Mechanical Keyboard Club V3, For Gamers and Typist Enthusiasts

xenodon
post Sep 9 2011, 02:42 PM

135 posts

Just received my Leopold from cyclonechuah yesterday. The keyboard is so awesome.
I bought the Red and Brown variant.

Accessories include USB to P/S 2 converter, USB cable and free fullset keycaps.

My thoughts about it:
It is my first mechanical keyboard and it feels very solid. No matter where or how hard I press it does not flex. When people said that it is heavy, I never thought it would be really heavy... nearly 2 kilos (can smack someone dead with it).
The spacebar is edges is not rounded so it feel weird when pressing it with my thumb during games but I will cope.
The LED lights for Num Lock, Scroll Lock and CapsLock is really blindingly bright if directly observed perpendicular to the keyboard.

However, since the keyboard is not perpendicular to my eyes when I'm using it, the LED is bright enough to be noticed but not distracting.

The gold plated detachable USB cable is also a plus for me.

The mini USB port at the back of the keyboard and the recessed area where you can route the USB cable left, right or center.

Currently I am using the Cherry MX Red. The brown I want to switch the keycaps with the blank ones so need to wait for the keycap puller to arrive to make the change.
I tested whether the keyboard can play o2jam via USB and evidently it can achieve at least 7KRO via USB. Though right now I am connecting the keyboard using the included P/S 2 converter.
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

Both keyboard on my desk. The top one is Cherry MX Red and the bottom is Cherry MX Brown.

Some other random pics that I took with my cheap digital camera. Some uses the flash and some did not.

P.S: Is it just me or the letters on the keyboard seems smaller than normal?

This post has been edited by xenodon: Sep 9 2011, 05:54 PM
xenodon
post Sep 10 2011, 11:09 PM

135 posts

Can anyone tell me whether Filco colored WASD keycaps be used with Leopold?
xenodon
post Sep 21 2011, 02:34 PM

135 posts

Just changed my keycaps to blank ones. Now looks better.
Good thing that the windows key is not recessed coz if it does the looks will be ugly.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
xenodon
post Sep 30 2011, 09:01 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(Edifier @ Sep 30 2011, 08:47 PM)
Filco Majestouch 2 Camouflage Editions will reach Malaysia next week smile.gif
very gooding.. only comes with brown switch?
more excited for the Filco Ninja Italian Red... hope it comes with blue switch.
xenodon
post Sep 30 2011, 09:40 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(Cyclonechuah @ Sep 30 2011, 08:19 PM)
Anyone interested in Leopold Accessories such as doubleshot ESC Key ? i'm thinking about bringing them in.

ABS Doubleshot ESC Key for Cherry MX
yes plox. bring also the blank colored modifier keys keycaps.

QUOTE(rurushu @ Sep 30 2011, 09:23 PM)
The Filco Ninja Italian Red i think is kinda like cheating.... coz it's basically a Majestouch Italian Red with Ninja keycaps (which you can purchase KBC PBT keys with side printing).
Plus, the Lock section (caps lock, numlock and scrolllock area) is not blank, original Ninjas that area is blank.... which makes me think this is like cheating... wanna be ninja, but not ninja enough....
did not realize the legend on the Red Ninja led indicator is still there until you point it out. The Filco logo also not sure whether its Black Metallic like the original ones.
i dun know what they are doing...
xenodon
post Sep 30 2011, 10:52 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Sep 30 2011, 10:02 PM)
Well, the reason im interested in a Ninja is because of the total clean look of it when viewed from top (without the lock legends)
Erm... from the picture, it is hard to determine the Filco logo. But in my opinion, all 2nd Gen Majestouch are using the black metallic ones, no more using the gold ones...
i think i can live without the perfect clean look. just hope it comes with blue switch coz dying to try it...
already have red and brown. poison spread so fast.
xenodon
post Oct 11 2011, 12:39 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(lucidlts @ Oct 11 2011, 12:19 AM)
i found out that majority people in MY decided to get a mech kb just for gaming. im one of them at 1st. lol
At first the initial plan was just for gaming thus I bought the leopold red. But since my work involve lots of typing I also bought the brown switch to be used at work.
Now planning to get the filco blue for home.
xenodon
post Oct 13 2011, 12:48 PM

135 posts

you bring those clear switch my pocket maybe koyak again
xenodon
post Oct 20 2011, 04:14 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Oct 20 2011, 03:37 PM)
Yea i'm fine, reported police after he fell down after my 1 hard smash into the back of his head with my keyboard @@ can see blood some more

happened when i'm on my way back to home after some cs scrimmage at cc, around 3am.
LOL. Normally I'd say "Pic or didn't happen" but I guess I'll take your word for it.

I bet at first the robber thought a keyboard couldn't possibly hurt him. BAM! Head Shot, KO. After this, he probably trauma over keyboard. tongue.gif
xenodon
post Oct 20 2011, 04:38 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Oct 20 2011, 04:32 PM)
Thought of taking picture after that, but my head was so empty that time, never encounter such problem before, rushed home straight clean my keyboard -.-
Just the pic of the police report with your info censored. Gonna be one hella story. The police must be like "wtf? u hit a robber with a keyboard??"
xenodon
post Oct 20 2011, 05:40 PM

135 posts

Now, if ppl new into mechanical keyboard wanted to buy one and parents ask why so expensive, they can tell it's not only good for computer input but also self-defense.
Surely an investment well put... biggrin.gif
xenodon
post Oct 27 2011, 04:09 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(DarkEmotion88 @ Oct 27 2011, 03:42 PM)

Apparently the detachable macro keys is not mechanical. Disappoint.
Its a little on the big side but the looks is awesome.

This post has been edited by xenodon: Oct 27 2011, 04:13 PM

0.0407sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:52 AM