When should I start drinking coconut?

TSWhitePuma
post Jun 28 2011, 10:53 PM, updated 15y ago

44 posts

Hi all, biggrin.gif

My est due is end of Sep, so it is going to be 7 mths pregnancy now.

I did search thru other forum says that if mummy drink more coconut drink is very good for baby but some says v r onli allow to drink 2-3weeks b4 due and some mentioned tat they r taking weekly after 5 mths ...

Can u share with me ur exp.... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by WhitePuma: Jun 28 2011, 10:54 PM
sbux
post Jun 28 2011, 11:51 PM

225 posts

I started taking in my 3rd trimester. One bijik whole fresh coconut 3 times a week without added sugar or ice. Just straight away open, pour water into plastic bag then sip in the car. Within 3 min its gone.

End up, my baby had jaundice also.

My gynae said no harm taking..but she don't see the benefits as well.

I cannot understand why nowadays pregnant ladies drink coconut water like mad but last time, pregnant women have to stay away from coconut water because of the cooling effect.
Syd G
post Jun 29 2011, 12:30 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

I'm curious. What good does it do?

To prevent jaundice?
sbux
post Jun 29 2011, 01:17 AM

225 posts

Yes yes.. Chinese believes it can prevent jaundice. I should say, modern chinese..
phythia79
post Jun 29 2011, 08:49 AM

398 posts

That's what I heard too..but I didn't drink it.
Mommy_2011
post Jun 29 2011, 09:19 AM

28 posts

I also took coconut last time when I was pregnant cos it's meant to make the delivery process more smooth. supposed to be that the baby will come out easily. It really worked for me... And I started taking during my 3rd semester

This post has been edited by Mommy_2011: Jun 29 2011, 09:22 AM
Syd G
post Jun 29 2011, 09:47 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

For delivery purposes, I'd recommend Powerbar instead of coconut water

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
merchant9
post Jun 29 2011, 10:06 AM

628 posts

I took coconut during the last month only about 2 - 3 a week. Coconut is cooling so it is good for us and baby. As you probably know, traditional chinese believe that jaundice is caused by heatiness.

I think you take early is ok also but not sure if the effect last so long until delivery.
qarezma
post Jun 29 2011, 10:53 AM

71 posts

my 1st kid i didnt take it..no jaundice oso..

now during no.2 preggy.. i take once in a while.. but not religiously
in fact i amnot a coconut water drinker at all, technically i started drinking a few weeks ago for the first time in my life

This post has been edited by qarezma: Jun 29 2011, 10:53 AM
phythia79
post Jun 29 2011, 10:57 AM

398 posts

qarezma..you have debunk the myth!
mIssfROGY
post Jun 29 2011, 11:13 AM

2,155 posts

i took it in my 2nd trimester to keep me form feeling too heaty, didnt know it was for jaundice. But my bb got no jaundice and not sure if the coconut helped.
TSWhitePuma
post Jun 29 2011, 08:19 PM

44 posts

Thx for all the sharing ...

I read a forum, one of the mother mentioned, she takes a lot of coconut drink during her pregnancy, her baby has a fair n smooth skin, has any of u hear of tis theory?

Does it apply?

Added on June 29, 2011, 8:21 pm
QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 29 2011, 09:47 AM)
For delivery purposes, I'd recommend Powerbar instead of coconut water

biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Hi Syd G,

I'm jus curious, Wat is Powerbar? Is tis the name of the food or the brand of the food?

U take tis a lot during ur pregnancy? Does it really help?

This post has been edited by WhitePuma: Jun 29 2011, 08:21 PM
Vk888
post Jun 30 2011, 09:54 PM

I drank coconut juice for both pregnancy started from 3rd trimester,,for me is to cool my body down.I love coconut juice, but dare not to drink it at early pregnancy stage coz mom said is too cooling.. Anyway according to my Chinese friends it is to avoid joundice n bb will have smoother skin..according to the Malay coconut juice seller, it's to ease up the delivery process, n my Indian frens mentioned some other benefits but I can't remember... Anyway both pregnancy bb no jaundice , skin no problem.. No harm trying I guess,,,overall take close to due date..
SUSslimey
post Jul 1 2011, 12:26 AM

6,914 posts

jeezzzzzzz

i wonder why people have education nowadays

hearsay wouldn't do you any good
Syd G
post Jul 1 2011, 12:42 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(WhitePuma @ Jun 29 2011, 08:19 PM)
Hi Syd G,

I'm jus curious, Wat is Powerbar? Is tis the name of the food or the brand of the food?

U take tis a lot during ur pregnancy? Does it really help?
Ahahaha.. Powerbar is actually a bar taken by endurance athletes (marathoners, triathletes, climbers) to give them sustained energy. I just love the pun on the tagline wink.gif

I didnt take powerbar during pregnancy, however I did take another brand during delivery. Endured 40 hours labour yo. The next day still had energy to walk around the hospital and joke around with the nurses biggrin.gif

QUOTE(slimey @ Jul 1 2011, 12:26 AM)
jeezzzzzzz

i wonder why people have education nowadays

hearsay wouldn't do you any good
+1

luvjim
post Jul 1 2011, 12:47 PM

to the moon and back
1,036 posts

PowerBar helps in pregnancy? First time hear this.
I took this for few hours hiking activities. laugh.gif
feralee
post Jul 1 2011, 01:01 PM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

QUOTE(sbux @ Jun 29 2011, 01:17 AM)
Yes yes.. Chinese believes it can prevent jaundice. I should say, modern chinese..
My friend said drink goat milk can precent jaundice biggrin.gif
anyone heard of it b4?

Syd G
post Jul 1 2011, 01:46 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(luvjim @ Jul 1 2011, 12:47 PM)
PowerBar helps in pregnancy? First time hear this.
I took this for few hours hiking activities. laugh.gif
It's a joke, yo. Smell the pun wink.gif

wlcling
post Jul 1 2011, 08:41 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

my wife drink coconut but baby come out still kanna jaundice... sweat.gif

but i thought drink coconut is just so that the blood will be clean
hairi.ariff_11
post Jul 1 2011, 08:43 PM

229 posts

what i heard is eating spirulina during pregnant will make the baby more active and no jaundice
VeeJay
post Jul 3 2011, 02:28 PM

3,845 posts

Thus far there is no connection with coconut water and jaundice.

But this is what coconut water bring to your health, hence I feel there is no harm in taking it as part of any nutrition.

Young coconut water has rich source of electrolytes , a natural isotonic, hence prevents dehydration, exhaustion, long long time ago, before modern medicine it has been used as IV drip, and still used in rural areas.

It also contains significant chlorides, potassium and magnesium and not forgetting sodium, sugar and antioxidants as well. Because of this properties, its also used for diarrhea attacks.

Hence its good cause of dietary fiber, manganese, calcium, riboflavin ,Vitamin C, antioxidants and importantly Cytokinins bring various help benefits.

Coconut water also contains high levels of lauric acid, which the body needs to produce monolaurin (fatty acid which fights against fungal, bacteria and virus), that’s the other reason why people do take it during high fever and to improve immune system as well.

It also helps in preventing urinary infections ,reducing kidney stones and relieve of constipation and helps in digestive systems as well, hence its also taken when one has heartburn or feels bloated or gassy stomach.

With all the above benefits, certainty its a good supplement biggrin.gif
rourou
post Jul 4 2011, 08:28 PM

Ho~ Ho~ Ho~
975 posts

my friend's confinement lady actually recommended her to drink coconut water so that the baby when born is not so heaty and easier to take care smile.gif
SSCatalyst
post Jul 12 2011, 08:30 AM

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jul 3 2011, 02:28 PM)
Thus far there is no connection with coconut water and jaundice.

But this is what coconut water bring to your health, hence I feel there is no harm in taking it as part of any nutrition.

Young coconut water has rich source of electrolytes , a natural isotonic, hence prevents dehydration, exhaustion, long long time ago, before modern medicine it has been used as IV drip, and still used in rural areas.

It also contains significant chlorides, potassium and magnesium  and not forgetting sodium, sugar and antioxidants as well. Because of this properties, its also used for diarrhea attacks.

Hence its good cause of  dietary fiber, manganese, calcium, riboflavin ,Vitamin C, antioxidants and importantly Cytokinins bring various help benefits.

Coconut water also contains high levels of lauric acid, which the body needs to produce monolaurin (fatty acid which fights against fungal, bacteria and virus), that’s the other reason why people do take it during high fever and to improve immune system as well.

It also helps in preventing urinary infections ,reducing kidney stones and relieve of constipation and helps in digestive systems as well, hence its also taken when one has heartburn or feels bloated or gassy stomach.

With all the above benefits, certainty its a good supplement  biggrin.gif
Yeah! I sell virgin coconut oil. But before that I did thorough research on coconut and its properties which is very good for our health and beauty. The lauric acid is actually similar to mother's milk so yes, it increases our body imun system as well as the baby. See how good coconut is? From the root to the tips, always have its goodness. Hehe. My dear classmate take it during her pregnancy, first baby and until now no jaundice or whatsoever. Perfectly healthy and adorable. I love her! Hee.. wub.gif So I think drinking the juice also have no harm to you and your baby. Whatever it is, just keep healthy. There's nothing wrong with coconut. If you over drink, you'll pee. That's all. tongue.gif smile.gif

Attached image(s)

0.0435sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:46 PM