HP Pavillion DV6-6XXX series Owners Lounge V2, - 91 owners!! FUUUUUUUUUUUUU!!

Efalex
post Jun 19 2011, 05:37 AM

361 posts

Congratulation on V2. rclxms.gif
Efalex
post Jun 19 2011, 09:58 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(Zeru @ Jun 19 2011, 08:51 PM)
What shops around KL currently have stock for the DV6-6114TX? I'm quite keen on getting it.
Mobility Solution, 3rd floor (I think, same floor as The Hub) Lowyat Plaza.
Please do read up the first to third post before asking these type of question. tongue.gif
Efalex
post Jun 21 2011, 03:02 AM

361 posts

QUOTE(Tamamama @ Jun 21 2011, 12:35 AM)
want to ask, does the HP carry case fits the laptop, i heard some news that it does not fit (whaaaat), in that case im wondering, does the laptop comes with it's own bag?
The laptop doesn't fit well in the bag given during the promotion. You can barely fit the laptop in the main compartment, but not in the place where the laptop should be put in. The bag is simply too small for this laptop size, 15.6", A 15" laptop would definitely fit in. Even the default bag comes with the Lenovo Thinkpad Edge 11, fit this laptop better.
Myu opinion is better for you to buy your own bag that can fit better and offer better protection to your precious laptop.

Efalex
post Jun 21 2011, 04:36 AM

361 posts

QUOTE(JYwang @ Jun 21 2011, 03:54 AM)
Bros, I got a big problem. Please please help advice me on what I should do to save my new dv6-6001TX!! sad.gif

I just bought this new baby 2 days ago. So far here are the symptoms:
1)gpu has crashed a couple of times
2)I've got a blue screen (BSOD) once
3)i mysteriously get disconnected while i play WoW as if someone is trying to log in
4)My boot time is about one minute+

5)MOST CRUCIAL: Everytime I take out my battery without the power supply connected, or even without the battery and i just shut down the laptop and disconnect the power supply and put it back again, I get some kind of CMOS/BIOS error and I think it reverts back to origin (the time and date of my laptop gets reset to 12.00AM 1/1/10)

help me please bros i'm begging you!! sad.gif
First of all, have created your recovery disc? You better do it first.
1) Which GPU is the one crashed and did you install any new driver in the last 2 days? How's the temp? There is a new driver update released in the past week, maybe you can try to download it and update you driver.
2) Your laptop comes with 4 or 8GB RAM? BSOD can be causes by hardware (such as RAM incompatibility, HD failure) or software (driver, corrupted Windows files). There is a software out there (bluescreen viewer, or something like that), download it and check the minidump file to identify the culprit.
3) Try update your Wireless card driver. Please check you wireless card brand before you download the appropriate update. Check also your Internet connection. The problem could be originated from your ISP too.
4) Looks normal to me.
5) Please read Checksum is Invalid
Or it could be that motherboard battery is dead. You could either replace it yourself or bring it back to the shop you bought from and launch a complaint to them to replace it for you. To replace it yourself, first get a replacement battery (CR2032 button battery) and a "-" screwdriver. Open the backplate (careful, this is one of the trickiest part) and once you've open it, you should be able to see the battery near the harddisk. Replace the battery, and close the backplate (the second trickiest part).

For 1,2 and 3, if the problem persist, you could opt to do recovery using the recovery disc you've created. If all else fail, bring it back to where you bought it from and demand a solution from them (warranty or a new unit, perhaps)

These are my opinion and you should wait for other user for their opinion on these matters.

Editted: added HP technical support website

This post has been edited by Efalex: Jun 21 2011, 09:11 AM
Efalex
post Jun 21 2011, 11:51 PM

361 posts

Do you still have BSOD or system crash?
Regarding the CMOS problem, if you have a spare CR2032 battery, you could try to replace the battery on the motherboard to see if that resolve your CMOS problem.
If it doesn't, I afraid it's a hardware problem. Bring it back to your dealer or the service center and demand service or 1 to 1 exchange (depends on how good you argue).
Efalex
post Jun 22 2011, 12:13 AM

361 posts

QUOTE(jacob521 @ Jun 21 2011, 03:32 PM)
i got mine dv-6108tx today, i tough they going to send me saparately but i got everything  ~~!!  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
the whole process they take about 11days of working days only (i order at 6th of june 2011)! rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

but my mystery gift missing!?  mad.gif
Welcome to The Invisible Mystery Gift Club, my fellow Decepticon. tongue.gif

Btw, did you received the 3-year warranty carepack?
Efalex
post Jun 22 2011, 05:11 AM

361 posts

QUOTE(simon3041 @ Jun 22 2011, 12:56 AM)
Gratz bro...  cheers.gif

Added on June 22, 2011, 1:03 amOh well.. Everyone is getting themselves DV6...  huh.gif  I never deal online b4.. HP Pavilion dv6-6114TX <-- Thinking abt order this.. Still available? Sigh... Is it safe to get one? I am from sarawak.. If i need warranty,I need to send back to whr? hmmm...  lust.gif
From Sarawak? You better call them to order by phone. Please confirm with them the delivery charges to Sarawak, as I've posted before that the website stated delivery charge is RM 138 while the PO they sent to stated that the delivery to East Malaysia incurred as fee of RM 300+.
Efalex
post Jun 23 2011, 02:04 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jun 23 2011, 11:47 AM)
6108TX use auto switching compare to manual switching on 6001TX. IIRC, efalex got post on how to force manual switching back in V1 thread.

You can install MSI Afterburner to check whether the Radeon is running or not.
LOL! first he will ask u to try copy big file to a pendrive while listening to music and at the same time he will talk about how dell refurbished warranty parts.
Errr...the force manual switching doesn't work. If you are lucky, you may find the "hidden" tab, but once you reboot, they will go back to auto switching. All 61XX series comes with auto switching. It's not that bad, only that you do not know which graphic card is active at the moment and OpenGL application may have problem running on the AMD card.

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Jun 23 2011, 12:51 PM)
laugh.gif yalo... poison ah that guy... yet he use dell... even gt exp wif dell bad serv (for him) doh.gif
erm, you want to disable it?? whistling.gif
Woah, careful with you qoute. People will confuse me with what wacomuse did. sweat.gif
Efalex
post Jun 25 2011, 08:32 AM

361 posts

QUOTE(spicediablo @ Jun 24 2011, 05:57 PM)
Hi Guys,

Sorry if this has been discussed before. I was wondering how to permanently switch my graphics to Radeon. Hope sifus here can enlighten a bit...Thanks!! btw, i'm using 6114tx
I think the only way to permanently switch to Radeon for 6114TX is configure all the executable files to run on "High Performance".

QUOTE(AsusFans @ Jun 25 2011, 08:25 AM)
Yes finally I can proudly announce I am a owner of HP DV6 6114TX. Please add me Acid
First impression of the laptop, good, very good indeed
Welcome to the Decepticon. Still want to be known as "AsusFans" now?? tongue.gif
Efalex
post Jun 25 2011, 10:22 AM

361 posts

QUOTE(spicediablo @ Jun 25 2011, 10:16 AM)
Thanks Efalex...I was hoping there is an easy way out.... biggrin.gif
One more thing, programs using OpenGL may not works, i.e. thay may still run on Intel graphic despite being set to run on "High Performance".
These are the main issue that the owner of DV6-61XX series are complaining about.
Efalex
post Jul 9 2011, 11:34 AM

361 posts

QUOTE(powerpack240v @ Jul 9 2011, 10:54 AM)
Well, It has been so long since i faxed in my carepack, and nothing changed, then they asked me to email it to them.

I did and i received a few emails about thank you for registering and what not, but when i check my warranty status online, it still shows until 2012 only.

What should I do?
I never received any care pack registration form from them but the last time I checked, my warranty last till 2014. It was added 3-4 weeks after I received my laptop.
The only thing I do is register my laptop online.
Efalex
post Jul 11 2011, 04:43 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(Momojii @ Jul 11 2011, 03:40 PM)
LOL and you probably must wait for the factory to produce it too... Actually is not the shipping thats slow. Is the production i think hp only have 1 person creating laptops.
It's more like the people in the West keep ordering and returning the laptop hoping that the auto-switching problem were solved when they received their.
Efalex
post Jul 15 2011, 11:27 AM

361 posts

QUOTE(Zeru @ Jul 15 2011, 10:32 AM)
Guys ive just gotten my HP Dv6, how do i activate my Microsoft Office 2010? @_@; I checked under the laptop for the key, and entered it, it says invalid. What should i do?
The Product key for MS Office is provided in a separate package. The one under the laptop is for your Win 7 OS.
Efalex
post Jul 18 2011, 11:33 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Jul 18 2011, 07:04 PM)
Id check my warranty status today, and it showed my warranty is untill 2013. Apparently the warranty that I bought (which is 2 years onsite) overlapping the 1 year original warranty from HP, 1+2 years (total 3 years) that I expected.
Yes, the warranty you've purchase will overlap with the existing warranty. Those of us that buy this laptop with a 3-year carepack will get warranty until 2014, not 2015.

QUOTE(Momojii @ Jul 18 2011, 07:58 PM)
can anyone explain why i didn't get my carepack!!!
No care pack will be sent to those buying from HP online. They will update your warranty without the need to fill in the care pack form.
Efalex
post Jul 21 2011, 12:41 AM

361 posts

You'll need 3 DVD for Recovery Disc
Efalex
post Jul 27 2011, 05:10 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jul 27 2011, 04:45 PM)
LoL not 3D game?  laugh.gif

Just play 3 missions of Supreme Commander 2 and this is my temps.

This game not as heavy as Crysis 2 and definitely not CPU intensive coz i can see my TurboBoost shot to 2.8Ghz and 2.9Ghz.  laugh.gif
How many Hard disk do you have in your lappy? I saw a Hitachi and Seagate there. rclxub.gif
Efalex
post Jul 27 2011, 05:14 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jul 27 2011, 05:12 PM)
Oopss.. someone noticed that. I throw away my DVD-rom.  tongue.gif
With caddy or without caddy?
Efalex
post Jul 27 2011, 05:18 PM

361 posts

Nice....show us some picture later
Efalex
post Jul 30 2011, 11:55 PM

361 posts

I have one question. For ASUS N53N, the air intake is under the keyboard, so a keyboard protector will interupt the airflow. Where is air intake for DV6?

Efalex
post Jul 31 2011, 12:01 AM

361 posts

QUOTE(louisfjh @ Jul 30 2011, 11:56 PM)
overlap for keyboard also not nice.... sweat.gif  rclxms.gif

Added on July 30, 2011, 11:56 pm

left side, bhind & bottom
Left side is the outlet, where you can heat up your coffee mug.
The back, not sure if it is the inlet or outlet.
Now, is there an inlet built under the keyboard like ASUS laptop?

0.0353sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:42 PM