☆☆☆ Tires Discussion Thread V2✰✰✰, welcome re002☆csc5☆asymmetric2!

6UE5T
post Nov 7 2012, 02:26 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(rac^86 @ Nov 7 2012, 11:49 AM)
hey all, i want to ask, recently i changed 4 tyres of my car. From 175/65/14 to 185/60/14. I like it so much because its really stable. But the fuel consumption is higher now. Is it because of new tyres? Please advice. Thanks
Fuel consumption should not have noticable difference between the 2 sizes since it's actually slightly smaller in diameter even though slightly wider too.
6UE5T
post Jun 9 2014, 09:46 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(taobaoong @ Jun 9 2014, 04:06 PM)
I am planning to change my tires for my forte. 215/45/R17. Anyone can recommend for a good tires?  smile.gif
For good value for money: GT Radial HPY
For middle-high price range: Goodyear F1 Assymetric 2
For upper price range: Michelin PS3
All are UHP (ultra high performance) tires with traction rating AA and tread wear rating 300-320.
6UE5T
post May 22 2015, 01:03 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Apr 13 2015, 04:28 PM)
guys, looking to replace my stock conti premium contact 2, 195/50/R16
to 205/50/R16

contenders should be Michelin PS3 / Yokohama C-drive 2 / Nexen N8000
any recommendations?
PS3 hands down!
6UE5T
post May 22 2015, 08:36 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ May 22 2015, 08:31 PM)
ah, haha i took goodyear eagle f1 instead
That's very good also! thumbup.gif
6UE5T
post Jun 8 2015, 05:31 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(dinnor @ Jun 8 2015, 04:20 PM)
hi, just recently went to tire shop ,
the mechanic said my front tire so bad already, he did an alignment and change that front tire to rear
he said i need to change it since the condition already bad, maybe can use at least 3 more months,

tire was silverstone brand as it come as stock tire for proton persona

and i know it was my own mistake since i not really monitor the tire condition,
mechanic said that i need to check and make sure the pressure of the tire in good condition, at least 2 weeks need to routine check for pressure
cry.gif

but what i've already done?
since i use that car about 1 and half year and the millage just about 22000 KM only, i did not check the tire pressure on my own,
only let SC to do and check the tire pressure during services.

sweat.gif  sweat.gif
cry.gif  rclxub.gif
That tire in the picture still has so much tread left what! Only inner side worn out a bit more but why need to change?? This is nothing compared to how my tires look like now!
6UE5T
post Jun 9 2015, 06:34 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Jun 9 2015, 12:41 AM)
negative camber? if so, can be solve by do tire alignment
normally inner tread worn out could be hard cornering, you drive in city mostly than highway road?

as i know, tire tread last shorter if driving in city road vs highway, because you brake and stop more often
Inner tread worn out normally due to too much camber and/or too much toe out alignment. Hard cornering will wear out the outer side more.
6UE5T
post Aug 27 2015, 07:55 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Aug 27 2015, 07:06 PM)
I corner damn kuat one wor. 55 and 60 will difference alot?

BTW, just found out my tyre mfg date is 4712. Almost 3 years and 60k milage already. Consider well used already. Tomorrow night will go tyre shop and ask them again. Anyone got friends who got tyre shop to recommend around Kepong area? Maybe can get cheap cheap. Lol
195/60 is a bit thick sidewall, almost 1 cm thicker than 195/55. It will be much more comfortable but IMHO a bit too thick and start to feel like too soft. If you like to lean on corners hard and fast then 195/55 will feel much better and more responsive while still giving reasonably comfortable ride quality, so a good balance between handling and comfort.
6UE5T
post Aug 27 2015, 07:56 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Aug 18 2015, 12:30 PM)
i thought cc5 cost only around rm 170+++ unsure.gif  unsure.gif  unsure.gif
rm 240 is freaking expensive..
can get performance tyre like potenza re003 or ps3 for 195/55/15
persona can use 195/55/15 also....
Even PS3 can get below 240 already for that size. My friend bought one not too long ago for 230 all inclusive.
6UE5T
post Aug 27 2015, 07:59 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(fix24311 @ Aug 5 2015, 01:34 PM)
i changed to Bridgestone RE003, but can't find max pressure info on the tyre sweat.gif
can anyone help? unsure.gif
What for? You want to pump that hard??
6UE5T
post Aug 27 2015, 11:22 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Aug 27 2015, 11:18 PM)
won't it give lesser grip than 60? I just sked car spin only haha sweat.gif
Of course not coz it's the same tire width. It would actually give you better steering response and better handling as the tires will be a bit stiffer.
6UE5T
post Aug 28 2015, 04:50 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Aug 28 2015, 12:36 AM)
Ugh, Heart is suddenly moved to get Advan DB liao. Time to kacau nestum
Advan dB is mid performance class tires. If you really like cornering fast maybe better try high performance ones like Michelin PS3, Goodyear F1-D5, or Bridgestone RE003.

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Aug 28 2015, 01:11 PM)
Looking to replace tyre size 255/40r18 soon. Thought of Mich Pilot Sport 3 but doesn't looks like it has this size lol. Not sure Pilot Super Sport has this size tho, anyone know where I can ask about?
PSS also does not have that size but there's the older PS2 available in that size in the Michelin MY web. Other good option is the Goodyear F1 Assy2 which should be better than the older PS2.
6UE5T
post Aug 29 2015, 12:14 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(fix24311 @ Aug 28 2015, 08:52 PM)
no lah...i heard this tip to pump minus 10% of your max psi for good threadwear life
Absolutely not true! It will actually wear out the middle part of the tire much faster coz it's too high pressure already. Start from the pressure recommended on the door sticker then adjust bit by bit from that, coz tire pressure is relative to the individual car (mostly the weight and weight distribution) and also a bit driver preference (some like it softer for more comfort, some like it a bit harder for more responsive handling).

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 28 2015, 09:41 PM)
max of your car recommendation or tire max? pumping 10% more than tire max = tire burst = you may possibly die.
He said minus 10% from max, not 10% over max. smile.gif
6UE5T
post Aug 29 2015, 12:16 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Aug 28 2015, 11:46 PM)
Eh? I just got quoted from Tyre Pro Malaysia (Kota Damansara) for that size. RM1300+ per pop, not inclusive of GST yet. 225/45r18 is RM900+
You mean the PSS? Maybe directly imported and not form the Michelin Malaysia distributor.
6UE5T
post Aug 29 2015, 12:18 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 29 2015, 12:16 AM)
45 psi -10% still pretty bad laugh.gif
Yes, that's why I also told him in the above. smile.gif
6UE5T
post Aug 31 2015, 10:48 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Aug 31 2015, 01:52 AM)
hmm.gif i tot toyo tyre is some high performance tyre

he got that small size?  hmm.gif
Just like many other tire makers, Toyo also makes many different types, ranging from low performance econo tires to race tires.
6UE5T
post Sep 2 2015, 05:40 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(mrteeheetummytums @ Sep 2 2015, 05:09 PM)
I was using continentals mc5s up until recently I needed to change so i went to a shop. They recommended me use back mc5 or michelin xm2s, they said grip about the same but michelins are quieter. Me being so gullible I thought I try the michelins for something different. Then later only I realized the michelins are energy saving eco tyres like the cc5 yet they are priced higher. I don't really care about comfort or quiet so did I buy the wrong tyres?
What are you actually looking for in tires and what size? If performance then should've bought Michelin PS3 and not XM2 but of course the PS3 is even more expensive but IMHO worth it. MC5 is not as expensive coz it's Malaysian made despite under Continental which is also well known as another expensive premium brand tire.
6UE5T
post Sep 2 2015, 07:21 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(mrteeheetummytums @ Sep 2 2015, 06:22 PM)
Interesting I didn't know mc5 was malaysian made. Now that you mentioned PS3 yeah i definitely should have gotten them, 20555R16 only. My fault for not doing homework before seeing the mechanic tongue.gif Thanks for telling me this anyway
For that size there are quite many choices for high performance tires. You can get Goodyear F1-D5 or Bridgestone Adrenaline R003 as well which would be cheaper than the PS3. These are all better choices than the XM2 or MC5.
6UE5T
post Sep 3 2015, 12:07 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(mrteeheetummytums @ Sep 2 2015, 09:39 PM)
aw I really regret never do homework haha. Time to sell 2nd hand or accelerate the wear tongue.gif
I was quoted 400 for 1 mc5 vs 410 for the xm2
Seems expensive, already similar pricing to 17' tires. I thought for 16' should be about 300+ but I could be wrong.
6UE5T
post Sep 3 2015, 09:32 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(fix24311 @ Sep 3 2015, 02:09 AM)
ouch... Bridgestone RE003 is cheaper than MC5 at 320/pc. As you might know, I drive Preve, and its stock size is the same that you bought.

I am loving every single bit of RE003. Not sure whether it is more comfort than MC5 or XM2 (never tried any of these 2 tyres), but it is definitely more comfortable than stock Champiro BAX 2, and the grip is more. you felt super confident taking corners in high speed.

I've used second-hand PS3 before on my Preve, RE003 is just a bit stiffer than PS3. but overall I can say I feel like driving over a sponge compare to stock tyre.

Noise level: same as Champiro BAX 2. If you want silence, than RE003 is not the choice  wink.gif

at the moment I just felt like nothing can sway me from RE003. PS3 is bit on pricier side.
How about in the wet, is the RE003 also good or even better than PS3?
6UE5T
post Sep 18 2015, 11:39 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(sleyer @ Sep 18 2015, 02:39 PM)
im using pesona elegent

my 4 tyre need to change already.. becouse of budget i only can change 2 tyre permonth .. so which side more important to change ?

front or back side?
How are the condition of your tires? If all 4 already reach the tread wear limit then you MUST replace all! If none of them are yet to reach the tread wear limit/not yet worn out, then rotate the front to back and vice versa. If only the front is worn out then can change the change the front but for your safety put the new pairs at the back and the older one form the back move to the front.

0.0558sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:02 AM