Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides
May 1 2013, 07:18 PM
3,375 posts Joined: May 2005 From: MeeRee |
arrive malaysia! wonderful taiwan trip. will share my info here soon
May 1 2013, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(sunnychai99 @ Apr 20 2013, 03:26 PM) can bargain lower .. i use cc to withdraw money there. withdraw NT$10k. rate is 10.4xx. need pay rm2 for cirrus fee and another rm50 for cc cash withdraw chargesdid u ?? if got credit card .. then use n withdraw.. if u bring cash over there sure spend off de .. too many cheap n nice thing to buy over there.. QUOTE(Glamourousfit @ Apr 20 2013, 10:41 PM) Shopping in Wufenpu - not really tat great.D opening price is always TWD380 regardless what pcs u showed them.Yes u buy 3 get TWD1000 but still i find over priced.I asked for 4 pcs at TWD1000 tat fella not willing to sell .This is jz d top m getting.n mostly r fr China. M comparing shopping for cLothes in BKK at d wholesale area n i cud get good quality n cheaper which is made in Thailand. this taxi is damn cheap! i get cab arrange from hotel for NT$1200Even souvernirs r not cheap. Raohe is a better nite mkt.They hv got food n shopping here.Dun really like ShihLin...hv motorbikes coming in which i dislike cos u got to watch out for them XiMenDing kind of dead after 11pm. N 11 am some shops r still closed Those who nid a taxi or private transport. fr airport..can contact Mr Song +886982258878 or+886956258878.Whatsapp him or email accord5868@yahoo.com.tw.Only in chinese.If dunno how use google translate.Fr taoyuan airport to Shihlin @ TWD850 / XMD to Taoyuan @TWD800. This is base on accord car can fit 4 pax plus 3big luggage n 1 small. use it if u travel.in grp and after yr shopping spree .His price is reasonable n public taxi wud probably cost u more than 1k. distance from taipei main station to taoyuan QUOTE(SmuffyJ @ Apr 25 2013, 05:55 PM) Hi, I use caredit card to pay deposit for my minsu and I was charged RM 218.29 NTD 2100. Meaning I get ard RM10.39 to NTD 100. so is the rate ok? credit card rate is good there. i use to pay my hotel and train tickets. i get around 10.2xx rate which is good to me |
May 2 2013, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(cute_miao @ Apr 27 2013, 09:57 AM) Any idea where or which bank I shld go to chg myr to ntd??? I am in ximen now. Wrry cash not enuf.balance 20k ntd for 5days (hotel expenses excluded)..tq bro n sis i think the only place trade myr is the bank of taiwan if im not mistaken. 20k for 5days shd be enough provided u dont do super shopping spree and get drivers to tour around.QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Apr 27 2013, 08:21 PM) hello, im going to taiwan soon! 350 per day is standard i think.wana ask, is there anyone have contact for private transport that can bring me to taizhong area from taipei? thanks i found online cheapest also RM350 for 1 day and currently looking for cheaper one. thanks! from what i survey: 300-350 per day is within the own location/nearby. further place which require overnight will charge between 500-550 range. QUOTE(kellyisme @ Apr 29 2013, 12:52 PM) interesting. do share ur experience and journey here along the way QUOTE(jepertine90 @ May 1 2013, 08:46 PM) weather is awesome!! between 12-24 degree... taipei is more chilly avg around 18, taichong is around 22~ that's not much Malaysian tourist that time as it was after the holiday season.. but i was able to meet some malaysian tourist there.. people there are superb nice.. haha.. btw I fly from LCCT(KL)... 12-24degree is where?taipei i went there the weather is 24-28degree. if u go mountain area like jiufen can reach to 20degree outskirt area like hualien and cingjing can get below 20degree QUOTE(jepertine90 @ May 1 2013, 08:49 PM) the credit card rate is good.. best is either withdraw money from ATM, or use cc... RM doesn't trade very good in Taiwan, unless you bring along USD.. ATM machine can be found in all 7-11 and family mart.. and 7-11 and family mart can be found in anywhere~ I miss their 7-11 and family mart.. staff is so young and friendly.. haha food is good too~ i use sgd to change in airport when i arrive taiwan.after that i use cc to withdraw money i dont carry usd. |
May 2 2013, 02:25 PM
oh winter. no wonder. i thought u only went recently. hehehe.
May 4 2013, 07:13 PM
QUOTE(SmuffyJ @ May 4 2013, 03:22 PM) clothes n dress is very cheap in wufenpuQUOTE(powind @ May 4 2013, 04:23 PM) i remove my digi sim cardi apply chunghwa card at airport. NT500 for usage of 10days. im in taiwan for 8days only. didnt reload. i just want to use the unlimited data plan. theres some minor credit for u to do voice call and sms as well |
May 5 2013, 11:16 AM
May 5 2013, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ May 5 2013, 08:26 AM) Hey ppl, i am going to taiwan in june for 7 nights, this time should be focusing on visiting places around Taipei first. May i know any hostel or homestay tat is good and can fit in 7-8 ppl in 1 room? the rate u guys discussing back then is rm1 change to twd? i saw now the rate at online is 1 myr change 9.7twd, so money exchanger give better rate? normally money exchange use NT$100 = RMxxxRM1 = NT$9.7 NT$100 = 10.309 this rate consider reasonable. i change in taiwan airport get around 10.1xx. u use credit card rate is 10.2xx. that time i change in malaysia is very high. 10.85 |
May 6 2013, 10:18 AM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ May 5 2013, 01:57 PM) oh.. then better i use credit card. but like credit card if u do withdrawal, they charge like 5% or rm10, whichever is higher.. maybe i change some money in msia, then shopping those can use card i just use card.. card normally how much they charge extra per transaction? now busy looking for place to stay >< staying around ximending is ok? any night clubs around there? or any night clubs worth visiting? (cuci mata) u can use ur credit card to pay for hotel, certain train fares, restaurants and shopping (in shopping malls)others u still need lots of cash the charges i got for withdrawing cash using cc: RM2 for cirrus RM52 for cash withdrawing then the exchange rate which is 10.2xx staying in ximending is good. ximending comes to life during evening - night time. no night clubs in ximending area. u have to be at the city centre. i didnt manage to visit any night club during my trip due to over tiredness after whole day adventuring. haha i visit during my very last day which is a monday. went to myst club. only 16pax are there. LOL then i went to another bistro/restaurant sit down have some drinks |
May 6 2013, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ May 6 2013, 10:26 AM) oh haha.. then better i either withdraw cash or i change cash before going. Wanna get some treatpoints for my card, if shopping which area is the best for those boutique? I am not fond of cheap stuff (not being materialistic, but self-syokness) hi!btw, looks like u are from Miri too yes i am from miri i change NT$ in miri and i get 10.9 or 10.85 during my trip which is not good if compare to those forumer here changing their money in kl i just change around rm2k in miri here. then remaining i use sg dollars change at airport. u get good rates if u using sg or us dollars in taiwan boutique as off those branded? u could try taipei 101. but still i think kl/sg market more. haha. price wise im not sure coz im not branded kaki. haha u can spend some time in the airport itself too for last minute shopping as there are many branded duty free shop also ximending only can see more crowds during late afternoon/evening or night time. lots of small stalls selling food. lots of shops for shopping. lots of taiwan mei mei for u to wash ur eyes too. hahaha. there a place for drinks near the red house. |
May 6 2013, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ May 6 2013, 10:39 AM) yaya from miri but i will going from KL as i am currently outstation in Klang haha. I hope to get better rates at KL i go to taiwan for 8 days. u can refer back to my itinerary which i shared here. everything went well except for some timing glitches due to not familar with the place thats why u will spend more time venturing. heheheLooks like i pick a good place to stay, i believe i will be going back to Taiwan near future as i really interested in that country from what i've heard from my fren that ppl there are very loving and caring when he went for a solo trip. hopefully my first impression on Taiwan would be good. The lrt mrt stuffs in taipei is very confusing >< is google maps reliable? or anything that can help in getting directions? during my first day i already spend 3hours itself in the taipei main station. LOL! taiwanese to me a over friendly. LOL. the people are really really nice! mrt is easy. hsr is easy. only the train is confusing. as long as u know where u wanna go, u can get the train schedule from the information centre and they will advise u which train to take. from there, get the train number and timing. then go to the desired platform. definitely u will reach ur place google maps is realiable. im using it as my maps hows ur itinerary? maybe can share with me and i can advise u |
May 6 2013, 01:51 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ May 6 2013, 12:05 PM) Oh nice, i am already starting to visualize taiwan haha.. not yet finalize as actually it will be planned by my friend. Waiting for him to come out with one lol.. i hope it is not shopping spree one.. i would go solo if this is the case haha. But i wanna go their electronic plaza or something like lowyat hahaha. my trip is more to sightseeing and exploring the nightmarket.i only have 1.5 days for shopping. which is not enough for my wife. LOL i skip 1 or 2 places in my itinerary due to time constrain. and raining days. during my trips, 2 days were raining only the 2 days does i plan to visit taiwan again soon! |
May 7 2013, 08:05 AM
to me certain food is overrated. but some is really nice. which can hardly found in msian.
i didnt manage to go play and release the sky paper lantern due to time constrain. hehe. i plan to go after my jiufen visit end up i only spend time in jiufen shifen and pingxi will be my destination in my next visit |
May 7 2013, 01:47 PM
May 7 2013, 02:05 PM
May 7 2013, 02:17 PM
QUOTE(prob queen @ May 7 2013, 02:07 PM) no rain just that very rush , cz i was in the yeh liu then when i ask the direction to the jiufern, the visitor info counter said too rush for me to go shifern, so i chose to go jiu fern, but very worth it few days rain during my trip. so sad in tai chung very hot leh, |
May 7 2013, 02:57 PM
wah...what a perfect timing
i was so cold at hehuan shan, cingjing and jiufen that time. the wind is crazy. |
May 7 2013, 03:42 PM
im only with t-shirt and short pants thats why cannot tahan the wind. LOL!
May 7 2013, 04:53 PM
few place didnt manage. overall still satisfied!
May 9 2013, 08:09 AM
QUOTE(suigizo @ May 8 2013, 09:36 PM) Need someone help on fastest way from Sun Moon Lake to Keelung? What about time duration? Thanks in advance .... sun moon lake and keelung is 2 totally different places. do u mean u plan to visit this 2 places in a day? it is impossible.from sun moon lake u can take bus (economical way) to reach taichung. or u can board cab to reach taichung as well. from taichung take hsr to reach taipei main station. in taipei main station take train. im not sure which station to reach keelung. but that time i go to jiufen, i alight at ruifang station. take bus to reach jiufen. there is bus going to keelung also. alternatively, at taipei main station, u can go to the bus station. take bus to keelung. |
May 9 2013, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(prob queen @ May 9 2013, 09:41 AM) from sun moon lake (visitor counter ) , there is a bus direct back to taipei main station (ntd 440) , it take about 3.5hours ....is either u choose one place to visit only bus:if u go jiu fern , take bus at kee lung bus stop (788) will take u to the jiu fern, but i suggest u to stay one nite at jiu fern as when reach nite, very less bus will operate there liao sun moon lake - taichung (around 1.5hr) hsr: taichung - taipei (55mins) total time: around 2.5hrs price: bus (nt$190) hsr (nt$700) save 1hr but more expensive bus: taichung - taipei total time: 3.5hr price: nt$440 longer time but cheaper travelling depends on budget and time constrain. yea agree with u. night time less bus operate at jiufen area. but the 7-11 there full of taxi. |
| Change to: | 0.0602sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:47 PM |