ACCA V7, Global Body for Professional Accountants
Doreamon10
Feb 13 2012, 09:57 PM

I passed my P3, the only paper i sat, 65 marks. Thank God! Added on February 13, 2012, 10:10 pmQUOTE(tzxsean @ Feb 13 2012, 02:03 PM) lol... i failed p7  only got 40 Cheer up! You will definitely pass the next sitting! Gambade! Added on February 13, 2012, 10:15 pmQUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Feb 13 2012, 02:28 PM) Paper Details: F8 INT Aud. & Ass. Result: Pass Mark: 63 Paper Details: P2 INT Corp. Rep. Result: Pass Mark: 71 Paper Details: P3 Bus. Ana. Result: Pass Mark: 82 Never thought I would have done that good for P3, I thought I would have only passed marginally - or worst, failed! And F8 was a real hard paper for me, though everyone was saying it's easy. The only 60+ in my ACCA exams so far. Wow! envy! Added on February 13, 2012, 10:18 pmQUOTE(nothingz @ Feb 13 2012, 03:13 PM) Wow! Congrs! You can kiss ACCA goodbye liao. : ) This post has been edited by Doreamon10: Feb 13 2012, 10:18 PM
Doreamon10
Feb 14 2012, 02:40 PM

QUOTE(hurly @ Feb 14 2012, 03:27 PM) repeat also. failed f8 two times already with some p papers passed. so sad my friends got that F paper cert thing. I don't qualify to get. bro, don't give up! This is ACCA. It is a professional exam. It not only test knowledge but also test our patience, determination and stamina. And do like what nothingz recommended, get your lecturer to review your answers. Sometimes we need another person to show us our weaknesses because we cannot see them, if we can see, we wouldn't have made those mistakes in the first place. Never give up ok? We all can conquer ACCA exams. Cheer up and Jia you!
Doreamon10
Feb 15 2012, 07:24 AM

QUOTE(colleenlee @ Feb 15 2012, 12:58 AM) How to study p3? Last time, i actually gave up on p3 over a month before exam.
For P3, what I did was to make sure I know all the models really well. And then to practise as many questions as possible, get your lecturer to mark them if you have one. Or else, mark them on your own with reference to marking scheme (which shows marks allocation) and answers given. Don't memorise the answers, it does not help because every question is different. Please don't give up. I think, for the P papers, besides studying/preparation, we have to write with close reference to the case scenario given. However, it is easier to be said then done, I spent a great deal of effort in preparing for my P3. But my heart for throbbing so fast in the exam hall, words were jumping up and down on the question papers, I found it hard to calm myself down no matter how hard i tried.
Doreamon10
Feb 17 2012, 02:16 PM

QUOTE(Khor SC @ Feb 17 2012, 10:40 AM) P1-How to pass? A few steps you need to take note.
1.Your answer must be analytical in nature. It means you need to write many impacts/implications of each issue discussed.
2.To write your answer scripts, firstly, you quote (1-2 sentences only) what happen in the case study, then secondly,write the CG principles/rules, then thirdly write the implications. Each issue must be written in just small paragraph. If the allocation of marks for each paragraph is 2 marks, the expected sentences could be 4 sentence (rule of thumb).
3. The allocation of marks is important too. You need to know how to allocate marks according to the "verb" instruction used by Prof.David Campbell. Level 1 & 2 verb = 1 mark, 1 point. Level 3 verb= 1 point, 2 marks.
4. You must able to distinguish the expectation of verb used such as Critically..... and critic, describe and explain. Each verb, the expectation of answer is different.
5. The pattern of Prof David Campbell questions are predictable. Always has 2 parts- the first part is always theory with level 1 or 2 verb and part 2 is application with level 3 verb. You need to spend more time on second part of question.
6. Each case study, the examiner has included many clue words- try to spot "negative implication words" such as None, Not, ignore, warning, against.....or any quotation provided by examiner such as "xxxxxx"
7. Concerning how to study, I teach you and the rest of students who fail the paper, firstly look at the pattern of the questions (could be PYQ or Revision Kit questions) to get a feel. Then, read the CG principles (UK CG code 2010 or Combined Code & SOA rules). Each topic, you have a self reflection, what are the features, advantages, disadvantages & reasoning.
With the above small advice and guide, hope you can pass in next sitting
Khor sc P1 & P3 Lecturer at TAR College Penang
Wow! U should have come in here before the exam last year. Just joking... This post has been edited by Doreamon10: Feb 17 2012, 02:28 PM
Doreamon10
Feb 18 2012, 11:23 PM

QUOTE(Khor SC @ Feb 18 2012, 01:23 PM) All right, I will come back more often to write some useful guides. Due to my tight schedule of teaching load-P1, P3 and P7, I could not promise the frequency of dropping a comment. Anyhow, I try my best..ya..The reason for drop a thread here is to help all the ACCA students regardless where are you from..Feel sad to see some students are helpless and do not know the right exam technique to tackle the questions. Follow my threads, on and off will put up some useful guides for P1, P3 & P7 and as well as F8 audit & assurance (killing paper) Chow. Khor sc Lecturer, TARC Penang Wow! I am really impressed. Thanks! : ) Any P2 lecturer here? I am so scared after attempting on my own a few short questions, ( 5 to 7 marks ). I don't know what the examiner is asking for. : ( This post has been edited by Doreamon10: Feb 18 2012, 11:38 PM