IPAD 2(WIFI) VS IPAD 2(3G)

TSkelvin_lee
post Jun 13 2011, 10:22 AM, updated 15y ago

25 posts

I heard some rumor said the wireless signal strength for IPAD 2(WIFI) actually more weaker than the IPAD 2(3G) when it connect to the wireless modem (Which mean hardly to search the wireless nearby). Izzit true? Is there any different on their wifi if i purchase the WIFI type or 3G type?
acbc
post Jun 13 2011, 10:32 AM

9,050 posts

3G if u want the GPS function and not tethered to a phone while browsing.
kevyeoh
post Jun 13 2011, 10:48 AM

4,721 posts

i think TS asking about the wifi strength...don't think this is true la unless someone can actualyl present some facts on this....

btw... we can also actually make phone calls on ipad 2 3G right?
Jing-leBelle
post Jun 13 2011, 11:06 AM

Very New Member
2,003 posts

Both is having same wifi chip isn't it?
mad_man
post Jun 13 2011, 11:39 AM

94 posts

not true.. i m using the wifi version, no issue at all.... facetime oso tarak masalah..... i m still running old streamyx plan..
aberrant80
post Jun 13 2011, 12:07 PM

269 posts

Aiyoh, think about it logically la, who the heck would go and build a "wifi version" of something that has it's "wifi feature" weaker than a "wifi+3g version"..... doh.gif

Is the person who told you this rumour (I've never heard of this) owning a lot of iPad2 3G version stock and trying to get you to buy 3G version from him? biggrin.gif
ExCrIpT
post Jun 13 2011, 12:49 PM

1,672 posts

Jur that the 3g vesion's mic is not as good as the wifi ipad. Thats all
juno87
post Jun 13 2011, 07:51 PM

nor matter 3g o not, i juz know the mic is awesome
aberrant80
post Jun 13 2011, 09:40 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Jun 13 2011, 12:49 PM)
Jur that the 3g vesion's mic is not as good as the wifi ipad. Thats all
You did a comparison? Maybe your 3g version got hardware problem? I saw in macrumors forum where someone said they had a mic problem and sent in to claim warranty.

0.0145sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:35 PM