SGS II or IPHONE 4?!, maybe its not appropriate to ask, but...

:3mushy:3
post Jun 28 2011, 09:58 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

Every once in a while this kind of topic will appear. Practically speaking in terms of raw power of hardware specifications, everyone knows the clear winner. I'm not going deeper into that, since there are many manufacturers out there using Android as their OS in many of their devices at various range of smart phones, while iPhone, there's only one manufacturer.

This brings up an interesting case, the features. My personal opinion, the latest iOS 5, is barely on par with stock Eclair released in 2009. I'm not blatantly siding with Android, but sorry, every time Apple announces something new, I just smirk while thinking shouldn't they have done this sooner? New iOS features is not so new for someone who uses both phones you know smile.gif

AppStore and Market, I like both. In one place, you can get quality items in controlled market, while in the other free market, you may find shitty apps, but you may also find exceptional apps. Take your pick.

Often enough I hear people say, iPhone equals to simplicity, Android if you want freedom. To me it can be both. Android is simple enough by default, and iPhone is not as simple as most people think to newbie, imagine the hassle of transferring file, hint: iTune. Same goes to Android, the need to create specific folders can be troublesome to new users.

SGS2 vs iP4 hardware specs, I don't need to elaborate further.

So it's like:

Hardware : SGS2 1, iP4 0
OS features : SGS2 1, iP4 0
Apps : SGS 2 1, iP4 1
User friendliness : SGS 2 1, iP4 1

Looks like SGS2 4, iP4 2 to me.

Note that I have Android and iOS phones smile.gif
post Jun 28 2011, 10:49 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(CELCOM.AXIATA @ Jun 28 2011, 10:29 AM)
it's one thing to pack every feature but whether the user will get good experience is another different thing.
up til gingerbread with dual proc, all android phones is still laggy and doesn't offer smooth experience.
maybe it needs quad procs. icon_rolleyes.gif
This is where one great advantage of Android comes into play, custom ROM smile.gif Most custom ROMs are geared towards eliminating or tremendously reducing slowdowns or jerkiness, while for iPhone users, it's good it's smooth by default. And you know what comes with totally unrestricted development that can be done by anyone? Rapid innovation, that's one of the reasons why Android features far surpass that of iPhone, not by months, but years ahead. For Iphone 4, it's like you have to live in the house given to you, but for Android, you may not have to live in the house, but who says it's a bad thing?

For the same price range, I would get a phone that is tangibly superior in hardware and features since personal values towards a phone is.... personal smile.gif I'm not getting on my high horse, but admit it, Market is at least as good as AppStore, if not more 'interesting' smile.gif
post Jun 28 2011, 11:37 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Jun 28 2011, 11:16 AM)
for now the question is which OS u preferred? dun even try to compare ip4 and sgs2 specs to justify ur purchase. these 2 models are from different time period. and btw, ip5 is coming out soon this year

in short, do u like simple interface? or do u like to customize everything? if u r lazy and normally go with stock options, take ip4. else take sgs2 for customization. just my 2cents
Why does the bold matter when they are still being sold? It's no different thatn "Xbox360 vs PS2".
post Jun 28 2011, 12:34 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jun 28 2011, 12:27 PM)
but, WIDGETS.  this is what we will never have on iphone! i really like the idea of having widget on the phone screen. its tiring sometimes if we need to launch each of the applications in order just want to view a bit infos on it. but with widget, we can just quickly peep on the apps contents. especially, Emails, Social Networks, News and etc.. Personal Organizer especially! i want an organizer that is always on screen which i can always simply tap on, view and edit.
Behold, the next 'breakthrough' that will revolutionize the mobile world by Apple! laugh.gif

I'm only impressed by the smoothness in iPhone, other factors, they are more or less the same in Android generally. Gaming, surfing and multimedia wise, SGS2 beats iP4 hands down.
post Jun 28 2011, 12:48 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Jun 28 2011, 12:43 PM)
P/S: Still can't believe people are responding to celcom.axiata. The guy's a one-minded troll.
It gets the message across, be it a troll so future viewers who view this thread get the details.

0.0505sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:37 AM