Induction cooker vs gas cooker, Which one you choose?
SUSgogo2
May 16 2011, 04:51 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ May 16 2011, 04:46 PM) Same cocept-lah.. Also part of electro magnetic energy.. The induction of the rice cooker causing the surface of the rice pot touching the heated steel plate dur to the electro magnetic field below the steel plate. The water bopiler also using same concept waffak. Heat induction and electromagnetic induction also consider same. Ok la. Same same la. hehe QUOTE(Beouwulf @ May 16 2011, 04:47 PM) How to use wok to cook with induction cooker?  no need use wok. just use flat pan. Can cook fried rice also.
stimix
May 16 2011, 04:51 PM
Dunno
Anything made of steel or stainless steel lor..so that can attract magnetic energy from the coil If the wok dun hv any description, esp those non-stick wok, I use a magnet to check..If bottom can stick wth magnet - OK liao QUOTE(Andy0625 @ May 16 2011, 04:49 PM) I bought a hiwell local brand induction cooker and it's been fine working for at least a year plus, nothing happen - yet. the best part of it? only around Rm79 if not mistaken. by the way, anyone know what kind of material pot that i should buy to replace the original pot that comes with it? I would like to fry some stuff.
SUSgogo2
May 16 2011, 04:53 PM
QUOTE(kamfoo @ May 16 2011, 04:50 PM) flat bottom can cook nice nice wallet egg or not?  use the ramly burger style egg
KarchKiraly
May 16 2011, 04:55 PM

QUOTE(Beouwulf @ May 16 2011, 04:47 PM) How to use wok to cook with induction cooker?  I use flat bottom wok to cook fried rice... The one below is steel and it is cheap:  After awhile, I don't like it because it is thin and hard to clean. So I bought this type with thicker metal bottom:  I bought it at Jusco I think.
SUSleya
May 16 2011, 04:55 PM
haiyaaa, skali blackout, mane mau nyala api maaaaa, gas cooker ftw
SUSgogo2
May 16 2011, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(leya @ May 16 2011, 04:55 PM) haiyaaa, skali blackout, mane mau nyala api maaaaa, gas cooker ftw go out eat. haha...
stimix
May 16 2011, 04:57 PM
Dunno
Rice cooker is not using heat induction lor..Heat induction are thiose Vee type using infra red beam. or fusion Infra-red-induction types. Rice cooker is using the same Electro magnetic energy to heat up the steel plate lah.. QUOTE(gogo2 @ May 16 2011, 04:51 PM) waffak. Heat induction and electromagnetic induction also consider same. Ok la. Same same la. hehe no need use wok. just use flat pan. Can cook fried rice also.
SUSgogo2
blackout takde lampu camane nak masak ye?
SUSbc_low
both have their con and pro, i would say new modern kitchen should have at least 2 induction and 3 gas
SUSgogo2
May 16 2011, 04:58 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ May 16 2011, 04:57 PM) Rice cooker is not using heat induction lor..Heat induction are thiose Vee type using infra red beam. or fusion Infra-red-induction types. Rice cooker is using the same Electro magnetic energy to heat up the steel plate lah..  oh sorry. I tot rice cooker use heat. OMG... so we're induction already for so long? just that we dunno...
KarchKiraly
May 16 2011, 04:59 PM

QUOTE(leya @ May 16 2011, 04:55 PM) haiyaaa, skali blackout, mane mau nyala api maaaaa, gas cooker ftw Haiyaaa... gas tank supply can also run out and it takes time to deliver to your house. My sister in law bought and use induction cooker because of the hassle with buying gas. Probability of running out of gas when cooking is much higher than black out lah. Induction cooker FTW.
stimix
May 16 2011, 04:59 PM
Dunno
Haha..That's one of the disadvantages.. I kena few time black-out...The only way..Go ouitside & tapau QUOTE(gogo2 @ May 16 2011, 04:57 PM) blackout takde lampu camane nak masak ye?
SUSgogo2
May 16 2011, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ May 16 2011, 04:59 PM) Haha..That's one of the disadvantages.. I kena few time black-out...The only way..Go ouitside & tapau  haha, not an issue. it'll be troublesome to cook without electricity even with gas.... many thing cannot do...
stimix
May 16 2011, 05:01 PM
Dunno
Haha.. I recently bought this Non-stick cheapo flat bottom wok from IKEA..dirt cheap..I think ~ RM15 nia QUOTE(KarchKiraly @ May 16 2011, 04:55 PM) I use flat bottom wok to cook fried rice... The one below is steel and it is cheap:  I bought it at Jusco I think.
Sophiera
May 16 2011, 05:02 PM
No point having gas if there are no lights to see what you're doing. Kitchens are rather dangerous if you think about it
SUSgogo2
May 16 2011, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(LaFemmeNikkita @ May 16 2011, 05:05 PM)  wanna cook for how many people? I think 2+1 is more than enough already. for me, just buy 2 induction. just forget about the gas. Hahaha... no more dirty tong gas in ur house.
deejay_krish
May 16 2011, 07:08 PM
QUOTE(KarchKiraly @ May 16 2011, 05:06 PM) If you wanna go low tech, save cost and preserve environment... you can try solar cooking. Main drawbacks are: 1. Food take longer to cook and 2. You can't cook well on rainy days.  LMAO
KarchKiraly
May 16 2011, 09:14 PM

QUOTE(LaFemmeNikkita @ May 16 2011, 08:57 PM) yup. we use to have houses fit solar panels for water heater. nowaday? is the starting cost for solar too expensive? even Prius Malaysia don't come with solar panels. Those are solar thermal, not photovoltaic solar panel. Solar thermal is not expensive considering the investment can be recovered in a few years. You can make your own solar thermal cooker if you like. Typical photovoltaic solar panel that generate electrity has an efficiency of just about 20% and the sun radiation in Malaysia only gives about 700 Watt/m2. So on a car with only let say 4 meter length and 1.8 meter width, you can get only 700 Watt/m2 x 20% x (4x1.8) m2 = 1008 Watt of power of just about 1.3 horsepower. It is not enough to move the car, but if you charge a battery pack when the car is parked, it is sufficient to keep you car cool and to run other accessories.