133 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

LYN Official Tennis Thread V11, All about tennis. (gears, courts, etc)

tiangkim
post Jun 9 2011, 10:47 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Jun 9 2011, 08:30 AM)
I am abit confused.....'clearing out old APDGT' is there a newer model out?! Or do you mean APDC?
IF APDGT = Aero Pro Drive GT for RM350, I would buy just to try....if APDC=Aero Pro Drive Cortex....then I have tried it before, ok I guess....
RJ Kipas, like me try to copy u..... as i m waiting my volkl pb10 lite coming, i read some forums on tttw....but can only find pb10mid (93sq in)....... they were saying k90tour was the best vs blx90, and pb10mid is as good as k90tour......

so Rj Kipas, start burning ur mind with volkl OK? hehhehe
timetravelller
post Jun 9 2011, 10:54 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(tiangkim @ Jun 9 2011, 10:44 AM)
how bout 600/2 = bio300???!!!! hehehee
ic, maybe he can consider, how much u offer? i let him know to9.
tiangkim
post Jun 9 2011, 11:01 AM

50 posts

bro, pm u aldy.... tht price for 1pc only.... sold another one aldy......
k3vin82
post Jun 9 2011, 11:02 AM

92 posts

Hey guys, long time I never post here. Haha. This Sunday k guys. Msia vs Sg. Come around 6+ ok. We start at 7pm sharp. ehh anyone got a big water dispenser. I will get ice n 100 plus for u guys.
praetorian
post Jun 9 2011, 11:20 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(ckseong80 @ Jun 9 2011, 10:46 AM)
Maybe Yan meant the normal version of APDGT.
New one maybe the Roland Garros version??
'Yan' ................or 'inv'.........................you ahhhh <3

QUOTE(tiangkim @ Jun 9 2011, 10:47 AM)
RJ Kipas, like me try to copy u..... as i m waiting my volkl pb10 lite coming, i read some forums on tttw....but can only find pb10mid (93sq in)....... they were saying k90tour was the best vs blx90, and pb10mid is as good as k90tour......

so Rj Kipas, start burning ur mind with volkl OK?  hehhehe
Mega paiseh TK....I am small fry lah....onli know how to kipas onli.....for rackets its very subjective, like women, I see Ana I go 'BOING'..........I see Maria....I go "MEH"........but depend lah lol....ok first off, I have ZERO experience with Vokl rackets, I for sure cannot offer you 'blind advice'. Regarding your comment K6.1 tour is better than BLX6.1 tour, I, myself prefer the K6.1 tour as it has more 'raw' feel, if you like the 'muted' feel than the BLX6.1 is more geared towards you. I can play quite well with the BLX6.1tour, but its not what I call my ideal stick when I need some 'touc', or 'deception' in my shots.

If you're asking me if the PB10mid is as good as a k6.1 , I do not have know, as I have never tried the PB10mid, however if you want something as good as the K6.1 , might as well buy the stick itself. Same case with 'Head' rackets, some prefer Radicals and some the Prestige models, but once you improve in your shot making or strokes, I tend to notice, IF they switch to a more control oriented stick, say Head rackets for example,alot of people will switch from Radicals to Prestige series......its just my observation, its not a guaranteed fact.If you feel more comfortable with a stick use it to the best of your abilities, if you improve, and feel the need to change to another stick, go ahead, but be prepared for some type of tweaking, if not just use your regular stick.

Some people have said I play better if I use this XXX stick, but if I use YYY stick for serve , I really can hit wonders with it for serve, but with WWW stick my forehand like Federer, I destroyed them when they hit to my forehand, but using BBB stick my slice so low, winner everytime....how?:-p

QUOTE(timetravelller @ Jun 9 2011, 10:54 AM)
ic, maybe he can consider, how much u offer? i let him know to9.
TK give good price and buy new WMD lah....
QUOTE(k3vin82 @ Jun 9 2011, 11:02 AM)
Hey guys, long time I never post here. Haha. This Sunday k guys. Msia vs Sg. Come around 6+ ok. We start at 7pm sharp. ehh anyone got a big water dispenser. I will get ice n 100 plus for u guys.
Kev please take pics and video...! <3
tiangkim
post Jun 9 2011, 11:31 AM

50 posts

WMD? Ape tu?
praetorian
post Jun 9 2011, 11:34 AM

866 posts

WMD= weapon of mass destruction aka your new racket lah!
yanhui95
post Jun 9 2011, 11:37 AM

Already started
1,441 posts

Hey praetorian, how long do you get out of your pro tornado setup? can you recommend a similar string?
tiangkim
post Jun 9 2011, 11:39 AM

50 posts

oo..... on d way coming in....hehehe.....hopefully i dont change anymore....

after k6.1team, i bought blx6.1team, bio 300... sold and selling them.......

after getting the one i like, then work on d skill.......

praetorian
post Jun 9 2011, 11:51 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Jun 9 2011, 11:37 AM)
Hey praetorian, how long do you get out of your pro tornado setup? can you recommend a similar string?
Well I rotate sticks, depending on who I am playing against, and what type of style they, play or what I am in the mood to do....lol
From my own database when I was experimenting with tennis strings,I can safely say Signum Pro Tornado is a very good poly, not stiff for the arm, has very adequate spin, good tension stability , and when I used it in a K6.1 at 45-48lbs, it played well for almost a whole month, I clocked easily over 38-45 hours with this string. (Calculated at 2 hours a day almost 6 days a week for a whole month.)

Well the string that I found that plays quite well as Tornado would be Hyperion, but Hyperion is not a textured string but it plays almost the same as Tornado, for something lower Signum Pro Poly Plasma (orange) plays very well as well, its relatively cheap, OUTSTANDING tension maintenance. If you want other brands, Tecnifibre's Black Code can play like Tornado, feels abit 'stiffer', so string slightly lower? If you like TF's Black Code, you should like Dunlops Black Widow, Black Widow is really soft, this is the one string I string slightly higher than 48lbs, this string I string 50lbs.....also though I have not tried this string yet Pro Supex Blue Gear Ultra, I have used extensively the earlier version ,Pro Supex Blue Gear, Pro Supex makes incredible quality strings, if you can get them locally and I know you can from bro 'inv' he can sell you a set and even string the racket for you, just PM him for his rate's.

All in all strings are mostly trial and error. Sometimes you like the string but hate the tension...or you can love the string and love the tension <3
Have fun!
pooh88
post Jun 9 2011, 12:16 PM

Malaysia Tennis Enthusiast
2,367 posts

Prae,

If i play with u what sort of Weapon u wanna use against me!! whistling.gif
Your philosophy string reviews very long,i read halfway almost fell asleep!! yawn.gif yawn.gif
I suggest u chg ur profession become a tennis tutor la,so u can lecture all the hot gucci mama how to play tennis brows.gif

QUOTE(praetorian @ Jun 9 2011, 11:51 AM)
Well I rotate sticks, depending on who I am playing against, and what type of style they, play or what I am in the mood to do....lol
From my own database when I was experimenting with tennis strings,I can safely say Signum Pro Tornado is a very good poly, not stiff for the arm, has very adequate spin, good tension stability , and when I used it in a K6.1 at 45-48lbs, it played well for almost a whole month, I clocked easily over 38-45 hours with this string. (Calculated at 2 hours a day almost 6 days a week for a whole month.)

Well the string that I found that plays quite well as Tornado would be Hyperion, but Hyperion is not a textured string but it plays almost the same as Tornado, for something lower Signum Pro Poly Plasma (orange) plays very well as well, its relatively cheap, OUTSTANDING tension maintenance. If you want other brands, Tecnifibre's Black Code can play like Tornado, feels abit 'stiffer', so string slightly lower? If you like TF's Black Code, you should like Dunlops Black Widow, Black Widow is really soft, this is the one string I string slightly higher than 48lbs, this string I string 50lbs.....also though I have not tried this string yet Pro Supex Blue Gear Ultra, I have used extensively the earlier version ,Pro Supex Blue Gear, Pro Supex makes incredible quality strings, if you can get them locally and I know you can from bro 'inv' he can sell you a set and even string the racket for you, just PM him for his rate's.

All in all strings are mostly trial and error. Sometimes you like the string but hate the tension...or you can love the string and love the tension <3
Have fun!
praetorian
post Jun 9 2011, 01:31 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(pooh88 @ Jun 9 2011, 12:16 PM)
Prae,

Your philosophy string reviews very long,i read halfway almost fell asleep!! yawn.gif  yawn.gif
I suggest u chg ur profession become a tennis tutor la,so u can lecture all the hot gucci mama how to play tennis brows.gif
Hahahaha that one easy lah....I hire one gucci mama...you wont sampai till the gelanggang loh....I win! YAY!
Well paiseh I make you fall asleep Encik pooh....but I like to be a bit detail mah, if just say FUUUUUUYOHHHH Keng this string....everyone also can.....
I am small fry compared to you and your mega business tauke pooh if I got gucci mama.....that means I can order 3 container........and that means you can put down payment on your 'BMW'......ngam bo!!! :-p
sophisticatedren
post Jun 9 2011, 01:32 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(pooh88 @ Jun 9 2011, 12:16 PM)
Prae,

Your philosophy string reviews very long,i read halfway almost fell asleep!! yawn.gif  yawn.gif
oi dun cucuk him wei.. prae.. can tell me how's the durability of black widow??
praetorian
post Jun 9 2011, 01:48 PM

866 posts

Long time no see Sophi <3 hope things are well!
Me and pooh tak ngam one, if got chance to 'cucuk' him, must do it! Bwhahahah

Regarding Black Widow I bought a reel, so far its very good, depending on what you are looking for, here is a general idea:

I HATE to say that if you don't have proper strokes yet, though it may help, you won't exactly see a huge difference in your game, if you are 3.5-5.0.....you will see a pretty good improvement in top/under/side/spin .

Spin:8/10
Comfort:9.5/10
Tension Maintenance:8/10
Durability:7/10

I normally string my rackets at 45-48lbs, but with Black Widow I upped it a slight notch at a whopping 50lbs....the above is my own opinion and observation if you string your rackets slightly higher, feel free to add 1-2lbs, based on your preference.
sophisticatedren
post Jun 9 2011, 02:00 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Jun 9 2011, 01:48 PM)

Regarding Black Widow I bought a reel, so far its very good, depending on what you are looking for, here is a general idea:

I HATE to say that if you don't have proper strokes yet, though it may help, you won't exactly see a huge difference in your game, if you are 3.5-5.0.....you will see a pretty good improvement in top/under/side/spin .

I normally string my rackets at 45-48lbs, but with Black Widow I upped it a slight notch at a whopping 50lbs....the above is my own opinion and observation if you string your rackets slightly higher, feel free to add 1-2lbs, based on your preference.
yesterday pooh kipas-ed me with this string... hmm.. can i know wat's the gauge that you are using??

haha prefer thick one coz me poor man ma... tie one time if the string can tahan use as long as i can wahahah..
pooh88
post Jun 9 2011, 02:00 PM

Malaysia Tennis Enthusiast
2,367 posts

Prae,

Surebo the reviews Black Widow so keng meh,personally i haven't try yet. rolleyes.gif
Durability u gave 7/10,bugger don know u talking about 16 or 17 gauge!!!! shocking.gif
Bugger if i test the string durability no good i gonna bill the charges back to u!!! mad.gif

QUOTE(praetorian @ Jun 9 2011, 01:48 PM)

TSinv
post Jun 9 2011, 02:04 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

Hmm, it seems that most ppl string their poly in the region of 45 to 53lbs, except for a few. I'm using a hybrid of ultimatum spin n syn gut at 58lbs on my exo3 tour. Plays a lot better than maxim touch at 53lbs.
sophisticatedren
post Jun 9 2011, 02:10 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(pooh88 @ Jun 9 2011, 02:00 PM)
Prae,

Surebo the reviews Black Widow so keng meh,personally i haven't try yet. rolleyes.gif
Durability u gave 7/10,bugger don know u talking about 16 or 17 gauge!!!! shocking.gif
Bugger if i test the string durability no good i gonna bill the charges back to u!!! mad.gif
yalo.. if test no good charge back to u can ah prae.. wahahha...
praetorian
post Jun 9 2011, 02:13 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(sophisticatedren @ Jun 9 2011, 02:00 PM)
yesterday pooh kipas-ed me with this string... hmm.. can i know wat's the gauge that you are using??

haha prefer thick one coz me poor man ma... tie one time if the string can tahan use as long as i can wahahah..
Sohi yhaaa sorry abt not posting that particular bit of information, I am using 17G.I think pooh has 16G, can ask him.....
QUOTE(pooh88 @ Jun 9 2011, 02:00 PM)
Prae,

I very rarely break strings except on mishits, I normally cut the strings after 2-3 weeks after use, irregardless if they break or not, I prefer a fresh string job to dead poly......
QUOTE(inv @ Jun 9 2011, 02:04 PM)
Hmm, it seems that most ppl string their poly in the region of 45 to 53lbs, except for a few. I'm using a hybrid of ultimatum spin n syn gut at 58lbs on my exo3 tour. Plays a lot better than maxim touch at 53lbs.
Like I mentioned before, string preference is very subjective.....I like it at 42-48lbs, as I feel with polys, lower tension equates more spin, always good against net rushers....doesn't mean it works for me, will work well for everyone....
sophisticatedren
post Jun 9 2011, 02:13 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Jun 9 2011, 02:04 PM)
inv tonite still on?

133 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.3323sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:55 AM