The all new Nintendo Wii U Discussion Thread, NA price drop next month

deepan84
post Nov 9 2012, 05:41 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Nov 9 2012, 05:06 PM)
what is the price? feel like wanna get 1 for casual happy gaming. MARIO!!
Surely above 1.5k.. Rmbr when PS3 newly came out and it was priced at 4k rclxub.gif
deepan84
post Nov 10 2012, 07:43 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(hydroboy87 @ Nov 9 2012, 06:17 PM)
i just wanna play mario..zelda games and some old wii games i missed out and of course mh tri U
then get the wii now and play all d mario games. after 3years when the wiiU has matured with good games, u can buy it. most probably the price of the WiiU wud have reduced by then.
deepan84
post Mar 26 2014, 04:21 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(andrewcha @ Mar 24 2014, 10:14 PM)
No worries.

Just found out that WiiU U.S. now also got refurbished. 32GB with Nintendo land. Under RM1k. Interested lemme know.
PM me bout the refurb set.
deepan84
post Jun 12 2014, 04:42 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(wintzen @ Jun 12 2014, 11:12 AM)
Guys, bought a Wii U yesterday for the Mario games. Add me up at TrojanDan18. Thanks!
if you dont mind me asking, how much did u buy it for?
deepan84
post Jun 14 2014, 01:40 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(rush25 @ Jun 13 2014, 09:54 PM)
Currently there is 4 bundle commonly available:
1. Normal bundle with just console
2. Zelda's Windwaker bundle
3. Super Mario Bros bundle
4. Mario Kart bundle (latest)

All comes with the gamepad controller only except the Mario kart bundle which also comes with the red mario wiimote and the stering wheel wub.gif

Qisahn is in sg btw. But they do deliver their stuff to here at a reasonable price. rclxms.gif
u missed skylander bundle tongue.gif
deepan84
post Sep 24 2014, 12:23 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Sep 21 2014, 12:33 AM)
my honest advice: If you can't tahan for the Nintendo Land and Super Mario 3D Land bundle, then you can buy the New Super Mario Bros U bundle. The price should be similar.
kyo, estimated date for the mario 3d land bundle release..
deepan84
post Oct 14 2014, 04:29 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Oct 14 2014, 12:16 PM)
I'm starting to get reports that the new WiiU bundled with Super Mario 3D World and Nintendo Land has now arrived in our shores. Now it's just a matter of finding it from the right supplier. Hahaha.
when u bringin it in?
deepan84
post Oct 27 2014, 10:11 AM

White Rider
2,199 posts

i just got a 8gb basic wii u. planning to increase the HDisk but feels very messy and clunky to have many wires/boxes around it.

is it viable to just use a 32gb SD card Class 10 (around RM65) to increase storage and will the speed be any faster compared to HDisk?
deepan84
post Oct 27 2014, 10:56 AM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Oct 27 2014, 10:19 AM)
it won't even work to begin with. laugh.gif
just read this "For Wii U, SD Cards can be used for saving a picture of your Mii and QR Code patterns for your Mii, but not as an external storage device for Wii U software".

haha.. i was reading some forums and they were talking bout using USB Thumbdrive or SD Card as storage. Tot it was possible. guess have to buy HDisk den..
deepan84
post Oct 27 2014, 04:58 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Oct 27 2014, 11:21 AM)
I think i outlined this in my FAQ. But whatever it is, to help you further since you're going to need a sufficiently powered HDD (that way, no need for more cables or even an adapter), go get a Y-Cable so that you can use both USB ports at the back. That would provide just enough power for digital games.
ok i read your FAQ. and i also googled bout this problem but cant seem to find an answer.

I'm using composite cable and have already set my wii u to non-hdmi connection but the image turns out black and white. The cable works fine with the Wii though. any solution for this?

p/s HDMI and original Wii AV cable works fine.

This post has been edited by deepan84: Oct 27 2014, 05:12 PM
deepan84
post Oct 28 2014, 09:49 AM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Oct 27 2014, 08:32 PM)
Wrong connection? Did you put the yellow composite cable into different slot in your tv? The usual problem (b&w image) is when someone tried to plug in the composite video cable into one of the component input on their tv. If this isn't the case,  hmm.gif
previously i was using the component cable's for the Wii and it worked fine. and i just swapped the proprietary side of the cable to the WiiU without touching the tv slots.

so i'm not sure whats the problem..
deepan84
post Oct 28 2014, 02:28 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Oct 28 2014, 12:50 PM)
Wait now I'm confused. You're using composite or component? Could you snap a pic or two of the connection on your tv? And try reconnect the cable on your Wii again, see if somehow it ends up black & white or not. If it's b&w instead of full colour, it might be the video cable suddenly becomes faulty assuming the console-tv connection is correct.
QUOTE(yangkuo @ Oct 28 2014, 01:10 PM)
GOOD CATCH! 

very likely it's Component. that's because he just focused on changing the connection at the console side ... and it's the same connector type as Wii previously.

thus the video signal is now split when output to TV since only one channel is input  blink.gif
ok lemme make it simple.

1) using wii with component cables. works fine with color.
2) bought wiiU and plugged in the composite cable into wiiU. B&W color. setting stuck at 480i (non hdmi).

anyway later ill try again and maybe take a pic.

QUOTE(benblitz @ Oct 28 2014, 02:16 PM)
Is it still worth it to get a Wii U? Seems like im getting more and more attracted to Nintendo these days..
i prefer quality over quantity. and wiiU has quality games. its just that the gamepad is big..and controllers tend to break over time. so replacing them gona be pricey.
deepan84
post Oct 29 2014, 09:34 AM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(benblitz @ Oct 28 2014, 04:19 PM)
Controllers tend to break? You mean the gamepad? Anyway, if I ever going to pick it up, Mario Kart 8 and Bayonetta 2 is sure going to be on my list! Other games to recommend?
QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Oct 28 2014, 04:38 PM)
I'm not sure how deepan got the idae that controllers tend to break.

What in the world would you do to it that can get it to break. laugh.gif
break as in wear&tear. not literally break. especially the circle pad.
deepan84
post Oct 29 2014, 10:33 AM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Oct 29 2014, 10:08 AM)
haha. And now it's the 3DS pulak. tongue.gif

Btw, the C-Stick can handle the abuse. It's way too soft to actually have a stuck sticky effect like the PS3/4 controllers.
haha i meant the buttons and stuff on the gamepad la.. not 3ds. maybe i worded it wrongly (refering to C-stick). most controllers will go bust after frequent usage. if in USA, we can send for warranty or repair with a fee but in Msia, no such service unless u take extra effort. thats the risk of having a $150USD controller/tablet.

but its worth the risk for the games. excellent first party games and i'm also an avid nintendo fan since NES days (had all consoles except Gamecube)..have to thank my dad for introducing me to Nintendo through the NES. haha.
deepan84
post Oct 30 2014, 05:50 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(deepan84 @ Oct 28 2014, 02:28 PM)
ok lemme make it simple.

1) using wii with component cables. works fine with color.
2) bought wiiU and plugged in the composite cable into wiiU. B&W color. setting stuck at 480i (non hdmi).

anyway later ill try again and maybe take a pic.
i prefer quality over quantity. and wiiU has quality games. its just that the gamepad is big..and controllers tend to break over time. so replacing them gona be pricey.
problem solved. i switched the jack to another component channel. now can choose 720p non-hdmi and got colour already.
deepan84
post Nov 1 2014, 06:14 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

wow..how much did u spend?
deepan84
post Nov 3 2014, 09:39 AM

White Rider
2,199 posts

Wanna ask, what type of controller do u guys prefer to use on your wii U?

the Gamepad or the Pro Controller?
deepan84
post Nov 3 2014, 11:23 AM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Nov 3 2014, 10:55 AM)
I end up using the gamepad most of the time.
They small stuff that you can do on the gamepad is good enough for me.

Pro Controller don't have that. But for some games without the screen thing, i'll use pro controller.
games like windwaker HD and mario 3d land i tink better use pro controller.. more easier to handle coz its smaller.
deepan84
post Nov 7 2014, 10:52 AM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Oct 27 2014, 11:21 AM)
I think i outlined this in my FAQ. But whatever it is, to help you further since you're going to need a sufficiently powered HDD (that way, no need for more cables or even an adapter), go get a Y-Cable so that you can use both USB ports at the back. That would provide just enough power for digital games.
doing some reading and although Nintendo doesn't recommend this, it seems you can use USB Flash Drive to expand the storage.. not too sure bout the failure rate though.

edit: just read ur faq again and realised u did put usb thumbdrive as an option. rclxub.gif duno how i missed it :/

This post has been edited by deepan84: Nov 7 2014, 10:54 AM
deepan84
post Nov 21 2014, 11:52 AM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Nov 21 2014, 12:24 AM)
Which bundle worthy to get, any good bundle coming up?

Saw Mario Kart Bundle.
i would recommend the mario 3d world bundle. and try buying mk8 as your nxt game.

0.0465sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:20 PM