Post #7
- Troubleshoot
Post #8
- Accessories for Galaxy S

More detailed specs
Previous threads
Prospective Buyer
Why Samsung Galaxy S?
It is the most successful android smartphone to date for many reasons.
- It has got the big and beautiful Super AMOLED 4inch screen. It is very bright and the colour is rich and vibrant. Outdoor visibility is excellent thanks to the screen technology.
- Gorilla Glass. Like few other devices, the screen uses reinforced glass from Corning. It is the toughest glass to date. Scratch-resistant.
- Big storage. Useful for installing a lot of apps without the need to buy external sdcard. (2GB space to install app plus 13GB for data)
- Slim profile. It is only 9.9mm thick.
- Front facing camera. Can video call using apps like Yahoo Messenger.
- Unobtrusive and not annoying notification system
- Audiophile quality sound output.
- Entertainment friendly. Ability to play a wide range of videos and music
- Can do tv output using 3.5mm headphone jack to rca
- Swype. Don't tap, swype across the keyboard instead!
- And most importantly, "Latest GINGERBREAD 2.3.4 is here!"
Customization:
- Useful widgets. You can see email, sms, missed calls, twitter updates, facebook updates, toggle wifi&3G without opening each app. Each widgets can be moved around the screen to your liking.
- Live wallpaper. IMO, a gimmick but can impress your friends. A lot of these live wallpaper are interactive.
- Choice of launchers. Can choose between LauncherPro, ADW Launcher, GO Launcher Ex, SPB shell and others. See below for more details
Can I have reviews for this smartphone?
There are plenty reviews floating in the internet. Some may be biased, rushed and few may be good. Nothing beats user reviews who have enjoyed the phone for themselves
- GSM Arena
- TechArena
- Trusted Reviews
- PhoneArena
What's in the box?

- Phone
- Charger
- Earphones
- Manuals
- Warranty Card
- Kies CD
What to check before buying?
Tips for those you are going to buy this phone:
1. Check for recovery mode/download mode, more info in the FAQ below.
2. GPS issue is solve in phone manufacture AFTER or on OCTOBER, Check your manufacture date by looking at the battery, insert the battery in the phone at look at the battery. almost at the end of the battery there is a line that have date. EXM: 2010.07.14, make sure this date is on OCTOBER or later.
3. Check IMEI number. Dial *#06# check with the sticker on the box if it is the same number as the phone, and the sticker at the back of the phone whether it is the same also.
4. If you wish to do some tweaking, check if 3 buttons recovery and download mode is present. Refer below.
Why not iphone4?
Samsung Galaxy S certainly goes head to head with iphone4. Both phones have their own strengths and limitations.
- Screen: Galaxy S has bigger and vibrant screen while iphone4 is a lot sharper.
- Glass used is not gorilla glass like in Galaxy S. Thus, easier to crack.
- Build: iphone4 is 0.6mm thinner with unibody metal case. although there may be problem with antenna-gate that galaxy s do not have
- A bit heavier than galaxy s
- Apps: iOS > 500k apps. Android has >250k apps. But both android and iOS has about the same amount of free apps.
- Can video call on 3G network. While iphone needs to be jailbroken first.
- Android can use any bluetooth device to pair with Galaxy S. Not with iphone
- with iphone, cannot see embeddbuied flash in website. Ever!
- Android phones do not need cables to sync, just do it wirelessly using apps like doubletwist or winamp
- With android, can multitasking like on your computer. Can switch to the recent 6 apps by holding down home button. On iphone, only certain apps can run in the background while others are put to sleep.
- And most importantly, can get free angry birds with all levels on android devices!
iOS certainly is more polished overall.
If you dig aesthetics, iphone is better.
If you dig functionality and freedom, android is the way to go
New User
Recommendations for cool apps?
See this Make your Android life easier with these Apps to make your SGS cool
I'd recommend:
- Games: Angry birds, Angry Birds Seasons
- Goggles, Barcode Scanner, Google Shoppper.
- Laputa
- Media: Moboplayer, PlayerPro, Mixzing, TuneWiki, Meridian Player
- Photo: Quickpic, JustPictures!, Floating Image
- Twitter: Plume, Tweetcaster, Official twitter, TweetDeck
- Facebook for Android, FriendCaster for Facebook, Batch Upload to Facebook
- Google Sky Map
- Weather widget: Beautiful Widget, Fancy Widget
- Browser: Opera Mobile 11 - the fastest as of now. see this guide to force desktop view, xScope, Miren Browser, Dolphin HD
- Notes: RTM, Taskos, Color Notes, GTasks
- Messenger: See Below
- SMS: Handcent, GO SMS, Chomp SMS
- GPS: Papago X5, Aura Sygic, NDrive
- Online radio: Hitz.fm http://radiotime.com/station/s_14605/Hitz_FM_929.aspx, XiiaLive Lite
- Islamic Apps: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=41731078 MySolat Prayertimes HD iQuran
- Keyboard: See keyboard reviews
Try googling for top 10 android apps. there are lots of blogs writing about must haves app.
How about games other than Angry Birds?
- There's a huge list of games here
- Also see this forum for a comprehensive guide
Tips
What is so special about TouchWiz interface? Any shortcuts?
It is Samsung's way to differentiate itself from other competitors by providing simple but beautiful interface to work with. There are a few known shortcuts:
- In "Contacts" app, you can swipe right on any of your contact for SMS shortcut!
- If you swipe left, you'll call the person immediately!
- On your puzzle lock screen: If you have unread SMS, you can drag the icon and complete the puzzle to go straight to the message! The same goes with missed calls.
anyone here got lobang of this phone at KL area?
Table of Contents
Post #1
- Smartphone Specifications
- Prospective Buyer
- New User
- Tips
Post #2
- FAQ
- General
- Screen
- Looks and Customizations
- Your Phone and Your PC
- Lag
- Battery
- GPS/WIFI
- Security
- APN for Mobile Internet
Post #3
- Advanced Usage of Galaxy S
- General
- Root
- Custom ROM
- Custom Kernel
- Boot Animations
- Overclock and Undervolting (OC/UV)
- How to use ODIN to Flash
- Going Back
Post #4
Gingerbread Guide
- Flashing DXJV9 or XXJVP
- Flashing Cyanogenmod 7
Post #5
- Eclair/Froyo Guide
Post #6
- Useful Links
Post #7
- Troubleshoot
Post #8
- Accessories for Galaxy S

More detailed specs
Previous threads
Prospective Buyer
Why Samsung Galaxy S?
It is the most successful android smartphone to date for many reasons.
- It has got the big and beautiful Super AMOLED 4inch screen. It is very bright and the colour is rich and vibrant. Outdoor visibility is excellent thanks to the screen technology.
- Gorilla Glass. Like few other devices, the screen uses reinforced glass from Corning. It is the toughest glass to date. Scratch-resistant.
- Big storage. Useful for installing a lot of apps without the need to buy external sdcard. (2GB space to install app plus 13GB for data)
- Slim profile. It is only 9.9mm thick.
- Front facing camera. Can video call using apps like Yahoo Messenger.
- Unobtrusive and not annoying notification system
- Audiophile quality sound output.
- Entertainment friendly. Ability to play a wide range of videos and music
- Can do tv output using 3.5mm headphone jack to rca
- Swype. Don't tap, swype across the keyboard instead!
- And most importantly, "Latest GINGERBREAD 2.3.4 is here!"
Customization:
- Useful widgets. You can see email, sms, missed calls, twitter updates, facebook updates, toggle wifi&3G without opening each app. Each widgets can be moved around the screen to your liking.
- Live wallpaper. IMO, a gimmick but can impress your friends. A lot of these live wallpaper are interactive.
- Choice of launchers. Can choose between LauncherPro, ADW Launcher, GO Launcher Ex, SPB shell and others. See below for more details
Can I have reviews for this smartphone?
There are plenty reviews floating in the internet. Some may be biased, rushed and few may be good. Nothing beats user reviews who have enjoyed the phone for themselves
- GSM Arena
- TechArena
- Trusted Reviews
- PhoneArena
What's in the box?

- Phone
- Charger
- Earphones
- Manuals
- Warranty Card
- Kies CD
What to check before buying?
Tips for those you are going to buy this phone:
1. Check for recovery mode/download mode, more info in the FAQ below.
2. GPS issue is solve in phone manufacture AFTER or on OCTOBER, Check your manufacture date by looking at the battery, insert the battery in the phone at look at the battery. almost at the end of the battery there is a line that have date. EXM: 2010.07.14, make sure this date is on OCTOBER or later.
3. Check IMEI number. Dial *#06# check with the sticker on the box if it is the same number as the phone, and the sticker at the back of the phone whether it is the same also.
4. If you wish to do some tweaking, check if 3 buttons recovery and download mode is present. Refer below.
Why not iphone4?
Samsung Galaxy S certainly goes head to head with iphone4. Both phones have their own strengths and limitations.
- Screen: Galaxy S has bigger and vibrant screen while iphone4 is a lot sharper.
- Glass used is not gorilla glass like in Galaxy S. Thus, easier to crack.
- Build: iphone4 is 0.6mm thinner with unibody metal case. although there may be problem with antenna-gate that galaxy s do not have
- A bit heavier than galaxy s
- Apps: iOS > 500k apps. Android has >250k apps. But both android and iOS has about the same amount of free apps.
- Can video call on 3G network. While iphone needs to be jailbroken first.
- Android can use any bluetooth device to pair with Galaxy S. Not with iphone
- with iphone, cannot see embeddbuied flash in website. Ever!
- Android phones do not need cables to sync, just do it wirelessly using apps like doubletwist or winamp
- With android, can multitasking like on your computer. Can switch to the recent 6 apps by holding down home button. On iphone, only certain apps can run in the background while others are put to sleep.
- And most importantly, can get free angry birds with all levels on android devices!
iOS certainly is more polished overall.
If you dig aesthetics, iphone is better.
If you dig functionality and freedom, android is the way to go
New User
Recommendations for cool apps?
See this Make your Android life easier with these Apps to make your SGS cool
I'd recommend:
- Games: Angry birds, Angry Birds Seasons
- Goggles, Barcode Scanner, Google Shoppper.
- Laputa
- Media: Moboplayer, PlayerPro, Mixzing, TuneWiki, Meridian Player
- Photo: Quickpic, JustPictures!, Floating Image
- Twitter: Plume, Tweetcaster, Official twitter, TweetDeck
- Facebook for Android, FriendCaster for Facebook, Batch Upload to Facebook
- Google Sky Map
- Weather widget: Beautiful Widget, Fancy Widget
- Browser: Opera Mobile 11 - the fastest as of now. see this guide to force desktop view, xScope, Miren Browser, Dolphin HD
- Notes: RTM, Taskos, Color Notes, GTasks
- Messenger: See Below
- SMS: Handcent, GO SMS, Chomp SMS
- GPS: Papago X5, Aura Sygic, NDrive
- Online radio: Hitz.fm http://radiotime.com/station/s_14605/Hitz_FM_929.aspx, XiiaLive Lite
- Islamic Apps: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=41731078 MySolat Prayertimes HD iQuran
- Keyboard: See keyboard reviews
Try googling for top 10 android apps. there are lots of blogs writing about must haves app.
How about games other than Angry Birds?
- There's a huge list of games here
- Also see this forum for a comprehensive guide
Tips
What is so special about TouchWiz interface? Any shortcuts?
It is Samsung's way to differentiate itself from other competitors by providing simple but beautiful interface to work with. There are a few known shortcuts:
- In "Contacts" app, you can swipe right on any of your contact for SMS shortcut!
- If you swipe left, you'll call the person immediately!
- On your puzzle lock screen: If you have unread SMS, you can drag the icon and complete the puzzle to go straight to the message! The same goes with missed calls.
Jul 3 2011, 03:58 PM

0.0295sec