Hobbies Fishing Thread V9, Let the reels go crazy!
vioxmonsta
May 25 2012, 07:21 PM

Guys wanna tag along to wild pond 2morow morning? Nvr seen anglers there b4 so far after a few time I visited the area. Mayb kosong ,no fish d la.. but hand itchy wanna try.
This post has been edited by vioxmonsta: May 25 2012, 07:22 PM
vioxmonsta
May 25 2012, 10:48 PM

Somewhere bout sepang, not sure bout toman, but haruan juvenile most prolly ada.. I'll be going early morning 2morrow.
vioxmonsta
May 26 2012, 10:42 AM

Tangan kosong.3- 4 ponds each of them are all atleast 1-2 soccerfield size.few splashs were spotted.. upload the pics later
vioxmonsta
May 26 2012, 05:02 PM

go to rawang exotic pond,u'll just hav to pay rm50 bucks and most probly u able to go home with guni bag full of tilapia (palm size or bigger) within an hour with the right gear settings.
vioxmonsta
May 27 2012, 05:13 PM

Bo bian family day
vioxmonsta
May 28 2012, 02:12 PM

bro rory,do u have a fishing rack at home?i mean after fishing u pack properly and leave aside at your house? ada lobang for rod rack? This post has been edited by vioxmonsta: May 28 2012, 02:13 PM
vioxmonsta
May 28 2012, 04:12 PM

guys need some help..wads d diffs stradic FJ, stradic ci4 thanks.
vioxmonsta
May 29 2012, 05:14 PM

Die la, my daiwa oceano still can't let go..any1 got lobang bo?
vioxmonsta
May 29 2012, 10:14 PM

QUOTE(rorytate @ May 29 2012, 08:40 PM) Bro Viox, A friend bought one at RM380 le. I guess maybe there are quite some options with a little top up to go for Shimano ranges. Consider lower a little more to avoid lot losses as this reel have been in market quite a while  I bought it just not long ago for 400bucks, tot it would be a good price since it's still in unused condition. QUOTE(fookie @ May 29 2012, 08:50 PM) BTW why are you selling this reel away? Bought a saltiga,right after buying the oceano, interested bo bro fookie?btw, u still go Taylor campus to fish This post has been edited by vioxmonsta: May 29 2012, 10:25 PM
vioxmonsta
May 30 2012, 12:02 AM

Sure no prob bro. As long as you Don mind coz my reel line poundage is 40lbs.lol
vioxmonsta
May 30 2012, 12:27 AM

Then okay lo  Btw, wad reel u planning to buy o?
vioxmonsta
May 30 2012, 01:11 AM

QUOTE(fookie @ May 30 2012, 12:43 AM) lol. i wanted to buy a freams J last time. but think think i dont go out sea to fish also. no point owning such big reel. in future maybe i'll buy oceano la. ahahahah. taylors ar. i don't fish there  only haruans.  and need to get permit. Was thinking the same tot, b4 buying also..but at the same time I tot mayb next time can use on BSR Lai buy from me 2years warranty,unused with box n manual book.
vioxmonsta
May 30 2012, 09:58 AM

kuat kuat raining today
vioxmonsta
May 30 2012, 08:28 PM

The gear ratio of a reel indicates how many times the bail arm makes a full 360 degree rotation for each full turn of the reel handle. For example if the reel has a gear ratio of 5:1 that means that the bail arm will travel around the spool 5 times for each full turn of the handle. If the ratio is 4.2:1 then the bail arm revolves around the spool 4.2 times for every single full turn of the reel handle and so on.
Many anglers tend to go for the fastest ratio, believing that faster is better, but this is often not the case. Certainly for high speed spinning, or some jigging applications the ability of the reel to quickly retrieve the lure is important, but in most other forms of fishing high speed is not only not essential, it is in fact undesirable.For example, when finesse fishing with soft plastics, a slower retrieve speed is often more effective in enticing strikes. Attempting to retrieve the lure slowly using a high speed reel is a difficult and sometimes frustrating technique to master.Another disadvantage of high speed reels is that they lack pulling power. They simply lack the grunt when trying to pull large fish up from the deep. And whilst the rod should do most of the work when pulling up fish, a lower gear ratio is definitely an advantage. It’s a bit like trying to ride a bicycle up a step hill in top gear. You end up doing a lot of peddling but not getting anywhere fast, whereas a lower gear would enable you to climb the hill with relative ease.Another point to keep in mind is that a reels gear ratio does not actually indicate the reels retrieve ratio. By that I mean that even though one reel might have a higher gear ratio, another reel with a lower gear ratio might actually retrieve the same length of line for each full turn of the reels handle. This is because the amount of line that is retrieved is dependant on the size of the spool and length of the handle as much as it is dependant on the gear ratio.
To better understand this, imagine a large spinning reel with a long handle and large spool circumference, yet a relatively modest gear ratio of 4.1:1. Now imagine a smaller 1000 size reel with shorter handle and small spool circumference, but with a high speed 6.3:1 gear ratio. You might assume that the smaller reel wuld retrieve line faster, but due to the differences in handle length and spool circumference, it’s possible that both reels would retrieve exactly the same length of line for each full turn of the reel handle.
This post has been edited by vioxmonsta: May 30 2012, 10:27 PM
vioxmonsta
May 30 2012, 10:29 PM

QUOTE(evildonkey @ May 30 2012, 08:42 PM) i'm finding it harder and harder to find right hand retrieve bc...went to digital in puchong today and got a better offer for the curado g for 385 but yet again all lefty...ended up spending on lures...zzzzz btw they are having promotion for duel lures...duel zombie at 18-19bucks and another series (forgot da name de) for 22 but can see memang is damn old stock coz the box addi yellowish. Can wallop their sure catch lures though i got a couple of minnow for 11+ and a popper for 14. Very affordable if you ask me especially for those just started luring like me.... Bro where's this digital tackle in puchong?
vioxmonsta
May 31 2012, 11:38 AM

Bro Rory, need to pau few pieces of hooks from u jor..tackle shop ran out size of the hooks I wanted to buy.