24 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Acer TimelineX 3820TG & 4820TG V2, Owners and visitors discussion

cowithgun
post Jul 9 2011, 07:59 AM

A cow that can play notebook & phone
2,248 posts

QUOTE(zulboydarn @ Jul 9 2011, 07:53 AM)
guys how to update graphic driver?
is it similar to normal desktop graphic update?
dis is d 1st time attempting to update my graphic driver..thanks guys!!
1. reboot notebook
2. spam F2 go to BIOS, switch graphic to Discrete and save changes
3. boot into Windows, install Catalyst 11.6 (http://www2.ati.com/drivers/mobile/11-6_mobility_vista_win7_32-64_ccc.exe)
4. after installation, reboot, go to BIOS, switch back to Switchable graphic
5. Boot into Windows and voila!
cowithgun
post Jul 9 2011, 08:02 AM

2,248 posts

yup. u can still switch graphic between intel and amd after u install Catalyst. just make sure you dont uninstall any graphic driver before installing catalyst.
cowithgun
post Jul 9 2011, 08:07 AM

2,248 posts

its precisely as what i mean. there is no need to uninstall any graphic driver (acer or amd). most users accidentally uninstall those, and lost the switch graphic ability.

just install the catalyst 11.6 (64 bit) as indicated above.
cowithgun
post Jul 9 2011, 09:17 AM

2,248 posts

the result is more acceptable. told u it's 60++

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Jul 9 2011, 09:20 AM
cowithgun
post Jul 9 2011, 09:27 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(zulboydarn @ Jul 9 2011, 09:21 AM)
i update d driver but when i open gpu-z, still old driver..how?
what it says in "Driver version" ?

@ngkhanmein: what was wrong with your RE5 previously?
cowithgun
post Jul 9 2011, 09:47 AM

2,248 posts

uh oh... ok, try to install it again in Discrete mode, but this time, choose "Custom" during catalyst installation, make sure chose the driver.
cowithgun
post Jul 9 2011, 09:55 AM

2,248 posts

not all AMD driver cames with OpenCL de.. but 8.741 means it's still catalyst 10.x... so, its old driver...

if want opencl... use this link:

http://www2.ati.com/DriVeRs/mobile/11-6_mo..._dd_ccc_ocl.exe
cowithgun
post Jul 9 2011, 04:28 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(ljf123 @ Jul 9 2011, 04:10 PM)
yup

strandard: untick use custom settings (balanced)
smoothvision HD anti aliasing :tick use application setting (filter:box)
anti aliasing mode :performance
smoothvision HD: AF : tick use application setting
catalyst ai :untick disable catalyst ai
mipmap detail : high quality
open gl setting: untick triple buffering

anything wrong?  rclxub.gif
nothing wrong with ur CCC setting. you should be able to play DA 2 with DX11. Which Catalyst version you are using? Look at my gameplay, even recording with FRAPS it is still smooth. Running at DX11. No OC.

cowithgun
post Jul 9 2011, 04:32 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(nshady @ Jul 9 2011, 03:07 PM)
Is it true that 4820/3820 timelinex has heat issue?
Dont confuse 4820/3820 with 4830/3830.

4820/3820 has no heat issue. You can check from many reviews and refer to hundreds of posts from owners here:

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1606856/

Why the newer 4830/3830 has heat issue? No one know why. Many factors, may be BIOS (which trigger throttling at premature temperature), may be Sandy Bridge (other sandy bridge also reported throttling), may be it's nVdia 540m which consume more power and produce more heat, may be poorer heatsink + fan? May be all of them.

cowithgun
post Jul 9 2011, 10:04 PM

2,248 posts

your catalyst look old, could be the reason why it look that way... why not update to latest Catalyst?

@ngkhanmein: bersih is awesome! mission accomplished! police sux... suppose to protect the people, not by hurting people in a peaceful demostration
cowithgun
post Jul 10 2011, 12:11 AM

2,248 posts

use this link:

http://www2.ati.com/DriVeRs/mobile/11-6_mo..._dd_ccc_ocl.exe

cowithgun
post Jul 10 2011, 01:06 AM

2,248 posts

No, dont uninstall anything. Just install it over it. Follow these steps:

1. reboot notebook
2. spam F2 go to BIOS, switch graphic to Discrete and save changes
3. boot into Windows, install Catalyst 11.6, chose Custom
4. after installation, reboot, go to BIOS, switch back to Switchable graphic
5. Boot into Windows and voila!
cowithgun
post Jul 10 2011, 09:50 AM

2,248 posts

it should not take that long! anyway, Acer just released a new driver with updated Intel graphic. It should fix problem that some people facing with MSN etc. However, it is still using the old Cat 10.x. i m going to install this driver, and Cat 11.7b over it. Will share with u the steps and whether this is any good.

http://global-download.acer.com/Step5.aspx...Category=DRIVER
cowithgun
post Jul 10 2011, 10:20 AM

2,248 posts

actually, KJ's participation (whether it is to oppose or not) help to bring awareness to this issue. he deserves my praise for being able to walk the talk. that perkasa's ibrahim has no where to be found.

installing new Acer driver... reboot, brb

u should see this, is damn funny

cowithgun
post Jul 10 2011, 09:55 PM

2,248 posts

guys,

it's sunday, so, was outside whole day. just got back. glad that your guys solved the graphic driver problem. anyway, i have installed the new Acer driver that comes with an updated Intel driver.

the previous Acer driver packed with an out-dated Intel driver (8.15.10.2141) have problem with IE9 hardware acceleration. So, in Intel mode, IE9 can not use the hardware acceleration. Moreover, some reported that MSN will crash.

This new Acer driver packed with the following driver:

Intel part - 8.15.10.2189
ATI part - Catalyst 10.9

You can download it from here:

http://global-download.acer.com/Step5.aspx...Category=DRIVER

Look for VGA driver 8.771.1. Step to install this (in Switchable mode):

0. Extract the Acer driver
1. Uninstall all ATI drivers, use ATI Catalyst Manager, choose to uninstall ALL
2. Start Device Manager (Right click on My Computer, Manage), expand Display adapters, if you see AMD driver, delete it. Then, right click on Intel HD graphic, Update driver software, Browse my computer for driver, "Let me pick which driver", "Have disk", chose the path which contain your Acer driver, ie:
- C:\Users\me\Downloads\VGA_AMD_8.771.1_W7x86x64\Packages\Drivers\Display\W76A_INF
- Chose the .inf file
3. After that, you should see both Intel and AMD driver in Device manager.
4. Now go to extracted Acer driver, run Setup.exe will install both drivers correctly.

Now, let's install Catalyst 11.6

5. No need to switch to discrete mode in BIOS, just run the Catalyst 11.6 mobility driver.

Now, my notebook have both updated Intel and AMD graphic thumbup.gif

It's troublesome, but I cant get it work by just installing setup.exe directly...

cowithgun
post Jul 11 2011, 10:17 AM

2,248 posts

^ sign0006.gif
cowithgun
post Jul 11 2011, 10:26 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jul 11 2011, 10:19 AM)
bro.. y ssf4 can't show fps? config.ini i put ON liau.. wilson can use extreme? did u tried?
i oso duno why FPS is not shown in game.

5650 stock clock also can play at extreme settings. i tried it, it is still more than 60 FPS, so you should not see any slow down. but he got 98 FPS! that is way higher... replied in his thread liao
cowithgun
post Jul 11 2011, 10:34 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jul 11 2011, 10:30 AM)
config.ini did u on it? we can only choose HIGH on option leh.. kenot extreme lah..
same like his... only the shadow can set to extreme, all others High. my config

cowithgun
post Jul 11 2011, 02:21 PM

2,248 posts

@tellmewhy: i just got back from lunch. i m all-out ready to help you install Catalyst 11.6! First, tell me which driver you are using?

Added on July 11, 2011, 2:30 pm@kizwan: u should try Super Street Fighter 4 for PC. biggrin.gif we are doing some benchmark against 540m....

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1867887/+460

look like 540m is doing pretty good in this game.

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Jul 11 2011, 02:30 PM
cowithgun
post Jul 11 2011, 03:17 PM

2,248 posts

Prevent how? Do the following to get the Catalyst version:

1. Right click on Desktop
2. Select Graphic Properties
3. Click information, software.

Parse those info here. Will help us to know which version of Catalyst that is already installed.

I can guide you step by step.

24 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0420sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:13 PM