Window aka Renovation Guy, Need Renovation Guy

bteoh
post Jun 4 2011, 01:49 PM

158 posts

can anybody here with knowledge of aluminium casement window type....share about the thickness standard of aluminium and windows available in market and its pricing?
sl2007
post Jun 4 2011, 02:00 PM

285 posts

Hi Bteoh,

The normal thickness are ranged 0.8mm - 1.2mm.. Definitely there are thicker Aluminium and vice versa..

Actually design are to suit to make..
bteoh
post Jun 4 2011, 06:46 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jun 4 2011, 02:00 PM)
Hi Bteoh,

The normal thickness are ranged 0.8mm - 1.2mm.. Definitely there are thicker Aluminium and vice versa..

Actually design are to suit to make..
i baru go ask a puchong shop they using 1.4mm alu and 6.xmm glass....44-46/sqft.......is this good price or not???
sl2007
post Jun 4 2011, 07:58 PM

285 posts

1.4mm Thick is quite thick.. What glazing they quote? It seemed like laminated glazing..
bteoh
post Jun 4 2011, 09:11 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jun 4 2011, 07:58 PM)
1.4mm Thick is quite thick.. What glazing they quote? It seemed like laminated glazing..
powder coating lor...didn't ask much on this
sl2007
post Jun 5 2011, 10:28 AM

285 posts

Hi there,

Powder coating is the finishes applied to the Aluminium frame..

Let me share some of my humble opinion in regards to Aluminium works :-

Fnishes - Natural Anodised, Powder Coated and Bronze Analogue or etc.

Glazing - Float glass, obscure glass, wired glass, laminated glass, tempered glass and etc.

All the above type have different cost. Hope this work with everyone herewith.

Cheers
TSvincentwee
post Jun 5 2011, 02:31 PM

126 posts

hi,
the window i got is "laminated glass".
i ask her y not tempered glass as most contractor or window shop i ask, they said is tempered glass...she said laminated glass is better than tempered glass..

weikee
post Jun 5 2011, 04:14 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(vincentwee @ Jun 5 2011, 02:31 PM)
hi,
i ask her y not tempered glass as most contractor or window shop i ask, they said is tempered glass...she said laminated glass is better than tempered glass..
With same thickness of Temper and Lami, the temper is much stronger, but once broken it will break into smaller pieces. Lami glass is weaker, when break it will stick on the position.

sl2007
post Jun 5 2011, 05:24 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(vincentwee @ Jun 5 2011, 02:31 PM)
hi,
Tempered glass has better strength compared against laminated..
TSvincentwee
post Jun 5 2011, 05:26 PM

126 posts

but laminated is more expensive than tempered (according to Google)
sl2007
post Jun 6 2011, 01:04 AM

285 posts

The cost is depending on the thickness of the glazing..
bteoh
post Jun 6 2011, 01:08 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jun 5 2011, 10:28 AM)
Hi there,

Powder coating is the finishes applied to the Aluminium frame..

Let me share some of my humble opinion in regards to Aluminium works :-

Fnishes - Natural Anodised, Powder Coated and Bronze Analogue or etc.

Glazing - Float glass, obscure glass, wired glass, laminated glass, tempered glass and etc.

All the above type have different cost. Hope this work with everyone herewith.

Cheers
wow...thanks for the info...so you asking about the glass.

If i remember correctly, it is laminated glass...color green type, thickness if i hear correctly its 6.8mm???
sl2007
post Jun 6 2011, 09:45 AM

285 posts

If laminated glass, the thickness might be 6.38mm.. The 0.38mm thickness was the PV glue thickness..
TSvincentwee
post Jun 6 2011, 10:05 AM

126 posts

didn't know this topic suddenly become so canggih topic

lay man term..

let say

1) laminated glass... i use my fist to tumbuk the glass, will it pecah?
2) tempered glass, i use my fist to tumbuk the glass, will it pecah?

my example is lan..
sl2007
post Jun 6 2011, 10:21 AM

285 posts

For laminated if you tumbuk, it will peach but will still hang-on because of the glue.

For tempered, I guess is very difficult to tumbuk Lo..
phoenix69
post Aug 25 2011, 09:38 PM

1,836 posts

Hey guys, where to buy window locking handle.?
smglass
post Apr 15 2013, 09:15 AM

Hi guys,

I'm doing glass & aluminium work and some minor renovation work. If you need my service , pls call for a free quotation. Sure will try to five you a good price.

Miss Lai
(0123221290)

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0231sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:26 AM