Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides

zstan
post Sep 8 2012, 10:05 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(J_Vansen_S @ Sep 7 2012, 05:31 PM)
hi guys,

Planning a day trip to both JiuFen and ShiFen, anyone did both in a day?
I am debating whether to head to ShiFen first or to JiuFen first.?

If i head out early, what time does most shops open in Shifen & JiuFen?
You can go to shi fen in the morning and head to jiu fen around 3-4pm.
zstan
post Sep 8 2012, 09:57 PM

15,856 posts

Journey to Taichung & Tomato Rooms

And so begins my crazy travelling journey of the night. Due to my extreme lack of time I decided to travel from Hua Lien, back to Taipei using the normal express train and then to Taichung via High Speed Rail. Thanks to the speed of the trains I was able to achieve this feat in about 4 hours, considering I had to travel 350KM and had to accommodate some waiting time. I was waiting for the lady selling food to pass by in the HuaLien - Taipei train but it didn't materialise and I had to starve for 3 hours. Not a very pleasant journey. rclxub.gif

Ticket price of the bullet train is NTD700 for one way @_@

The interior design of the HSR looks like the interior of an aeroplane

Maximum speed of about 270km/h was achieved!

At around 11pm I arrived at Taichung High Speed Rail. Not wanting to take the bus in the middle of the night, I opted to take a taxi. Be sure to head for the designated taxi waiting area though as there are many touts around which may be a rip off.

The taxi driver brought me to my hostel, Tomato Rooms which is in the vicinity of the famous Feng Jia night market and the total journey costed me about NTD300. This B&B is about 5-10 minutes walk away from the night market. A very big thank you to the taxi driver who ensured that the lady from the hostel picked me up (by using his own phone to call the hostel's number) because this hostel does not have any clear signboards indicating its exact whereabouts. Unfortunately, this hostel will cease its operation on 1st November 2012 and it is really a pity. Not sure why though. My theory is that since there's a university nearby and accommodation is hard to get thus the hostels are renting rooms out to students instead and can make a better profit..? Anyway I really had a good night at this hostel and at a very reasonable price too!

At about NTD1000, I got this:

Security in this hostel is also very tight as you have to scan your card at 2 doors and even in the elevator before you can reach your room. I forgotten to lock my doors when I left for the night market and everything was still intact when I came back, thankfully.

Free breakfast is even provided! I topped up a little bit of money to get a better meal before I headed to Sun Moon Lake the next day.

Its really sad that such a nice place is going to cease operations so soon sad.gif So to those going to Taichung in the next few months better make the most of your opportunity!
zstan
post Sep 9 2012, 09:05 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(csk @ Sep 9 2012, 05:27 PM)
Hi, I am going to Taiwai with 3 other friends on 24th September until 30th.

My initial itinerary is as below, (please suggest coz some days is still empty) sad.gif

Day 1: reach Tao Yuan around 3pm. Planning to rent any cheap hostel nearby since leaving to Qing Jing Nong Chang next day.

Night activity: Shih Lin market since Xi Men Ding closed on Monday.

Day 2: Already booked accommodation at Shangri-la at Qing Jing (清境) but dunno how to travel from Taipei to that place yet. :S (please recommend. I'll email the hotel and ask them tomorrow)

Basically nothing to do there, just enjoy scenery and escape city life in KL.

Day3: breakfast n go Tai Chung city after visiting the free Swiss garden tour. Not yet book accommodation here too. (please suggest. Budget rm100/person) with clean private washroom. Don't mind separated)

-Visit Feng Jie Night Market.
-TBC ( suggestion please?)

Day 4: travel Back to Taipei or mayb straight to JiuFen and stay a night there. Suggest way to travel there please? From the previous post I read, got highspeed rail from Taichung to Taipei right? Would wanna try this.

If stay at JiuFen, what is there to do?

Day 5: Visit 101 tower and eat lUnch there at Din Tai Feng.

Nothing to do from 2-5pm.

6pm- Xi men ding.

10pm- try visit one of the clubs there.
Day 6: -unplanned (please suggest?)

7pm- Jay's restaurant at TMU.
Day 7:pack up and be at airport at 12pm.
Dear members, please help to suggest some interesting places for us. My friends all dunno what to do and where to go too. Even accommodation all undecided except for Qing Jing.

We not planning to visit museums or Memorial Park.
read the first page

zstan
post Sep 10 2012, 11:59 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(J_Vansen_S @ Sep 10 2012, 11:55 AM)
Hi all,

GoSh...the online tickets to HUALIEN is so hard to get!!? Anyone experience this too?
I have planned my trip to Taroko Hualien next Saturday 12 days from now.
using the online booking http://twtraffic.tra.gov.tw/twrail/English/#

NO MORE TICKETS AVAILABLE?

My question is; is there a difference buying online and getting someone to buy over there? It says sold out online; but will i be able to buy them personally there a day before arrival? it is known that the tze chiang limited express is very popular.

Plz advise
yeap. hualien tickets sell out really fast, even more so on a weekend. yeah u probably can try buying before arrival but your preferred timing may not be available.
zstan
post Sep 15 2012, 12:27 AM

15,856 posts

Feng Jia Night Market (逢甲夜市)

*more pics at blog*

So after settling my luggages and stuff and reconfirming with the locals that the night market does not close at 12am ( I arrived at Taichung at 11pm @@), I rushed out and head over to the famous Feng Jia Night Market (about 5-10 minutes walk from my accommodation).

Generally the goods here are cheaper compared to the Shih Lin night market in Taipei but I did not buy anything though. Wanted to buy a pair of shoes but I couldn't find any that suited me :/ Since I was here quite late, the crowd had pretty much dissipated and it was more fun to walk around.

The famous shoe store

Since I was really really hungry at that time, I just went to the food court to eat whatever food that they have (or whatever stalls that were still open).

Frog Laying Eggs. This drink is nice! If I can remember correctly, it's a combination of Ai Yu Jelly, Pearls. Highly recommended! 35NTD

Papaya drink. Very interesting. 50NTD.

I have also managed to try some of the very popular food that people recommended. They said I had to wait for very long time as the queue will be damn long but I guess being there at 12am means I had much less competitors LOL. My average queue time was only 3-5 minutes.

大腸包小腸. Basically its a Taiwanese hot dog at NTD40. Apparently this is one of the must tries in Feng Jia Night Market!

Takoyaki! 40NTD for SIX! This is cheap and delicious!

zstan
post Sep 15 2012, 12:50 AM

15,856 posts

And my summary for my supper! Nomsss
zstan
post Sep 16 2012, 06:42 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(aegis6503 @ Sep 16 2012, 01:33 PM)
hi, does anyone know anyone service apartment near taipei MRT which have at least twin single bed and double bed which can fit for 3 or 4 persons?
go hostel world or agoda find la. sure got

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Sep 16 2012, 05:51 PM)
if dunno chinese or mandarin, is it still advisable to DIY our trip?
yes why not. just be sure to plan properly and ask when in doubt and not to be too adventurous.
zstan
post Sep 16 2012, 09:28 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Sep 16 2012, 07:49 PM)
bro, seen your blog.. wondering what's the total dmg in rough estimation.

I tot of going Taipei ----> kaoshiung ---> Tai chung ---> Taipei

Roughly need how many days? 1 week enough?
i spent about 3k plus lar including air ticket. well that's a very subjective question and it depends on how detail you wanna cover and whether you are travelling at a slow pace or rushing to everywhere in the shortest time possible.
zstan
post Sep 18 2012, 11:28 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Salience @ Sep 18 2012, 11:25 PM)
guys, need some guidance. planning to go taiwan from 23rd Marc 2013 (sat) till 31st March 2013 (Sun) - that' sabout 9 days.

flight tickets on air asia are approximately RM1K for round trip.

would this be a good deal or is it too expensive?
too expensive... i booked my ticket 1-2 months before and i got the same price including luggage and food..
zstan
post Sep 19 2012, 06:09 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Salience @ Sep 18 2012, 11:32 PM)
zstan, how much should i be looking at approximately?

I am not too sure whether its the heat of matta fair that has escalated the price, but as it is, it's around 1870 for 2 (rm935) per person before food and luggage.

Added on September 18, 2012, 11:33 pmafter calculations, like insurance + luggage (rm65), i get a ballpark figure of 1k for meals + luggage.

Added on September 18, 2012, 11:35 pmand also, would 9 days be too lengthy?
well maybe 700-800 since you are buying so early? if you are even more optimistic maybe can even get 500-600? is march a peak season? not really sure about that. maybe you could wait for awhile more before buying the tickets.

having said that 1k is still very much cheaper than cathay and MAS...

number of days is directly proportional to how many places you wanna visit and how tight is your schedule so it entirely depends on your preference..
zstan
post Sep 22 2012, 11:58 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(april @ Sep 20 2012, 01:52 PM)
so does early may or end of may the best time to travel taiwan? will it be too hot during may?
if u wanna go taiwan for shopping, summer.
zstan
post Sep 22 2012, 03:19 PM

15,856 posts

Taichung High Speed Railway (台中高鐵)

For my last two days in Taiwan, I headed to Sun Moon Lake. From Feng Jia district I took a free shuttle bus which brought me back to Taichung High Speed Railway and from there I boarded a bus which took me directly to Sun Moon Lake (one way about NTD200).

Place to wait for the shuttle bus. Be sure to be at the right direction! When in doubt, ask!

The design of the high speed rail is really like that of an airport. This was my first impression when I first stepped in the 'departure' and 'arrival' halls.

Adding on to that, I would also like to clarify that there now luggage storage facilities at these High Speed Rail stations (albeit quite limited). Before I left for Taiwan, forums such as Lonely Planet and Lowyat had told me that there was no place to store luggages but that information is obviously outdated now.

Charges are pretty reasonable

Also, a special mention to MOS burger! The rice burger is just nice! Wondering when will they open a branch in Malaysia. This shop could be found around Taiwan and not necessarily at this HSR.

I really hope that before I die I could see the development of a bullet train system in Malaysia. It is just so much more convenient for travellers to move in between states and reducing traffic jams on the roads, especially during festive seasons.

zstan
post Sep 29 2012, 09:19 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Martinis @ Sep 29 2012, 10:10 AM)
May I know what kind of airfare is considered cheap for to and from Taiwan? Is RM1,100 per person for a roundtrip considered cheap? If I delay 4 days, the fare become RM950 per person. Reasonable? The fares quoted include all charges.
not cheap by Air Asia standards.
zstan
post Sep 30 2012, 05:41 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Martinis @ Sep 30 2012, 05:35 PM)
What's considered cheap leh? Btw, for travel next June. Any tricks to get cheaper from Airasia if booking is for so many months in advance?

Less than rm800 is cheap. Less than rm600 is quite cheap. Less than rm400 is very cheap.
zstan
post Oct 3 2012, 09:31 AM

15,856 posts

Taichung station and Taichung high speed rail different la.
zstan
post Oct 6 2012, 12:43 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(chester_85 @ Oct 5 2012, 12:41 PM)
my friends and i (6ppl) will be going to taiwan next March for 7D6N,
any suggestion for itinerary ?  smile.gif

this will be our 1st time to taiwan
http://zhishan90.blogspot.com/2012/07/taip...12-summary.html
zstan
post Oct 6 2012, 02:43 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(chester_85 @ Oct 6 2012, 09:46 AM)
wow.. thank you thumbup.gif
its not complete yet though, especially the sun moon lake part :/ no time to post
zstan
post Oct 8 2012, 09:13 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(bysquashy @ Oct 8 2012, 02:47 PM)
Hi Guys,

I'm planning a 20 day trip to Taiwan at the end of the year and need your help on suggestions such as any place that I've missed or spend too much time at one place.

Day 1 Taipei
Day 2 Taipei
Day 3 Gaohsiung
Day 4 Gaohsiung
Day 5 Tainan
Day 6 Chiayi
Day 7 Alisan (Day trip from Chiayi)
Day 8 Taichung
Day 9 Sun Moon Lake
Day 10 Lushan
Day 11 Cingjing
Day 12 Hehuanshan
Day 13 Taroko Gorge
Day 14 Hualien
Day 15 Hualien
Day 16 Yilan
Day 17 Yilan
Day 18 Jiufen
Day 19 Taipei
Day 20 Taipei

Feel free to make a copy of the sheet and edit the schedule at my Google Drive (Trip Details)
do you have any idea how you plan to travel around? how are you intending to go from taipei (north) to gaohsiung (south) and then back the taizhong (middle) and then to the other side of taiwan (hualien) and then back to taipei again? and how much is your budget for transportation.
zstan
post Oct 9 2012, 10:29 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(bysquashy @ Oct 9 2012, 05:27 AM)
Qingjing is not that interesting? Wulai seems like a nice place, will consider.
I plan to take HSR from Taipei to Kaohsiung (it saves time because the furthest is covered by a very quick train), then work our way up by HSR or bus. When we reach Taichung, then take bus towards the East and then bus back towards Taipei. Since we are trying to see Taiwan, anyhow the money on transport needs to be spent.
One thing I'm still thinking is to reduce a few places to visit as this schedule requires us to be on the move almost every day which would be tiring.
welll i can suggest that you go from taipei to hua lien to move down to south then back to taichung and lastly back to taipei would be easier and less taxing on travelling
zstan
post Oct 11 2012, 08:24 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(bysquashy @ Oct 11 2012, 07:13 AM)
Thanks for the suggestion, we are seriously considering to do Hualien first as the popular places (sun moon lake) will not be on a weekend.
Hualien you can visit the taroko gorge and go whale seeing if you are interested. there are 2 night markets as well. can go cycling around at night.

13 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0507sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:13 AM