Asus Eee Pad Transformer TF101 - Official Thread, 10.1" Android Honeycomb 3.1 tablet
CyberKewl
Jun 3 2011, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(Atsutane-Shirane @ Jun 3 2011, 01:25 PM) I think Android Market seem being fix by Google... Before can't even install tegra zone from market... but now can update it from market... Angry bird still failing...Scratch that... Angry Bird not failing  i guess they've resolved the issue then. gonna try it when i'm back home.
CyberKewl
Jun 3 2011, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(shahz @ Jun 3 2011, 02:52 PM) You dont need all those things really..The screen and the shell is scratchproof.. actually our gorilla glass is scratch resistant not scratch proof..still can scratch but just resistant to scratches
CyberKewl
Jun 3 2011, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(edwinlcw @ Jun 3 2011, 03:29 PM) yes... 12G is definately not enough... the microsd can install games/apps... well dun put too much stuff inside your TF then should be enuf one..especially if u put lots of movies sure run out of space easily
CyberKewl
Jun 3 2011, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(shahz @ Jun 3 2011, 04:19 PM) You need to do more searching..Try camera shops..They usually have class 6 or class 10.. shahz, do you happen to know why did Asus not have enough stock for the KDS but ended up other resellers like Cycom have full set available since 1-2 days ago? Doesn't make sense for early adopters to be without KDS, not logical at all the way they treat us who queued up so long then just get the free sleeve and paid for the KDS (i paid full, some paid deposit) and dont even get the KDS first..
CyberKewl
Jun 3 2011, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(shahz @ Jun 3 2011, 04:33 PM) Because your batch is already reserved. The production was slowed down due to the very high demand. Those that cycom and others are getting were separate batches. There's a lot of process involved in this batch - production - packaging - delivery - customs - distribution. Added on June 3, 2011, 4:37 pmOn the class 6 / class 10, dont be surprised if some class 10 are slower than the others. Indeed, different brands..no..wait..even same brand, but a different card will not have the same r/w speeds..In fact, you can test a card's speed a few times and you will likely never get the same figures. On my nexus one, I even modified the block size of my sd card to see which one performs better. Mine was 48 sized block if im not mistaken. been quite sometime. But the performance difference is significant  i see, i understand now. hopefully will get the KDS soon. thanks for the info
CyberKewl
Jun 3 2011, 10:02 PM
After reboot market seems to be OK, no more errors when downloading...so far so good..I guess Google fixed it already.
Added on June 3, 2011, 10:06 pmEdit:spoke too soon. Uninstalled angry birds then try to get from market I get the requested item could not be found..
This post has been edited by CyberKewl: Jun 3 2011, 10:06 PM
CyberKewl
Jun 4 2011, 02:46 PM
feel that our transformer speakers are way too soft, any hack to increase it?
CyberKewl
Jun 4 2011, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 4 2011, 03:55 PM) without dock, its hard to type and edit the thread... ya, using my TF now. anyway, those having market problem... have you guys tried the proxy methos? i just posted the steps on the 1st page. Added on June 4, 2011, 3:56 pmi will add owners to the list later. too troublesome without mouse, etc when i add the names + link. Added on June 4, 2011, 3:59 pmspeaking of charging... 1 thing i dun like is no indicator lights. dunno when its completed or whether its charging or not. my ipad 1 also dun have la..ipad 2 not sure cos i only have ipad 1
CyberKewl
Jun 4 2011, 07:33 PM
QUOTE(arcalius_7 @ Jun 4 2011, 06:59 PM) izzit fit with 10inch belkin netbook sleeve?  should be able i think. just check the dimensions of the sleeve and the transformer and see if it fits or not la.
CyberKewl
Jun 4 2011, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 4 2011, 10:23 PM) tried a few 1080 files in mp4 and mkv format. different encoding. these are just some movie trailers ranging from 180 - 400mb. i can get image on some. on others, blank screen. no sound. for the files with image, it is not smooth. not very jerky but definitely not as smooth as watching on a high-end notebook. i guess playing 1080 movies should be possible and better with tegra3. Added on June 4, 2011, 10:26 pmsame here... bleeding top and bottom. seems quite bad though its only obvious when starting up the unit. so far, its not affect the performance. it's more an annoyance. goes to show that for QC, not many can top Apple. sad but true. actually ipad units have light bleeds too but i guess should be less likely to have. maybe 1 in 10 compared to transformer's 2-3 in 10.
CyberKewl
Jun 5 2011, 10:04 AM
yes some apple customers keep quiet because they dont want to be ashamed especially when they're those apple fanboys or die hard fans (much like toyota fanatics) - once their own units/cars have problems they may just keep it under the radar because they dont dare to let others know (since they keep pushing apple/toyota is great, QC excellent and all those stuff). so dont feel so bad, there are rotten apples too in the basket
CyberKewl
Jun 5 2011, 07:33 PM
QUOTE(ahtiven @ Jun 5 2011, 01:22 PM) i dont think it would make any difference, if at all. clearly this is a failed marketing strategy from ASUS, from the moment people had to re-queue for purchases already clearly shown this. 150 is just a figurative pre-order number as they had 200 units(if not more). they wanted to create hype but then, this is no ipad2. nonetheless, the sales guys were friendly but the failure from marketing perspective could even be considered as a scam. i've called up evernew on friday and they did explain to me the stocks that the other resellers had are a separate full set batch but they are limited units. While it is not fair that we spent our time and hassle to line up and all that but didnt get the full set first, we were the first 200 to use the tablet first, which could count for something at least and given the free sleeve which is a small consolation. I'm not entirely happy with the situation either but i considered this: i dont have to fight with others later on to get the dock. Assuming I (or yourself) did not go to mid valley last saturday to get the tablet (and paid deposit/full amount for the dock), we would have to then fight with others to buy the full set units before the could have been potentially sold off (which i think some resellers are already out of stock but i think still got some might have full set available, no idea on this but i do know cycom is out of stock based on their thread). so this is the thing that i considered and i think we should be happy about this. We're still getting a fully functioning device, just not the full transformer set which hopefully we'll get it soon enough. I too want the keyboard dock now but its just something we have to live with. Truly bad marketing on asus side. I do somehow hope they surprise us and give us something free in return for our loyalty and patience as a customer although i kinda doubt it since we already got the sleeve..but we'll see...maybe we should complain more? i dont see anyone complaining on their facebook site  Added on June 5, 2011, 7:36 pmQUOTE(shark7 @ Jun 5 2011, 04:21 PM) U reply late  . I was looking at the iconia looks good but looks like it lag a bit comPared to TF. In the end i buy Tf.. But the keyboard looks a bit lag and hard to connect with the tab. Android market doesnt works well as phone android market.. Hurm btw.. The seller said that the usb can connect to 500gb hdd.true?@kwong I buy in lg floor i think.near a way out of lowyat. The shop name samsung but it combines with asus and other company. Infront of celcom promo .i buy with a dock rm1799. I was also looking for ipad 2 but most seller sells at high price and they said cannot be jailbeak.. if not mistaken even 1tb hdd also can work, i saw a youtube video before about 1-2 weeks back, maybe u can try search for it. This post has been edited by CyberKewl: Jun 5 2011, 07:36 PM
CyberKewl
Jun 5 2011, 09:55 PM
QUOTE(mlthum @ Jun 5 2011, 09:52 PM) Hi all.... I have problem update to 3.1 , pls advice. suggest you let us know what kind of issue you're facing such as any error messages? stuck at downloading 99%..or ? Otherwise i dont think we can advice you on such a general statement such as "i have a problem updating to 3.1, please advice/help". please give us more info so we can assist you. thanks
CyberKewl
Jun 5 2011, 10:11 PM
QUOTE(mlthum @ Jun 5 2011, 10:06 PM) Sorry for posting such a general q. Btw, just got my transformer and wish to proceed with the update with go to settings > about tablet > system update > click on check update It run very long with the blue circle spinning and spinning...... Kindly advice do you see anything extra in your notification bar below like something about a firmware downloading or anything? if not, perhaps you can try to shutdown and start your transformer again and try check update again. also this depends on your internet connection, if it is slow or intermittent (bad line, keeps trying to reconnect to the server), it may take a while. EDIT: Just tested on my tablet too (even though i already have 3.1 installed), takes long time to respond but at the end it does respond with no updates (for me cos i'm already on 3.1). Just try again and see how it goes. Or try again later if it still doesnt work. This post has been edited by CyberKewl: Jun 5 2011, 10:14 PM
CyberKewl
Jun 5 2011, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(mlthum @ Jun 5 2011, 10:14 PM) Bro.... It run a while then shown there is no update available for your device currently ok first thing first, are you on 3.0 or 3.1 actually? Do check in the settings > about tablet > android version. If its 3.0 by right there should be an update unless yours is a different version (perhaps you are using a custom ROM - if you dont know what this is then nevermind, means you're not using a custom ROM). Also let us know your build number for reference to know if it is the WW version, US version, TW version, etc.
CyberKewl
Jun 6 2011, 08:03 AM
QUOTE(mlthum @ Jun 5 2011, 10:25 PM) Model number: transformer tf101 Android version: 3.0.1 Gps version: v1.2.4 Wifi version: v5.248.28 Bluetooth version: v6.11 Kernel version: 2.6.36.3-300003-g8038d35 / android@Mercury #1 build number: hri66.ww_epad-8.2.3.9-20110423 Added on June 5, 2011, 10:33 pmBro.... Exactly the same issue I'm facing now.... 1) not able to update from 3.0.1 to new version (3.1) 2) open browser and prompt to download flash, so follow the instruction but end up at the market shown not found!!!! try the update again, might be some issues with their server. on my end there's a response but quite slow.
CyberKewl
Jun 6 2011, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(BBXiong @ Jun 6 2011, 11:23 AM) don think so, cos the device reads recovery/update files from the built in memory card slot, even last time when the stock 3.1 is leaked, ppl also update it by putting the leaked firmware into the memory card... if you don have a memory card, my suggestion is to get one, since u might be needing it anyways.. btw those who reencoded their videos to make it play nicely on transformer, what software u used? i use formatfactory (google it and it is freeware) to convert to divx/xvid, bitrate 2400/2500 then use yamb (google it again) to split the mp4 files to two parts so that it can be played/loaded up in rockplayer / moboplayer software decoding mode. seems that these players cannot "see" or load anything above 2gb of size, hence the splitting. Minor inconvenience but it works and you will get super smooth playback with 0 lags or jerkiness. You can play in hardware mode too but u will notice (like myself) that there is a minor lag / jerkiness in the video, the audio sync is ok but the video is somewhat jerky so this is the best method i've found so far to have smooth playback.
CyberKewl
Jun 6 2011, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(BBXiong @ Jun 6 2011, 11:36 AM) still no way to support AC3 playback on our device? i start to hate Asus for not getting more license on codecs, look at Sammy, can already play almost everything out of the box for the codecs they bought... native playback i think cannot but no choice la, this is software issue, since we can use moboplayer / rockplayer as alternative, i dont see it an issue for me but quite troublesome to reencode the videos then need to split it again some more, but to me as long as it works, a bit trouble is fine although i prefer native playback for sure
CyberKewl
Jun 6 2011, 04:52 PM
finally saw some complaints at facebook on the dock availability here: http://www.facebook.com/asusmalaysia/posts/10150202570879116Evernew is really not doing a good job, at least they're not good at calming down their customers, here's a reply from one of their staff: "Asus Will Follow this case,because i not the supplier,but i also will help,however i not under my control,and i no away online to reply question,hope you all understand." Its quite funny that Asus Malaysia appointed them to give out the pre-order of 200 units for the transformer but didnt give them the units for the docks...now I keep hearing almost everywhere you can get the transformer with the dock, this is seriously quite messed up on Asus part. What are they doing? They don't even dare to make a proper announcement on when we can get it other than the usual "before end of the month" reply. Seriously disappointing. Hope they can sort this out soon for us.
CyberKewl
Jun 6 2011, 05:07 PM
QUOTE(littlekev @ Jun 6 2011, 05:05 PM) Look at the way of the reply, sorry to say this but look at the English... I really have hard time understanding it. yes until one of the 200 customers threaten to bring the case to malaysia tribunal court...which i think that person must be very upset that the fact is, first 200 to get the tablet only but not with the dock which is quite lame and ridiculous.