Orphanage that seriouslly need help, That will not reject offered items

TSkanzakicyn
post Jun 24 2011, 11:13 AM, updated 15y ago

449 posts

Hi all,

I have been donating to various orphanage thru out the year. Its a yearly thing that we have as a family activity.

However, due to the increasing help that most of the famous orphanage gets, the caretakers are getting selective. They rejected my computer because its too old (its pentium 4) and they took the cpu and gave us back the monitor (its crt, they wanted led or lcd)

They even demand what type of rice they want and what type of food that want.

Our yearly donation consist of canned food, rice, chickens (both cooked and raw, we cook it ourself) and milk powder. I understand these are necessity for childs around 3-12

Since we are not very well to do, more like middle class, we are most definitely cant afford any expensive brand, we used to buy normal jati rice or sheaper canned food, BUT we never opt of china made brands. We always buy in bulks of 30 packs of rice and so on

This year we are thinking of getting food from the 1 malaysia shop and giving it to the orphanage

please recommend me a orphanage which is at the suburb area that seriouslly serioully need help. Usually those that are not so famous one

Thank you for your help
bobtiang
post Jun 24 2011, 11:24 AM

I live in a 6 STARS Hotel
1,788 posts

where's your location??
abubin
post Jun 24 2011, 01:00 PM

10,429 posts

Why does TS location matter? As long as it's within same coast then it doesn't matter much. It's only a one time trip thing.
bobtiang
post Jun 24 2011, 01:10 PM

I live in a 6 STARS Hotel
1,788 posts

i mistakenly thought this is something TS personally done, but later found out it's under lowyat charity fund. i am not sure how it works,thought want to find out if TS location is Penang, then i know a few home which might need that.
TSkanzakicyn
post Jun 29 2011, 01:47 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(bobtiang @ Jun 24 2011, 01:10 PM)
i mistakenly thought this is something TS personally done, but later found out it's under lowyat charity fund. i am not sure how it works,thought want to find out if TS location is Penang, then i know a few home which might need that.
Hi guys.

Sorry for the later reply

You are right, it is something that I have personally done. But Penang is a little too far off. I am located in Petaling JAya / Kuala lumpur. Am able to drive significantly further to outskits of selangor. But Penang is just abit too far.

But thank you for your help happy.gif

abubin
post Jun 29 2011, 03:37 PM

10,429 posts

well, i think you should consider penang if there are nowhere else to do your good deed.

Drive up there for a vacation trip and at the same time do some good donation.
ndgoh
post Jul 10 2011, 07:05 PM

928 posts

Well TS, if you found your target, do let me know. Might want to join you...
poolsurf06
post Jul 26 2011, 02:25 PM

56 posts

same here, homes that i know ask for donation of rm20k/year/person or in need of 200k for garden renovation. I certainly can't afford that..sad.gif
chicken_vampire
post Jul 26 2011, 09:46 PM

19 posts

Instead of orphanage, there's lots of old folksnhome that require such help..
Mr.Docter
post Jul 27 2011, 02:01 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

Dear kanzakicyn,

Do you still have that computer that you willing to donate? I know one Yayasan ( Yayasan Kemanusiaan Muslim Aid Malaysia @ FB @ http://www.facebook.com/YKMAM ) located at Kuala Nerang, Kedah need one computer for educational purpose.

You can click the link I provided above and there is a post regarding that matter ;

Sedang mencari sumbangan komputer untuk kegunaan anak-anak Pusat Jagaan Baitul Mahabbah Al Hashim...kalau dapat sebuah pun alhamdulillah. Ianya akan digunakan untuk pembelajaran anak-anak dan urusan pengurusan rumah tersebut kerana mereka belum mempunyai komputer lagi.

You may personally contact me via PM if you have any trouble with the location. I am somewhere around that area and having the same interest in such beneficial activities as well.
genchan
post Jul 30 2011, 12:58 AM

54 posts

I think when an orphanage start picking and choosing, its time to move on to another more needy orphanage.

Anybody interested in sponsoring a child program in Penang area? Looking for like minded individuals who share the same interest.

There is also a page in Facebook on Sponsor A Child in Malaysia, in support of orphanage and welfare homes in the country. You can click LIKE to show your support. Its another form of donation, a more long term perhaps. Site link as below:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sponsor-A-Ch...211163378907235
Vassilev
post Aug 6 2011, 10:24 PM

38 posts

Dear kanzakicyn,

May your life prosper for what you are doing. There is one particular orphanage I have been giving aid to and I believe the caretaker to be trustworthy and accepting of all aid. They are an orphanage, and they live in quite deplorable conditions (under zinc roofs and highly crowded). If you are interested, please do have a look, you can have a chat with the caretaker first if you want, he is a friendly man and will not mind discussing matters. The orphanage name is Stepping Stones Living Centre. It is in Taman Seputih, near Mid Valley, if you want, I can PM you pictures of the place during my last visit.
wodenus
post Aug 21 2011, 06:01 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ Jun 24 2011, 11:13 AM)
Hi all,

I have been donating to various orphanage thru out the year. Its a yearly thing that we have as a family activity.

However, due to the increasing help that most of the famous orphanage gets, the caretakers are getting selective. They rejected my computer because its too old (its pentium 4) and they took the cpu and gave us back the monitor (its crt, they wanted led or lcd)

They even demand what type of rice they want and what type of food that want.

Our yearly donation consist of canned food, rice, chickens (both cooked and raw, we cook it ourself) and milk powder. I understand these are necessity for childs around 3-12

Since we are not very well to do, more like middle class, we are most definitely cant afford any expensive brand, we used to buy normal jati rice or sheaper canned food, BUT we never opt of china made brands. We always buy in bulks of 30 packs of rice and so on

This year we are thinking of getting food from the 1 malaysia shop and giving it to the orphanage

please recommend me a orphanage which is at the suburb area that seriouslly serioully need help. Usually those that are not so famous one

Thank you for your help
That's been my experience too. Apparently, beggars can be choosers in this country. In the end I figured, if you are that rich to be demanding, then you don't need help smile.gif

supertjs
post Oct 10 2011, 03:40 PM

28 posts

Pusat Jagaan Beribuan Kasih at Kajang. Its an old folks home and orphanage combined that is one in dire need of help.

They barely have much to get on with.
m|key
post Oct 11 2011, 05:05 PM

271 posts

TS, do let me know if you found any place who will accept any sort of donation. I can only contribute some small donation.
post Nov 20 2011, 10:44 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Vassilev @ Aug 6 2011, 10:24 PM)
Dear kanzakicyn,

May your life prosper for what you are doing. There is one particular orphanage I have been giving aid to and I believe the caretaker to be trustworthy and accepting of all aid. They are an orphanage, and they live in quite deplorable conditions (under zinc roofs and highly crowded). If you are interested, please do have a look, you can have a chat with the caretaker first if you want, he is a friendly man and will not mind discussing matters. The orphanage name is Stepping Stones Living Centre. It is in Taman Seputih, near Mid Valley, if you want, I can PM you pictures of the place during my last visit.
Could u please attach more details for this stepping stones living centre..you might pm
me if convenient..thanks my fren

Added on November 20, 2011, 10:46 pm
QUOTE(supertjs @ Oct 10 2011, 03:40 PM)
Pusat Jagaan Beribuan Kasih at Kajang. Its an old folks home and orphanage combined that is one in dire need of help.

They barely have much to get on with.
Can you please pm me more details..thx

This post has been edited by 7583: Nov 20 2011, 10:46 PM
LuckyHands
post Nov 26 2011, 02:17 PM

14 posts

There are too many people buying the same things (eg: rice, biscuit, oil) to donate to the homes.

Why not ask the home first, what do they need and then buy the things to donate to them?

This post has been edited by LuckyHands: Nov 26 2011, 02:29 PM
Mihawk7
post Nov 26 2011, 04:52 PM

943 posts

True. most of the time, they would appreciate money over stuffs as they could buy whatever they need+pay bills
sinleong
post Nov 30 2011, 02:48 PM

55 posts

hi,
While I admire your charity, I find some of your comments bordering on arrogance. Orphanages are not beggars. They are run by good people like you who wants to help less fortunate children. That does not mean it is a dumping ground for things you don't want anymore in your houses. So, please don't throw at them things that are out-dated and doesn't work. Most orphanages are small and over-crowded. If they take in everything people throw at them they will become congested. Please find out what they need before you decide you want to throw away some things from your house. As my mum tells me, if want to give, give something good!

SL
hackwire
post Feb 1 2012, 08:33 AM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(sinleong @ Nov 30 2011, 02:48 PM)
hi,
While I admire your charity, I find some of your comments bordering on arrogance. Orphanages are not beggars. They are run by good people like you who wants to help less fortunate children. That does not mean it is a dumping ground for things you don't want anymore in your houses. So, please don't throw at them things that are out-dated and doesn't work. Most orphanages are small and over-crowded. If they take in everything people throw at them they will become congested. Please find out what they need before you decide you want to throw away some things from your house. As my mum tells me, if want to give, give something good!

SL
true... there are many household junks and even spoilt items were given for welfare. it's best to list it out properly and sent to them for scrutiny first. don't treat them like garbage bin .

0.0235sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:49 AM