QUOTE(tzxsean @ Dec 8 2011, 12:24 PM)
high growth or medium or growth

is very subjective

not only u need to see ur own market share growth

u'll have to see about the market leader's % as well

and inside the scenario, there will be hint of that

no right no wrong

just need to justify ur answer
I see, didn't know that. I was doing Dec 2010 Q1 - Shoal plc. 40% market share, i analysed as low. But the examiner said it is high....all the time i thought high means > 50%

Thank you for the clarification. Hope tha marker is not that fussy...
YH90
post Dec 8 2011, 11:46 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(Doreamon10 @ Dec 8 2011, 11:39 AM)
I see, didn't know that. I was doing Dec 2010 Q1 - Shoal plc. 40% market share, i analysed as low. But the examiner said it is high....all the time i thought high means > 50%

These concepts are never absolute.

To determine whether market share is high or not actually depends on the company's competitors' market share. Imagine if company A has only 30 market share, but its other 100 competitors only have an average of of 0.7% market share each. Does that constitute as high market share?

If you believe Shoal plc's market share is in your opinion low, justify it rather than just stating whether it is low or high. Especially when the examiner has kind of hinted that the company is in fact high market share, you would have to challenge the facts in the question to prove that your belief that Shoal plc's market share is indeed low.
tzxsean
post Dec 8 2011, 11:51 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Doreamon10 @ Dec 8 2011, 11:39 AM)

if growing or introduction stage

sure high

but if in maturity stage

the growth impossible can be tat high
YH90
post Dec 8 2011, 12:16 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Dec 8 2011, 11:51 AM)
if growing or introduction stage

sure high

but if in maturity stage

the growth impossible can be tat high
It is possible if the company is eating market share off other players. Or if the maturity stage is very near to the decline stage where other players are leaving the market entire. That would provide the company a higher growth rate albeit a lower profit margin.
Doreamon10
post Dec 8 2011, 12:21 PM

88 posts

Good points. I better go read the question again. Thank you guys.
bestyinn
post Dec 8 2011, 02:12 PM

QUOTE(notmycupoftea @ Dec 7 2011, 10:04 PM)
distinct business u mentioned, yes, separate from other business source. it's always like that, when the a business is given incentives and exemptions, it should be separated other business source. so there will be a "aggregate business statutory income".

example:

Adjusted income (Qualifying activities)...........xx
less: Capital Allowance.................................(x)
Statutory income.........................................xx
exemption:
Direct export sales.....................xx
Drop shipment exp. sales...........xx
Local sales.................................xx.............. (x)
Statutory income (Q.A.)...............................xx
Statutory of other business...........................xx
Aggregate business statutory income............xx
-unabsorbed loss.........................................(x)
Net aggregate business SI............................xx

Interest income...........................................xx
Aggregate income........................................xx
less: C/Y business loss................................(x)
........Donation............................................. (x)
Total/Chargeable income..............................xx

and yes, examiner made mistakes tat the total income from the example should be 13.48 but not 16.48.
also, another mistake by examiner is, the B value from the example should be 850 (on the note labelling at right side) but not 750 coz B value is "Annual value of the sales from qualifying activities, ie annual FOB value of direct export and drop shipment export sales plus local sales". but it's funny that examiner used the correct B value to calculate exemptions, just labelled wrongly.

the RPGT part u mentioned, examiner clearly stated tat "withholding of 2% of the total consideration is applicable only if the transaction is partly or wholly in cash. if the transaction is wholly non-cash, withholding does not apply."

this sentence can be found in the article May 2011 "Real Property Gain Tax", at page 9 under the subheading of "Withholding of tax at source".

note:

If the disposer has completed and submitted the form CKHT3 when the consideration consists partly or wholly of money (cash), and he elected for the acquirer not to withhold and remit the whole of the cash or 2% of the total value of the consideration (whichever is the less) to the IRB, then the buyer does not need to withhold the amount even though the consideration consists of cash. The form CKHT3 must be submitted to the IRB within 60 days from the date of disposal by the disposer.

however, if the disposer did not elect for the acquirer not to withhold, then acquirer has to withhold.

let say A (disposer) sold a house to B (acquirer) at RM 500,000. B paid A by shares worth RM 100,000 and the rest by cash RM 400,000.

so the amount to be withheld should be:

2% x RM 500,000(consideration) = RM 10,000 or RM 400,000 (cash paid), whichever is lower.

since RM 10,000 is lower than RM 400,000, RM10,000 is to be withheld and remit to IRB.

2nd example,
A (disposer) sold a house to B (acquirer) at RM 500,000. B paid A by shares worth RM 495,000 and the rest by cash RM 5000.

the amount to be withheld is RM 5000 because the 2% of the consideration is RM 10k which is higher.
thank you notmycutoftea for giving such completely and understandable!
Tuan Muda
post Dec 8 2011, 07:15 PM

19 posts

P5 today is S@*K !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
+h0m@s..
post Dec 8 2011, 07:15 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(Tuan Muda @ Dec 8 2011, 07:15 PM)
what happened??
nothingz
post Dec 8 2011, 07:45 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

today's P5 quite easy lor, just now i don't how to apply that Q2 performance pyramid and what other calculations wanted for Q1 part 2
tzxsean
post Dec 8 2011, 07:58 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Tuan Muda @ Dec 8 2011, 07:15 PM)
QUOTE(nothingz @ Dec 8 2011, 07:45 PM)
today's P5 quite easy lor, just now i don't how to apply that Q2 performance pyramid and what other calculations wanted for Q1 part 2
this p5 is the easiest i seen from alex watt

or maybe even previous examiner

now i just scare the Q1 calculation wrong

dont noe wad to do with this 'government will pay the fixed cost'

q1 is bout maximax, maximin, minimax regret and expected value

performance pyramid is ask u link ur KPI to ur objective (CSF)

q3 n 5 both oso duno much

but i choose 5 n simply write
tzxsean
post Dec 8 2011, 08:06 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

勇气-ACCA版

for those who is on brink of giving up ACCA

Tuan Muda
post Dec 8 2011, 08:07 PM

19 posts

Q3 and Q4 is S@#K and i leave it blank =P
other question is OK =)
Doreamon10
post Dec 8 2011, 09:10 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Dec 8 2011, 09:06 PM)
勇气-ACCA版

Bravo! Thank you!

承诺了讲师不能放弃
我现在非常需要勇气
去面对考试的压力

我希望我的心不要急
好好地说服marker
只要他一个50分肯定

starz92
post Dec 8 2011, 09:12 PM

1,679 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Dec 8 2011, 08:06 PM)
勇气-ACCA版

end result of soon to be acca graduate! lols
too bad i can't read chinese.
tzxsean
post Dec 8 2011, 09:26 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Dec 8 2011, 09:12 PM)
end result of soon to be acca graduate! lols
too bad i can't read chinese.
can google translate mah laugh.gif

Added on December 8, 2011, 10:23 pmi saw 2 extreme opinions on p5

:shocked:

scary

got ppl say june 11 easier than dec 11

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Dec 8 2011, 10:23 PM
nothingz
post Dec 9 2011, 01:19 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

siao la, this time P5 is much easier than June 2011

That Q1, i was thinking, thinking and thinking, what was it trying to ask other than expected value. really couldn't think of minimax, maximax and minimax regret.

but did not expect Performance Pyramid really come out. Last round BS and BB already came out, this time really pyramid. did not know how to apply pyramid, sad......
tzxsean
post Dec 9 2011, 01:26 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Dec 9 2011, 01:19 AM)
siao la, this time P5 is much easier than June 2011

That Q1, i was thinking, thinking and thinking, what was it trying to ask other than expected value.  really couldn't think of minimax, maximax and minimax regret.

but did not expect Performance Pyramid really come out. Last round BS and BB already came out, this time really pyramid. did not know how to apply pyramid, sad......
q4
can use building block again
improvement on reward system
use Dimension, Standard and Reward laugh.gif
nothingz
post Dec 9 2011, 01:34 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Dec 9 2011, 01:26 AM)
q4
can use building block again
improvement on reward system
use Dimension, Standard and Reward  laugh.gif
ya, i did not quote directly but used those contents. again wasted too much time on Q1. couldn't think that Alex Watt will make our life so much easier by examining us reward system and JIT
tzxsean
post Dec 9 2011, 01:46 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Dec 9 2011, 01:34 AM)
ya, i did not quote directly but used those contents. again wasted too much time on Q1. couldn't think that Alex Watt will make our life so much easier by examining us reward system and JIT
q5 not easy leh

the whole scenario i only use 1 sentence as information nia

duno how to link to standard costing system and etc oso ... hope Q1 2 n 4 can get 50 marks
nothingz
post Dec 9 2011, 08:58 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

hahaha, i think my P5 also tapao already. P7 should be ok. You get ready for your P3, remember to think like a businessman and try to bullsh*t as much as you can

125 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0573sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:57 PM