Honda Insight Fuel Consumption
Jun 8 2011, 10:07 AM, updated 15y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
0 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
Hey need a little help here. My Honda Insight 2010/2011 is currently only hitting about 450km on a 30 litre tank. From other threads and forums, I have seen people claiming to hit almost 600-700km on the same tank. Any thoughts? Is there an issue with my car that I need to go back to Honda to fix? Thanks for the help!
Jun 8 2011, 10:12 AM
3,806 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Isle of Man |
city driving or highway??
Jun 8 2011, 10:16 AM
92 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
Honda Insight is a hybrid electric car. if 450km/30liter, that not hybrid at all.
Jun 8 2011, 10:19 AM
3,180 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: Borlänge |
koyak d
Jun 8 2011, 10:31 AM
2,605 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(koyuki @ Jun 8 2011, 10:16 AM) LOL...if that is the way you want to put it, then Porsche Cayenne S Hybrid not a Hybrid Try to get the same mileage on non-hybrids or diesel on similar route and driving condition, I bet you can't even touch that. For Honda Insight, it depends on the driving condition and distance to get good mileage. Same goes to Prius, other hybrids or Non-Hybrid btw, TS you can close this thread, since you have already ask the same question in the Honda Insight Thread. Cheers This post has been edited by psyeo: Jun 8 2011, 10:34 AM |
Jun 8 2011, 10:34 AM
6,726 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Zion |
I'm sure TS is one of the few people who reporte the same. Whats never said in the manual is u have to drive sensibly to achieve high mileage. If u drive like most Malaysians which is hard on accelleration and more than 100km/h every day, then the car WILL NOT save fuel.
Jun 8 2011, 10:36 AM
142 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
conned by HONDA
Jun 8 2011, 10:39 AM
481 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
I'm waiting for some dude to say Toyota can hit that mark. I'll slap his face.
Jun 8 2011, 10:41 AM
3,806 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Isle of Man |
the thing is bout hybrids is that, they depend alot on driving habits n conditions.. if u do lots of highway hi speed runs, not really gonna get gud mileage.. on the other hand, if u do lots of low speed city crawling, thats where a hybrid works best..
Jun 8 2011, 10:44 AM
136 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(CooShyRee @ Jun 8 2011, 10:41 AM) the thing is bout hybrids is that, they depend alot on driving habits n conditions.. if u do lots of highway hi speed runs, not really gonna get gud mileage.. on the other hand, if u do lots of low speed city crawling, thats where a hybrid works best.. then whats the difference between hybrid and non-hybrid..other cars also can achive higher mileage when going under 100km/j |
Jun 8 2011, 10:48 AM
278 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
saw one or two insights on the highway
blew pass my accord. was doing 10-20 over the speed limit hybrid my foot drive that fast wanna save fuel? how la? |
Jun 8 2011, 10:51 AM
295 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
The law of conformity. Want to follow the trend of buying a hybrid BUT also to to conforn to other sspeeding! "Beh Ta Han" leh!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fQI8pZJiMe0 |
Jun 8 2011, 10:53 AM
5,568 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: the lack of sleep |
If automatic gearboxes are OKU gearboxes, then hybrid cars are OKU cars because you have to drive like one to save fuel.
After all, it is still a petrol engine and it responses to a heavy right foot like any other engine by drinking fuel. Doesn't all these fancy hybrids have all the fancy lights on the dashboard to tell you whether you are driving nice or naughty? So have you been naughty? |
Jun 8 2011, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(mokhzaini @ Jun 8 2011, 10:48 AM) saw one or two insights on the highway hmm if it is 10-20 over the speed limit, it still save more fuel than your accord if going at a similar speed blew pass my accord. was doing 10-20 over the speed limit hybrid my foot drive that fast wanna save fuel? how la? not that I encourage driving above speed limit |
Jun 8 2011, 11:06 AM
12 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: Petaling Jaya |
i hit about 600km per full tank...will always refuel when the warning light comes on...=) 19.3km/l. 80% city, 20% LDP.
This post has been edited by ultramankaiser: Jun 8 2011, 11:08 AM |
Jun 8 2011, 11:07 AM
15,022 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Damansara Jaya/Bandar Utama |
I think i saw quiet a few Insight owners reporting 14km/l - 15km/l FC...it all depends on where you go and the road condition. Personally, i feel hybrid is not there yet...maybe in a few years...right now, it doesn't makes much economical sense....it saves a bit of fuel, but also your extra maintenance cost (more electronics, means more prone to breakdown and spare parts change...especially the costly IPU) +battery cost + price of the car, which isn't cheap......it's paying tens of thousands trying to save a few k in fuel....
Hell, my Savvy also can do 14km/l in City drive....highway can do 19km/l.... |
Jun 8 2011, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(it.fusion @ Jun 8 2011, 10:44 AM) then whats the difference between hybrid and non-hybrid.. of driving at similar condition and similar driving style, tell me which non-hybrid vehicle can achieve higher mileage (except for diesel and full electric car)other cars also can achive higher mileage when going under 100km/j Added on June 8, 2011, 11:09 am QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 8 2011, 11:07 AM) I think i saw quiet a few Insight owners reporting 14km/l - 15km/l FC...it all depends on where you go and the road condition. Personally, i feel hybrid is not there yet...maybe in a few years...right now, it doesn't makes much economical sense....it saves a bit of fuel, but also your extra maintenance cost (more electronics, means more prone to breakdown and spare parts change...especially the costly IPU) +battery cost + price of the car, which isn't cheap......it's paying tens of thousands trying to save a few k in fuel.... then I guess if you drive Insight using the same technique will get you >16km/l city and over 24km/l highway Hell, my Savvy also can do 14km/l in City drive....highway can do 19km/l.... Added on June 8, 2011, 11:12 amjust for the record, I get around 12 to 14km/l for ultra short trip <2km with 2 traffic lights. While for city road 60km/h to 80km/h i get around 19 to 22km/l. for highway at speed of 110km/h to 140km/h I get around 22 to 24km/l. I drove it like a normal car This post has been edited by psyeo: Jun 8 2011, 11:13 AM |
Jun 8 2011, 11:12 AM
8,407 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
get conned by Honda..
Jun 8 2011, 11:15 AM
QUOTE(BuFung @ Jun 8 2011, 11:12 AM) LOL Prius Owner get conned too. 38km/l marketing gimmick. They also get similar mileage for highway. While I have to admit for short distance travel, Prius can do much better than Insight, as it is able to start with electric motor up to 40km/h on electric motor only.Added on June 8, 2011, 11:17 amMan this thread should be close, It is asking for Insight owner on their fuel consumption. but all this non owner just come in and bash only. way offtopic ppl This post has been edited by psyeo: Jun 8 2011, 11:17 AM |
Jun 8 2011, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(psyeo @ Jun 8 2011, 11:15 AM) LOL Prius Owner get conned too. 38km/l marketing gimmick. They also get similar mileage for highway. While I have to admit for short distance travel, Prius can do much better than Insight, as it is able to start with electric motor up to 40km/h on electric motor only. yap... that is the diff btwn Full Hybrid and "half" hybrid... actually Hybrid car save fuel mostly in city drive and slow cruising only... |
Jun 8 2011, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(psyeo @ Jun 8 2011, 11:08 AM) of driving at similar condition and similar driving style, tell me which non-hybrid vehicle can achieve higher mileage (except for diesel and full electric car) Yeah....but i save 50k-60k of the car price alone.....(not including all the electronic parts maintenance of an Insight yet)...i think i don't ever have to pay for fuel again for that kind of money...LOL. I haven't drive an Insight b4, so i won't comment on the quality and performance of the car. Added on June 8, 2011, 11:09 am then I guess if you drive Insight using the same technique will get you >16km/l city and over 24km/l highway Added on June 8, 2011, 11:12 amjust for the record, I get around 12 to 14km/l for ultra short trip <2km with 2 traffic lights. While for city road 60km/h to 80km/h i get around 19 to 22km/l. for highway at speed of 110km/h to 140km/h I get around 22 to 24km/l. I drove it like a normal car I hope it's a hell lot better than a Honda City though...coz that car is just junk. |
Jun 8 2011, 11:21 AM
312 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
well, my average FC i get ever since I got my car was around 17-18 km/liter.
until recently I have completed 5k service, I have managed to clock around 19-20km/liter with ECO mode all the time. driving condition was 100% city driving..if you consider LDP as highway, then its 60% city and 40% highway |
Jun 8 2011, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(BuFung @ Jun 8 2011, 11:17 AM) yap... that is the diff btwn Full Hybrid and "half" hybrid... yea, but long distance Highway travel save me lots of fuel too. If compare to my other car CR-V (2008) it double the mileage on highway at similar speedactually Hybrid car save fuel mostly in city drive and slow cruising only... |
Jun 8 2011, 11:37 AM
92 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
anyway, hybrid car only save you short term but broke you long term. imagine the battery kaput, typical car will cost you more than RM20K. so much for fuel saving. hahahhaa....
Jun 8 2011, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(koyuki @ Jun 8 2011, 11:37 AM) anyway, hybrid car only save you short term but broke you long term. imagine the battery kaput, typical car will cost you more than RM20K. so much for fuel saving. hahahhaa.... LOL and again. please get your fact right. Insight battery is expected to cost RM7k incl. installation as quoted by Honda and the cost of battery is expected to go down While Prius larger battery cost around 12k This post has been edited by psyeo: Jun 8 2011, 11:49 AM |
Jun 8 2011, 11:44 AM
81 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
QUOTE(koyuki @ Jun 8 2011, 11:37 AM) anyway, hybrid car only save you short term but broke you long term. imagine the battery kaput, typical car will cost you more than RM20K. so much for fuel saving. hahahhaa.... Insight battery cost only USD2500 and not RM20K... Furthermore the battery comes in modules. Based on most accounts, battery can be salvaged by changing the spoilt modules itself. Each module cost is only about USD70++. By salvaging this way, you have another 80km~100km additional life on top of the current 250000km. In any event, even if the battery kaput you can buy the recon @ USD500 in ebay. This post has been edited by adamking: Jun 8 2011, 11:45 AM |
Jun 8 2011, 11:48 AM
10,429 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
People need to understand getting a hybrid car or eco friendly car is not about saving the money. It is about saving earth and being eco friendly. Reducing carbon footprint should be the main concern.
So people getting a hybrid car thinking of saving money is stupid. This has already being discussed in many thread and I hope people will understand and realize how technology is going toward being green with it's main purpose to save the environment. That also means human have to change their lifestyle to be more eco-friendly. Eg, things like stop using plastic bags that is also changing lifestyle. So when you get a hybrid car and you want to drive like typical moronic Malaysian then the only advise I can give you is.....Congratulations, you made and arse out of yourself. |
Jun 8 2011, 11:49 AM
2,095 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jun 8 2011, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(abubin @ Jun 8 2011, 11:48 AM) People need to understand getting a hybrid car or eco friendly car is not about saving the money. It is about saving earth and being eco friendly. Reducing carbon footprint should be the main concern. Cmon lar...you think people buy Hybrid wanna save the Earth?? Everyone wanna saves fuel and money only. Get real. This is how the world works....between economical reasoning and environment protection...economical always wins each and every time.So people getting a hybrid car thinking of saving money is stupid. This has already being discussed in many thread and I hope people will understand and realize how technology is going toward being green with it's main purpose to save the environment. That also means human have to change their lifestyle to be more eco-friendly. Eg, things like stop using plastic bags that is also changing lifestyle. So when you get a hybrid car and you want to drive like typical moronic Malaysian then the only advise I can give you is.....Congratulations, you made and arse out of yourself. I think this has also been discussed before, Hybrid cars are not really envinronment friendly due to the batteries which needs a lots of pollution to creates one. So in the end, you're still screwing up the Earth, just in different ways. Wanna save the Earth? Naik basikal lar. Then i salute you. This post has been edited by Matrix: Jun 8 2011, 11:53 AM |
Jun 8 2011, 11:59 AM
12 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: Petaling Jaya |
mod,close topic pls.this thread is opened to ask about insight's FC. not comparing....there are tons of those threads di..TQVM.
Jun 8 2011, 12:08 PM
The Emission of a Vios/City are not really that much higher than those "hybrid" car...
Jun 8 2011, 12:10 PM
10,429 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 8 2011, 11:52 AM) Cmon lar...you think people buy Hybrid wanna save the Earth?? Everyone wanna saves fuel and money only. Get real. This is how the world works....between economical reasoning and environment protection...economical always wins each and every time. no, I don't think so. That is why I said what I said in my last comment.I think this has also been discussed before, Hybrid cars are not really envinronment friendly due to the batteries which needs a lots of pollution to creates one. So in the end, you're still screwing up the Earth, just in different ways. Wanna save the Earth? Naik basikal lar. Then i salute you. If you have half a brain, you could calculate that you don't actually save much. This calculations on car price, battery price and petrol consumption all has been discussed in other hybrid thread already. No need to repeat them here. That is why I said if you are getting hybrid to save money then you are stupid. Period. |
Jun 8 2011, 12:35 PM
QUOTE(abubin @ Jun 8 2011, 12:10 PM) no, I don't think so. That is why I said what I said in my last comment. You like to suddenly insult people don't ya?? I think people who thinks people buying a Hybrid to save the Earth not very smart either... If you have half a brain, you could calculate that you don't actually save much. This calculations on car price, battery price and petrol consumption all has been discussed in other hybrid thread already. No need to repeat them here. That is why I said if you are getting hybrid to save money then you are stupid. Period. |
Jun 8 2011, 12:41 PM
Jun 8 2011, 12:52 PM
0 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
Jun 8 2011, 12:56 PM
232 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
just be frugal and utilize all the resources as much as you can. dun be wasteful. then you are good to go.
Jun 8 2011, 01:19 PM
312 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
better close this topic off lar...i can sense a lot of flames are coming
I believe most of the owners here have a thorough consideration of the pros & cons as well as comparisons before purchasing the car...so far, never heard of any whom are regretting..if there are, then it shows that that owner just did not have enough understanding of the car and had higher expectations over this 98k cbu car.. if TS would like to know about the feedback on the FC, he can always refer back to the old postings in the existing/archived discussion thread... |
Jun 8 2011, 01:42 PM
1,191 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Ipoh, now PJ |
driving a hybrid is not really saving the Earth. Yes, it can reduce carbon production, but the battery used in hybrid car actually is very harmful to the environment, both during the production of the battery, and also the disposal of spoilt battery.
Heard about the recent hoo-hah in Kuantan regarding the rare earth processing farm? Rare earth is one of the material in producing the battery. |
Jun 8 2011, 01:50 PM
5,568 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: the lack of sleep |
Topic closed and refer to http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1898814 for more information on the Honda Insight
| Change to: | 0.0202sec
5 queries
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:27 PM |