Ford Fiesta 1.6L sport Ti-VCT automatic, to buy or not to buy? Please VOTE!! tq!!

TSDavidtcf
post May 27 2011, 04:49 PM, updated 15y ago

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

My good friend plans on buying a Ford Fiesta 1.6L sport Ti-VCT automatic:

http://www.ford.net.my/fiesta/specs_features.asp

It is the current highest spec for Ford Fiesta. Please give your comments whether should he invest in the car or not??

Currently he's able to get it for around RM80k... I'm just afraid without him doing proper research he might regret later.

Anyone with good reviews/feedback/personal experiences with the car?? Especially those car owners?? icon_question.gif

Your help will be much appreciated!! biggrin.gif

P.S - I heard Ford replacement parts are very expensive, is that true? @@
kidmad
post May 27 2011, 04:56 PM

4,482 posts

haha i wonder who is the one who voted no. Fiesta is a great car if it isn't it would not get so many awards but the parts are slightly more expensive compared to LOCAL cars. haha service charges is still reasonable to me.
TSDavidtcf
post May 27 2011, 04:57 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ May 27 2011, 04:56 PM)
haha i wonder who is the one who voted no. Fiesta is a great car if it isn't it would not get so many awards but the parts are slightly more expensive compared to LOCAL cars. haha service charges is still reasonable to me.
hmm comparing the part prices to Jap cars like Toyota or Honda? Is it almost the same to them? @@
danny_sp15
post May 27 2011, 04:59 PM

==============
3,045 posts

did he test drive the car already? what kind of features does he prioritize when looking for a car? if it's fun and great handling and gorgeous looks, then the Fiesta is the perfect choice. smile.gif
TSDavidtcf
post May 27 2011, 05:03 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ May 27 2011, 04:59 PM)
did he test drive the car already? what kind of features does he prioritize when looking for a car? if it's fun and great handling and gorgeous looks, then the Fiesta is the perfect choice. smile.gif
thanks bro that will definately boost his confidence rclxms.gif
MR_alien
post May 27 2011, 05:12 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

great car...good choice
take it...fiesta is a great car
overfloe
post May 27 2011, 05:13 PM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,207 posts

if you like the car, then buy it.. check whether ford is giving free maintenance?
danny_sp15
post May 27 2011, 05:18 PM

==============
3,045 posts

i think free maintenance for 60,000km. but not sure, have to check back.
multiplexer
post May 27 2011, 05:41 PM

393 posts

this model won many awards in europe. they does not simply award a car for nothing.. design wise, its demm nice smile.gif
TSDavidtcf
post May 27 2011, 05:42 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ May 27 2011, 05:13 PM)
if you like the car, then buy it.. check whether ford is giving free maintenance?
yes my friend getting 3 years free maintenance from the car dealer..

he's gonna trade in his noob Proton Saga Aeroback for it soon.. guess it's all green lights then! xD
mphpopular
post May 27 2011, 05:43 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

Test drive the car and compare?
TSDavidtcf
post May 27 2011, 05:45 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(mphpopular @ May 27 2011, 05:43 PM)
Test drive the car and compare?
yes he did... he is impressed with the interior and the power of the car... just that a bit small for a family size car that's the only drawback he found.
XionCity
post May 27 2011, 05:48 PM

171 posts

Go for it, but in long term, spare parts really unknown...Ford are popular for expensive spare parts...and sometimes unavailable, like year 04 Focus....

better than VIOS and CITY of coz, smaller than Forte and Inspira...for that price....but worth it..
Sichiri
post May 27 2011, 05:48 PM

1,192 posts

Is the service center in a convenient area? (near house or workplace). You don't want a car where you have to drive across town just to service it.

The car itself is good, but there are many other factors you have to consider (spare parts cost is one)
UncleLim
post May 27 2011, 05:54 PM

34 posts

the sa told me free service 6 times, 10k km each service as they apply full synthetic oil on the service..
SUSInF.anime
post May 27 2011, 06:19 PM

2,695 posts

Satria cps can play with this car?
SUSkevin23
post May 27 2011, 07:19 PM

1,803 posts

Its a good car to drive,but the car will AGE very very fast.Its a Ford after all.

Vervain
post May 27 2011, 09:39 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Huh? Ford age fast? City better?
Sichiri
post May 27 2011, 09:44 PM

1,192 posts

Pretty sure its gonna 'age' less than a Proton, and 10+ year old Protons are still on the road.

its just the matter of maintenance.
legendaryghost
post May 27 2011, 09:45 PM

62 posts

I juz went to ford service center today. Guess what? The mechanic told me they juz change 3 gearbox of ford fiesta. There is some rust inside the dual clutch gearbox when they open up it. I dunno it is truth or not? This is what he told me today.

This post has been edited by legendaryghost: May 27 2011, 09:49 PM
carpathia
post May 27 2011, 11:31 PM

2,619 posts

TS
ford fiesta is ford top selling models in malaysia today...the sales numbers dont lie...so dont listen to what people say about ford (have they even driven one? ) and just go with your heart

it is a damn nice car (design wise) and for the price, the included accessories are not too shabby either. compare this to vios and city, ford fiesta wins hands down in the b segment!

i personally have tried vios, city and fiesta - really no contest at all.
gon3wooha
post May 27 2011, 11:59 PM

64 posts

hi, i m confused v ford focus's Sequential Sports Shift rclxub.gif
does it means one can use paddle shift to shift gear?? if no, is there a clutch pedal??
sorry for a bit off-topic.. tongue.gif

danny_sp15
post May 28 2011, 12:46 AM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(gon3wooha @ May 27 2011, 11:59 PM)
hi, i m confused v  ford focus's Sequential Sports Shift rclxub.gif
does it means one can use paddle shift to shift gear?? if no, is there a clutch pedal??
sorry for a bit off-topic.. tongue.gif

nope, no clutch pedal. and in the focus, there's no paddle shift. just push the stick sideways from the 'D' position, and push it up/down to change gears.
Rain88
post May 28 2011, 12:50 AM

58 posts

Test drove Ford Fiesta before, a great car!

The only thing I don't like about this car is that I can open the car door from the inside even it's locked. Not sure if this considered a safety issue... blush.gif
danny_sp15
post May 28 2011, 01:04 AM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(Rain88 @ May 28 2011, 12:50 AM)

The only thing I don't like about this car is that I can open the car door from the inside even it's locked. Not sure if this considered a safety issue... blush.gif

salesman said it's a safety feature. cos in the event of an accident, say the driver unconscious or the button malfunction, u can still open the door from the inside. i think it's convenient too.
Notoriez
post May 28 2011, 02:00 AM

I am Notty and Notorious !!!
2,499 posts

This is a purely driver's car. With some simple mods, it can easily tapao other Japs in the same segment or price range..

If only it comes with 1.6 manual sad.gif
MR_alien
post May 28 2011, 02:05 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

isn't it suppose to be able to do that?
like danny_sp15 said...suppose to be a safety feature
just like a door knob...the outside that should be locked...not the inside
inside should be able to be opened freely
but yes....that would be quiet easy to steal
vexus
post May 28 2011, 02:06 AM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,660 posts

good car but bad service from sime darby and so little service center around klangvalley. Take it as NO !!!!!
ahsam1212
post May 28 2011, 03:52 AM

178 posts

If this is a car that is driven mostly with heavy traffic, jams and so on, don't get this. It's not so smooth at stop n go. It's not enjoyable driving such car in this conditiions.

Other than that, it's pretty good.
gon3wooha
post May 28 2011, 09:57 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ May 28 2011, 12:46 AM)
nope, no clutch pedal. and in the focus, there's no paddle shift. just push the stick sideways from the 'D' position, and push it up/down to change gears.
thanks smile.gif

we r both born in 1987, but i m so noob regarding cars.. shakehead.gif
so envy of u.. must hv droven f.focus b4.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by gon3wooha: May 28 2011, 09:58 AM
peter_pj
post May 28 2011, 10:49 AM

110 posts

Yup, its a safety issue. If you notice, all continental cars have this feature right up to Merc and BMW.

The only time that you can't open the door from the inside is if you "double-lock" it with the alarm/key-fob, i.e:-
- close the doors
- press the door lock button 1 time = the door is locked from outside (but still can open from inside)
- press the door lock button 2nd time = the door is double-locked (cannot open from outside and inside)
dadurtyz
post May 28 2011, 11:27 AM

658 posts

The car it's great! but u must see other factor,maintenance, convenience service center, and spare parts? also trouble shoot and their after sale service? any ford owner can help here..
consider all part's bro before make decision then you are good to go
peter_pj
post May 28 2011, 11:44 AM

110 posts

I am a Ford Focus owner, and have no problem maintaining my car.

In fact, we Ford and Focus owners have a club and forum at http://fomec.org/smf/index.php where you can meet plenty of friendly owners for support. While Focus kaki's even have a google and BB group on our phone.
Rain88
post May 28 2011, 01:55 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(peter_pj @ May 28 2011, 10:49 AM)
Yup, its a safety issue. If you notice, all continental cars have this feature right up to Merc and BMW.

The only time that you can't open the door from the inside is if you "double-lock" it with the alarm/key-fob, i.e:-
- close the doors
- press the door lock button 1 time = the door is locked from outside (but still can open from inside)
- press the door lock button 2nd time = the door is double-locked (cannot open from outside and inside)
Thanks for telling me this. My salesperson didn't tell me about this when i highlighted it to him. smile.gif
SweetPuff
post May 28 2011, 02:07 PM

2,021 posts

I've driven one when I was in UK some years ago. Really awesome handling. Fun when you're cruising through winding roads.

TS, try test driving one first before you decide. It's very important that you're comfortable with it. Not everyone have the same sort of 'chemistry' with some cars.
briggs86
post May 28 2011, 02:12 PM

409 posts

currently fiesta got a common issue tat's crack windscreen.. do check with Service agent before you decide to get a ford fiesta...
TSDavidtcf
post May 29 2011, 05:53 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(ahsam1212 @ May 28 2011, 03:52 AM)
If this is a car that is driven mostly with heavy traffic, jams and so on, don't get this. It's not so smooth at stop n go. It's not enjoyable driving such car in this conditiions.

Other than that, it's pretty good.
i heard about it too.. my fren who's gonna buy the car told me that when it stops fully and tries to go... it will not be so smooth but with some slight jerk, is that true? the gear 1 for this car doesn't seem good. But at higher speeds he said that it's awesome, super smooth...
ahsam1212
post May 29 2011, 08:27 AM

178 posts

True. Start n go not smooth. It's robotic actuated clutch doesn't really know what's happening outside. Does the driver need to launch the car fast or slow? Or want to creep slowly? All these are robotic control. Unlike manual with clutch, where driver can control the clutch fully to achieve smoothness.

Even the golf gti with slightly more superior system suffers at such traffic condition.
DrBarbarian
post May 29 2011, 10:17 AM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

I have a fiesta..... it's so easy to park the car... smile.gif

as for the jerky gearbox at low speed, all dsg/twin clutch gear box has this characteristic... it's not a defect....

I personally dun like the interior... feels cheap for a conti car... should have come with leather seats and upholstering

fuel consumption is great.... clocked 6.3L/km from KL to Kuantan..... 5.5L/km from kuantan to kuala terengganu....

you guys sure about the cracked windscreen problem?? never heard about it for the fiesta... I do know the 308 are having this problem....

problems that I read in fiesta forum= cracked spoiler, leaky gearbox, loose driver side storage compartment, loose tow cover..... but I don't have any of this problems at all... I think most cars with problems are from the first shipment/batch.... they have now rectify it I think(I hope)
Pogostik
post May 29 2011, 11:02 AM

~ Merry Prankster ~
766 posts

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ May 29 2011, 10:17 AM)
I have a fiesta..... it's so easy to park the car... smile.gif

as for the jerky gearbox at low speed, all dsg/twin clutch gear box has this characteristic... it's not a defect....

I personally dun like the interior... feels cheap for a conti car... should have come with leather seats and upholstering

fuel consumption is great.... clocked 6.3L/km from KL to Kuantan..... 5.5L/km from kuantan to kuala terengganu....

you guys sure about the cracked windscreen problem?? never heard about it for the fiesta... I do know the 308 are having this problem....

problems that I read in fiesta forum= cracked spoiler, leaky gearbox, loose driver side storage compartment, loose tow cover..... but I don't have any of this problems at all... I think most cars with problems are from the first shipment/batch.... they have now rectify it I think(I hope)
How, or rather where, did you 'possess' the 'information'? Because I'd never heard this kind of problem. Not even once.
DrBarbarian
post May 29 2011, 11:20 AM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

well... I was shopping for a small car for my fiancee couple of months back and 308 was one of the cars I was considering... checked with 308 owners then and that's how I got the information.... 2 ppl I know had to replace their battery after 6 months....

This post has been edited by DrBarbarian: May 29 2011, 11:21 AM
gagak_84
post May 29 2011, 11:45 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(legendaryghost @ May 27 2011, 09:45 PM)
I juz went to ford service center today. Guess what? The mechanic told me they juz change 3 gearbox of ford fiesta. There is some rust inside the dual clutch gearbox when they open up it. I dunno it is truth or not? This is what he told me today.
Really?
twincharger07
post May 29 2011, 11:58 AM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ May 29 2011, 11:20 AM)
well... I was shopping for a small car for my fiancee couple of months back and 308 was one of the cars I was considering... checked with 308 owners then and that's how I got the information.... 2 ppl I know had to replace their battery after 6 months....
err... how does the windscreen crack relate to the battery problem?

308 battery is pretty confirm as 3 of my friends (2 Thp and 1 Vti) had their battery change in less than 1 year ... shakehead.gif

however, I think I will try out the Fiesta ... Kajang got 1 showroom tongue.gif

This post has been edited by twincharger07: May 29 2011, 12:02 PM
gon3wooha
post May 29 2011, 12:33 PM

64 posts

how come ford fiesta no paddle shift?? and no manual version?? rclxub.gif
twincharger07
post May 29 2011, 01:10 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(gon3wooha @ May 29 2011, 12:33 PM)
how come ford fiesta no paddle shift?? and no manual version?? rclxub.gif
i tot the 1.4L is the manual one??
gon3wooha
post May 29 2011, 01:25 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(twincharger07 @ May 29 2011, 01:10 PM)
i tot the 1.4L is the manual one??
i don take 1.4 into consideration whistling.gif
THEALB10N
post May 29 2011, 03:47 PM

246 posts

Brilliant car. Had it for about a month now and no problems. I guess the only problem with it is you don't feel the speed you're doing. I've been shocked looking down at my speedo on a few occasions biggrin.gif.

A very small gripe is that it doesn't have any way to manually change gears like the focus automatic. I would have got the manual, but I wanted the extra features in the 1.6. Also the gear stick label is on the left-hand side of the stick, meaning you can't actually see what gear you've selected easily. You get used to the order of them fairly soon though, so its not a big deal. And of course the indicator stalk is on the wrong side sad.gif.

The saloon version looks...weird. I wouldn't go for that.

I love the centre console though. And the semi-bucket seats.

Great purchase. They are coming up with a slightly modified version with 6 airbags and a body kit for a little extra cash now.
ahsam1212
post May 29 2011, 04:42 PM

178 posts

Since there r owners of fiesta here, how do u actually control or select the gear u wanted? Say when going down genting?
gon3wooha
post May 29 2011, 05:43 PM

64 posts

just did some browsing n 1 2 share v u all.

i found that focus sequential sport shift(sss) is uder the category of automatic transmission which i was very surprise. shocking.gif in the sss mode / so-called manual mode, when u rev until a certain limit, the car is programmed to upshift to upper gear. it's dissapointing to know that..

fiesta dual clutch transmission is under the category of semi-auto transmission, it is using clutch instead of torque converter. it ll be like attaching a pair of wing on a tiger if fiesta is equipped v paddle shift in malaysia. biggrin.gif
i really dont know why fiesta in malaysia no paddle shift shakehead.gif

please correct me if i m wrong..

danny_sp15
post May 29 2011, 05:53 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(gon3wooha @ May 29 2011, 05:43 PM)
just did some browsing n 1 2 share v u all.

i found that focus sequential sport shift(sss) is uder the category of automatic transmission which i was very surprise.  shocking.gif  in the sss mode / so-called manual mode, when u rev until a certain limit, the car is programmed to upshift to upper gear. it's dissapointing to know that..

fiesta dual clutch transmission is under the category of semi-auto transmission, it is using clutch instead of torque converter. it ll be like attaching a pair of wing on a tiger if fiesta is equipped v paddle shift in malaysia.  biggrin.gif
i really dont know why fiesta in malaysia no paddle shift  shakehead.gif

please correct me if i m wrong..

in the focus, and i think in most cars, even in the manual sss mode, the gear will shift up when u hit certain rpm. this is a protective mechanism to protect the gearbox. usually it will shift up when u hit the redline. and in some cars, u can only shift down a gear when the rev is below a certain limit (e.g. 4000rpm in Pug 308). If rev more than the limit, it wont shift down. anyway, i havent test drive the focus yet, but i've seen the gearstick and stuff, so i know a bit... tongue.gif
gon3wooha
post May 29 2011, 06:24 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ May 29 2011, 05:53 PM)
in the focus, and i think in most cars, even in the manual sss mode, the gear will shift up when u hit certain rpm. this is a protective mechanism to protect the gearbox. usually it will shift up when u hit the redline. and in some cars, u can only shift down a gear when the rev is below a certain limit (e.g. 4000rpm in Pug 308). If rev more than the limit, it wont shift down. anyway, i havent test drive the focus yet, but i've seen the gearstick and stuff, so i know a bit... tongue.gif
redline of rpm meter?? what if in low gear?? it is not possible to hit the red line. hmm.gif
danny_sp15
post May 29 2011, 06:27 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(gon3wooha @ May 29 2011, 06:24 PM)
redline of rpm meter?? what if in low gear?? it is not possible to hit the red line.  hmm.gif
eh, if low gear should be easier to hit redline right?
Pogostik
post May 29 2011, 06:35 PM

~ Merry Prankster ~
766 posts

For Pug 308, the gear wont shift up if it's in Sport Mode.
gon3wooha
post May 29 2011, 06:41 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ May 29 2011, 06:27 PM)
eh, if low gear should be easier to hit redline right?
watch the fiesta 0-60mph in you tube n u ll know..
THEALB10N
post May 29 2011, 06:41 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(ahsam1212 @ May 29 2011, 04:42 PM)
Since there r owners of fiesta here, how do u actually control or select the gear u wanted? Say when going down genting?
Stick it in L. It seems a bit misnamed as the car uses all 6 gears in L, it just holds them for longer making it easier to go uphill. There is also a "grade assist" button on the side of the gearstick which is apparently for hilly terrain, but I've not tried it out.

Since there's no manual override, you can't actually manually work your way through the gears which is a shame.
danny_sp15
post May 29 2011, 06:47 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(THEALB10N @ May 29 2011, 06:41 PM)
Stick it in L. It seems a bit misnamed as the car uses all 6 gears in L, it just holds them for longer making it easier to go uphill. There is also a "grade assist" button on the side of the gearstick which is apparently for hilly terrain, but I've not tried it out.

Since there's no manual override, you can't actually manually work your way through the gears which is a shame.
so the L is like sports mode?

Added on May 29, 2011, 6:48 pm
QUOTE(Pogostik @ May 29 2011, 06:35 PM)
For Pug 308, the gear wont shift up if it's in Sport Mode.

but u cant engage sport mode while in the manual mode. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by danny_sp15: May 29 2011, 06:48 PM
THEALB10N
post May 29 2011, 07:04 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ May 29 2011, 06:47 PM)
Well, it seems like it, but in the manual it says to use it in hilly conditions only (not that I listen tongue.gif). What I don't understand is if L is meant for hills, whats the grade assist button for?

Damn these automatic boxes are confusng rclxub.gif Give me a 5-speed any day!
danny_sp15
post May 29 2011, 07:58 PM

==============
3,045 posts

grade assist is to assist when starting on a hill. it will hold the car for a few seconds when u're starting uphill. good for new drivers, i usually just hold brake with left foot, and build rev with right. tongue.gif
Dias
post May 29 2011, 08:21 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ May 29 2011, 07:58 PM)
grade assist is to assist when starting on a hill. it will hold the car for a few seconds when u're starting uphill. good for new drivers, i usually just hold brake with left foot, and build rev with right. tongue.gif
That's Hill Launch Assist (some call it Hill Hold Assist). It kicks in when the gradient is 3% or more.

Gradient Assist is that little button on your gear stick. Not sure how to explain it though other than quoting websites.

Popular Mechanics describes it as "designed to eliminate autobox “hunting” for the right ratio on steep roads."
Emotormag calls it "In addition a gradient assist function can be activated when climbing steep gradients where there may be a tendency for the transmission to continually shift between gears. By activating a button located on the gear lever, it allows for improved drivability in hilly terrain."

But if based on driving feel, upon activating gradient assist, the RPM goes up and you get more accelerating power when driving uphill. Tried this on Karak highway during my trip to Kuantan. Without GA on some really steep climbs, acceleration feels slightly sluggish but when GA is activated, you can feel the acceleration power suddenly kicking in. I have only used GA when climbing up steep roads since I think that's where the name Gradient Assist comes from. Plus, using GA on flat roads will be detrimental to FC due to the high RPM. Never tried it on downhill motion though.
Pogostik
post May 29 2011, 08:36 PM

~ Merry Prankster ~
766 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ May 29 2011, 06:47 PM)

Added on May 29, 2011, 6:48 pmbut u cant engage sport mode while in the manual mode. hmm.gif
I have erred in my post before. In Pug 308, there are 3 modes, Economic, Sport and tiptronic (manual). Economic and Sport modes are full auto. The different between Economic and Sport is, in Sport mode, the engine will rev higher before it shifts up. In tiptronic mode, you can manually shift up or down. While the gear will automatically shift down when RPM is too low, it will never, automatically, shift up. Hope it clears it up smile.gif
philipinoe
post May 29 2011, 10:13 PM

i activate the gradient assist button in hilly terrain AND also when to gain quick acceleration/power to overtake cars in flat road... brows.gif
DrBarbarian
post May 30 2011, 10:24 AM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

yeah... it would have been great if Sime Darby included the paddle shift..... but then again.... I personally never uses it(on my other car) 99% of the time.... the only time I ever uses manual overwrite is when I was coming down from Genting.....

oh ya... we dun get the digital climate control too..... sad.gif
prasys
post Jun 3 2011, 03:50 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

I've been using Fiesta for like 2 months

Sometimes you just dont know the speed. This car pretty much is solid at 120km/h crusing over Sprint Hwy , DUKE Hwy and NKVE. Fuel consumption is not bad. It lacks of auto cruise , wish the Malaysian version had it. Apart from that , overall , the car is pretty good !
ahsam1212
post Jun 3 2011, 04:01 PM

178 posts

prasys, what's the fc like? sedan or hatch?
prasys
post Jun 3 2011, 04:23 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(ahsam1212 @ Jun 3 2011, 04:01 PM)
prasys, what's the fc like? sedan or hatch?
Hatch 1.6 Sports

The downshift thingy is a bit jerky , especially when it comes to stop and go traffic (hint hint LDP). Apart from that iPhone/iPod connectivity + Bluetooth is a plus. Not sure about spare parts , yet. As for the fuel consumption its not bad. Wangsa Maju to Subang (via DUKE/Sprint/Federal or DUKE/NKVE or Duke/Sprint/LDP or pure Federal).

Again it boils to the individual person , there are people who would post that OMG this car sucks and others would praise it. Go , test drive it , like it - get it. If you want to compare and do critical analysis , it would not end at all. Look at your taste , some people just prefer Honda or other Japanese cars and others like my dad for instance prefer Korean cars
ahsam1212
post Jun 3 2011, 04:32 PM

178 posts

Erm.. i m only asking bout your fc.
Vesher
post Jun 3 2011, 04:37 PM

dear owners, since the L mode actually uses all 6 gears, is it actually safe to shift to L from D in say, 100km/h speed for overtaking purpose? or should I use the Hill Launch Assist? sweat.gif
iastate
post Jun 3 2011, 07:05 PM

599 posts

I checked the website. It seems to me that the 1.6 L Sport edition only has hatchback and no sedan? Am I right?
prasys
post Jun 3 2011, 09:45 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(iastate @ Jun 3 2011, 07:05 PM)
I checked the website. It seems to me that the 1.6 L Sport edition only has hatchback and no sedan? Am I right?
Yeah 1.6 Sports only has Sedan
danny_sp15
post Jun 6 2011, 09:26 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Jun 3 2011, 09:45 PM)
Yeah 1.6 Sports only has Sedan
U mean hatchback?
DrBarbarian
post Jun 7 2011, 11:25 AM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

went to terengganu last month and fc was 5.5l/km..... KL use I get 6.5l/km.....
wiwiliew2
post Nov 14 2012, 10:24 AM

anyone have this Ford Fiesta 1.6 information?
i found this mandarin news about Ford Fiesta, what is international standard ISO FIX child seat? can very understand mandarin.

http://www.eunited.com.my/?q=node/5759
valence
post Nov 14 2012, 11:16 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Jun 3 2011, 04:23 PM)
Hatch 1.6 Sports

The downshift thingy is a bit jerky , especially when it comes to stop and go traffic (hint hint LDP). Apart from that iPhone/iPod connectivity + Bluetooth is a plus. Not sure about spare parts , yet. As for the fuel consumption its not bad. Wangsa Maju to Subang (via DUKE/Sprint/Federal or DUKE/NKVE or Duke/Sprint/LDP or pure Federal).

Again it boils to the individual person , there are people who would post that OMG this car sucks and others would praise it. Go , test drive it , like it - get it. If you want to compare and do critical analysis , it would not end at all. Look at your taste , some people just prefer Honda or other Japanese cars and others like my dad for instance prefer Korean cars
spare parts i dun think is a problem since all fiesta was assembled at Thailand. brows.gif

Added on November 14, 2012, 11:19 am
QUOTE(wiwiliew2 @ Nov 14 2012, 10:24 AM)
anyone have this Ford Fiesta 1.6 information?
i found this mandarin news about Ford Fiesta, what is international standard ISO FIX child seat? can very understand mandarin.
http://www.eunited.com.my/?q=node/5759
u can read the info at the link:

http://www.childcarseats.org.uk/standards/isofix.htm

This post has been edited by valence: Nov 14 2012, 11:19 AM
Jerry416
post Jun 11 2013, 12:06 PM

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Jun 7 2011, 11:25 AM)
went to terengganu last month and fc was 5.5l/km..... KL use I get 6.5l/km.....
5.5l/km? Or are u trying to say 5.5l/100km? As mine I'm travelling around klang valley area, after calculation is around 10.6l/100km, which is very far from urs sad.gif

Could you pls clarify ur usage? Or what petrol, how u drive? Maye it's my driving habit which always accelerate at green, but I think that's what normally ppl do isn't it? tongue.gif
DrBarbarian
post Jun 11 2013, 02:34 PM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

yeah... l/100km.... normal usage... slow drive... no hard acceleration... it's not a sports car.....

but then again, 10.6l/100km is really bad!! my other big cc cars can do better than that!
potatoes
post Jun 11 2013, 03:32 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(Jerry416 @ Jun 11 2013, 12:06 PM)
5.5l/km? Or are u trying to say 5.5l/100km? As mine I'm travelling around klang valley area, after calculation is around 10.6l/100km, which is very far from urs sad.gif

Could you pls clarify ur usage? Or what petrol, how u drive? Maye it's my driving habit which always accelerate at green, but I think that's what normally ppl do isn't it? tongue.gif
Have you done your 1st 10k service? Mine was bad but after the service it improves. Still not as good as claimed.
SlomoX
post Jun 11 2013, 04:20 PM

63 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by SlomoX: Jun 11 2013, 04:22 PM
dtna7
post Jun 11 2013, 05:12 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(Jerry416 @ Jun 11 2013, 12:06 PM)

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Jun 11 2013, 02:34 PM)
yeah... l/100km.... normal usage... slow drive... no hard acceleration... it's not a sports car.....

but then again, 10.6l/100km is really bad!! my other big cc cars can do better than that!
thats a pretty bold claim for 5.5L/100km sweat.gif

assuming RM70 = 36.8L = 669km a full tank?

sure? shocking.gif

no need hybrid already... biggrin.gif

a check at Fuelly indicated Manual version reaching 6L/100km possible, auto is around 7-9L/100km doh.gif

This post has been edited by dtna7: Jun 11 2013, 05:17 PM
DrBarbarian
post Jun 12 2013, 10:34 AM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jun 11 2013, 05:12 PM)
thats a pretty bold claim for 5.5L/100km  sweat.gif

assuming RM70 = 36.8L = 669km a full tank?

sure?  shocking.gif

no need hybrid already...  biggrin.gif

a check at Fuelly indicated Manual version reaching 6L/100km possible, auto is around 7-9L/100km  doh.gif
surprising rite? it was an overnite drive..... average speed around 80-90km/h....
dtna7
post Jun 12 2013, 10:51 AM

456 posts

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Jun 12 2013, 10:34 AM)
surprising rite? it was an overnite drive..... average speed around 80-90km/h....
thumbup.gif respect....I would need an auto pilot car to drive 80-90km/h blush.gif
DrBarbarian
post Jun 12 2013, 11:09 AM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

what to do.... was following a lead car..... slow driver.... most boring long distance drive I ever did.....
Jerry416
post Jun 19 2013, 11:16 AM

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Jun 11 2013, 02:34 PM)

I thought it's fiesta sport? tongue.gif
Yea in kl alone. Perhaps traffic's the culprit. But now about 10l/100km still. I did the calculation myself after each time of refuelling. The gauge is about 8.6l/100km, but I don't really trust it, so done the calculation myself. tongue.gif

QUOTE(potatoes @ Jun 11 2013, 03:32 PM)
Have you done your 1st 10k service?  Mine was bad but after the service it improves. Still not as good as claimed.
Hvnt. Now still 5.5k only. Can I go earlier? XD

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Jun 12 2013, 10:34 AM)
Wow..I would have bored to death when I reach then. The car is still quite stable to me when it reaches 150kmph.

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jun 12 2013, 10:51 AM)
thumbup.gif  respect....I would need an auto pilot car to drive 80-90km/h  blush.gif
Too bad Malaysian fiesta sport doesn't have auto cruise as stated in the manual. Perhaps Malaysia has the highest accident rate in the world? blush.gif
rawraj
post Jul 6 2013, 09:57 PM

hi guys.. i dunno where else to post this up.. but does anyone have any news on the 2013 fiesta??
went to testdrive the current fiesta today bt the salesman said no more test drives ady and the taking in pre books for the 2013 which will launch sometime in Sept.. engine 1.5 now it seems..
Whereas the ecoboost engine be out late dec or early jan..

This post has been edited by rawraj: Jul 6 2013, 09:57 PM
dares
post Jul 6 2013, 10:07 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(rawraj @ Jul 6 2013, 09:57 PM)
hi guys.. i dunno where else to post this up.. but does anyone have any news on the 2013 fiesta??
went to testdrive the current fiesta today bt the salesman said no more test drives ady and the taking in pre books for the 2013 which will launch sometime in Sept.. engine 1.5 now it seems..
Whereas the ecoboost engine be out late dec or early jan..
So they will be selling the 1.0 Ecoboost alongside the 1.5l?

Then I guess those who were waiting for the 1.0 Ecoboost to replace the current 1.6 model at the same pricing will be disappointed hmm.gif
rawraj
post Jul 6 2013, 10:16 PM

yeah.. quoting the salesman... expecting the ecoboost to sell around 100k.... big time meh
but the 1.5l is to be priced at about 80k...

This post has been edited by rawraj: Jul 6 2013, 10:17 PM

0.0728sec    1.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:27 AM