going for a road trip on weekend, will test it smile.gif
wiNd
post Sep 18 2011, 03:48 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

some random PnS NEX5N shots

-quality FINE, straight JPEG output
-iAuto mode and some Aperture Priority mode
-no post processing/editing (just resize to 800x532 @ Photoshop, save as Very High JPEG)

my feedback :
-very light camera and suitable for traveling
-shooting is fun and very easy with this camera (aka Point and Shoot and Tilting LCD)
-no hassles in low light environment (with iAuto mode or Handheld Twilight Mode / Good Lowlight ISO performance)
-viewing the LCD under direct sunlight is challenging
-touch screen focus is always helpful
-video recording is easy (and clicking noise? not an issue in standard ambient/atmospheric environment unless u wanna shake/dance with ur cam)

video sample :

This post has been edited by wiNd: Sep 18 2011, 04:18 PM
wiNd
post Sep 18 2011, 05:13 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(davinci_maggie @ Sep 18 2011, 05:10 PM)
HAHA i like the no.5 - return the NEX5N right now.

ask around puchong & mv area (beside sony), no stock yet on NEX5N.
suppose want to buy it on fri/sat. unfortunely d store tat Wind's recommended dint have any white colour.
my bad..cos dint call up to check d colour earlier.  doh.gif
so will wait till next sat to buy it.  sad.gif
yeah, u will need to inform them earlier else they'll assume its BLACK biggrin.gif

Added on September 18, 2011, 5:25 pm
QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Sep 18 2011, 04:44 PM)
WiND: the night shot look very clean! like itttt
yeah, the night shots r quite good.

no hassles at all with Handheld Twilight mode smile.gif

This post has been edited by wiNd: Sep 18 2011, 05:25 PM
wiNd
post Sep 18 2011, 08:59 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(Zicron @ Sep 18 2011, 08:14 PM)
wiNd: When viewing under sunlight, u can change the lcd brightness, or set it to auto
ic, thanks for the tip.

previously i've set to MANUAL and put lowest brightness. (save battery??) rolleyes.gif

i'll try AUTO next time
wiNd
post Sep 18 2011, 10:16 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Sep 18 2011, 09:45 PM)
C.Garrard: Sony is aware that we need pancakes for the NEX system.

The latest Sony ENX lens roadmap shows the three upcoming new lenses, the G standard zoom, the die angle zoom and mid telephoto lens. Those are lenses that will appeal consumers more than enthusiast or professionists. But I am still hoping Sony will also announce some fast lens and panckes as soon as possible. Carl Garrard has a small talk with Sony and told them: “I let Sony know there is a big desire for smaller lenses for the NEX system, and in the end of that conversation I came to the conclusion that it’s not like they aren’t aware of this desire/need. I was told that their lens engineers are at full throttle trying to keep up with designing lenses for both the Alpha and NEX systems. “That’s fine” I said, “But the consumer wants smaller lenses now- maybe Sony ought to think about prioritizing that demand” I added.” (Source: Dpreview forum).
good news smile.gif lets hope for more pancake lenses thumbup.gif
wiNd
post Sep 19 2011, 11:11 AM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(Futurisco @ Sep 19 2011, 10:46 AM)
QUOTE(wiNd @ Sep 18 2011, 05:13 PM)

yeah, u will need to inform them earlier else they'll assume its BLACK  biggrin.gif
Hi wiNd,

Thanks for your "lobang". I managed to get my cam but black too, wanted white.
No choice, cant wait liao!

This camera is too awesome!
enjoy ur new toy! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by wiNd: Sep 19 2011, 11:11 AM
wiNd
post Sep 20 2011, 10:51 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Sep 20 2011, 10:38 PM)
just got myself the 5N-D hours ago. wanted to go for black somehow white looks somewhat less dull.

currently charging it. will update on the clicking noise tomorrow.

thanks to bro wiNd for the recommendation.
np bro

btw, white looks cool! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by wiNd: Sep 20 2011, 10:54 PM
wiNd
post Sep 20 2011, 11:00 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Sep 20 2011, 10:58 PM)
btw guys, where your C3s and 5Ns were made in? mine is Thailand. my good ol' A300 was made in Japan.
same Thailand.

and we're getting the 50i/50p unit (compared to US 60i/60p) for video/tv standard
wiNd
post Sep 21 2011, 12:27 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Sep 21 2011, 12:19 PM)
just registered the 5N's warranty and the default is a year but do give Sony a call to get it extended to 18 months.

will be attending Oktoberfest this weekend and gonna utilise the 5N to the max. coming from a old A300, the controls on the 5N are pretty hard to get used to, esp without the control dial for shooting modes and dedicated ISO buttons with now everything on the touchscreen.
same here, from DSLR to EVIL

after afew days of shooting, you will be familiar with the buttons/menus... biggrin.gif and you can customize the 3 buttons for P/A/S/M modes (ISO, EFFECTS or EV+/-)
wiNd
post Sep 22 2011, 11:04 AM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

shot some videos with the NEX5N, no edit...enjoy! smile.gif

wiNd
post Sep 22 2011, 11:13 AM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Sep 22 2011, 11:10 AM)
wind, Kelana Jaya LRT station ? tongue.gif
haha yup
wiNd
post Sep 22 2011, 12:09 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Sep 22 2011, 12:07 PM)
@wiNd:

i don't think the clicking noise is present in any of the videos?
nope, if u shoot and pan in a correct way

just dont shake your camera like an aerosol can biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by wiNd: Sep 22 2011, 12:12 PM
wiNd
post Sep 22 2011, 04:28 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

there's a WIND NOISE REDUCTION option, but not sure how good is it.

anyway, if some1 is serious about video shooting, they should invest in an external microphone (with better, crisp and clear audio capture)

This post has been edited by wiNd: Sep 22 2011, 04:29 PM
wiNd
post Sep 22 2011, 05:45 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(axii @ Sep 22 2011, 05:32 PM)
The clicking noise will only be apparent in a calm and quiet area, amplified by the processors dynamic boost. In noisy areas (everywhere else), you won't be able to hear it, even if you do, very low.

Wind, you think you can go to a noisy area and give the cam a vigorous shake while recording?
there will be "clicking noise" if u shake it, doesnt matter quiet or noisy environment

same for other cameras, like 550D and GF3 (may be lens, etc)

This post has been edited by wiNd: Sep 22 2011, 05:47 PM
wiNd
post Sep 23 2011, 04:16 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(davinci_maggie @ Sep 23 2011, 03:27 PM)
yaya got silver colour ..kelly show me d silver also...
haha but i like white more. tongue.gif
ohhh guys..ask ask.. i wan to buy an extra 8gb memory card.. where can get cheaper?
ss2 offer rm80+
congrats maggie on your new white NEX5N rclxms.gif

i wanna sell my original Sony 8gb SDHC card (brand new)...u interested? pm me smile.gif
wiNd
post Sep 23 2011, 04:23 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

was at Sony Style Curve, they have the EVF for display d...RM999 (retail price) rolleyes.gif

wiNd
post Sep 24 2011, 10:38 AM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

some positive news...but its from Sony US smile.gif

Performance Improvement for Video Capture

Posted: 9/23/2011

Thank you for your support of Sony products.

We have received reports of a "clicking" sound which may be heard in the audio playback of movies recorded by the NEX-5N camera. This phenomenon occurs if the camera undergoes sudden motion while recording; motion generally inconsistent with smooth video recording. The video is unaffected by this sound.

In accordance with Sony's policy of continuous product improvement, an adjustment has been developed to reduce the clicking sound resulting from sudden motion during movie recording.

Sony will offer this performance improvement to NEX-5N end users during the period of its limited warranty accompanying the product. Please call 888-868-7392 to arrange for this improvement.

wiNd
post Sep 24 2011, 05:13 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 24 2011, 04:46 PM)
What about Sony Malaysia? What will they do?
Sending it back is a b****. There is no body cap, so are you expected to send in together with a lens attached?

The way they answered sounds like they won't be fixing their current stock or even whether they will put this fix to their assembly line. My bet is that 90 percent won't send it back, at least that's what they are hoping.
i have submitted my case to them and will see how they going to address this smile.gif
wiNd
post Sep 25 2011, 06:03 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

the original Sony camera strap looks quite good, but kinda expensive RM99 retail price...
wiNd
post Sep 28 2011, 01:42 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

just got a reply from SONY MY, on this "fix"

will need to wait for further instruction from Sony Regional Technical Team.

patience.

meantime, enjoy some NEX5N video samples (1080p 50p AVCHD and 1080 MP4) :

This post has been edited by wiNd: Sep 28 2011, 01:53 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0449sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:45 AM