5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V4, Best and Greatest Android now ?

mydragoon
post Jun 6 2011, 12:34 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(neo_lam @ Jun 6 2011, 12:29 PM)
so hows the ori pirce from samsung malaysia?
i heard tht around 2K oni....izit true?
no officially launched. so no official pricing.

yes, rumours put it at rm2099.
mydragoon
post Jun 6 2011, 01:21 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Jun 6 2011, 01:17 PM)
how does the SGS2 do video calls to iPhones? Anyone tried...?
dun think iphone (out of the box) allows 3g video calls. but if you mean using other apps, then i guess its just connect/ call? smile.gif
mydragoon
post Jun 7 2011, 09:06 PM

7,044 posts

was at 1u earlier today. there is a samsung stall so iasked them when is sgs2 coming out. answer is august. asked if its confirmed. the fella said yes. dunno can believe or not.
mydragoon
post Jun 7 2011, 09:13 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(KiToRo @ Jun 7 2011, 03:01 PM)
I try my best to show u...

SGS2

Sensation

you can notice that...sensation take closer shoot...
sensation photo is so nice. if only htc enabled 3g video calls out of the box. wonder why they dun do that?
mydragoon
post Jun 7 2011, 10:40 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(kazama82 @ Jun 7 2011, 10:35 PM)
depends..unless u are buying sgs2 just for the camera, then might be a problem..not all smartphone is perfect..so sometime u need just to deal with it
true. i'd probay have gone for sensation if it had 3g vdeo calls. since it does not, i'd still be loking at sgs2. macro mode. dun think i will use that often. so, dun really matter to me. as for using as barcode reader which will probably need macro mode, see how when the time comes.
mydragoon
post Jun 8 2011, 09:36 AM

7,044 posts

been reading with interest about samsung providing a free sgs2 to cyanogen team.

so, moving forward, does it mean that if i return a phone for warranty claims, will samsung bother to check if its rooted, etc and then say its not covered under warranty since the phone has been tampered with? or will the now fix anyhardware issues regardless of whether its being mod/ rooted or not.

then again, a rooted phone that's been used to OC could kill the chip and cause hardware failure.

saje asking and hoping for a discussion abt this... smile.gif
mydragoon
post Jun 8 2011, 09:43 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(vccy118 @ Jun 8 2011, 09:41 AM)
Usually vendors will check thoroughly and find any valid reason to reject your warranty... But in my experience Korean vendors like Samsung and LG are pretty lenient.

Of coz if phone got problem due to OC then no warranty covered...
in the case of OC, it would be hard to tell if the hardware failure was caused by OC, no? i know signs would be there... but it could possibly be a genuine overheat case or something.

anyway, its nice to know Samsung is lenient. smile.gif

on a side note, i was surprised that digi replied to my post on their FB wall when i commented abt how they are not bringing in good android phones (example: sensation and sgs2)... their reply:
DiGi Telecommunications wrote: "Once we hv it we will surely annouce it. Stay Tuned smile.gif"

ya, i know... its not saying much. reply or dun reply sounds the same to me... LOL.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 8 2011, 09:45 AM
mydragoon
post Jun 8 2011, 10:50 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(royakatsuki @ Jun 8 2011, 10:46 AM)
u r god of gadget.what do u do for living?
selling drugs ar? rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
he explained b4... some ppl go for holidays. some ppl spend $ on ciggies. he dun do that. he spend money on gadgets and sell off those he dun plan to keep.
mydragoon
post Jun 8 2011, 12:08 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 8 2011, 12:07 PM)
Lucky I can save more money - all my 3 children are not into such stuffs. My 2 children has graduated and still using their basic Nokia / SE rm 300+ type which I bought for them 7-8 years ago. My youngest is using my old SE 5 year old model !!! They are not even interested in ipads, pda or any other tablets
shocking.gif surprised still got youngsters not into some kinda gadget or phone...
mydragoon
post Jun 8 2011, 01:42 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(vccy118 @ Jun 8 2011, 01:38 PM)
+9999999999
Rumour is 22nd of June... according to SME facebook page, is end of June as well.
SME got FB meh? tried looking but it was global one, i think? they were pushing tab when i was checking it out.
mydragoon
post Jun 8 2011, 02:09 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(vccy118 @ Jun 8 2011, 01:52 PM)
try search samsung u-nivez
ah, that one is global, right? not sure if they even bother with news for MY.

last time (1-2 weeks back), joined this tab contest, only to find out its for SG... shakehead.gif
mydragoon
post Jun 8 2011, 03:37 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(shawnsean @ Jun 8 2011, 03:08 PM)
My <3 yr old son is on Angry Bird and driving his Audi RS3 on Ipad2 biggrin.gif
dunno if angry birds is considered lastic the bird like what some of us would do back as a kid... lol... only instead of lastic the bird, this is use bird to lastic other things... lol...
mydragoon
post Jun 9 2011, 08:26 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(knighthood @ Jun 9 2011, 08:14 AM)
According to reliable source, the launching of SGS2 delay again to July.
Really fed-up with SME.  The way they handle the SGS2.
They are really secretive about the availability of SGS2.
At least they should let their potential buyer know when is the launched date. 
Rather than keep on waiting and guessing when it will launch.
looks like the 'confirmed in august' statement by the samsung kiosk in 1u might be true after all. i won't be surprised if...

22 june = maxis exclusive
6th july = maxis + digi exclusive
20th july = all normal channels

dates are just plucked out of the sky... but give abt 2 weeks for the telco launches. it should work out to end july. i might just go with sgs1 then. my phone's dying and can't wait that long. as it is... my phone is already on life support (always charging). can't even last 10mins of talktime if not being plugged in. looks like i have to go to the recommend me thread to ask for another model to look at... lg optimus 2x?
mydragoon
post Jun 9 2011, 09:08 AM

7,044 posts

so much for:
http://www.mobileteleco.com/2011/03/samsun...pore-april.html
Samsung Asia’s CEO, Gregory Lee has confirmed the release of Galaxy S II device for Singapore. The exact date and price are not known but consumers will be happy to know that the phone will be available from next month.

the article was posted in March. Next month was supposed to mean April.

if i ever get a chance to meet the CEO, i'd like to give him a calendar.

Added on June 9, 2011, 9:09 am
QUOTE(fit @ Jun 9 2011, 09:04 AM)
I start looking to buy a ap set then, cheapest in forum now is 2150...
i was hoping a certain yellow fella would be selling it. that way, can get some discounts since i dun have any data plans yet with any telco.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 9 2011, 09:09 AM
mydragoon
post Jun 9 2011, 11:21 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(cactus88 @ Jun 9 2011, 10:11 AM)
I went to the Samsung Dealer in Midvalley, Garden to enquire about the Galaxy S2, He says it is coming out soon, asked me to deposit RM100, non-refundable.  I ask who will come out with the phone first.  Maxis or Dealer?  He confidently told me, "Us of course.  We are Samsung mah". I ask him when is the phone coming?  He hesitated, and said "soon...."  I ask "when is soon?" He paused and said "around 26th June".

Now, you are saying Maxis is coming out on 22nd June and others only 20th July?!!  I'm sooo glad I did not put in the RM100 deposit (non-refundable) with the Samsung Dealer the other day. 

Cant wait for everyday to end faster, so that 22nd June comes faster!
the dates are just a guess... 22nd june is so far what other member mentioned. give telco abt 2 weeks exclusivity. then add another telco and another 2 weeks. just an indication/ guess.

but i think i give up on this phone liao...
mydragoon
post Jun 9 2011, 11:31 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jun 9 2011, 11:27 AM)
there is another difference

if the AP seller don't want to honor your warranty, how?

at least ori, they need to keep their reputation. AP seller, just change their name if already bad rep
ya... kena once with a cheap AP phone. the fella just said cannot repair. since it was a cheap phone, decided to get another unit.

but it does worry me... if shop tutup or decide not to honour... jialat. i guess have to just pray hard it dun fail during the ap 'warranty'.

but at the moment, sensation does seem to be very tasty. some more if get from SenQ and using normal 0% interest installments... i think still got gifts some more. anyway, will spam on the sensation forum instead. must still respect sgs2 owners. smile.gif
mydragoon
post Jun 9 2011, 11:49 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(alieamin @ Jun 9 2011, 11:34 AM)
no,u are wrong, in malaysia samsung right now overtaken nokia's market share nod.gif  Before this we sell less samsung prduct, starting last year quarter 4, samsung sales growth massively nod.gif

So malaysia would launch SGS2 first before singapore. This is what i had been told by SME's representative.
read somewhere that mid june is Sg launch. assuming its not that accurate and it comes on 23rd june, it could still be technically correct since i saw another blog that said maxis release is 22nd june. however, most of us know maxis dun sell cheap phones.
mydragoon
post Jun 9 2011, 01:59 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(mikecmy @ Jun 9 2011, 01:01 PM)
anyway,
i heard a delay again of SME sets.
Might be early july or later...
Not sure bout it.. but that's what i'm being told off...
why not just get AP? tongue.gif RM2150 only maaa...
haiz... rclxub.gif

now dunno what i want anymore. doh.gif

suddenly the senq promo for sensation seems nice. rm63 for 36mths... but sgs2 seems more tempting... but get ap set... worry abt warranty and no interest-free installments.

and honestly, i m still hoping for digi to have this since i dun have any data plans yet.
mydragoon
post Jun 10 2011, 10:54 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(alloyion @ Jun 10 2011, 10:29 AM)
Actually the deal from SenHEng 97 X 36months is for Aeon credit based on their interest rates.

But we can go any SenHeng or SenQ to purchase via 0% interests over 6,12,24,36 months.
Got charged administration fees RM85 (if 0% installments) and can choose register as SenHeng/Q member for 3rd year warranty - another RM12.

So I pay RM 85+12 cash.
RM 2269 (RM 30 discount) / 36 = RM 63 per month.

Got Jabra bluetooth, 16gb kingston memory card (which no stock,will call for pick up when stock come) and a car charger as freebies

I got it from Sen Heng.
And they are bringing in SGS2 as well soon..
just thought of sharing it here as well... that above was quoted from the HTC Sensation thread. smile.gif

but of course the main Q is now... WHEN?
mydragoon
post Jun 10 2011, 03:29 PM

7,044 posts

“The Samsung GALAXY S II is set to be launched by the end of June 2011, at a mall in the Klang Valley. We are currently working on the launch price and mechanics; however I can say that the introductory offer will be so good, it would be hard to not have your hands all over the Samsung GALAXY S II.”

For more details about the Malaysian launch of the Galaxy S II, hit up the Samsung Univez Facebook page and the Samsung Official Website

samsung official website is a laugh when it comes to the mobile section. i dun think it even lists Galaxy S. either that or the site navigation is so lousy i can't find it... ok, another option -- maybe i'm just to id10t to find it... smile.gif

then again... i got my doubt since the SG CEO said April before...
QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 9 2011, 09:08 AM)
so much for:
http://www.mobileteleco.com/2011/03/samsun...pore-april.html
the article was posted in March. Next month was supposed to mean April.

if i ever get a chance to meet the CEO, i'd like to give him a calendar.
This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 10 2011, 03:33 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0251sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:07 AM