Toshiba L745-1050X Review *pic updated*, splendid performance comes cheap
TSadibyusoff
Jul 27 2011, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(9M-MAS @ Jul 27 2011, 08:15 AM) Bought this one too...quite happy with it. One slight issue: Youtube Flash video stutters bad, and it's not because of connection buffering. But if download the video and play on the computer using MPC, no problem. Seems to strike me as a display - adobe flash plugin problem. Anyone else experiencing this problem? you have to update everything first once you got the lappy. Install all windows update available, update to ie9 if you use ie. No problem afterwards once everything is updated. Trust me.
9M-MAS
Jul 27 2011, 03:00 PM
Everything's already updated, unfortunately  Still same issue Added on July 27, 2011, 3:01 pmQUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 27 2011, 11:01 AM) Latest flash ? Update nVidia driver ? Disabled hardware acceleration on flash ? Done all that. Still there though the disabling hardware acceleration of the adobe flash plugin makes it just a little less jerky (but still there) This post has been edited by 9M-MAS: Jul 27 2011, 03:01 PM
TSadibyusoff
Jul 27 2011, 03:05 PM
aik? How come mine works fine apart from usb prob? But seriously when i first got it, no problem like yours happened to me. Strange. Tried reformat factory out of box state?
lee_what2004
Jul 27 2011, 03:51 PM
*stare* ji--------
9M-MAS, using what browser ?
9M-MAS
Jul 27 2011, 03:56 PM
Primarily FF but it affects all browsers I have (IE, FF, Opera, Safari, Chrome)
lee_what2004
Jul 27 2011, 03:59 PM
*stare* ji--------
TSadibyusoff
Jul 28 2011, 02:04 AM
working or not? Post your update on the issue here ok bro? Thanks
9M-MAS
Jul 28 2011, 11:00 AM
I downloaded the nVIDIA driver from Toshiba but the isntaller says my version is already up to date. I downloaded the one from nvidia and it says "This graphics driver could not find compatible graphics hardware" Anyway just re-installed the flash plugin v11 as per the link by lee_what2004, am restarting now to see if there is any difference....
[PF] T.J.
Jul 28 2011, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(9M-MAS @ Jul 28 2011, 11:00 AM) I downloaded the nVIDIA driver from Toshiba but the isntaller says my version is already up to date. I downloaded the one from nvidia and it says " This graphics driver could not find compatible graphics hardware" Anyway just re-installed the flash plugin v11 as per the link by lee_what2004, am restarting now to see if there is any difference.... I have this problem as well... Most ppl turned to modded files instead
9M-MAS
Jul 28 2011, 11:19 AM
ANyway I restarted. Still the same. I think it's a problem with the Flash plugin. The new one I installed crashes more frequently now. But, even before installing the latest one, this is what leads me to think it's a problem with Flash, and perhaps its interaction with the graphics driver:  Uploaded with ImageShack.usThe anomaly there moves with the needle. I do not notice this with my older Toshiba though (intel display). Enabling / disabling hardware acceleration does not change the anomaly or the video stuttering problem. This post has been edited by 9M-MAS: Jul 28 2011, 11:20 AM
TSadibyusoff
Jul 28 2011, 12:21 PM
if you think its pretty serious, do not hesitate to send in for warranty at service center. If you get lucky enough, they might change the whole thing for you.
9M-MAS
Jul 28 2011, 12:30 PM
Like I said, it only seems to happen inside browsers. If I download the Flash video and play it on Media Player Classic, it's smooth. SO I doubt it's a hardware problem (I surely hope not!)
I noticed the same problem with my previous Acer 4755G, which also has an NVIDIA display (GT540M).
This post has been edited by 9M-MAS: Jul 28 2011, 12:31 PM
TSadibyusoff
Jul 28 2011, 12:41 PM
if like that, for sure software related problem. No worries, just send for warranty. They said they can help if the software related problem applies to preloaded software. No harm in trying.
9M-MAS
Jul 28 2011, 11:41 PM
Still no joy. Tried uninstalling the graphics driver, reinstall Intel chipset driver and then reinstalling the nvidia driver from Toshiba's website - no change.
Can anyone please tell me where, apart from the Toshiba website, I can download newer nvidia graphics drivers? The version that's on the website is the same as the one I have pre-installed (269 something). Trying the much later version available from nvidia's website (275) is no joy either as the installer repeatedly says it could not detect compatible hardware.
This post has been edited by 9M-MAS: Jul 28 2011, 11:42 PM
lee_what2004
Jul 29 2011, 06:16 PM
*stare* ji--------
^as said by [PF] T.J., you would need to use the moddef inf, can get the inf from laptopvidoe2go. Replace the inf file in the nVidia driver you downloaded from nVidia website and the installation should detect your GPU.
[PF] T.J.
Jul 29 2011, 09:21 PM
Darn, I kind of miss my previous Toshiba keyboard (which is also used in the current L745)... even though they're glossy, the letterings are different and the layout is weird, the typing feel is there... Not sure whether its my typing posture, but I can't seem to bit my Typing Maniac score on the M14x
TSadibyusoff
Jul 29 2011, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 29 2011, 09:21 PM) Darn, I kind of miss my previous Toshiba keyboard (which is also used in the current L745)... even though they're glossy, the letterings are different and the layout is weird, the typing feel is there... Not sure whether its my typing posture, but I can't seem to bit my Typing Maniac score on the M14x  i thought m14x is killer already? Still got some downside huh.
IvanWong1989
Jul 29 2011, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 29 2011, 09:21 PM) Darn, I kind of miss my previous Toshiba keyboard (which is also used in the current L745)... even though they're glossy, the letterings are different and the layout is weird, the typing feel is there... Not sure whether its my typing posture, but I can't seem to bit my Typing Maniac score on the M14x  because ur weird... so weird keyboard fits you.  reasonable explanation.  like lee sifu.. ur an entirely different entity that no human can understand.  gratz on the leveling up.
[PF] T.J.
Jul 29 2011, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(adibyusoff @ Jul 29 2011, 09:27 PM) i thought m14x is killer already? Still got some downside huh.  As mentioned, I'm not sure whether its because of my typing posture... but the keys on the M14x seemed abit farther from one another than usual... the layout is like that possibly because them users in the US has larger hands?  Just a guess... You've used the Toshiba keyboard right? At 1st it feels weird to use, but after some time, it rocks... typing was like..... so easy
TSadibyusoff
Jul 29 2011, 09:32 PM
hahaha. Ya ya. At first feels shitty. Later on, i type without even look. Pawned the keyboard to dust. This post has been edited by adibyusoff: Jul 29 2011, 09:35 PM