Events Club LYN Japan V4, 日本へようこそ!, Here we are! Nihon Yokoso!

smwah
post Oct 25 2011, 02:30 PM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

Manage to get my promo booking to Osaka rclxm9.gif . This is 2nd time i going, first time this year also AA promo, super cheap everything included 900 only. But but was given surprise at earth quake, Marh 11. So sad..... then paid extra money for coming back. Consider lucky.
So this time go again but choose Osaka, bcoz Osaka always my first choice. At the end paid about 1.4k for 2 person. Consider cheap also, only thing the air port tax and fee is high. The rest amount u know is wat lar.
But i make a wrong calculation, i travel from 4th may, should not choice the day as Jap is having their golden holiday. Come back on 14th. Only found out that fri go back monday meaning i need to take 7 days off!!!
My Sucida card can reused again... plus some YEN notes. Now yen also very high.
Hope to c u guys n gals around tat time. tongue.gif
smwah
post Oct 25 2011, 07:04 PM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

Go ahead lar...... 700 is cheap cheap. Standard airline round trip should come about 2k.
Jap is good place to visit and u can learn many things as well.
smwah
post Nov 9 2011, 05:15 PM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

Visa should not be problem. If you are employed, just draft a letter to HR, asked them to write a letter that you work under the company and position. If you don't have, you can write a letter which stated you are freelance worker. Off course you need supporting doc, bank statement. 6K person should be ok.
During my march trip, I stayed at hotel near imperial palace, Grand Arc Hotel. You can book it at agoda. Nice view, you can see tokyo tower from your room. rclxms.gif
Food wise, depends what u eat. Breakfast you can eat at those so called fast food average is about 700yen. If you want save, you can try some bento shop, about 500yen. Food is depends what you want to eat, but I would say one meal be ready about 800k. So perday you might spend about 100RM (depends exchange rate). You can go to supermarket for bargain sale at 5 something plus. If really want to save, you can buy mee cup lor.
Be ready to buy suica card, which like cash card. You can use it for train, bus, 7-11.

smwah
post Nov 9 2011, 08:56 PM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

QUOTE(matt85 @ Nov 9 2011, 05:37 PM)
Wah you must be super rich! Stays in Chiyoda man!!  thumbup.gif

Regarding visa, it's actually very very very very easy to get. Just go to their embassy website, download the requirement list and follow to the dot. Don't tell me i didn't warn you guys; be prepared for cold treatment by their officers if your documents are incomplete. It's not that they aren't friendly, but Japanese culture always favour perfectionism, so do your homework before submitting.

Core documents:
1. Bank statement signed chopped by bank officer, amount RM 6000.00, no more no less. Rob or borrow, make sure it's cukup!
2. Itinerary; just a simple plan on how to plan for your holiday. They just afraid you overstay, that's all !
3. Passport
4. Passport photos (to prepare for obituary look  laugh.gif just jk)
5. Photocopy I/C and birth certificate

There are other documents too, such as letter of guarantee and invitation, but i was fine without them. For more info, go to: http://www.mofa.go.jp/j_info/visit/visa/short/other_visa.html
No lar the hotel not so expensive. Is about RM350 pernite, but is super single bed, room size is about 18m2, with 32 inch lcd. Toilet is standard type. But the view is excellent, is not window but is a glass window which something like the whole wall. You can see the imperial park and also tokyo tower. Suppose stay there for 7 nites but cut short to 3 nites due to the 311 earthquake. If you wanted something comfort to stay, I highly recommend this hotel. I had travel to Japan for work, but seriously their hotel is super small with the price about the same as Grand Arc, maybe Grand Arc abit slightly higher.

The core documents, is correct. But I put in my flight details copy as well. Normally the staff at embassy will check before they give u a receipt stated when u can come for collection.
smwah
post Jan 25 2012, 01:25 AM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

Been to Tokyo during last year earth quake.
But this year Japan again? brows.gif
Travel to Osaka, 19 march till 28 march 12
I need advice on my plan trip.
My target: Osaka, Kyoto, Nara, Kobe

I not sure how long i need to stay at osaka, kyoto or kobe?
Please suggest a plan for my trip base on my travel date.
Many thanks.

smwah
post Jan 27 2012, 10:44 PM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Jan 26 2012, 12:14 AM)
I found a good chronology of Kansai visit by a singaporean
http://wodejiaoying.blogspot.com/2010/10/o...-hiroshima.html

w/ this i hope we get less 'please suggest' from 0-plan.
link should help giving idea what to visit
this is really a good info sharing. Thx rclxms.gif
She did provide very good information.
smwah
post Feb 4 2012, 06:02 PM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

QUOTE(infested_ysy @ Feb 2 2012, 10:28 PM)
Okay... looks like I might not be able to apply for a visa in time (forgot about monday and tuesday being public holidays in KL). I've got all the documents except for Bank statement, CIMB's e-statement with digital signature doesn't work, at all. I get nothing.

Feels bad, bro.

What are the chances of a gainfully employed fresh graduate young lad be denied entry to the land of the rising sun, for failing to apply for visa?
We should prepare the visa at least 2 weeks before travel at least we got time to prepare in case got reject. As for bank statement, previous application, I just print my maybank2u statement, then go to bank as the officer to chop signed.
If not enough money ask ppl pinjam u and put in the account. For those unemployed or freelance, just write a letter stated your work as a freelance. For those who working, just prepare a letter with ur company and ask ur hr or boss chop sign.

smwah
post Feb 11 2012, 02:04 PM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

Hi need advice on transportation. My need to reach KIX at 730 or early to catch my flight back home. Where should I stay in Osaka in order have a easy transportation. I am thinking going to the OCAT and take early bus to KIX. Compare to take train and which one is easier for luggage storage and access?
It is enjoyable renting a bike at kyoto area? Parking bike at those tourist area need to pay? how about deparment store area. Thx
smwah
post Mar 11 2012, 01:14 PM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

March 11th, Japan Tsunami & Earthquake 1st Anniversary day.
Lets pray for the victims and lost one. cry.gif
It had been since last 365 days, where I was at Ueno park. So fast time passed but memory still fresh.

My 2nd trip to Jap is coming next week to Osaka Kyoto.
smwah
post Mar 15 2012, 11:30 PM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

May I know how is the weather at Kyoto, Osaka. I check the web, it seems like 10'c plus and below. Looks like much cooler compare last year around this time.
If i buy one day or 2 day sight seeing card. How I user the card? exp, I bought on 19 mar, but wat to use on 20 Mar. Another exp is 2 days pass, it is continuosly for 2 days or can skip in between? 500yen for bus and 1200 for bus and subway. What do u think? it is worth to hav bus and sub or bus? How much the standard subway station to another cost?
Lastly the AA, do I go to the auto kiosk check in or use my smart phone check in? Coz smart phone no ticket print.
Thx.

smwah
post Mar 16 2012, 10:01 PM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Mar 15 2012, 11:50 PM)
Today? Kansai Night temperature now was 5C.

You bough at 19 Mar means 20 Mar are last day.  21 Mar cannot used anymore.  Where got such thing can skip? 

Just buy Kansai Thru Pass ...it include all the bus and subway unlimited rides.  Except JR company Line.

Last Question on AA......you are Elite Rank....so cannot tell you the answer  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
So meaning it will starts automatically count on the day I buy ticket? Let say on the 3rd day, I should go to station and purchase again?

Kansai Thru pass,,,, I think i won't travel far, sighseeing pass will be enough.

AA..... mmmm should using the kiosk check in with print out pass.

Lastly, my last day will be at Osaka, staying at Hotel Brighton City, Kitahama. My flight is at 9.30am, I need to reach airport by 8am or early. I am thinking going to OCAT and take bus. Will take 610am bus, but question is, OCAT already open? or I need to purchase day before? Such early, any train open or subway? or I need to take cab. Tq.

0.0414sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:32 AM