[WTA] Ipad2 for college student, Help

Chyan
post May 23 2011, 03:17 PM

4,224 posts

I think you made your mind into buying the ipad 2.
Lock the thread and go get it. biggrin.gif

If, there's in anyway something unexpected occur & you need to transfer a file or need to have the file transferred to your ipad from usb or whatever. I'm pretty sure you need a friend's laptop with itunes installed. If not, hell breaks loose. Oh by the way, it's going to be hard to have your files (pdf or whatever) downloaded to the ipad if you need it. You can only view from the browser. <- (All during your time in campus)

P/S: Personal experience. lol

This post has been edited by Chyan: May 23 2011, 03:18 PM
samlee860407
post May 23 2011, 03:30 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(Chyan @ May 23 2011, 03:17 PM)

If, there's in anyway something unexpected occur & you need to transfer a file or need to have the file transferred to your ipad from usb or whatever. I'm pretty sure you need a friend's laptop with itunes installed. If not, hell breaks loose. Oh by the way, it's going to be hard to have your files (pdf or whatever) downloaded to the ipad if you need it. You can only view from the browser.  <- (All during your time in campus)
Hell won't break lose if:

1) Got internet connection for both the ipad and laptop. Hence 3G version ipad2 is a must, and hope the jailbreak for ipad2 come fast, so can install myWi and tethered.
2) the file is not big (usually if students the file is quite small....not always though)

and for downloading files to ipad

i think quickoffice can download word/excel documents to the ipad from email or google doc

and something like pfd reader pro can download pdf file into it too

so yes, if you are not really aware of what you ipad can use, you will find many many limitations

if you were to study harder on the apps available, then you might found that actually it can do more

HOWEVER, THERE ARE STILL LOADS OF LIMITATIONS OF IPAD.

just need to be sure what you are actually gona use it for
TSherojack41
post May 23 2011, 04:43 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(Chyan @ May 23 2011, 03:17 PM)

If, there's in anyway something unexpected occur & you need to transfer a file or need to have the file transferred to your ipad from usb or whatever. I'm pretty sure you need a friend's laptop with itunes installed. If not, hell breaks loose. Oh by the way, it's going to be hard to have your files (pdf or whatever) downloaded to the ipad if you need it. You can only view from the browser.  <- (All during your time in campus)
erm....my whole semester lecture notes and everything its on my desktop now sweat.gif ....i can just transfer to ipad2 rite?

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ May 23 2011, 03:30 PM)
Hell won't break lose if:

1) Got internet connection for both the ipad and laptop. Hence 3G version ipad2 is a must, and hope the jailbreak for ipad2 come fast, so can install myWi and tethered.
2) the file is not big (usually if students the file is quite small....not always though)

and for downloading files to ipad

i think quickoffice can download word/excel documents to the ipad from email or google doc

and something like pfd reader pro can download pdf file into it too

so yes, if you are not really aware of what you ipad can use, you will find many many limitations

if you were to study harder on the apps available, then you might found that actually it can do more

HOWEVER, THERE ARE STILL LOADS OF LIMITATIONS OF IPAD.

just need to be sure what you are actually gona use it for
thumbup.gif college everywhere are equip with wifi
KHOdin
post May 23 2011, 05:24 PM

7 Stars Newbie
2,928 posts

yea u can transfer the file to your iPad if it is on your PC now ... i am using iPad to view all my notes too cheers.gif
Chyan
post May 23 2011, 05:47 PM

4,224 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ May 23 2011, 04:43 PM)
erm....my whole semester lecture notes and everything its on my desktop now sweat.gif ....i can just transfer to ipad2 rite?
thumbup.gif college everywhere are equip with wifi
Yeah. That I was saying. It's okay if you have those inside your pc.
seanlam
post May 24 2011, 07:59 PM

489 posts

good luck..... think2 betul b4 regret for purchase it.... ^^

*am waining for mine ipad2....expected to be here by 13 June 2011*
TSherojack41
post May 24 2011, 10:59 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

well guys.....is it still too early to decide to buy the ipad2 as a programming student?the course just started no long ago and at the moment ipad2 are the best candidate for me......but in long run of graduating,will ipad2 able to cope with it? Tis is my second question
Chyan
post May 25 2011, 12:17 AM

4,224 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ May 24 2011, 10:59 PM)
well guys.....is it still too early to decide to buy the ipad2 as a programming student?the course just started no long ago and at the moment ipad2 are the best candidate for me......but in long run of graduating,will ipad2 able to cope with it? Tis is my second question
You don't do programming on an iPad, seriously. It's simply out of the question. I am one myself.
You have to use a laptop. Even a Mac can be used as long as you got dual-boot via bootcamp or whatever.

With all the programming languages & their softwares, do you think it can be done using the iPad? No of course not. sweat.gif
As I've said a few posts back, I only use mine for leisure and productivity.

This post has been edited by Chyan: May 25 2011, 12:20 AM
andrekua
post May 25 2011, 12:20 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Chyan @ May 25 2011, 12:17 AM)
You don't do programming on an iPad, seriously. It's simply out of the question. I am one myself.
You have to use a laptop. Even a Mac can be used as long as you got dual-boot via bootcamp or whatever. 

With all the programming languages & their softwares, do you think it can be done using the iPad? No of course not. sweat.gif
As if said, I only use mine for leisure and productivity.
Just write only... Go back home only transfer to pc to compile lor. rclxms.gif
Chyan
post May 25 2011, 12:27 AM

4,224 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ May 25 2011, 12:20 AM)
Just write only... Go back home only transfer to pc to compile lor. rclxms.gif
Later do more leisure than productivity. GG. laugh.gif
seanlam
post May 25 2011, 07:00 AM

489 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ May 24 2011, 10:59 PM)
oh dear, only time will tell....either it worth or not. wonder too much ain't a good idea.... just buy then worry later la.... lol~
TSherojack41
post May 25 2011, 07:22 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(seanlam @ May 25 2011, 07:00 AM)
oh dear, only time will tell....either it worth or not. wonder too much ain't a good idea.... just buy then worry later la.... lol~
laptop +ipad2 win laugh.gif
samlee860407
post May 25 2011, 08:44 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(Chyan @ May 25 2011, 12:17 AM)

As I've said a few posts back, I only use mine for leisure and productivity.
agree. NO seriously, not for that lol

if just for the sake of writing those forumlas down in word file, then maybe yes to some extend lol

laptop + ipad > PC + ipad > PC + Laptop > Laptop only > PC only > ipad only
matthewctj
post May 25 2011, 09:09 AM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ May 25 2011, 07:22 AM)
laptop +ipad2 win laugh.gif
Win ... but seriously, you want to bring both to your lectures? A Samsung Galaxy Tab would be able to read USB's which is very commonly used in colleges. But hey, no bling factor compared to iPad.

As someone said lah, despite a few people describing the disadvantages, you have already set your mind on it. It's a no brainer than it's all about the WOW factor. Read lecture notes? tongue.gif .... smoke screen.

Spending RM1.5k and above just replace your notes and do light editing? Who are you kidding ... rclxms.gif

Just get it lah. No need to ask. It's a fun device more than a serious device. As long as you can enjoy using it. I know I am thumbup.gif

TSherojack41
post May 25 2011, 10:29 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

well....guys in practical the answer would be in laptop/notebook.

i have been getting alot of answer from different people and courses,it seems ipad2 limitation does really affect your studies if among your friend are using laptop and you are using ipad2.

in real practical assignment ipad2 does not really benefit if you are work on group....well i guess i should get a laptop first and ipad2 later icon_rolleyes.gif
the18th
post May 25 2011, 10:54 AM

42 posts

wise decision.get laptop with decent laptop than buy galaxy tab.usb is the key
TSherojack41
post May 25 2011, 04:06 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(the18th @ May 25 2011, 10:54 AM)
wise decision.get laptop with decent laptop than buy galaxy tab.usb is the key
icon_rolleyes.gif looking forward asus eee pad transformer

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top