Asus Eee Pad Transformer TF101 - Official Thread, 10.1" Android Honeycomb 3.1 tablet

garyngkt
post Jun 3 2011, 04:13 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(edwinlcw @ Jun 3 2011, 04:04 PM)
kingmax got class10 microsd... DNA also got class 10 and is cheaper.....
oh.. recently i think kingston also release a class 10 microsd card as well....

Added on June 3, 2011, 4:05 pmguys... beside mobo player... is there any other good player in market?
and there is few plugins for mobo player... do i need to install all of them?
I'm using MoboPlayer can play most movie formats without issues but when I try with .MKV files no sound only video. Still figuring out how to properly play MKV.
garyngkt
post Jun 3 2011, 04:33 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 3 2011, 04:23 PM)
same here... went to the pc shops near Asus in MV and could not find any Class 8/ 10. looks like i was looking at wrong place...  blush.gif
Its quite hard to get Class 6/10 cards, I went to Sunway Pyramid Digital Centre also don't have. Better places maybe Lowyat or Digital Mall. I did some research on this class thingy last time, I realised even within the same class the read/write speeds may be different. Its up to benchmarking to show you the real performance. For example Sandisk cards somehow have higher performance r/w speeds even at lower classes compared to say a Kingston Class 10 card.
garyngkt
post Jun 5 2011, 01:06 PM

61 posts

Hi all for those who are early bird Transformer owner from the pre-order launch at mid valley,how many of you have lodge a complaint regarding our keyboard dock?. I've send a complaint to Asus.
1) Ppl are getting full set,we suppose to be early bird but still no dock?what's the point of taking the trouble to queue up then?
2) The price sold now for full set is RM1799. that's only RM1 more than the pre-ordered price. Again why pre-order when price almost the same?. Leather sleeve good enough to compensate?.

You guys agree with me?. I am trying to get more ppl to be involved in making complaints I think we need to. My 2 other friends are already doing this. Thanks.
garyngkt
post Jun 5 2011, 02:37 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(ahtiven @ Jun 5 2011, 01:22 PM)
i dont think it would make any difference, if at all. clearly this is a failed marketing strategy from ASUS, from the moment people had to re-queue for purchases already clearly shown this. 150 is just a figurative pre-order number as they had 200 units(if not more). they wanted to create hype but then, this is no ipad2.

nonetheless, the sales guys were friendly but the failure from marketing perspective could even be considered as a scam.
Yup, agreed the marketing team failed and indeed its like a scam.

To add-on, they said that after pre-order if we want the dock its RM428 which is total around RM1926. Where is the savings we are getting for pre-order when they are selling full set for RM1799 now?. If Asus Malaysia does not properly respond to this, I am thinking of going to tribunal.
garyngkt
post Jun 7 2011, 09:20 AM

61 posts

Hi all, just to let everyone know I've written in an official complaint email regarding the whole pre-order event flop to Asus, included some of the board of directors, marketing team in Taiwan and Jerry Shen the current CEO. To me all this issue fits a Tribunal case for consumer rights. If they still do not respond or Asus Malaysia still ignoring us on FB, I will lodge a report. I believe everyone deserve some form of compensation smile.gif .
garyngkt
post Jun 7 2011, 11:00 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Jun 7 2011, 09:25 AM)
Hi Gary, the report that you plan to lodge is to the tribunal court? I guess you've so far only written an email complaint to the necessary parties right?
Yes, the Tribunal complaint would be the last resort if Asus does not respond in due time and manage this issue properly. I am giving them enough time to respond before doing that. One of the clause is :-

v) receiving payment for goods or services without the intention to supply;

In some cases, some people will only be afraid if they get the letter from Tribunal to appear in court, then they will find ways to avoid this by settling with the customers before the court hearing. Sometimes this is the only way to be heard otherwise we consumers taken for granted.
garyngkt
post Jun 7 2011, 01:55 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jun 7 2011, 11:39 AM)
maybe you can file an enquiry online first, they will advise you what charges to file or if you need to amend your charges.

btw, what charges you intend to file?
They fall into few categories listed here http://ttpm.kpdnkk.gov.my/portal/index.php...id=50&Itemid=36
I've not compiled yet.

Added on June 7, 2011, 1:57 pmJust now received sms asking for last 4 digits serial of the transformer, anyone of you received as well?. Could they be getting the docks in soon?.

This post has been edited by garyngkt: Jun 7 2011, 01:57 PM
garyngkt
post Jun 8 2011, 11:35 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 8 2011, 11:16 AM)
Wanna try ipad - forget about the present models. Wait till iOS5 is available on it or iPad3 - speaking from my 8 months experience using the iPad.
With iOS5 coming up,  the android's Honeycomb I must say is indeed way behind in features. Google need to work harder on HC else I forsee its market share will definitely lose out considerably to iOS5 ipads. With present iOS4 ipads there is still some competition
Many users got suck into iPad mainly because of apps availability and the extremely smooth and slick user interface which is unbeatable yet. Just the UI alone will convince most new users to buy it without considering its weakness
Most of the iOS5 features are taken from Android and I don't feel its way better that our Honeycomb. There are still so many things that iOS cannot do for example easy file management, true multitasking and widgets. iOS5 certainly has polished the user experience this time round and Apple's strength is the iPad2 hardware. Honeycomb makes the tablet experience like a PC by giving power to the people and power of computing. iOS tends to limit everything you can do with a tablet and I think that is one of their biggest mistake. Even Apple fanboys are saying Apple no more innovation, Google is.
garyngkt
post Jun 9 2011, 08:46 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 8 2011, 10:33 PM)
Google market should be OK as reported by many users
Clear your data/cache at settings/applications/manage applications
Reset tablet
Launch market at top right menu, content filter select all
So far whatever apps you guys reported cannot be download can be done since yesterday. I test just for fun only
Yeah looks ok and they even show RM value now. BTW, since I can dl without issues do I need to "Clear your data/cache at settings/applications/manage applications and Reset tablet"?.
garyngkt
post Jun 9 2011, 12:44 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(Scirwode @ Jun 9 2011, 12:08 PM)
Anyone know where I can get a screen protector and a mini HDMI to VGA adapter? Looking for one for my father so he can attach it to a projector for his presentations.

Scirwode
There is an official HDMI to VGA adapter from Asus but not sure available here yet, I'm waiting for it also. Same goes for the screen protector. For 3rd party protector can check out Skinomi.
garyngkt
post Jun 10 2011, 10:34 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(arcalius_7 @ Jun 10 2011, 10:13 AM)
guy, got app where i can group programs into 1 folder or maybe like iphone grouping folder? brows.gif
i thinks its helpful as my apps growing day by day LOL
You can try Apps Organizer, available from Market. smile.gif
garyngkt
post Jun 10 2011, 03:01 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Jun 10 2011, 02:25 PM)
Q ing for the dock . NOW! smile.gif
Any compensation by Asus or Evernew?. Some extra free gift for all the issues caused? rclxms.gif
garyngkt
post Jun 10 2011, 03:05 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 10 2011, 03:02 PM)
you never make noise loud enuff leh...
or maybe only got gift for you... specially marked for you. smile.gif
Haha kena ignore maximum by Asus, they really buat dunno. Will find ways after collect dock to make a statement, got friends to back up already brows.gif
garyngkt
post Jun 10 2011, 03:31 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 10 2011, 03:12 PM)
do share your plans later on, if can... i may also want to give my support.

but again, i think evernew handled it well and i won't really blame them. if anything, it's Asus MY and their mis-communication/ mis-leading on FB. smile.gif
OK no problem I'll share with everyone and thanks for your support. Most importantly we all get our KDS first. I know everyone is frustrated so we need to speak up against Asus.
garyngkt
post Jun 13 2011, 09:17 AM

61 posts

Why are the USB ports on the KDS so hard to plug in and out? blink.gif
garyngkt
post Jun 13 2011, 09:33 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(hazremi @ Jun 13 2011, 08:42 AM)
the eee pad looks like my notebook  but the function is less than my notebook..i cant do office work efficiently with eee pad like my notebook.

i'm still looking for reason to get this
Yes like what the rest has mentioned it cannot totally replace our notebook. What I find it useful is taking notes during meeting, surfing for info, typing out some simple documents using the Polaris Office. Last week I managed to sync with Google Cloud Print (but still in Beta) and print wirelessly from the TF to my office printer which is quite cool and useful.
garyngkt
post Jun 13 2011, 09:57 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 13 2011, 09:45 AM)
i'd like to think that the future is headed towards using tablet being the mainstream device. however, there's still improvements to be made to the hardware (processing power), OS, etc...

but the TF offers a glimpse of what it would be like. you can type on the physical keyboard AND also manipulate the screen. nice! smile.gif
Yeah the keyboard is really a plus point to TF and I find it very useful instead of typing on the touch screen only which is a bit slow. If you guys want something like the split keyboard on iOS5 you can try installing Thumb Keyboard, it makes type easier on the screen. In the mean time, I am waiting for Swiftkey to come out with the Tablet X version.
garyngkt
post Jun 13 2011, 10:14 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Jun 13 2011, 10:00 AM)
anyone tried connecting bluetooth mouse to TF?
is it working?
Wanted to but I don't have a bluetooth mouse with me, yeah wondering if it can work
garyngkt
post Jun 13 2011, 10:24 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 13 2011, 10:21 AM)
this is something to think about...

some ppl believe its not good to charge the battery all the time. these ppl believe battery should be sufficiently drained before we charge it.

with the dock, the tablets gets charged all the time until the dock runs out of juice.

so, how? does that mean we can charge our tablet while its at 90%?
Good question, sometimes I think its not to good to be always docking as the dock is constantly charging the tablet. But I noticed the dock always stops at 3% minimum (using the battery widget to check).
garyngkt
post Jun 13 2011, 10:50 AM

61 posts

Not sure if this has been discussed before, when I plug in TF to my TV via HDMI, it only shows 720p and not 1080p playback. Do I need to do anything to enable 1080p?. Having this feature quite fun can watch some videos and play Angry Birds big screen biggrin.gif

0.0184sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:34 AM