SGS II or IPHONE 4?!, maybe its not appropriate to ask, but...

t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jun 28 2011, 02:10 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

Dear TS, here's my opinion:

1) firstly, iP4 hardware cannot compare with SGS2. SGS2 will gun down iP4 like how a 12 ton lorry crash a Kancil. SGS2 is more or less similar to iP5.

2) 2ndly, iP4 software cannot compare with iOS because iOS is 2 simple with nothing but icons unlike Android where we can have 4D app drawers, sexy widgets and all that.

3) 3rdly, iP4 retails at RM2030 cheapest where as SGS2 retails at RM1990 cheapest. (refer to 1st point)

4) with SGS2, virtually anything can be done vs ip4 which lags to sh1t when u play around with Dreamboard.

5) if you dun understand what I written above plz stick with your iPhone because it matches your simple mind. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by t3chn0m4nc3r: Jun 28 2011, 02:21 PM
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jun 28 2011, 03:13 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(iceman31 @ Jun 28 2011, 02:24 PM)
do you guys really use widgets ?

do you know what is a widget? hmm.gif

QUOTE(un_id @ Jun 28 2011, 02:28 PM)
in my last post:
rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(un_id @ Jun 28 2011, 02:45 PM)
before i got this phone, i was really hope SGS II will be a winner for me, and beat ip4 like i dun have to think twice. haha.. but apparently, not that easy.. well, explore.. explore.. explore.. experiment....  cool2.gif
if you understand all that you will know SGS2 is the clear choice hands down becuz u can make it simple and lag free with customizations. You can also make it super sexy especially when some friends see how fast you can open up a camera app without browsing through a wall of icons or some fancy weather animations when you unlock your phone. There's also this LWP which are basically background bubbles on your normal wallpaper which serves as a 2ndary notification.

With ip4 you are stuck with what you get and yet have to pay extra for it. laugh.gif
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jun 28 2011, 03:45 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 28 2011, 03:22 PM)
Android are for people who want more out of the phone but actually achieve less.  They spend more time customising their phone and less time actually using it for productive purpose. 

Any hardware is only as good as the software that runs on it.  If you want to experience great software, iPong's iTune store is the only place you will not be disappointed and that Android fanboys are jealous of and never admit it.

In the end Apple iPong is a simple devices and "It just Works".

Added on June 28, 2011, 3:26 pm

All Android user can say is how cool their phones customisation look.  Now that is not a bad thing, but when it comes to actual apps, they kind of quiet down.

I have a few questions for you:

1) what do you mean by achieve less?

2) iTunes? Really? Sorry dude, I never got a hang of it. Care to explain?

3) Works? Any phone works but you are claiming iPhone works better?

4) What do you mean by actual apps? iBeer? or any other of those similar useless junk apps?
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jun 28 2011, 03:49 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jun 28 2011, 03:41 PM)
and guys, i'm considering between SGS II and iphone 4 only, not between Android family and iPongs iOS. what matters to me is user experience/capability/reliability of both phones regardless the physical specs. (dunno if i said these right..  biggrin.gif  )... well... yeah..  icon_rolleyes.gif

1st of all you need to elaborate what do you mean by user experience? wall of icons vs widgets can be considered 1 of them. For calling + SMS + typical FB/online I don't think there's any significant difference. Since you have both in hand, why not judge yourself? hmm.gif

t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jun 28 2011, 03:55 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(CELCOM.AXIATA @ Jun 28 2011, 03:47 PM)
android geeks forever fail to realize the importance of user experience.
to them, everything is specs and benchmarks or showing off to their friends what a cool lockscreen they have.
these group of ppl spend a lot of time and effort to change into different icons, fonts, etc.

for example, android geeks will rather choose to buy a cheap satria gti, change the engine, brakes, steering wheel, rims, exhaust to achieve more horsepower.

iphone users will never understand this type of undying love. they will rather drive or sit in the comfortable, smooth engine and luxurious interior of the S-class.
they can't even hear the rumble of the modified satria gti bcos it's so peace and quiet in the cabin.

android phones use their hardware power to achieve things like higher megahertz, dual-core, etc and these are the thgs that makes android geeks reach orgasm.

YOU fail to understand what is a "smartphone".

If specs mean nothing, why Apple delay their iP5 launch to revise their hardware spec?

You think only Android users customize their phones? You phailed. What the heck is jailbreak again? Do you need that for "user experience"? rolleyes.gif

Android phone hardware power? explain HTC Wildfire, Samsung Galaxy 5 or any other <RM900 phones... hmm.gif
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jun 28 2011, 04:03 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jun 28 2011, 03:57 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  i jailbreaked my iphone to get better user experience.  blush.gif

in what term? hmm.gif

BTW, I still don't get what you mean by user experience. Maybe this video can help you:

t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jun 28 2011, 04:25 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 28 2011, 04:19 PM)
Yeah...the one where video doesn't work.  Fm doesn't work yet. And battery drain like running on twin turbo?

any proves? I used Cyanogenmod 7 and no problems so far. Now using Reflex S for the sake of Sense 2.1. whistling.gif

btw, another video:

t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jun 28 2011, 04:26 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 28 2011, 04:23 PM)
Comparing the iPong4 which is 1 year old tech with the SGS2 is not really fair but surprisingly the ipong 4 can still stood up quite well against the SGS2.

refer to the video i posted previously... whistling.gif
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jun 28 2011, 04:30 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(CELCOM.AXIATA @ Jun 28 2011, 04:28 PM)
Hardly suprising. Pretty much expected bcos samseng steals ideas from apple.
Just look at the design which is a half-cooked copycat of iPhone.
Touchwiz is nothing but iOS also.

Mind you, the Touchwiz is just a UI not an OS to be compared to iOS. And do iOS have widgets and notification pull down? rolleyes.gif

t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jun 28 2011, 04:33 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Jun 28 2011, 04:31 PM)
No no no. Only Android geeks customize their phones, remember?

+1 thumbup.gif

I didn't know got this game on Android... blink.gif

This post has been edited by t3chn0m4nc3r: Jun 28 2011, 04:34 PM
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jun 28 2011, 04:58 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 28 2011, 04:56 PM)
I have neither phone but from what I can gather, there is no right or wrong as to which to choose. It's similar to some people who just like good food and don't care how it's being cooked. But others prefer to do the cooking themselves. Both are OK.

There is no wrong in choosing but judging wrongly is wrong. It's like saying 1+1=3. biggrin.gif
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jun 28 2011, 05:03 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(bansai @ Jun 28 2011, 05:01 PM)
hardware build wise, i would prefer the SGS2 as i've seen first hand the glass back of my friends Ip4 crack once he put his phone on the table.

Size wise the SGS2 is just right, but sometimes it kinda feels a lil too thin.

Design wise, ip4 feels more clean and well designed.

Speakers the ip4 wins imo as the position of the speakers on the SGS is kinda preventing me from holding it a certain way.

Battery wise, ip4 atm but SGS2 is picking up after every firmware rev, im up to 17 hours now mod usage.

screen quality, colors SGS2, sharpness ip4, size sgs2

camera, startup ip4, pic quality SGS2

call quality, SGS2 for less call drops

eerr.. what else?

are you sure? unsure.gif

t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jun 28 2011, 05:06 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(bansai @ Jun 28 2011, 05:05 PM)
owned both, albeit the ip4 for a short time.. so yeah, i stick with my comments..

ip4 starts faster than SGS2??? hmm.gif

most of the vids on youtube showed otherwise. Even the demo unit I tested showed otherwise. hmm.gif
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jun 28 2011, 05:11 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(bansai @ Jun 28 2011, 05:07 PM)
i cant say for customization as there is nothing to compare against in the ip4..

Nope, no customization involved. As far as no Superuser icons appeared in the SGS2 app drawer in those vids. hmm.gif
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jun 28 2011, 05:16 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 28 2011, 05:11 PM)
A person who know nothing about technology should pick the iPhone.

You are right on this.

A person who like to get his hands dirty with tinkering should get the Andriod. So both decision is right and there are no wrong.

you are half right on this.

Personally, I prefer the easy way and spend my time doing something else like watching movies or chasing gf LOL

Oh, I spend most of my time with my gf and browsing for a few dates and locations to propose. I don't really spend much time on customizing, just tweaking so that my phone works the way I need and want it to be. smile.gif

Added on June 28, 2011, 5:17 pm
QUOTE(bansai @ Jun 28 2011, 05:14 PM)
oh no, i was saying im not going to compare ios and android customization features. was not referring to the previous comment smile.gif

but really, the only damn thing annoying me bout the SGS2 is the speaker position.. is everyone really okay with it?

With Cydia, the iOS is quite customizable. Just beware of lags.

You mean the phone speaker or the loud speaker? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by t3chn0m4nc3r: Jun 28 2011, 05:17 PM

0.0481sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:29 AM