marathon while preggie?, 42km!!!
SUSalaskanbunny
May 30 2011, 12:42 AM, updated 15y ago
my colleague went for a marathon she had planned one year in advance... i think she's in her 5-6 month... went for whole 42 km sundown marathon here in sg... i was like =.=" with her big belly... and she exposed it the whole time... baby not cold? because it is at night
any comments on whether it is safe?
phythia79
May 30 2011, 09:24 AM
It all depends on the mother's physical condition. some women can do exercise throughout their pregnancy..especially if they are active even before pregnancy. I bet she has consulted her doc and her doc sure gave her the green light.
and..baby won't feel cold lar LOL! It's in the tummy!!
Syd G
May 30 2011, 12:35 PM
Mom. Servant of God.
I'm curious - what's the use of us commenting here since the marathon already done.
No, baby wont get cold unless the mother is a fish.
In fact, the real danger of exercising during pregnancy are probably overheating and hyperventilating.
SUSalaskanbunny
May 30 2011, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(Syd G @ May 30 2011, 12:35 PM) I'm curious - what's the use of us commenting here since the marathon already done. No, baby wont get cold unless the mother is a fish. In fact, the real danger of exercising during pregnancy are probably overheating and hyperventilating. just wondered whether any1 tried before... was so scary seeing tummy bouncing around
heron
Jun 1 2011, 11:40 AM
I did try around 5km run only when i was around 1month 3weeks preggy. So far so good. but depends ur tummy & legs coz i also walk around 3km most of the time. Now i'm in 7months preggy.
But nvr try 42km run so far. hehe
flempower
Jun 1 2011, 03:17 PM
Hm..my neighbour who is a school teacher and about 4 months along joined the jogathon couple of months ago.. had a miscarriage the next day...better not to strain yourself too much i guess...
budakjahat
Jun 2 2011, 10:39 AM
It depends on the mother. If she's always been the active type, then why not? Plus, like someone else mentioned, I'm sure the mother have consulted her doctor about it...
Plus the whole baby being cold comment is just ridiculous..
hadzGBN
Jun 2 2011, 11:36 AM
im like,.wow,..for real?? 6 mnth and join marathon??? the husband ok wit it?? if it were my wife i said no no no... better safe then sorry..isnt the marathon organiser set a rules on this matter?? condition of participents?
SUSalaskanbunny
Jun 6 2011, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(hadzGBN @ Jun 2 2011, 11:36 AM) im like,.wow,..for real?? 6 mnth and join marathon??? the husband ok wit it?? if it were my wife i said no no no... better safe then sorry..isnt the marathon organiser set a rules on this matter?? condition of participents? she's very ganas 1.... hot also... but to know some1 is doing that... a bit scary lor... i think the husband have no choice...
lexiqa
Jun 12 2011, 01:57 PM
my primary school teacher was very active: plays tennis and jogs everyday. she told us girls that if we want to have short labours, better exercise frequently and dont be afraid of jogging/light exercises during pregnancy. no such thing as lying down and doing nothing as it would make it worse. she jogged everyday during her pregnancy until labour. all three sons came out in 1hr or less.