University Multimedia University Thread V3, For any problems and discussions

wcypierre
post Aug 22 2011, 08:42 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

Well, apparently I am a student at inti and I may want to MMU if I didn't choose Inti UOW as my choice.
My desired course is Computer Science.
Can anyone give me a reason why I should go to MMU instead of Inti UOW?
wcypierre
post Aug 22 2011, 09:19 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

erm, if I will go to MMU, I will be going to MMU cyberjaya instead of MMU melaka.
wcypierre
post Aug 22 2011, 09:35 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(Andyzz @ Aug 22 2011, 09:23 PM)
1st of all, the difference in the fees. inti UOW is much more expensive than MMU.
lets assume that you dont have any financial problem

2) MMU is famous for its IT and accounting program.
just view inti UOW and MMU website awards and achievement collumn.
I have scholarship at inti(a little bit only) but still the fees at MMU is cheaper tongue.gif
Inti uow is a new course so can't expect it to have awards right?
I am well aware about MMU's influence on the local society that's why I am wondering whether I should go to MMU or not.

btw, why is MMU's site down blink.gif

Added on August 22, 2011, 9:46 pm
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 22 2011, 09:32 PM)
my advice, compare the syllabus and decide which suits you more
The course are quite similar from what I had observed(but can't really know until you really study it as the outline given are just the topics of it, they may focus on diff topics). But I do heard that MMU have more real life working experience, Inti UOW promised me that as well, but I do not know as the course is still new. sad.gif

This post has been edited by wcypierre: Aug 22 2011, 09:46 PM
wcypierre
post Aug 22 2011, 10:08 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(kailoonthedog @ Aug 22 2011, 09:55 PM)
Why??
QUOTE(Andyzz @ Aug 22 2011, 09:58 PM)
i didnt know it is new  doh.gif

MMU's site is down maybe due to overloading..
The uni(as this is a linking so I will get the cert from uow instead of inti when I graduated) itself is old, the link is http://uow.edu.au.

Inti UOW promised you that, but it is still new..i think it would be very risky putting your future on it..most likely your batch will be the rat mouse to determine the future of it..haha

Agreed, that's what I am worried about doh.gif

MMU do have a lot of soft skills courses hence making you better than other grads from other unis.
Well, even if MMU doesn't provide it, I will still go for it myself nontheless as I am training myself for it.

besides that, MMU also has a lot of afflications with big companies smile.gif a good way of profiling
This is also a point why I considered MMU.

but if u intended to work overseas, excluded singapore....then i think WOU is much better as it is an international recognized..

but if you plan to work in Msia, then it would make not much difference.

they pay in msia for local grads and overseas recognized uni are quite the same(for fresh grad)
I think I will work at malaysia. I am afraid that if I go to uow and graduated, when I go for interview, my boss will say: "What university is this and I'll be doh.gif ".
wcypierre
post Aug 22 2011, 10:26 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(Andyzz @ Aug 22 2011, 10:16 PM)
i know uow is old, but i dont know the course is new  doh.gif
The course at UOW is old, but UOW just had a partnership with Inti this year so the campus that I am going to enroll at, is new(I mean the course). Infact, it just started this year doh.gif I do not know whether UOW will send their lecturers here(good) or they will hire local lecturers(better don't go there doh.gif ) to teach.

its good to hear that you will train yourself for it, but with guidance, it would be better and mistakes will be point out in...trail and error is the best way to learn rclxms.gif
yes, but I need hardware support more instead because as I am self studying, I do not have the hardware for it(cisco based certs) so it is quite hard for me to learn.

dont worry that your boss doesnt recognize UOW...its a quite well know uni. i think most of the time, you will be interviewed by the HR dept and they definitely know about it..besides that, they are required to filter applicants from thousand of them..

what i think is the standard in MMU is much more better and you yourself said that even with a scholarship, the fees is still expensive..

lets say a fresh grad can earn 3k per month...

the duration to pay all the debts or to "break even" would requires longer period if you are going for UOW
Don't worry, I understand break even(have economics in foundation).
wcypierre
post Aug 22 2011, 10:39 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(Andyzz @ Aug 22 2011, 10:36 PM)
studying CISCO..hmmm.... not bad but you are persuing Comp Science  rclxub.gif  related?
Hope you can make the wise decision for your future  nod.gif

All the best
yes, I do understand that its on diff areas. Networking is just a backup incase that I did not want to go further into compsci.
wcypierre
post Aug 22 2011, 10:55 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

have gf = more motivation?? LOL =.=
wcypierre
post Aug 22 2011, 11:30 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(Andyzz @ Aug 22 2011, 11:05 PM)
i see..not bad smile.gif but making up your mind early is much more better smile.gif
in MMU, the course syllabus are very general, you will have the opportunity to learn Programming, Database, Networking, Project Planning, and some fundamentals so i dont think going into any field would be a problem.
LOLS...its really up to you smile.gif
wish u luck then drool.gif
You know the condition where people studied computer science but they went into other fields in computing or totally different field? There are a lot of people who faced this condition and I will use the cisco cert as a backup so I will be easier if I really wanted to change fields in the future.

wcypierre
post Aug 23 2011, 12:26 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

what its topic about?
wcypierre
post Aug 23 2011, 01:49 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(kailoonthedog @ Aug 23 2011, 12:20 PM)
Price for taking it if i'm a MMU student , how many extra classess i should follow if i take it , and also how can i benefit from it
well, I don't know about the first two, but the benefit would only be in networking tongue.gif
wcypierre
post Aug 29 2011, 10:30 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

MMU, for melaka campus or cyberjaya campus better ah for IT ??

@kelvinlky,
You need to have a cert like ACCA to be called a professional accountant. usually, evenif you finished your degree, you only had finished a few modules of the course, after you graduated, you still need to finish the rest of the modules to get your ACCA.
wcypierre
post Sep 14 2011, 12:00 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(kailoonthedog @ Sep 13 2011, 09:13 PM)
MMU IT student pro??
see u lucky or not lo, can meet those pros or not(I mean in the same batch or same class or not) tongue.gif
wcypierre
post Sep 15 2011, 11:10 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

You don't want to pay, better don't go college la. Unless you can get ptptn then get good cgpa then no need pay.
wcypierre
post Sep 16 2011, 10:44 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(kailoonthedog @ Sep 16 2011, 07:21 PM)
Why many ppl say MMU expensive??Sunway , Taylor , Nottingham those more expensive lo
You can't really say that Sunway, Taylor, Nottingham is expensive because Sunway, Taylor affiliates with other university(overseas) so the cert is more expensive(I won't say its worthwhile, as its debatable.). Nottingham itself is a university at uk and Nottingham Malaysia is just one of its campus, so the cert will be actually from uk so its expensive as well.

I won't comment much on the fees of MMU, whether its expensive or not as its a private university, not a government university(ipta) so you can't expect the fees to be as cheap as those from other ipta.

If feel MMU expensive ma dun go MMU lo = = , like you don't go taylor because you know taylor expensive what.But why didnt you all talk bad about taylor wanted to make most $$ out of a student
Does MMU has any overseas lecturer(not really sure about that)? But Taylor has quite a sum of it and they're quite experienced from what I heard from my friend.
wcypierre
post Sep 16 2011, 11:10 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 16 2011, 11:06 PM)
well, yes doh.gif from german, india, uk, us, indonesia, singapore, middle east, aus, mostly come and go
Pardon me on that though, as I am not a MMU student(maybe in the future, or maybe not tongue.gif ). Then I think its the origin of the cert that makes the fees expensive laugh.gif
wcypierre
post Sep 16 2011, 11:22 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 16 2011, 11:14 PM)
i do believe that MMU is a good alternative for students that are not able to go to public unis due to certain criteria, and could not fork enough money for overseas or those expensive unis like nottingham, monash, etc  smile.gif
especially monash, its IT course is 100k doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
wcypierre
post Sep 16 2011, 11:30 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 16 2011, 11:26 PM)
so you decided to stick with inti?
Still considering as I still have one sem to go tongue.gif . I'll try to attend some test classes on UOW to see its teaching skills and such.

UOW's cert is expensive as well but not as expensive as monash's shakehead.gif
wcypierre
post Sep 16 2011, 11:43 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 16 2011, 11:35 PM)
at the end of the day, it's all about attitude. a good seed can become a tree at a barren desert, or an island in a harsh ocean environment.
Agreed. I do self study on my IT related things(programming) so that I can keep up with others(but I don't have much competitors at inti doh.gif ). I tend to push myself up when I meet challengers so I wanted an environment with a lot of pro's tongue.gif
wcypierre
post Sep 16 2011, 11:48 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 16 2011, 11:45 PM)
dont forget me when you become the next bill gates tongue.gif
I sure hope so brows.gif . But sometimes really self study till headache sweat.gif
wcypierre
post Sep 17 2011, 08:56 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

Don't forget me too when you become next bill gates smile.gif , name yourself billy door
I am not as famous as you at here eh(I'm not even near famous lol doh.gif ). U la bill gates tongue.gif

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0466sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:13 PM