4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

How often need to change car tyre? (normally)

sinister_sid
post May 17 2011, 02:15 PM

QUOTE(twincharger07 @ May 17 2011, 02:12 PM)
got point... breaking is also vital and can turn into disaster if the tyre has lost its grip...
money is a issue too
for 4 brand new 13 inch cost 1/3 of my pay sad.gif
ahsam1212
post May 17 2011, 02:49 PM

178 posts

change 2 first, then change another 2 next month. Or collect for 2 months, then buy 1 shot, will be slightly cheaper if buy 4 pieces at once.
bukanmain
post May 17 2011, 02:58 PM

I'm only 20,still learning..
1,711 posts

Mine just due 4years crack on sidewall and botak..but still ok on wet condition so I say until crack and losing grip
twincharger07
post May 17 2011, 03:34 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(bukanmain @ May 17 2011, 02:58 PM)
Mine just due 4years crack on sidewall and botak..but still ok on wet condition so I say until crack and losing grip
Change it before it happen, not until it happen only change... by the time it MIGHT be too late (touchwood)..

Added on May 17, 2011, 3:36 pm
QUOTE(sinister_sid @ May 17 2011, 02:15 PM)
money is a issue too
for 4 brand new 13 inch cost 1/3 of my pay  sad.gif
it could be between 1/3 of your pay and your life... like ahsam say, if really $$ tight, change 2 1st... but change all 4 if you can...

This post has been edited by twincharger07: May 17 2011, 03:36 PM
kelvinlym
post May 17 2011, 05:51 PM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

Don't underestimate the importance of tyres. Remember, it is the only thing that is contacting the road. It is the only thing that moves the car and allow it to stop. Even with the best brakes, spoilers, engine but without good tyres, you're as good as driving a barge on the road.

Fun fact: The average contact surface of a tyre on the road is around the surface area of your palm.
TSwestlife
post May 17 2011, 06:07 PM

14,230 posts

QUOTE(Aquariusdenz @ May 17 2011, 01:04 PM)
since there is this thread related to tyres.. i might want to 'tumpang' thread.. is it normal that the front right (driver side) tyres worn out faster than the left due to M'sian road of driving on the left lane? i heard mechanic said like this..
of course, not only becos of the road, becos engine is in front, so the front part of car heavier so the tyre in front wear off earlier.

so do the tyre switch every 10k.

Added on May 17, 2011, 6:09 pm
QUOTE(fastreader @ May 17 2011, 01:08 PM)
and do remember to do alignment even without tyre change..that mite helps in prolonging it...

but usually is 4 years lah...for my case...depends on the thread also.
normally when u swap tyre they will do the alignment and balancing.

at least i service at honda SC. it is like that. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by westlife: May 17 2011, 06:09 PM
yamato
post May 17 2011, 06:34 PM

stop calling me yameteh =.=|||
760 posts

i like soft compound tires coz quiet and grippy.

but wear is high, only last approx 40k - 50k.
nicholasteh
post May 17 2011, 09:04 PM

29 posts

rule of thum is 2 yrs or 40,000km whichever is earlier
conan1
post May 17 2011, 09:56 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ May 17 2011, 02:15 PM)
money is a issue too
for 4 brand new 13 inch cost 1/3 of my pay  sad.gif
how much per 13 inch tire?? im not yet change it becoz im just received my secondhand car...if too expensive i might get the secondhand ones since im only a student.. sad.gif
Aquariusdenz
post May 18 2011, 01:48 AM

1,533 posts

QUOTE(conan1 @ May 17 2011, 09:56 PM)
how much per 13 inch tire?? im not yet change it becoz im just received my secondhand car...if too expensive i might get the secondhand ones since im only a student.. sad.gif
im also a student but am driving just a kancil lar.. one tyre only need to prepare around rm100.. but i dont like 2nd hand tyres.. still prefer 1st hand tyres to ensure my safety.. as i travel around 30km daily..

SUSceo684
post May 18 2011, 02:54 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

RM130-150 can get.. sometimes if ur lucky got cheaper grey imports in klang.. price ~110 oni brows.gif
SUSkyheng
post May 18 2011, 03:13 AM

888 posts

Tyre is good not to buy used.... Unless your life only worth rm0.0000001..... Can drink at Starbucks, got money waste on broadbands or cigarette but cannot afford a good tyre?
Aquariusdenz
post May 18 2011, 01:20 PM

1,533 posts

QUOTE(kyheng @ May 18 2011, 03:13 AM)
Tyre is good not to buy used.... Unless your life only worth rm0.0000001..... Can drink at Starbucks, got money waste on broadbands or cigarette but cannot afford a good tyre?
haha.. i also can talk like you since i can live without Starbucks & cigarette but not without internet.. but there are many ppl are addicted to Starbucks & cigarattes too.. all in all should manage money wisely.. Rm100+ shouldn't be a problem (for smaller cars) if you manage your savings..
thefryingfox
post May 18 2011, 02:04 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

i have my daily commute which is bsaed on duraplus...i think i've used them for about 40K and they still look new

travel about 120KM back n fourth from work
SUSMatrix
post May 18 2011, 02:26 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Hmm....my Savvy's tyres is 4 years old oready....but only 36k+ km...i suppose must change soon.
sinister_sid
post May 18 2011, 02:48 PM

QUOTE(kyheng @ May 18 2011, 03:13 AM)
i drink and eat at home only
even wifi tumpang mamak for a teh tarik sad.gif
most gaji went to rent , bil , sister education , petrol
habis liaw doh.gif

Added on May 18, 2011, 2:49 pm
110 piece at kg subang airport
got indon tyre for 90 buck brows.gif
all new
but 1.5 years ago
think price naik liaw

This post has been edited by sinister_sid: May 18 2011, 02:49 PM
crocky
post May 23 2011, 10:32 PM

31 posts

Say if i would to change new tyre, what year should i look up? Year 2009 Made is ok?
SUSkyheng
post May 23 2011, 10:41 PM

888 posts

If this is 2009, yes go ahead...
But now is 2011, why you want to help people to clear junk and endanger yourself? Unless they are selling for rm10 for a pair......
yamato
post May 23 2011, 10:51 PM

stop calling me yameteh =.=|||
760 posts

QUOTE(crocky @ May 23 2011, 10:32 PM)
Say if i would to change new tyre, what year should i look up? Year 2009 Made is ok?
tyre shelf life is approx 2yrs.

how to know what year its made?
link

theanswer
post May 24 2011, 09:58 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ May 17 2011, 12:39 PM)
Tyre rotation is not recommended for some cars and some tyre types.

For instance some cars use different tyre widths front and back, while some tyres have rotation direction specified.
of course la..see ur car la..bmw..must be using one direction tyre. but mostly in msia we using normal road tyre. so tyre rotation is recommendable. biggrin.gif

Added on May 24, 2011, 9:59 am
QUOTE(Matrix @ May 18 2011, 02:26 PM)
Hmm....my Savvy's tyres is 4 years old oready....but only 36k+ km...i suppose must change soon.
depends..sometimes u can feel the ride a bit harsh..noisy..the rubber become hard..it's time to change.

Added on May 24, 2011, 10:09 am
QUOTE(westlife @ May 17 2011, 06:07 PM)
of course, not only becos of the road, becos engine is in front, so the front part of car heavier so the tyre in front wear off earlier.

so do the tyre switch every 10k.

Added on May 17, 2011, 6:09 pm

normally when u swap tyre they will do the alignment and balancing.

at least i service at honda SC. it is like that.  sweat.gif
really? not really. because majority cars in msia is fwd..so the front tyre will be using more grip to move and handles more grip to stop. smile.gif

This post has been edited by theanswer: May 24 2011, 10:09 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0222sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:35 AM