Events Club LYN Japan V4, 日本へようこそ!, Here we are! Nihon Yokoso!

tatsuyachiba
post Jun 4 2011, 03:01 PM

QUOTE(heterosapiens @ Jun 4 2011, 09:25 AM)
My point is that, Japanese culture encourages "retry". That is all.
Perhaps you're right. e.g. the university entrance exams. Not uncommon for students to try again (waiting a year) to get into one of the national universities, having failed at their initial try. Some do this even though they've been accepted into one of the "lesser" universities.

Then again, I don't know of a culture that doesn't allow you a second chance. North Korean perhaps? smile.gif

tatsuyachiba
post Jun 6 2011, 11:36 AM

QUOTE(tanoshi @ Jun 4 2011, 11:26 PM)
eh I salah orang....suppose to ask tatsuyachiba lama tak nampak hahhaa! nod.gif
Tanoshi, I hope you and your family are doing well at home. I'll be in Japan for a short visit in June and hopefully a longer stay in August.

PsyCHZZZ, you have PM.
tatsuyachiba
post Jun 22 2011, 10:57 AM

QUOTE(nasizwan @ Jun 22 2011, 09:36 AM)
Since you're experienced father, I need your advice on what to do being inside delivery room. Im worried lol  sweat.gif 
Congratulations. I'm going to give you some advice I wish somebody had passed along *before* I was in the delivery room.

Be supportive, help with counts, be the breathing coach, massage, provide ice chips whatever.

But...

Do *not*, under any circumstances, look. Trust me on this.
tatsuyachiba
post Jun 23 2011, 03:29 PM

QUOTE(nasizwan @ Jun 23 2011, 09:20 AM)
Thank you for your helpful advice. I have questions for you when you register your kid, does your baby get dual nationality up to 21 years old? and he/she needs to choose one after that right? I'm going to JP in January so its advisable to make JP or MY passport for the baby? I've been googling around but not much info could be found about this
You get a Malaysian birth certificate when she delivers. Your wife then goes to the Japanese embassy to get a Japanese birth certificate and passport made.

The next part is important: she then has to add the kids to her family register. This is called a koseki-tohon and your wife has to do this at the city hall (in Japan) where her koseki is currently maintained. In Japan, all birth matters are at the local level - the city level (ku). I'm not sure if your wife split herself from her family's koseki after marriage but now would be a good time to do so i.e. she is starting a new family record. Previously, let's say her family name's Tanabe, she would be recorded as a daughter under her father's koseki - "Tanabe". When females marry, they (usually) leave their family's register and enter their husband's register.

Since you are not a Japanese citizen, she would then start a new koseki with her as head of family. You cannot be on a koseki. You would be just an unofficial afternote at the bottom of the koseki. Your kids would then usually take her last name in Japan and be official dependents in her koseki. You have to be prepared for the fact that they might have 2 official names: their Malaysian name and their Japanese name. You would probably want them to have a Japanese name if they ever want to go back to Japan. e.g. Ryusuke Hashim and Ryusuke Tanabe. Of course she could always change her name to yours and start a koseki under Hashim (for example). However most bi-cultural families I know maintain 2 last names.

Officially they will have to choose one citizenship (both Malaysia and Japan do not recognize dual-nationality) when 21 or 20 (age of majority in Japan is 20).

Finally, you would have to get 2 passports for them if you plan to live in Malaysia. They have to enter/exit Malaysia with their Malaysian passport and vice versa with Japanese passport and Japan.

This post has been edited by tatsuyachiba: Jun 24 2011, 06:42 PM
tatsuyachiba
post Jun 23 2011, 03:46 PM

Also, not sure how your wife feels about your son being able to speak Japanese. But if she is serious about this, the best way is, from the start, for her to never speak to him in any language except Japanese.

Added on June 23, 2011, 3:48 pm
QUOTE(musha @ Jun 23 2011, 03:43 PM)
Thanks tatsuyachiba! Can i keep myself a private copy for future reference? tongue.gif
Of course. You can always ping me in the future as well if or when you get to the next stage.

This post has been edited by tatsuyachiba: Jun 24 2011, 06:43 PM
tatsuyachiba
post Jun 24 2011, 05:52 PM

@nasizwan,

The name - totally random.

As I've said, your son will have 2 legal names. One name will be legal in Japan, and the other in Malaysia. What you do in Japan is no concern of the Malaysian govt. and vice versa. Like I said earlier, this is common practise among bi-bultural Japanese kids. Don't worry about complications - there are none. Your son will get used to it e.g. answer in Japanese "my name is Tanabe Kentaro" and in English, "Kentaro Hashim" - all the bi-cultural kids I know do this automatically.

As to the koseki - this is not anti-foreigner - you too can get a koseki if you have Japanese citizenship. It's just how Japan registers its citizens - very similar to China's "hukou" system.

Added on June 24, 2011, 5:59 pm
QUOTE(Shazzac @ Jun 24 2011, 05:06 PM)
I think it shouldn't be a problem if your wife speaks to them in Japanese and you speak to them in both English & Bahasa.

Kids pick up language fast.

It's the same as how we malaysians are able to speak bahasa/english/chinese eventhough our mother tongue might be only either bahasa or english or chinese!
In actuality it is very hard. True, kids learn languages easily but what I was talking about was native fluency - that part is hard. Look at the Malaysian Chinese experience for example, most speak 3 languages but almost all do not speak any of the languages with native fluency. Mandarin (or Cantonese) - compare our mastery with someone from China/HK.

This post has been edited by tatsuyachiba: Jun 24 2011, 05:59 PM
tatsuyachiba
post Jul 4 2011, 10:49 PM

QUOTE(nasizwan @ Jul 4 2011, 05:06 PM)

My wife has safely delivered on 30th of June, 2020hrs.
Anyhow I've been blessed with a healthy baby GIRL!!! It was really unexpected because previous doc said its a boy. I
Congratulations! Funny about the ultrasound, usually it is the other way - a predicted girl turning into a boy (because "he was shy"). Best wishes for the mom + baby + you. Japanese custom means you have to pick the name, pick the correct number of strokes (kanji) for good fortune and then write the name on a paper and stick on the wall for xx days.

tatsuyachiba
post Jul 10 2011, 05:51 AM

QUOTE(balthier511 @ Jul 10 2011, 02:10 AM)
With the PLUS logo can we withdraw money from any ATM or just certain ATMs?
Are the instructions in Japanese?
Using an ATM card issued by a Malaysian Bank with a Cirrus/Plus logo, you can withdraw from 4 bank ATM networks in Japan: 7Bank (found in most 7-Elevens), Japan Post Bank (found in post offices), Shinsei Bank and CitiBank (few locations but ATMs available in NRT).

I've used all four in the past and all of them have a menu option for English.

You won't be able to use other Japanese banks. Heck, even using a Japan-issued card, sometimes difficult to use different bank ATM networks.

The ATM transaction itself does not carry fees (none of the above impose service charges), your Malaysian bank will likely hit you with a 1-3% fee.

tatsuyachiba
post Jul 26 2011, 01:24 AM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 25 2011, 10:37 PM)

From Asakusa Bashi Station Code A16 ( 浅草橋駅 ) to Makuhari station ( 幕張駅 )  By Sōbu Line (中央・総武緩行線)
Makuhari almost in Chiba already....so you won't get any detail on Tokyo guide book.
Man, you are really good with the train system. A couple of notes:
Makuhari *is* in Chiba - Chiba starts after the Sobu line crosses the river into Ichikawa Station.
I think some Sobu trains terminate at Tsudanuma. You will see "Tsudanuma" on the front. You'd want to take trains that say "Chiba" or "Narita" - Sobu goes all the way to the airport. Even if you mistakenly take this train, no problem, get off and take the next train.
Finally, Sobu line has 2 trains - Local (Yellow) and Express (Blue). Make sure you take the local (Yellow) - the Express doesn't stop at Makuhari.

tatsuyachiba
post Aug 19 2011, 09:39 AM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 16 2011, 07:47 PM)
At Japan, parking bicycle also need to pay.....
Yes if you are a commuter e.g. you ride a bike to a train station, park and commute to work. Train stations, when they have bike racks, are on a monthly reservation.

But you don't have to pay parking (usually) if you are biking to a mall and shopping. Usually the 1st 3 hours are free (at least in my neighborhood). The rack autolocks after 3 hours so you should pay attention to the time.

I'm in Japan now and weather this weekend is cool because of the storm (Arashi). Downside is that rain is forecasted the whole weekend. Yesterday was crazy hot so the cooler temps are welcome.

Finally most people think winter in Tokyo is comparatively mild as winters go. Doesn't snow and not that cold. Of course everything is relative, compared to Malaysia it IS cold.

tatsuyachiba
post Aug 20 2011, 07:34 AM

@nasizwan
No I am not living permanently in Japan. When I am in Japan, I live in the Tokyo area (in Chiba). I am here often for work and also because my family goes back to Japan 2x a year on vacation. Right now I am in Japan with family for a week for a somewhat delayed Obon (Obon was actually last weekend but I had a schedule clash)

#earthquake
Tokyo area - common to feel small jolts of earthquakes. There have been at least 2 since I arrived last week. One on Friday early am (the house shook) and another Friday pm (the building I was in was swaying side to side).

Weather looks better this weekend, at least in the Tokyo area. Stopped raining Friday evening and hasn't rained since. Hopefully it'll last - son has baseball practice and this evening I'm taking the kids to the local omatsuri.

tatsuyachiba
post Aug 22 2011, 07:10 AM

QUOTE(RegentCid)
Do you really want to go Japan most highest class most expensive area shopping with your body full of heavy fish smell?

If you plan Day 1 is shopping...put all shopping places all in Day 1.
QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 22 2011, 01:23 AM)
Good point, haha. Anyway Google tells me that access to the fish auction is now totally off limits to tourists for the time being (due to the earthquake & tsunami). is it still worth it to go at like 9am or so to look see look see and go omakase one of the sushi places there?
Ginza makes sense since it is near Tsukiji and you can walk from/to either places. I would plan around a locale like you have instead of activity. Otherwise it will be costly in terms of train fares.

I've never been to Tsukiji auction itself (too early in the am) but I've been to the market itself a couple of times. I think it is still a good experience because it's a working market - very interesting to see fishmongers zip around at lightspeed on their one-man "scooters" and the variety of seafood available. You might even see the famous (don't touch) bluefin tunas - huge. Good for an hour of look-see I think.
tatsuyachiba
post Aug 31 2011, 12:24 PM

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Aug 31 2011, 09:19 AM)

I'm heading there tomorrow! I was abit disappointed in the weather forecast as well. But the rain is expected as it rains all the time until end of Sept, I think.
Typhoon Talas hitting Tokyo area today and tomorrow - expect lots of rain.

tatsuyachiba
post Sep 1 2011, 12:42 AM

QUOTE(zerigemok @ Aug 31 2011, 02:23 PM)
Wow a typhoon..this is worse than imagined. So are we advised to stay inside when it strikes? Meaning we can't go visit places then?
Typhoons are typical this time of the year - usually nothing to be worried about in the Tokyo area. Just maybe lots of rain/wind. Just pack an umbrella and some water-resistant shoes and you should be all set.

tatsuyachiba
post Nov 15 2011, 04:17 PM

Re: New Year's Day questions.

1) Temples night on the eve are crowded but not packed. Trains will be running. Must see as e.g. Zojoji as they release lanterns, pound omochi and ring the bells 108 times etc. Most people will be at home watching TV (there are a few popular shows like Kouhaku etc) or at a party, not at a temple.

2) New Year's day will be packed - mostly the shrines, not temples. Japanese go to shrines ("jinja" i.e. Shinto) on New Year's Day. While packed, still manageable - a must-see.

3) You'll find eating options round the clock UNLESS you're staying in a predominantly business area e.g. Shiodome. Those places - most restaurants shut a few days before and after New Year's as no office workers will be around. On normal days, they close early as well around 9-ish. There's always the convenience store ("combini") or late-night donburi (beef bowl) fastfood.

4) Department/supermarkets stores don't usually close at 10. 8-9 more like it. Most will be closed on New Year's Day. Day after, they will start selling "mystery" grab bags called "fukubukuro" - you'll get some good deals but you won't know what's in the bag.

5) Winter will get you some of the clearest weather around - you can see Mt Fuji on some days from Tokyo. You will be able to see sunset and sunrise - news on TV will broadcast those times on weather forecast.

6) Don't forget to go to the Imperial palace on day after New Year's day - it opens only 2x a year. You'll get to see right-wingers shout banzai banzai when the Enperor appears. There's always a couple of them around.

Added on November 15, 2011, 4:54 pm
QUOTE(nasizwan @ Nov 15 2011, 02:38 PM)

2 more weeks to go!!!!  drool.gif Sayonara Malaysia!
Good luck! Will you be entering Japan on a long term social visit visa based on marriage?

This post has been edited by tatsuyachiba: Nov 15 2011, 04:54 PM
tatsuyachiba
post Dec 8 2011, 12:54 AM

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 7 2011, 11:26 PM)
Strictly speaking, no need.
Actually you do need a visa if traveling on a M'sian passport. The initial arbiter is the airline - which won't allow you to board otherwise.
Airlines care greatly because of a pax is turned back at border, airlines incur costs (if pax unable to pay for new ticket) of return passage.
All airlines belong to IATA and IATA maintains a database of visa requirements called Timatic. This database is used at check-in.

The situation where you might not need a visa is coincidental. Say, for example, you are in transit at NRT and you onward flight is canceled. Next flight is 24 hours later. You don't have a Japan visa but you will be allowed to enter Japan (of course since NRT closes late at night and only reopens at 7:30am) - this is called "shore leave".

tatsuyachiba
post Feb 1 2012, 09:20 AM

QUOTE(nasizwan @ Jan 31 2012, 10:34 PM)
its bloody cold in tokyo! it made me lazy to take shower lol
That's what the ofuro is for wink.gif After a 15-minute soak at 41C, you can even run naked outdoors. biggrin.gif
Do keep us updated on your job search - best of luck.
tatsuyachiba
post Feb 21 2012, 05:07 AM

QUOTE(Cho_Hakkai @ Feb 21 2012, 01:38 AM)
Can we apply visa in Japan Embassy in Singapore as my whole family is working in Singapore now or we need to get leave and go back to Malaysia to apply the visa?
Yes if you (and everyone else) are a Sing PR. No otherwise. Call them and ask to make sure.

tatsuyachiba
post Mar 10 2013, 02:35 PM

QUOTE(nasizwan @ Mar 7 2013, 01:28 PM)
this thread is dead. where's everyone??
I hope you have been successful with your job search and are all settled down in Tokyo.
My family goes back 2x a year but I malas nak ikut. Japan very stressful place - too many unwritten rules.

Besides summer in Tokyo hot giler sial (or raining) and winter (while not really super cold relative to north) in old house with no insulation is madness.
On the other hand, the recent yen-yasu is much welcome.

Take care.

tatsuyachiba
post Mar 10 2013, 11:15 PM

QUOTE(tanoshi @ Mar 10 2013, 10:09 PM)
huarkkkk
okairiiii senpai thumbup.gif
ohisashiburi tuan. Your 3 kids (if I recall correctly - 2 girls and boy) baik?

You now back home in East Coast right? semoga everything best best ok.

0.0463sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:42 PM