6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides

aiyume
post Sep 7 2011, 09:57 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

9 seater van from airport to taipei i got quoted for NTD1200 + NTD200 (late nite surcharge)
aiyume
post Sep 8 2011, 11:00 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Sep 8 2011, 12:19 AM)
yeah...will have to book earlier
17C....quiet cold...think my mom was right...cold...not good to walk around and buy stuff
HK also same
there are other airline...HK airline and china airline have fly from kk to tpe
but quiet expensive
17C is very nice weather to walk around. it's better to go during cooler season than hot season. hot season so hot that you don't feel like walking coz you'll get tired very easily and sweat alot. cooler season at least you just need to wear thicker clothes.

i'm hoping it to drop at least below 25C when i go... unsure.gif
aiyume
post Sep 9 2011, 10:59 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(bryan_oel @ Sep 9 2011, 09:47 AM)
sorry i miss out.. i mean taken bus from taoyuan airport to Taipei main station.
about an hour.
aiyume
post Sep 13 2011, 09:42 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 12 2011, 05:56 PM)
Anyway, taking the train no matter express tilted train or normal to huelien. Please do not sleep esp after Yilan area. The view is poster perfect and the numbers of long tunnels really amazing...no amtter which side you sit..the view really nice...I consider that train journey the best interm of panoramic view..Just don't fall asleep..otherwise you miss all the best ocean & high mountain view
this time round unable to go. definitely a must next round...
aiyume
post Sep 14 2011, 07:04 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(pino88 @ Sep 14 2011, 10:36 AM)
how to see the currency exchange? at the buying or selling column? and we have to deduct TWD 30 right?
look at the We Sell column, normally it's the more expensive one. based on Wawasan Money Changer the rate now is RM10.80 for NTD100.

Added on September 14, 2011, 7:04 pmi got my digital tour buddy approved for phone+sim card happy.gif

This post has been edited by aiyume: Sep 14 2011, 07:04 PM
aiyume
post Sep 15 2011, 11:40 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(darrenkho @ Sep 15 2011, 10:49 AM)
Dear all

Would appreciate all bros and sistas can give some commends on the lodging below as I am going in Jan next year for a holiday. =)
歡迎來陳太家喔^^台北電話:0972103545,國際電話: +886972103545
check in pm15:00    Check out am11: 00,需提早或延後可寄放行李
BLOG: http://taipeichenhouse.blogspot.com/
from reviews it's quite cheap, but very small. quite a number of ppl from cari forum stayed there before.
aiyume
post Sep 19 2011, 11:34 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

weather forecast this week for taipei: cloudy and rain sad.gif
aiyume
post Sep 19 2011, 04:18 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 19 2011, 02:22 PM)
Tian Xiang or the last stop by tour tourist guides I think much further...probably 25km mark from the entrance? It took me almost 4hrs to cover Taroko... smile.gif  30min darn that's cheating liao haha...No wonder he said not nice bcos that fake waterfall appeared after the contruction of the temple) also not so nice to me haha

Added on September 19, 2011, 2:23 pmAtleast cool down the summer heat mah haha
raining very mafan to go around neh.....especially with camera and all those stuffs doh.gif pictures also won't be nice cry.gif
aiyume
post Sep 22 2011, 10:45 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 22 2011, 09:32 AM)
V-Day = Valentine lor...For me I dun find any romantic restaurants in Taiwan worthwhile lor..Anyway, I think the most famous probably the Lovers bridge at Dansui? Probably restaurant facing this bridge? The skyline of Taipei also so-so nia..KL skyline much better esp V-day on top of Skybar overlooking KL skyline..Taipei sklyline worst than any cities in china  biggrin.gif
Cities suitable for V-day - Hong Kong, Macau, Venice, Paris & those European cities..not Taiwan wor..
lol....it depends on how u define romantic lah.....if 2 person in love, go anywhere also romantic.....i think jiufen is romantic.
aiyume
post Sep 23 2011, 12:13 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 22 2011, 12:15 PM)
Jiufen...a narrow mountanous walkway and my worst human congestion experience..imagine walking down the slope also can get consgested & cab't even walk forward. Once I kena stcuked standing in stagnant for 10min doing nothing..haha
u went during weekends izit? sweat.gif i'm going there on monday....

gosh flying on sat and i still haven't started packing...
aiyume
post Sep 23 2011, 02:35 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 23 2011, 10:39 AM)
Winter is the best (Nov-Feb). Less rain cooler temperature. Nov temp almost like Fraser Hill (~23C)and Dec like CH/Genting (15-18C). Jan/Feb  will be cold. (~ 10C)

No of days depending whether you want to round whole Taiwan or only Taipei or Taipei + 1 outstation

If whole island probably a week or 7-8days
If Taipei on;y $ dyas
If Taipei + Huelien (or 1 alternative city) - 5Days
i dun think 8 days are enough for whole island....unless u are going for stop-look-go tour. some of the places takes alot of time travelling...
aiyume
post Sep 23 2011, 05:11 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Sep 23 2011, 05:02 PM)
You need to know when is the right time to go JiuFen. Luckily i do, so no need to "Jam" with crowds
If you have good stamina, ride bicycle is a very good idea, as you can enjoy very good view while riding. But... beware for the narrow roads, quite danger sometime
so when is the right time?
aiyume
post Sep 23 2011, 05:53 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Sep 23 2011, 05:11 PM)
no problem.
but i really do recommend you this shop:
http://tw.myblog.yahoo.com/juicy8914/article?mid=3176

if your GF or wife likes cuttie things, you won't be wrong going this place

p/s: beware ur wallet tongue.gif kaboom~

Added on September 23, 2011, 5:21 pm
Try avoid going there by Sat / Sunday, Public holiday
But if you challanging yourself by going there at the stated day, try don't take Bus (however it's cheapest compare to you take Train or HSR *no direct train, need change transit*) and arrive before 11Am.
Crowds start to climb in around 12 / 1pm * from my observation *

Which month you go, also will direct affect the crowd.

Try to go Jiu Fen Old street first, then visit to JIN GUA SHI.
the hello kitty place is overrated IMO.

i'm going jiufen next monday. sweat.gif staying a nite.

This post has been edited by aiyume: Sep 23 2011, 05:54 PM
aiyume
post Sep 23 2011, 07:25 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

my friend just got back on monday, she said the weather had turned cooler dy....hualien is quite far away from jiu fen sweat.gif
aiyume
post Oct 4 2011, 09:51 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

I'm back from Taiwan!!! It was super freaking hot (33degC), and rained during the last 2 days of my stay grumble.gif the last day totally couldn't go outdoor so we spent whole day at Taipei station underground....super potong stim...

generally i din enjoy taiwan food (mostly those recommended ones we din like doh.gif ) too starchy and oily.....I loved jiufen the best! spent 1 day 1 night there also not enough. it was raining though. that place gets lots of rain per year (like 180days per year according to the guide).

public transport is super convenient there especially the MRT and busses. some of the bus stops has LCD showing when is the next bus reaching. and the ppl there will line up properly including going up the escalator, toilet, bus, train....public toilets are very clean and dry, with tissue provided. taiwanese are very friendly and helpful...they will come to u if they see you trying to figure out maps, and asked if they can help...some even took the trouble to show you how to go by taking you there...

QUOTE(ayashiyin @ Sep 26 2011, 02:09 PM)
Any1 went to Window on China or Doraemon Park before? Worth to visit? Can advice how to go there? Thanks
doraemon park no more dy....contract ended early this year if i remember correctly.

QUOTE(andrekua @ Sep 26 2011, 06:56 PM)
The so called sales is on now...

Depart
    D7 372 Kuala Lumpur (KUL) to Taipei (TPE)
    Wednesday, 10 October 2012
    Depart 0950 Arrive 1440

Promo (KUL - TPE)
    508.00 MYR 2 Guest @ 254.00 MYR
    50.00 MYR Airport Tax
    100.00 MYR Fuel Surcharge

Return
    D7 373 Taipei (TPE) to Kuala Lumpur (KUL)
    Wednesday, 17 October 2012
    Depart 1545 Arrive 2035

Promo (TPE - KUL)
    448.00 MYR 2 Guest @ 224.00 MYR
    140.00 MYR Airport Tax and Fees
    100.00 MYR Fuel Surcharge

1,346.00 MYR

Expensive?
expensive loh....i got mine at 900+ also consider expensive dy...

QUOTE(smoochiesayn @ Oct 1 2011, 12:20 PM)
Yea, when we were onboard on the bus to Jingguashi, there were a group of Japanese senior tourists. They were quite blank but surprisingly, a Taiwanese old lady approached them in a very fluent Japanese and guided them away. I was pretty overwhelmed a bit from my seat. Taiwanese are so so warm in their heart.
thumbup.gif the older generation of taiwanese can speak japanese as they were under the japanese occupation for 50 years...
aiyume
post Oct 9 2011, 01:28 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Oct 6 2011, 04:02 PM)
just remind you guys something.

Remember to exchange your Taiwan Dollar, locally. Don't go there and exchange. You'll cry.gif

but if you got excessive TWD left when u coming back, can sell to the money exchange at TYAP, you can get better rate
where is TYAP?
aiyume
post Oct 10 2011, 10:14 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(ruzzlacwe @ Oct 10 2011, 09:54 AM)
hi guys
I ll be going Taiwan next month
and been checking out on currency exchange
understand that the best is to change myr to USD then from USD to ntd at taoyuan airport

i ve two questions
- the USD had been strengthening against the myr past weeks
will it be better to change myr to ntd here instead?

-this is on money changer. I read the thread on currency exchange which states that there are lotsa good ones at bb plaza. I went there yesterday to check the rate. most are selling at the standard 10.8 rate
however there was one that stood out, with a pink signboard i think. it was selling at 9.25  

have any of u came across a money changer offering exceptionally good rate at bb plaza? I'm wondering if it is dodgy....cos it seems pretty good

9.25 seems to be too good to be true. if it's me i dun think i wanna change there. better find a reputable money changer.

This post has been edited by aiyume: Oct 10 2011, 10:14 AM
aiyume
post Oct 17 2011, 05:07 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(myooomy @ Oct 14 2011, 12:40 PM)
try cathay pacific...transit at HK. at least u can hv a rest a HK airport and do some shopping and makan there.....
isn't transiting more tiring than direct flight? ended up you spent longer time travelling....

5 hours flight is ok lah.....read a book 1 hour, listen to music/watch a movie 2 hours, chit chat with friends 1 hour, sleep 1 hour => arrived.
aiyume
post Oct 18 2011, 09:09 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

going during CNY alot of places not open leh.....

if you need to charter taxi for tour u can try Jack Tour Taxi. http://tw.myblog.yahoo.com/jacktourtaxi-blog/ i used his service for 2 days and he's quite nice...
aiyume
post Oct 19 2011, 09:59 AM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(ruzzlacwe @ Oct 18 2011, 11:04 PM)
hey guys
going tw next month
any idea what time do the shops in xmd n shida night market close? those selling streetwear clothes
should be around midnite...

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0437sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:22 PM