37 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Maybank m2u savers 2.1% pa, 2 gud 2 b true 4 savings acc?

cybpsych
post Apr 1 2014, 08:44 AM

---------------------
65,324 posts

Gotten my march interest liao.

Did a daily interest calculation in Excel against daily closing balance. Almost matched the actual interest credited.

One thing I noticed is the month-end interest is not calculated with the acct balance. It's credited after the interest has been calculated.

Nidz
post Apr 1 2014, 11:21 AM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Apr 1 2014, 08:44 AM)
Gotten my march interest liao.

Did a daily interest calculation in Excel against daily closing balance. Almost matched the actual interest credited.

One thing I noticed is the month-end interest is not calculated with the acct balance. It's credited after the interest has been calculated.
Same here. I just opened my Savers-i account yesterday and today already got dividend for march.
The total dividend works out to 2.09% per annum. So i guess their indicative dividend rate of 2.1% pa is pretty accurate.
cybpsych
post Apr 1 2014, 11:27 AM

---------------------
65,324 posts

QUOTE(Nidz @ Apr 1 2014, 11:21 AM)
Same here. I just opened my Savers-i account yesterday and today already got dividend for march.
The total dividend works out to 2.09% per annum. So i guess their indicative dividend rate of 2.1% pa is pretty accurate.
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

at least got something back from a savings account. not much but not bad either.
cybpsych
post Apr 1 2014, 11:44 AM

---------------------
65,324 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Apr 1 2014, 11:30 AM)
U guys notice some promo fr MBB up to 8.88%..on Star newspaper..front page.. unsure.gif
that one already discussed in FD topic last month smile.gif

max_cavalera
post Apr 4 2014, 02:13 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Apr 1 2014, 12:51 PM)
check with MBB...

no monthly credited...on maturity,

1-3mth - 3.08%

4-6mth - 3.18%

7-10mth - 3.38%

11mth - 5.38%

12mth - 8.88%

the catch is effective rates are below than stated....actual is abt 3.10 to 3.20% depends on amt CASA 80:20 (CA) tier rates..so aint worth it.  sweat.gif
wow....as expected....marketing tactics only.... im really familiar with maybank....no way they gonna pay that much laugh.gif
Michaelbyz23
post Apr 4 2014, 02:28 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

LEL 8.88 percent per year? thats crazy.. even higher than EPF.. impossible i guess, surely got its own catch, TNC behind.
scottyvstheworld
post Apr 5 2014, 05:37 PM

191 posts

Hi guy hope it's ok I ask this here. At atm what's the difference between cash deposit & cash payment??
SUSMNet
post Apr 7 2014, 09:55 PM

11,954 posts

single online account can open islamic and conventional type of m2u saver?
SUSDavid83
post Apr 8 2014, 08:14 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(scottyvstheworld @ Apr 5 2014, 05:37 PM)
Hi guy hope it's ok I ask this here. At atm what's the difference between cash deposit & cash payment??
Cash Deposit is meant for depositing cash or fund to a banking account (saving/current).

Cash Payment is meant for depositing cash or fund to a loan or CC account.
cenkudu
post May 30 2014, 09:44 AM

1,206 posts

I suggest to maintain at least 2k in account so that the account is active and receive interest. otherwise the likehood the account become dormant and you need to re-activate them
cybpsych
post May 30 2014, 09:51 AM

---------------------
65,324 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ May 30 2014, 09:44 AM)
I suggest to maintain at least 2k in account so that the account is active and receive interest. otherwise the likehood the account become dormant and you need to re-activate them
if M2U Savers is your primary account for monthly pay crediting and paying off CC/bills, then it'll be safer smile.gif
cenkudu
post May 30 2014, 10:02 AM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 30 2014, 09:51 AM)
if M2U Savers is your primary account for monthly pay crediting and paying off CC/bills, then it'll be safer smile.gif
btw you can pay bills and CC via M2U savers? i thought this account only link with the main account.
cybpsych
post May 30 2014, 10:12 AM

---------------------
65,324 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ May 30 2014, 10:02 AM)
btw you can pay bills and CC via M2U savers? i thought this account only link with the main account.
The only 'link' is when creating a new Savers account. You need an existing conventional savings account (e.g. Wadiah) to create it. After that, Savers will just be like any other savings account.

you can do everything with it, e.g. fund transfer, pay bills/cc, ATM withdrawal (not Fast Cash), etc. thumbup.gif
cenkudu
post May 30 2014, 11:06 AM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 30 2014, 10:12 AM)
The only 'link' is when creating a new Savers account. You need an existing conventional savings account (e.g. Wadiah) to create it. After that, Savers will just be like any other savings account.

you can do everything with it, e.g. fund transfer, pay bills/cc, ATM withdrawal (not Fast Cash), etc.  thumbup.gif
oh good tips rclxms.gif
samftrmd
post May 30 2014, 02:19 PM

Interface 2037
1,774 posts

Noob question.

The monthly return of lets say rm10000 @ 2.1% annually is just almost nothing, should be use on else where for better return? Without more initial fund, should I even bother at all?
MilesAndMore
post May 30 2014, 03:10 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(samftrmd @ May 30 2014, 02:19 PM)
Noob question.

The monthly return of lets say rm10000 @ 2.1% annually is just almost nothing, should be use on else where for better return? Without more initial fund, should I even bother at all?
A Venti-sized Starbucks Frappuccino is nothing ??
samftrmd
post May 30 2014, 03:44 PM

Interface 2037
1,774 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ May 30 2014, 03:10 PM)
A Venti-sized Starbucks Frappuccino is nothing ??
So I put aside 10k for free frappuccino each month?
Nidz
post May 30 2014, 04:30 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(samftrmd @ May 30 2014, 02:19 PM)
Noob question.

QUOTE(samftrmd @ May 30 2014, 03:44 PM)
Well, this savings account is not for investment. If you have spare money that is laying around with nothing better to do, then at least you should've put it in the FD. You'll get 3% p.a.

If you are a Bumi, then put it in ASB. Get 8% p.a.

If you are feeling lucky, can go to casino.

But if you really wanna invest, then study up the stock market. That is where rich people make their money, aside from business and real estate.

Anyway, I personally just use this savings account to keep my cash for daily expenses. Any extra money will straight go into my stock market portfolio.

Yes, 2.1% annually is just almost nothing. But it is definitely more than 0.5% annually which I get from normal saving account. It does makes a different, but just a small one.

This post has been edited by Nidz: May 30 2014, 04:31 PM
MilesAndMore
post May 30 2014, 04:42 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(samftrmd @ May 30 2014, 03:44 PM)
No. As Nidz said, this is a savings account and many people do keep RM10k+ in their savings account. People keep RM10k+ in their savings account for so many different reasons and this M2U is one of the very few savings account that actually gives you such a high interest rate.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: May 30 2014, 04:45 PM
samftrmd
post May 30 2014, 04:47 PM

Interface 2037
1,774 posts

QUOTE(Nidz @ May 30 2014, 04:30 PM)
Well, this savings account is not for investment. If you have spare money that is laying around with nothing better to do, then at least you should've put it in the FD. You'll get 3% p.a.

If you are a Bumi, then put it in ASB. Get 8% p.a.

If you are feeling lucky, can go to casino.

But if you really wanna invest, then study up the stock market. That is where rich people make their money, aside from business and real estate.

Anyway, I personally just use this savings account to keep my cash for daily expenses. Any extra money will straight go into my stock market portfolio.

Yes, 2.1% annually is just almost nothing. But it is definitely more than 0.5% annually which I get from normal saving account. It does makes a different, but just a small one.
Thanks for explaining that.

37 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.2135sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:48 PM