Income Tax Issues v2

countdown
post Apr 15 2012, 04:29 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Apr 15 2012, 10:33 AM)
1)  If I find some book receipts for 2010 and before, can I still use them for 2011?
2)  Unit trust follow YEAR ENDED or PAYMENT DATE?
Above the bank account number field, there's a Bank field with a drop down of bank names.  If you haven't submitted your e-filing form (merely filled it up), you can login again to check.
2) Follow payment date.
countdown
post Apr 18 2012, 09:17 AM

814 posts

QUOTE(Molotov Cocktail @ Apr 17 2012, 10:18 AM)
thanks for the help, actually i fall into 7% tax rate group, meaning i should get refund for the other 18% right? i already fill in the required field in the efiling, and because of my zakat i end up don't have to pay for tax, but it said i get refund for the whole tax deducted from the dividend, which is the whole 25% deducted tax, is this correct? i thought i'll only get refund for 18% from the deducted tax of the dividend
u can't just minus 25% with 7% bsc 25% is based on dividend and 7% is based on your CI - both are not common. You only can minus through their absolute value

Ex:
7% of your CI (RM15,000) = 1,050
25% of your dividend (RM1,000) = 250

Thus, 1,050 - 250 = 800 and 800 is neither 18% of your CI nor your dividend smile.gif.

As for the zakat, since you mentioned that due to your zakat, u ended up need not have to pay any tax, I assumed that on bahagian E9 has to be zero. And on bahagian E11 (S110) is RM250 (by using the above numbers as an example). Therefore, you'll get back all your 25% deducted tax under bahagian E15 (Cukai Dibayar Balik) bsc your E9 is zero smile.gif.

This post has been edited by countdown: Apr 18 2012, 05:32 PM
countdown
post Apr 19 2012, 01:47 AM

814 posts

QUOTE(Molotov Cocktail @ Apr 18 2012, 11:07 PM)
Thanks for very clear explaination, i understand better now, so what must i do next? Must submit hk-3 borang to lhdn with dividend voucher? Or submit the e-filing borang just enough to claim for tax refund
I hv no idea, just give them a call to confirm. Mine? Tax agent will do everything for me smile.gif.

This post has been edited by countdown: Apr 19 2012, 02:11 AM
countdown
post Apr 20 2012, 10:32 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 20 2012, 06:22 PM)
Haih, end up being tax equivalent to 1 month bonus  sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif Just did a simulation and next year will reach the next bracket again. Wondering if buying 3000 computer (just for the sake of getting tax relief) for less RM600 is worth it.
How to reduce ur tax legally, go to this website. Please take note, some of the tips are outdated smile.gif.

http://www.malaysia-kini.com/blog/2011/02/...educe-your-tax/

This post has been edited by countdown: Apr 20 2012, 11:05 PM
countdown
post Apr 22 2012, 10:50 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(JoannieT @ Apr 21 2012, 11:34 AM)
Need advise. Appreciate if anyone can help as i am confused with (a) benefit in kind & (b) allowances.
Receiving the following fixed allowances from my company and not sure if it is taxable (classified as Penggajian in BE Form)

a) Parking fee of RM150 per month
b) Travelling allowance (fixed) of RM300 per mth - this is travelling expense between home & work.
c) Telephone allowance (fixed) of RM200 per mth
d) Reimbursement of annual membership fee with accountancy profession (reimbursement is RM1,500 of total membership fee of RM2,000 per year)

My EA Form from my company includes all the above as taxable penggajian section.  rclxub.gif
Thank you so much
a) U can deduct ur parking fee portion that was incurred to carry out company's duty, max tax deductible is at the total allowance given. Home to office -> taxable. Incurred parking fee when engaging company's clients -> not taxable.
b) Similar to above. From home to your office -> taxable but to your company's clients premise, venue or etc -> not taxable.
c) Similar to above.
d) Not taxable if that's the requirement from your company to carry out company's duty.

This post has been edited by countdown: Apr 22 2012, 11:37 PM
countdown
post Apr 23 2012, 03:23 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(ck23 @ Apr 23 2012, 10:01 AM)

Added on April 23, 2012, 10:07 amMedical and Life Insurance.

Should we look at policy and apportionate them out?

Should premiums are paid for Life + Medical + Other.

How do we count for Other??

Traced to one of the policy summary.

ZZzz headache.
Your insurance annual statement will state them out clearly.

Ex:
Basic Life Premium Insurance: RMxxxx.xx
Medical Insurance Premium: RMxxxx.xx

If you didn't received ur statement, perhaps u can call their call center, for Prudential they will be able to fax to u immediately.

This post has been edited by countdown: Apr 23 2012, 03:28 PM
countdown
post Apr 24 2012, 02:13 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Apr 24 2012, 11:02 AM)
~~~Prudential Statement~~~

Basic Life Premium Insurance: RMxxxx.xx (fill this in D17)
Medical Insurance Premium: RMxxxx.xx (fill this in D19)

is this correct?? icon_question.gif  thx  notworthy.gif
yupe
countdown
post Apr 25 2012, 10:36 PM

814 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 25 2012, 10:22 AM)
Sifus, want to ask this -

under section C as follows -

C3 - Income in respect of interest received by individuals resident in HK-5 -
Discounts Malaysia from money deposited with the following institutions
is tax:

Does this means those interest derived from fixed deposit and savings also must declare as income?
and under Section D -

D13 - Interest on Housing Loan
only for S&P signed within 2009 and 2010

my question is, how come this deduction only for certain years? and what is it about?

Thanks in advance
Interest like FD and savings accounts from Financial Institution is not taxable.

Interest Housing Loan exemption given at that specific time frame was an initiative by government to boost the local housing market. Remember 2009 there was a global recession?

This post has been edited by countdown: Apr 25 2012, 10:36 PM
countdown
post Apr 27 2012, 12:37 AM

814 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Apr 26 2012, 11:47 PM)
Can I still claim for old tax relief which I didn't claim on my many previous years? Example books, unit trust and share dividend for many previous years.
Most of Tax relief is per year basis, can't carry forward i.e burnt if not utilized except few.
countdown
post Apr 29 2012, 12:00 AM

814 posts

QUOTE(Y_Lin @ Apr 27 2012, 04:25 PM)
hi sifus,

i have a question on the relief for housing loan interest: RM10,000

I bought a house in Setia Alam financed by EON bank (Hong Leong Bank now), SP Setia bears the interest before the house hand over to me.

So am i entitle for this relief?
Ans:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry49839156
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry49757417
countdown
post Jun 29 2012, 03:31 PM

814 posts

I'm bringing my 2 years old laptop into my sole prop business. How do I justify the Qualifying Expenditure of my laptop for Capital Allowance?

For a car, I can check via my insurance to know the current market value, how about laptop then?

Is it true that when you bring an existing car, a car that you use during your employment and now use for business only can claim Annual Allowance and no Initial allowance of the market value the moment you start your business?

Thank you,

This post has been edited by countdown: Jun 29 2012, 03:32 PM

0.0429sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:20 AM