Hobbies Fishing Thread V9, Let the reels go crazy!

trowachin
post Sep 12 2012, 09:33 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(kayent @ Sep 12 2012, 09:26 AM)
Light spinning. Still considering either UL or L based on my budget.
Din know LYN fishing thread so active one wei...

Kayent... UL is the trend nowdays... hehheh...
trowachin
post Sep 12 2012, 09:58 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Sep 12 2012, 09:52 AM)
I have to agree. With catches getting smaller nowadays, ul setup gives more fun.

Looks like shimano Aldebaran bfs xg is officially launched. Anybody got lubang?
wait till you bring 5lbs line Jurassic Pond and hook one toman and let your shallow spool reel scream like no tomorrow. ohhzem... of course with UL setup you get to cast 2g trout spoons, arm length sized haruan also give satisfying fights...
trowachin
post Sep 12 2012, 10:25 AM

39 posts

vanish 2lbs or powerpro 5lbs is bang for buck nowdays. i used to get 2lbs fireline for UL last time but the price i see nowdays not worth it wei.

somehow got the urge to try out the nanofil for UL setup. am looking high and low for lower lbs if you all know where stock 2, 4, 6lbs pls lemme know smile.gif

it all boils down a lot to rod, technique and basics of fish fighting instead of brutely bringing the fish back to shore.

yup, asian red tail is good on this set up also. but i did it at the natural pond beside J pond on chicken innards... only managed to get asian red tail on UL, hv not hooked an amazonian though...
trowachin
post Sep 12 2012, 10:50 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Sep 12 2012, 10:42 AM)
Best la.. got another ul kaki here.. ss2 said they ordered the lower poundage of Nanofil adi. Dunno when the stock coming in.
confirm kayent gonna join in UL fun soon already... muahahaha...

SS2 that day i asked also for the lower poundage but never gimme confirmation. i was at penang last week and asked tackle shop there they just finished 4lbs sad.gif

nowdays all the 8-16 or 8-20 rods all got cobwebs d...
trowachin
post Sep 12 2012, 11:39 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(wetwetwater @ Sep 12 2012, 11:25 AM)
The major problem with going light is the rods for me. The usual light weight rods come in circa 5.5ft. "Cast-ability" is reduced by much here. Longer rods are out of reach as according to my wallet. LOL!
can always opt for majorcraft rods for UL.

those used for rock fishing, mebaru / Aji / light rock fish / kurodai ...

or Trout fishing...

they have from 5.2 all the way to 9ft to throw 0.8g to 8g... quality good to suppress fights and less worry also...

thinking of upgrading my UL outfit also... any takers for mint and hard to get Solpara?
trowachin
post Sep 13 2012, 09:40 AM

39 posts

what i feel is that, when you are going light, you feel like going lighter,

when you switch to UL, your line, your reel, your lures all also change...

you open more possibilities like throwing flies without a fly rod smile.gif then you will wanna start buying vise, fly tying materials.... endless poison...

then you bring your UL go reefs to play... then you will start all the microjigs, microlures.....

that's when your MH / M setup end up getting cobwebs or goes back into their rod bag, or soon go to tradezone... haha
trowachin
post Sep 13 2012, 11:17 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(1dollar @ Sep 13 2012, 11:03 AM)
nah... don't waste your M & MH rods, its good to cast bigger & heavier lures to catch bigger fish.
a 10kg toman won't be chasing our 2g micro lure or fly tie, its like us eating only 1 grain of rice.
M & MH good to toss twitchin and glidin rap that weighs in bout 20 over grams hehehehe. Magnum lures attract magnum fishes.
not only the M and MH are all in their bags... the halco roostas and fat raps are pilling up in shoe boxes... hahaha...

trowachin
post Sep 13 2012, 11:39 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(1dollar @ Sep 13 2012, 11:22 AM)
bro,
not good to keep like that, dont turn it into mushroom farm wei. come I help you to revive your old stuffs. hihihi... any gloomis rod laying around ka?
i used to be more of a lamiglas fan before moving JDM...
trowachin
post Sep 14 2012, 11:00 AM

39 posts

time to stop fishing rorytate... ready for lunch...
trowachin
post Sep 14 2012, 02:08 PM

39 posts

heard that there's a new freshwater siakap pond rm20 per hour around tmn universiti bukit there. near tiger shark tackle.

feel like going there after work to test water liao...
trowachin
post Sep 14 2012, 02:19 PM

39 posts

it will only wow if rm20 / hour and fish keep biting...

summore i heard that fish less than 2kilos can bring back...

gotta be there to witness and try rather than hearing...
trowachin
post Sep 14 2012, 03:32 PM

39 posts

later after work i will drop by tiger shark to ask for the detail directions. i've heard of that 2 ponds that you are referring to as well but the story i heard yesterday was different. the person was changing single hooks and prepping for the pond opening... heheh...

neeways did some search today on siakap pond fishing... the one at banting there for rm3 seems like a good visit this weekend...
trowachin
post Sep 14 2012, 05:18 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(wetwetwater @ Sep 14 2012, 04:28 PM)
RM3? LOL! Taruk makan! But must buy back at RM15 per KG. Bring extra cash if you plan to go there. The catch maybe a lot!
rm3, fishes small, maybe get 2 fish then can ciao d hahaha...

i see those pictures in pancing.net also they catch a lot... if i go there play spin fly, get one basket, no money pay to go home... hahaha...
trowachin
post Sep 14 2012, 05:37 PM

39 posts

racun

racun...

trowachin
post Sep 15 2012, 04:45 PM

39 posts

Webt serdang rm20 casting... 1 hour i ciao d yesterday. No bite at all. Same place as what bro wetwetwater mentioned just partitioned another pond for casting.

Went natural exotic today morning. Ultralight 5 jelawat 1 labi labi... Where my amazon???

Btw line burst on one of my hookup. Too big to control on my 2-6lbs. Haha... Line burst at my galis 12lbs leader. It must be amazon miao miao...
trowachin
post Sep 15 2012, 07:49 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Sep 15 2012, 07:31 PM)
hmm.. jurassic or exotic tomorrow morning?
the amazons went back amazon d...

hv u tried rm3 siakap pond?
trowachin
post Sep 15 2012, 08:23 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Sep 15 2012, 07:57 PM)

nopes. but i'm a CNR guy.. the prospect of paying for fish that i don't want to take home kinda turn me off...
ya... that's what bugging me now... they said can release back in... maybe catch 2 fishes then ciao d... see how response...
trowachin
post Sep 16 2012, 12:50 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Sep 16 2012, 12:39 PM)
He use another rod n cast to retrieve the lure. The last lure that I lost was because of the snap opening. That also he can manage to retrieve the lure within 5 min.
That one I will do siang siang. Haha..
Got anything?
What time free?
I got one live smolt somewhere near haruan spot... Sad... Another deep x around the water pipe... Din know manager will treble back...

Today rm3 siakap pond nearly all casters debarb single hook. Fish small leh... Not as hot topic like the pancing forum mentioned... Weather is not good though...
trowachin
post Sep 16 2012, 04:08 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Sep 16 2012, 02:33 PM)
I tot live smolt top water
its suspending but when my frayed braided snaps,I watched helplessly as it sunk deeper and deeper
trowachin
post Sep 16 2012, 04:37 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Sep 16 2012, 04:09 PM)
tell me about it. lost my x70 which i'm looking to replace now..  sad.gif
well you can definitely start collecting deep x 200s now if you are keen from redhot 'used' section... plenty of them at surprising price. nearly all of them are vintage...

i have not really tried a x70. i think anglers central got, or wait for next shipment. one of my fav is prop darter. similar to x70 but with prop behind...

so, anyone going to anywhere tomorrow?

0.0464sec    0.41    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:58 PM