Acer ICONIA A500 Official Thread V1, ICS OTA is now available!!!

Vail
post Sep 20 2011, 02:36 AM

LightHazeOfficial
904 posts

new user here

anyone having little lags when using default launcher? especially when browsing apps ?

i was on Taboonay custom ROM.. switched to HoneyVillain and still encountered same stuff.

O.C to 1.5 then using ADWLauncher...the lag gone edi..
Vail
post Oct 5 2011, 05:54 AM

LightHazeOfficial
904 posts

Thor Transformer Revolver 3.5.2 Port v5 is out
Using New Thor Kernel 3.7

CODE

http://www.tegraowners.com/

P/S: You cant find this at xda wub.gif
Vail
post Oct 5 2011, 09:52 PM

LightHazeOfficial
904 posts

Taboonay 2.1b not so good in term of what?

Try use Thor ROM Revolver v5. Stable and fast.
O.C to 1.6 and no problem with battery life nor overheating.
Vail
post Oct 6 2011, 04:25 PM

LightHazeOfficial
904 posts

very laggy?

using stock launcher i assume?

On my experience, all stock launcher no matter what version, lag will be there

O.C to 1.5Ghz and use ADW Ex Launcher, and u see it scroll butter smooth wub.gif
Vail
post Oct 8 2011, 12:41 PM

LightHazeOfficial
904 posts

QUOTE(LiMcZ @ Oct 6 2011, 04:34 PM)
Dun understand??
I install it thru cwm recovery wo,
I wipe factory data,wipe cache and David,
Then install it thru SD card.

Can it be o.c? Won't dmg the processor??
I meant mostly all stock launcher is kinda laggy.

After you flash as u mentioned in ur steps, Install ADW Launcher Ex. *get it from apktop or mobilism*

Then press ur home button twice and select it to enable it instead of using the stock launcher.

To overclock, make sure ur on custom ROM with custom Kernel. For example Thor Kernel 3.7

Download SetCPU and set it to 1.5Ghz.

Do a benchmarking test and you will see its like 2x faster than your stock ROM.

wub.gif

Ill post my Quadrant Score later.
Vail
post Oct 8 2011, 02:37 PM

LightHazeOfficial
904 posts

what tips you want lol.

it wont break ur iconia. Just dont set it to max good liao if u want to be on safe side

Max O.C for Iconia should be 1.6+.

Running on 1.5 is stable and no heating issues. Battery life using Revolver ROM is good.
Vail
post Oct 8 2011, 04:43 PM

LightHazeOfficial
904 posts

Taboonay is fast if O.C

For me, the best ROM for iconia right now is Taboonay 2.1b cause its based on Acer 3.2 stock ROM

But if u want something different, go for Revolver ROM (which im using now)

For GPS issues, after flashing new ROM, apply crypted GPS patch for iconia a500.

If u test using GPS + app, you will be able to lock into 8-11 satellites in 10 sec.

I tested it also using Sygic Aura, and able to lock into signal less than 5 sec on normal road =].

Vail
post Oct 11 2011, 03:04 PM

LightHazeOfficial
904 posts

3G?

the W500 also got 3G btw. The only that differentiate em is one on Windows and the other on Android.

The promotion at LYP is from acer or other retail shop?
Vail
post Oct 11 2011, 08:21 PM

LightHazeOfficial
904 posts

QUOTE(piumiu @ Oct 11 2011, 04:23 PM)
1650 mah only? Why samsung tab 10.1 is 6000mah and only 9 hours.
How long you all are getting for normal wifi browsing.
1650?

Iconia A500 running on Standard battery, Li-Po 3260 mAh.

Never really check how long my iconia last, cause i bring college for 6- 8 hours standard usage browsing, light gaming, music and still left around 30-40%.

QUOTE(mrlonely78 @ Oct 11 2011, 05:05 PM)
guys,

my cpu cant overclock to more than 14xx, if i go to 15xx then it will restart and freeze sometime.

can someone share how u guys overclock it to 1.5ghz

i use setcpu purchased version as well as cpumaster free version.

thanks.
What ROM are you on and what kernel are you using?

Vail
post Oct 12 2011, 05:53 PM

LightHazeOfficial
904 posts

QUOTE(mrlonely78 @ Oct 11 2011, 10:54 PM)
im using revolver rom with 3.7 thor kernel.

thanks.
Do a full app+data backup usin titanium backup pro

Then wipe ur device through CWM

Flash revolver v8 and flash thor kernel v3.8

Use SetCPU to set to 1.5Ghz

Let us know the result

P/S : If ur device restart, that probably because u under volt it. If u did, set the voltage back to normal.

QUOTE(Ask_Yip @ Oct 12 2011, 01:36 PM)
Already.

Update Apps no problem, but got problem when downloading new apps, kinda weird... blink.gif
Market Bug.

Download and install Market v3.1.5 and try use that.

This post has been edited by Vail: Oct 12 2011, 05:54 PM
Vail
post Oct 12 2011, 10:30 PM

LightHazeOfficial
904 posts

Let us know whether it fixed ur market issue.
Vail
post Oct 13 2011, 07:55 PM

LightHazeOfficial
904 posts

QUOTE(mrlonely78 @ Oct 13 2011, 12:39 PM)
one more thing here guys, im on revolver v8 and thor kernel 3.8, my device keep rebooting infinitely. even press shutdown, it will shutdown but then after a sec it will wake up by itself and then reboot and reboot.

dont know why.

any advise? i not yet overclock it, need to settle this problem first. thanks.
did u undervolt it?

Mind telling me the steps what u did when u flashed em both?

QUOTE(Ask_Yip @ Oct 13 2011, 02:52 PM)
Oh yeah, soft reset doesn't help~

Google don't like me I believe... sad.gif
Ill check on that issue and see how it can be fixed
Vail
post Oct 14 2011, 12:57 PM

LightHazeOfficial
904 posts

Your setcpu, did it have any profiles set up?

Just check under Set CPU > Profiles

And can you take screenshot under your SetCPU > Voltages?

Added on October 14, 2011, 1:04 pmand i know u didnt touch the setcpu settings, i just wanna see those parts...

btw, for thor kernel, there is two type of 3.8, which one did u choose?

This post has been edited by Vail: Oct 14 2011, 01:04 PM
Vail
post Oct 14 2011, 03:35 PM

LightHazeOfficial
904 posts

QUOTE(Ask_Yip @ Oct 13 2011, 02:52 PM)
Oh yeah, soft reset doesn't help~

Google don't like me I believe... sad.gif
i believe if you use latest market 3.2.0 it will fix the issue

Follow these steps

1. Open Titanium Backup
2. Find your "Market" at Backup/Restore section
3. Tap on your Market and tap Un-install!

Now download Market 3.2.0 from link below

The file name called Vending.apk
CODE

http://www.mediafire.com/?17zcfk113ufve75

Use ES File Explorer ( Make sure it have root permission, Go to Setting, Check Root Explorer, Check Mount File System)

Now follow these steps below

1. Copy Vending.apk that you have just downloaded
2. Browse to system/app
3. Paste Vending.apk (Overwrite if necessary)
4. Long press Vending.apk and go to properties
5. Set permission like below

Reboot your iconia

Now test your market and let me know if it works.

Vail
post Oct 14 2011, 06:05 PM

LightHazeOfficial
904 posts

Well, if it heats up and reboots must be O.C issue.

If it just keep rebooting, most probably UV issue. Means ur processor not getting enuf voltage.

Someone correct me if im wrong

Im not sure how to solve your problem, but try these steps

1. Download Taboonay 2.1
http://vache-android.com/v1/download.php?fileID=97

2. Download Taboonay 2.2 Update
http://vache-android.com/v1/download.php?fileID=113

3.Go to CWM
wipe data/factory reset
wipe cache partition
Advanced > Wipe Dalvik Cache

4. Flash Taboonay 2.1

5. Boot up and configure your settings first. E.g Google account.
(Didnt recommend to directly flash 2.2 over 2.1 cause last time i got stuck in bootloop)

6. Reboot to recovery mode again.

7. Flash Taboonay 2.2 Update

8. Boot up and see whether you having same problems. Dont install SetCPU yet. Play with this clean ROM for while and let me know how is it.

Dont flash any custom kernel for now. Leave it for now. We proceed once everything is smooth.
Vail
post Oct 15 2011, 01:02 PM

LightHazeOfficial
904 posts

QUOTE(mrlonely78 @ Oct 15 2011, 11:53 AM)
Vail,

After i follow guide from xda on how to recover from 3.2 back to 3.01, i found this.

1) my iconia dont like thor kernel smile.gif

Here is my observation.

I run acer recovery, then flash back the 3.01 rom. then from there, rooted and install cwm. from there, i maintain at 3.01 then see if the shutdown problem is still there, i found none. my tablet keep sleep without shutdown, from 2am till 4am.

then, i continue with flashing rom 3.2 using lightspeed rom, and its working fine, no problem, shutdown problem not there. sleep working fine. i leave it until 6am.

then, i start flash kernel 3.8 thor. no wipe anything, just flash stock 3.8 thor. then shutdown problem start. when i sleep, it goes shutdown.

so it looks like that the 3.8 kernel not suited to my device, i dont know.

so what im going to do is to redo all the steps again but not flash the 3.8 kernel, just maintain with default lightspeed kernel.

i will try to observe from there after this.

thanks.
yeah i figured that thats why at the end told ya not to flash any custom kernel wub.gif

Have u tried thor kernel 3.8 the rest version? not stock one..

anyway, wait until richardtrip releases new kernel (3.6 got lots people having issues with it).
if u want u can go for his v3.4 kernel

CODE

http://xda.richardtrip.org/Acer/a500/kernel/

Vail
post Oct 16 2011, 02:17 AM

LightHazeOfficial
904 posts

Btw what 3G USB modem ur using? Thinking of getting one.

Does it have overheating issue when plugged in too long?(i meant the modem not tablet)

Vail
post Oct 17 2011, 01:08 AM

LightHazeOfficial
904 posts

i saw this guy post at xda he modded his iconia rom with latest tegra drivers
he manage to boost his device 10-15%. antutu benchmarking reaches 9k+

dunno is real or not but im trying to dig more into this
Vail
post Oct 18 2011, 01:44 AM

LightHazeOfficial
904 posts

Thor has released his own ROM. Not porting revolver from gnufabio based transformer ROM

Thor A500 Rom v9r3

Based on Asus HC3.2.1 and Acer HC3.2

Features
    Thor Kernel 3.8r3 included
    Deodexed
    Zipaligned
    216-1200MHz default
    Acer Sync, SocialJogger, Zinio Reader, Drive Mount
    Toshiba media player
    Games(NFS Shift, SimCity Deluxe)
  ro.carrier=wifi-only is set by default, comment it if you need mobile data menus….
    midnight-commander aka mc is included…
    Supernote and Asus WebStorage apps from Asus
    google music 3.01
    acer voice recorder
    my old 3g scripts that work with my zte modem
    Added iwconfig, now you can use the app WiFi TXpower to reduce wifi battery drain
    Tiamat custom quickbar
    my custom menu settings specific to this rom
    fixed statusbar toggler(needs usb debugger)
    fixed rom not booting after wipe or fresh install
    r3: added russian translation(thanks Rsoft_Andrey for the translation)
The best feature i like is the Tools added in Settings. Its like Tabootools on taboonay where you can O.C without using SetCPU or other O.C Tools

Download
CODE

http://www.tegraowners.com/?p=1188

Quadrant Score without O.C = 2.8k
Quadrant Score O.C to 1.6 = 4.6k

Vail
post Oct 18 2011, 03:20 PM

LightHazeOfficial
904 posts

Lag always there with stock launcher.

Use ADW Launcher Ex and O.C to 1.4+ ..buttersmooth

GPS no issue. To improve GPS lock, u can apply AGPS patch by crypted to improve max GPS Lock (default 4).

0.0391sec    1.07    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:49 AM