady come out digital, so it seem like not much filter happen there rolleyes.gif ?
wim1983
post Jun 13 2013, 08:16 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(Leolabs @ Jun 11 2013, 06:01 PM)
Actually is digital to analog.....since your PC is digital,so u need to convert to analog for u to listen.... rclxms.gif
So I need this http://www.jdslabs.com/item.php?fetchitem=48 ????

O2+ODAC Combo???

Anybody got this? Seem attractive? Working? rolleyes.gif
wim1983
post Jun 13 2013, 09:19 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(Leolabs @ Jun 13 2013, 10:13 AM)
I think forumer mrsu do carry them....

Me only carry DIY O2..... blush.gif
Any comments for O2? It's a DAC right? I would like to use it on my PC like this:

USB audio from PC -> O2+ODAC -> Sennheiser HD 598

Is that OK? Also i see from the website not include adapter? converted price is around MYR800+
wim1983
post Jun 13 2013, 02:39 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(Emiya Shirou @ Jun 13 2013, 11:21 AM)
hi FunnyNinja, actually i have a blog that stated the differences after I got a RM150 DAC for my Edifier C3. I even included recordings for reference. Those are just poor recordings using my phone and u will hear more differences close up. here is the link http://casualnfunentertainment.blogspot.co...e-more-fun.html

and bout the improvement part, u will first need to understand what is DAC, amplifier and speaker. In these 3, DAC is at the first of the chain, then amplifier then speaker. So changes u make at the last of the chain seem to be more significant than at the first of the chain. That's why more people tend to be picky and upgrading speaker more than amplifier or DAC. But that does not mean DAC is totally not important at all. The purpose of DAC is to convert ur digital signal back to analog signal as accurate as it's been recorded. The staging effect, the actual sound of bass and treble, the dynamic expression of the singer and separation of all these sound. All these are what DAC mean to do. So upgrading from onboard to RM10k or 100k DAC is to improve these aspects.
WOW 10K ~ 100K shocking.gif

When so much money spend, there is no way to complain about the sound shakehead.gif

DAC -> clean source?
Amplifier -> stable & distortion control for larger volume?
Headphones -> final output to which extent/potential the sound can be?

wim1983
post Jun 13 2013, 03:54 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(Emiya Shirou @ Jun 13 2013, 04:46 PM)
well, if u still gt ur setup wrong, sometimes those spend less than u may seem to be better. mix and match is very important XD

nope, u get it wrong

DAC/cd player => convert digital signal back to analog as accurate as possible, seem not very important but it's actually very important, when u hear the different prices of DAC then u will notice it
amplifier => to amplify the sound, though seem to be easy to say but it involve a whole lot of process by how to introduce as less noise as possible when amplifying the sound, to retain as original as possible to signal without lost of details and so on
headphone/speaker => to reproduce the signal in high, mid, low as accurate as possible

actually DAC chip is available in a lot of electronic stuffs like DVD, CD player, sound card and so on. tat's why expensive cd/dvd player can give better sound quality is also due to the differences in the DAC chip and the designed circuit layout. i always thought that the external DAC should not be called DAC only as it seem to be confusing XD

so if ur source (DAC) signal is already not so good, no matter how expensive are the amplifier or speaker, it still only work with the degraded signal that the DAC produced and unable to produce the sound as it should. my ideal ratio might be 30% DAC, 30% amp, 30% speaker, 10% accessories.
hmm, from PC digital signal = 100% clean, right?

Then DAC convert to analog becomes not so clean if not good DAC?

Of course I understand some tracks even claim to be "LOSELESS", after some comparison it may not be, or even lose to MP3, source is kinda tricky though, coz we may not know the processes gone thorough to come out as "SOURCE"

I think DAC/AMP = money sucker
and SPEAKERS/HEADPHONES = money worth value
wim1983
post Jun 13 2013, 03:58 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(SpringBiscuit @ Jun 13 2013, 04:55 PM)
Decide whether you are going for portable or desktop, AD900x don't require powerful amplifier, well most of AT's doesn't require a powerful amp.
A single E17 can accomplish the job in my opinion.
If around RM500, budgeted wise i will still recommend Fiio E17
I always have a fond on Asus series, don't ask me why =)
I wanna jump in deeper, 1K budget XD,

JDS Labs ODAC + O2

OK ah?
wim1983
post Jun 13 2013, 04:10 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(SpringBiscuit @ Jun 13 2013, 05:00 PM)
Not really, if you have higher end/sensitive headphone, crappy source will be revealed so much at those headphones you are using.
So you need to balance amplifier and headphone for higher end game, sometimes DAC/AMP might cost even more expensive than the headphone, if you are going for full potential sound quality.
When I said source, I mean the digital tracks data, not data after DAC/AMP, for me these filter devices sometime is way too over to spend on, just you need it when your "high-end" headphones is not drived properly doh.gif

In short, it's a business people break into several components for profit, instead of putting all together in one affordable unit.
wim1983
post Jun 13 2013, 04:24 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(SpringBiscuit @ Jun 13 2013, 05:01 PM)
JDS Labs is always a good brand, why not you try out Centrance, currently hottest in US market for their high quality packet USB DAC/AMP combo.
Which model would you recommend?

QUOTE(Emiya Shirou @ Jun 13 2013, 05:14 PM)
wow u totally got it wrong there, as i said DAC chips is in many electronic gadget. and ur pc motherboard onboard audio have the worst type of DAC chip u can imagine. how can ur PC digital signal send to amp if it don't have a DAC chip at all @@
No, you misunderstand, there is no way that I dunno what a DAC is, it simply a device to convert digital to analog (hearable signal into headphones). sweat.gif

Exactly, that's why DAC have great potential to be money sucker, and here we into it rolleyes.gif
wim1983
post Jun 13 2013, 04:37 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jun 13 2013, 05:28 PM)
think of the DAC/amp like the drivetrain of your car.  you can have the most powerful engine (source) and the stickiest tyres (speakers / headphones) on track but without a proper drivetrain to transfer the power from the engine to the tyres, you will not be going any where fast  sweat.gif

by the way, there are plenty of reasonably good DAC/amp combo at reasonable price, do checkout the multiple award winner Audinst HUD-MX1 as well  icon_rolleyes.gif
This one in my eyes too, but availability seem limited in Malaysia

QUOTE(dennisyeoh @ Jun 13 2013, 05:29 PM)
the money of a dac is actually go into the component used and also the design. that is why most people will ask you to try it for yourself to see if the difference is big enough for you to pay that kind of price or not and also if you listen to a 10k dac with a lower end headphone it will not sound any difference with the 1k dac because your headphone will be a bottle neck
Yay, budget wise max I can put 1K, higher than that then not affordable

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Jun 13 2013, 05:37 PM)
DAC and Amps are not money suckers lol. But if your skeptic than fine tongue.gif

if you said pc signal = 100% clean whats the use? its only digital data nothing more, if you convert digital data into analog you think there's not going to be any loss if you use cheap components?

When comparing Fiio E10 blind tested with 10 of my friends each of them could distinguish between PC on board and the fiio e10. Sure better headphone is good, but some people don't want change their headphone and want to get a little extra from their headphone. That's what DAC's and AMP's are for. Comparing my ODAC and Fiio E10 obvious difference in clarity.

if you dont want spend money on it fine...one man's junk is another man's treasure what may seem like money sucker to you is same value to them as your treasured stuff that people may call waste of money also.
You got ODAC and Fiio E10, oh great, can tell which one you prefer?
wim1983
post Jun 13 2013, 04:44 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(dennisyeoh @ Jun 13 2013, 05:40 PM)
the are lots of dac/amp combo you can buy with 1k and so far i see that i can spend 1k on is on the schiit modi and magni search about them trust me is worth a look
Yay, this one I have seen a lot of great reviews it's on par with O2 + ODAC and it's look appear as a pair of elegant beauty

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Jun 13 2013, 05:43 PM)
ODAC definitely beats E10 in DAC section. So much clearer. But if you want an all in one solution E10 is really great. I prefer if over a lot of DAC/AMP in its price range and higher.
hmm, got one quesiton, can I use those all in one DAC + AMP on speakers, e.g. a Swans M200MKII, what I mean is it possible to bypass the amp?
wim1983
post Jun 13 2013, 05:00 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Jun 13 2013, 05:49 PM)
you cant bypass speaker amp unless you mess with the circuitry inside. so you'd usually only use DAC for speakers which im doing now.

PC>ODAC>Splitter> A.Little Dot Amp >AD900x
                              B.Swans M50w
hehe...I got an M50W too (near-field listening)
I got an M200MKII too (pretty satisfy with this even with direct playback and slightly bass removed using EQ in room listening from a distant)

Oh great then, coz my Sennheiser HD 598 does not need an AMP to sound good, just that some tracks I need to hear it louder. I'll narrow down to these 3 most well known combo, decide to buy it separately rclxms.gif :

Audinst: HUD-MX1 (For this one, it's combo? Or what?)
Schiit Modi & Magni
JDS Labs ODAC & O2

wim1983
post Jun 13 2013, 06:14 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jun 13 2013, 06:59 PM)
The Audinst HUD-MX1 is a combo with separate RCA (line out) for powered speakers  nod.gif

I see that's great, that mean if I plug in headphones, I can control amplifier gain, if I want to output to speaker, then no amplify ya?

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jun 13 2013, 06:59 PM)
The Audinst HUD-MX1 is a combo with separate RCA (line out) for powered speakers  nod.gif

If you are considering the Schiit M&M stack, then you should consider the iFi iUSB/iDAC/iCAN trilogy  nod.gif

This one not understand rclxub.gif , can further explain?

This post has been edited by wim1983: Jun 13 2013, 06:14 PM
wim1983
post Jun 13 2013, 08:04 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Jun 13 2013, 09:00 PM)
looking for something fun and not neutral biggrin.gif

imo power conditioning is to reduce noise and also prevent dirty power causing inteference
One more question sifu, did ODAC reduce hiss/noise? Nope, everything will be as it is?
wim1983
post Jun 13 2013, 08:43 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(Emiya Shirou @ Jun 13 2013, 09:29 PM)
fun and not neutral,maybe u can try some japanese DAC XD my friend seem to have a thing for japanese DAC XD he bought the fostex hp-a3 and hp-a8. but i still don't have the chance to try them out yet XD

luckily my DAC don't need usb power conditioning stuffs as it run off LiFePO4 battery power ^^ battery is the best and most stable power source XD although it may not as good as the high end model from Red Wine Audio that also run off battery, but its sufficient for its price tag ^^
actually higher end DAC will be more easy to pick up computer noise. the only way to solve this is to do kernel streaming
Sifu, kernel streaming? What lai d? So in conclustion, ODAC should be able to reduce noise right?
wim1983
post Jun 13 2013, 09:56 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(dennisyeoh @ Jun 13 2013, 09:54 PM)
the first one did not receive lots of good review

the second one is very expensive i would go for higher end schiit dac with that price of that combo beside the looks......hmmmm
I have calculated the price (if buy directly from official website online):

Schiit Modi & Magni + Cable + Shipping = around MYR 870

JDS Labs ODAC & O2 + Power Adapter + Shipping = around MYR 1000

Audinst HUD-MX1 + Shipping = around MYR 750

Most probably I will go for Schiit hmm.gif

wim1983
post Jun 14 2013, 12:05 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Jun 13 2013, 11:13 PM)
thank you noobandroid
oh great, but I plan to buy next month, this month dry money haha, enough eat only, wohoo 1K for DAC/AMP, I am really crazy wub.gif

Got one question, headphone amplifier won't work on passive speakers right? rolleyes.gif
wim1983
post Jun 14 2013, 04:49 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Jun 14 2013, 05:48 PM)
not enough power, but it will never work, you will still need a proper power amp to drive a normal passive speakers.
hmm, mean need a dedicated speaker amp but not headphone amp, correct? rolleyes.gif
wim1983
post Jun 14 2013, 04:51 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Jun 14 2013, 05:49 PM)
yup you are correct
but hoh, I thought I see that the Audinst HUD-MX1 got RCA output oh?

hmm a bit struggle in choosing DAC, the kinds is like rclxub.gif , just so many and I have read through some "godly' DAC, crazy, so exaggerate, just have a look on Centrance DACport, is anybody have deep impression for this DAC as compare to

JDLS Labs ODAC + O2
Schiit Modi + Magni
Audinst MUD-HX1

? rclxms.gif

0.0292sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:42 PM