4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

How often need to change car tyre? (normally)

TSwestlife
post May 17 2011, 11:22 AM, updated 10y ago

14,231 posts

How often need to change tyre?
look416
post May 17 2011, 11:24 AM

167 posts

it depends on your usage, usually 2 years you have to check your tyre, see whether got cracks or not
jyhy
post May 17 2011, 11:32 AM

how i know
525 posts

so far 80 000 km
Taipan052
post May 17 2011, 11:44 AM

76 posts

if u fast & furious = tyre thread easily worn out

if u slow & steady = can use longer

and depends on your tyre lor..
feelfree
post May 17 2011, 11:46 AM

174 posts

Recommended to change tires for every 4 years or 50-60K KM and also depend on the treads as well.
Daniel John
post May 17 2011, 11:47 AM

38 posts

to prolong the tyre usage...please rotate ur tyre...
kelvinlym
post May 17 2011, 12:39 PM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

QUOTE(Daniel John @ May 17 2011, 04:47 AM)
to prolong the tyre usage...please rotate ur tyre...
Tyre rotation is not recommended for some cars and some tyre types.

For instance some cars use different tyre widths front and back, while some tyres have rotation direction specified.
twincharger07
post May 17 2011, 12:41 PM

4,788 posts

no hard rules... depends on:

1) the bunga on your tyre (use the 20 cent rules)
2) when you feel your car losing grip during rainy days
3) Get harden very fast if you often park your car under the sun

Usual 3 years as rule of thumb.. if your tyre had harden but still got bunga, better get it change as it can get burst or losing grip on wet surface..

If wanna preserve you tyre well:
1) regular rotating
2) park under roof
3) ensure adequate tyre pressure
4) wash your tyres
5) avoid driving like Schumacher style on the road

my 2 rupiah..
GEFORCEXTREME
post May 17 2011, 12:42 PM

60 posts

4 yrs from date of manufacturing or tyre botak, whichever first.
TOROBO
post May 17 2011, 12:51 PM

380 posts

usually they check the tyre tread depth
if it's already thin then it is time to change
here's a link that might help you
http://www.2pass.co.uk/tyres.htm
Daniel John
post May 17 2011, 12:52 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ May 17 2011, 12:39 PM)
Tyre rotation is not recommended for some cars and some tyre types.

For instance some cars use different tyre widths front and back, while some tyres have rotation direction specified.
+1

but he didnt specify correctly what car is he driving...n from the avatar...its insight...which uses same tyre for each wheel...

eyh...what is this eh? --> while some tyres have rotation direction specified
care to elaborate further...newbie maa... notworthy.gif

kelvinlym
post May 17 2011, 12:57 PM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

QUOTE(Daniel John @ May 17 2011, 05:52 AM)
+1

but he didnt specify correctly what car is he driving...n from the avatar...its insight...which uses same tyre for each wheel...

eyh...what is this eh? --> while some tyres have rotation direction specified
care to elaborate further...newbie maa... notworthy.gif
Some tyres have an indication on the tyre wall usually an arrow showing rolling direction accompanied by "rolling direction". This is due to the tread pattern and usually found on tyres with non-symmetrical treads.
Aquariusdenz
post May 17 2011, 01:04 PM

1,533 posts

since there is this thread related to tyres.. i might want to 'tumpang' thread.. is it normal that the front right (driver side) tyres worn out faster than the left due to M'sian road of driving on the left lane? i heard mechanic said like this..
Daniel John
post May 17 2011, 01:06 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ May 17 2011, 12:57 PM)
Some tyres have an indication on the tyre wall usually an arrow showing rolling direction accompanied by "rolling direction".  This is due to the tread pattern and usually found on tyres with non-symmetrical treads.
owh thanks! gotta find 1 tayar like that to understand more...hehehe
fastreader
post May 17 2011, 01:08 PM

4,554 posts

and do remember to do alignment even without tyre change..that mite helps in prolonging it...

but usually is 4 years lah...for my case...depends on the thread also.
Daniel John
post May 17 2011, 01:10 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ May 17 2011, 01:08 PM)
and do remember to do alignment even without tyre change..that mite helps in prolonging it...

but usually is 4 years lah...for my case...depends on the thread also.
+1

4 years is from the manufacturing date rite?
sinister_sid
post May 17 2011, 01:42 PM

my new brought old saga
the tyre from year 1999
still have 75 percent thread blink.gif
but starting to crack on the sidewall
phas3r
post May 17 2011, 02:03 PM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ May 17 2011, 01:42 PM)
my new brought old saga
the tyre from year 1999
still have 75 percent thread blink.gif
but starting to crack on the sidewall
better change, max age is 5 yr or so

my last change is after 1.5 yrs and 34k km
not quite botak but one of the tyre is nearing the indicator

SUSdantck
post May 17 2011, 02:09 PM

1,004 posts

tyre is a big issue, if u dont change u will harm other n urself ,

it will affect ur braking esp emergenecy.
twincharger07
post May 17 2011, 02:12 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(dantck @ May 17 2011, 02:09 PM)
tyre is a big issue, if u dont change u will harm other n urself ,

it will affect ur braking esp emergenecy.
got point... breaking is also vital and can turn into disaster if the tyre has lost its grip...

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0173sec    1.12    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:26 AM