Maybankard 2 Gold and Platinum Cards V2, AMEX with Visa or MasterCard
hye
Aug 21 2011, 12:16 AM
White Tiger
QUOTE(lamode @ Aug 20 2011, 08:37 PM) Applied plat card on 12th Aug and received the card today, yet the CL is only 10k, guess that is the lowest CL in plat category. any plat card holder can beat me with lower CL?  If I'm not mistaken, got someone came by before holding a Plat card with RM6k. I really am speechless  Added on August 21, 2011, 12:17 amQUOTE(David83 @ Aug 20 2011, 08:32 PM) @hye, I never try before but one of my colleague told me that. Sorry that I couldn't verify it myself since I don't have an account with PosOnline. Not a problem. This post has been edited by hye: Aug 21 2011, 12:17 AM
hye
Aug 21 2011, 12:27 AM
White Tiger
QUOTE(fruitie @ Aug 21 2011, 12:19 AM) 6K CL for Plat is really speechless...  My Gold CL is higher than that.  Well ... this is the result of the "Platinum" chase. Many wants an upgrade to Platinum card thinking it'll boost their status and perhaps huge CL jump / upgrade. We did warn that the cards will not come with super CL but al least these folks got their Platinum card wish. They got the card and that's exactly what happened ... they only get the card. I am  , my old days Gold card also used to have higher CL than these days Platinum cards. This post has been edited by hye: Aug 21 2011, 12:30 AM
hye
Aug 24 2011, 11:53 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(hellremix @ Aug 24 2011, 11:43 PM) Hi Guys, I read from earlier post that we need to cover the CVV number at the front and back with some kind of tape for safety reason rite?. But, I am thinking of covering the account number (not all, but some of the number) just to make it a bit difficult if someone try to steal it (Online). Got scared already after reading earlier post stating that someone could easily use the CC if they got the acc no at the front of the card, the expiry date, name on the card, and also the CVV number. If i cover the account number, will it effect the card? Sorry for the noob questions.. Regards, The problem that you are reading arise because the person was not so smart and to post the actual image of the card online for the whole world to see for reasons that I could not fantom at all. So you decide to use the card online, whether you cover the number or not is not important because no website will ask for the physical card image and you should scram if any website that does that. Only the card number (and some other details) is required. Unless of course you wish to show off your card online and needing to post an image of it ... then yes, please be smart to cover all the numbers or even better, don't do it! Doing such you are even violating the T&C of your card usage as you willing surrendering your card details for unauthorized usage. Don't call yourself a noob coz only a noob would be really that dumb enough to post the image of their physical card online. Take some effort to understand what was the problem was all about and don't scare yourself just because something happen. Scaring yourself silly is another noob syndrome. This post has been edited by hye: Aug 24 2011, 11:56 PM
hye
Aug 25 2011, 12:06 AM
White Tiger
QUOTE(hellremix @ Aug 24 2011, 11:59 PM) Yeah bro, i know that i should never ever reveal the image of the real card online. Just curious, when we buy something, the cashier, or waiter will take our card and swipe it rite? Doesn't that will reveal the card no. and all? and they could easily jot down the number and use it online?. Sorry again for the silly question, i am just very-very new to this CC thing.Hehehe...Appreciate your answers guys... Regards, If it is really a problem then don't you think no one will use credit card at all in restaurants ? The newspapers will pick it up and BNM will response to this public and serious complaint. What you think is a problem or what your friends tell you is likely to be a myth. The guys in here range between 1 year to more than 10 years of using credit cards experience and I'm sure 99.5% of them don't have this problem. If you feel un-secure then you may cover the numbers but please be aware that some cashiers are trained to rejects cards which are fishy. They may tolerate covering the CVV but to cover the numbers ??? Try it yourself and let us know of their response. Please don't waste our time asking us to answer your silly questions which you are too afraid to risk it yourself.
hye
Aug 26 2011, 04:15 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 26 2011, 01:51 PM) 25,000 for a return ticket to BKK. However, if you do the redemption online, you'll need only 17,500 Enrich Miles. Do note that you still have to pay for the airport tax and fuel surchage yourself. Airport tax for the return ticket to Bangkok is about RM6xx. That place it to be the same as a normal AirAsia ticket. Redemption online saves the Enrich points to be redeemed but the airport tax that need to be paid remains the same.
hye
Aug 26 2011, 11:43 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 26 2011, 06:40 PM) Actually, the total tax + fuel surcharge for a return MAS ticket between KUL and BKK is just RM387. We all look at the big picture. Whether it is point or cash back isn't important. What concern us most is the total return we will get at the end of the day. Emm ... sorry got the numbers wrong. Agreed on the second point. End of the day, it is what each person wants that counts. Not everyone wants points and likewise for cash back.
hye
Aug 31 2011, 08:59 AM
White Tiger
QUOTE(jalsrix @ Aug 31 2011, 07:53 AM) How to sell enrich miles ? I want to sell mine. You need to execute Enrich transfer to another person. Note that there will be fees applicable.
hye
Aug 31 2011, 12:23 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(yingchai @ Aug 31 2011, 11:26 AM) Hi, I juz apply my credit card and have two enquiries here... 1. From my hard copy statement, on the first line of transaction, my I know what is RETAIL INTEREST RATE = 16.00% means? 2. What is the easiest way to redeem the treatpoints? can redeem via maybank2u? Thanks. 1. It means the interest rate applied to you by the bank in the event you have any outstanding balance. No need to bother about this at all should you treat your card like cash. Since you juz apply your card, please have this thought in your mind - Got money then only swipe, recommend do not ever spend beyond your means to pay every month. 2. You can call CS to redeem the treatpoints or visit maybankard.net.my or visit participating retail outlets. This post has been edited by hye: Aug 31 2011, 12:25 PM
hye
Aug 31 2011, 04:20 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(Blues03 @ Aug 31 2011, 03:45 PM) I used my visa on 29th August but the cashier said the transaction failed..she tried 3 times and said all failed..but today, I view my statement on m2u..there are 3 same transaction which claimed failed by that cashier...how to claim back this issue?should I call maybank or go back to that shop?please advice  Plan A : You may attempt to ask the shop to do a transaction reversal for you. However, the shop may not know how to do this thus go to the next plan. Plan B : Call up the bank and ask them to do a transaction dispute. Note : this will take time (up to several weeks) and the transactions will still not disappear from your M2U anytime soon. Many previous readers thinks that transaction dispute take a few days (and some think instantaneously) to clear off.
hye
Aug 31 2011, 07:27 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(celaw @ Aug 31 2011, 06:30 PM) Hi, I had a foreign currency transaction on 28 Aug 2011 posted on 30 Aug 2011 using amex. The amount is £81 (RM406.35). How could I know what is the forex rate used by mbb and how much the admin charges imposed? thank you.. Quite simple mathematics right ? Amount charged = RM406.35 vs GBP81 which give you 5.0167 Use any forex website or Wawasan to look for GBP forex on the 28th Aug. Difference between the both are the admin charges. P/S The last few steps are for you to do it yourself. May I know why you wish to know the forex rate and the admin charges ?
hye
Aug 31 2011, 07:33 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(oneeleven @ Aug 31 2011, 07:25 PM) On a rare visit to Pizza Hut, asked for Maybank discount. They insisted discount only for cards exactly as shown in the advertising photo (ones with all gold and silver face?), then made me pay full price. I called card CS and they said any MBB card should be accepted. If me, I would have stood my ground. (If I knew I had a case) Either accept, call your manager/area manager/GM/country manager/headquarters for confirmation (or risk advertisement fraud) or I'm only going to pay after a written explanation from the branch manager as to why the card is not accepted as I will submit this as proof to their HQ later. Hahaha ...
hye
Sep 1 2011, 12:40 AM
White Tiger
QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Sep 1 2011, 12:26 AM) If you still receive paper statements, check the back regarding foreign transactions. At least for the most recent MBB statement I have, it is mentioned the exchange rate is based on when the transaction is received and/or processed. Due to transaction lag, this will typically not be the transaction date. This might be true. I always noticed this when I was using my SCB back then. There were days where there was a huge gap between the posted and transaction date and unfortunately the posted date was the more expensive forex rate. For those sensitive travelers/credit card users, my personal recommendation is to best use MC/VISA from MBB. The lower forex rate helps + you get points for spending. Using AMEX from MBB is probably akin to using the most expensive forex conversion for MC/VISA from other banks around town. And please bear in mind whatever card you are using from whatever bank, there is always the additional percentage applied by the bank ... which to avoid the charges then pay in foreign cash. (Not practical coz you have to pay in person ... imagine paying for a book from B&N or Amazon in person. Flight fees already in the range of thousands) Or even to pay for your expenses while on holiday. I can't imagine bringing RM10K in your pocket running around in a foreign country. There's always a slight premium to pay for convenience. Credit cards offer enhanced safety as well when it comes to disputes. This post has been edited by hye: Sep 1 2011, 12:44 AM
hye
Sep 3 2011, 10:34 AM
White Tiger
QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 3 2011, 10:05 AM) The above concept will make a good payer but the banks will have you since you have debts.  Err ... David83, I read it several times. Don't know what you are trying to say. Perhaps ... banks .... since you have 0 debts ?
hye
Sep 3 2011, 10:53 AM
White Tiger
QUOTE(idunnolol @ Sep 3 2011, 08:23 AM) how do i make the statement balance be 0? Dont feel good looking at it even though i pay finish. Its like i owe them  Not practical. There will always be some value so long you are using your card. So long you pay in full every month then don't think at all. And as mentioned by alexwsk, what you wanted is akin to not using your card at all. Then just cancel your credit card and work off cash because you will owe the bank at least once a year with the RM50 GST. By canceling your card(s) or not owning one you definitely would not owe the bank anything nor would you owe anyone anything. Again ... not a practical idea isn't it given today's environment ?
hye
Sep 3 2011, 09:08 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 3 2011, 05:53 PM) Sorry. Corrected my statement. Missed out certain word that confused people. My apology since was rushing out before posted that comment.  No problem man  We all make mistakes sometimes ... myself included.
hye
Sep 3 2011, 11:11 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(idunnolol @ Sep 3 2011, 09:27 PM) Cannot count like that boss. Within a short 1 month of using my CC, i already get back like rm 5-800 cash back So,i already settle it fully then i dont have to worry about it appearing on maybank2u? Scared i kena charge interest only  You ask an obvious question to an obvious answer. You will be charged interest if you don't pay in full every month and as simple as that. Obviously you like using cc already although I'm rather curious what sort of card are you using to get RM800 cash back in one month or just showing off.  Boss, There's no such cards from MBB that can get RM800 cash back in one month. This post has been edited by hye: Sep 4 2011, 06:08 AM
hye
Sep 4 2011, 09:59 AM
White Tiger
QUOTE(idunnolol @ Sep 4 2011, 09:43 AM) No boss,i meant the indirectly calculated 2.5% cashback for the 5X TP with AMEX. If really got such good card that give unlimited cash back i think the bank wont approve my credit card because i really spend a lot  Boss ... Don't confuse readers here with something that is not offered in the bank. Be upfront by saying you converted to vouchers. I couldn't care less about how much you spend in a month or how much you want to show off or how much vouchers you can sell to everyone you know every month but I have an issue when you post misleading information in here (and in this case regarding cash back). Readers here sometimes follow blindly. Already a couple of people are thinking you are given out cash backs directly by the bank. This post has been edited by hye: Sep 4 2011, 09:59 AM
hye
Sep 5 2011, 08:38 AM
White Tiger
QUOTE(CalvinCLK @ Sep 5 2011, 08:32 AM) In end of July (30 July), I charged my amex card but did not receive the cashback. The transaction was only posted on 4 August. Called to CS and enquired. Just now got a call from the CS of Amex. The cashback is calculated based on transaction date. But the cashback will only be paid based on posting date (i.e. the tranx is part of Aug cashback). Just for sharing.. anyone encountered b4? Transaction need to be posted first before any form of rebates can be calculated right ? It won't even appear in M2U until it is posted. And if it is posted late then how to give out the rebate ? (Note : Posting of the transaction depends on the merchant and not the bank. The bank already captures the transaction the moment it occurs) As it appeared only on Aug 4 which is after the end of the month, rebate will only be given next month. I don't see any anomalies to the situation. This post has been edited by hye: Sep 5 2011, 08:40 AM
hye
Sep 11 2011, 02:09 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(alexwsk @ Sep 11 2011, 01:37 PM) don't bother, don't thk they'll read  Yup ... that "Dunno .. just ask. Sure people will answer coz it's my right to get answers" generation won't read. The one who read and bother to make the effort would not see the need to ask coz they'll find the information.
hye
Sep 11 2011, 03:23 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(DM3 @ Sep 11 2011, 02:14 PM) haha ya they dun bother so since this is info thread for the mbb2kard, they will knw all the basics and would at least read the 1st post/pg Well ... at least it gives me some form of existence due to this problem. I will get flamed afterwards due to my answers. Not that I'm not willing to help but the person must attempt to help themselves first then we'll fill in the gaps.