acer iconia a500, android 3.0

thk38
post May 23 2011, 10:46 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(RcykZai @ May 23 2011, 10:14 AM)
SenQ in Sibu, Sarawak. but dont worry, senQ pricing same throughout malaysia. Original pricing is RM1599, with membership discount of RM100 make it RM1499. Extended warranty of course to 1 more year, making it 2 years, means 1 year from acer itself, 1 year from senQ.

i paid RM499 as up front payment (of course u need no have to pay, depends on you), to make the loan amount exactly RM1000 and to have it be the total amount of installment for 1 year. im still a student, and i cant afford high monthly installment as it will make my life harder. lol laugh.gif
Same here, bought from Senq yesterday. Nice screen, a bit heavy compare to my brother Asus transformer which he bought from Taiwan. Browsing web a few ms slower compare to I pad, mostly because of flash plugin. But the default android keyboard very very very slow when posting overhere. Very frustrating.

** Revised: Used opera mini browser, typing speed increase a lot when posting in this forum. The default browser load page quickly but struggle to handle javascript code.

This post has been edited by thk38: May 23 2011, 11:59 PM
thk38
post May 24 2011, 07:01 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(mAxPC @ May 24 2011, 04:10 PM)
Guys does the Iconia have issues with 1080p video? Was seeing video reviews keep mentioning that it lags, not sure whether that was fixed. The youtube video linked here by one other forum mention, the video also mentions that you do not want to do video on that tablet. So just curious as I am on the fence.
I tried 720p, work with software decoding but hardware decoding very lagging (no supporting codec for tegra GPU yet)

Not yet tried 1080p, guess will play with it later.
thk38
post May 27 2011, 05:41 PM

138 posts

5) Setup US VPN account(if you dont know...thn Google) and then create a new google account through this VPN. DO NOT use the existing one.

Already setup and connect to US VPN account (bestfreevpn.com).
When setup new google gmail account, they ask me to verify through sms, so how can i do this cause I when i use my "MALAYSIA" phone number, the sms never reach here??? Any suggestion. Thanks.

This post has been edited by thk38: May 27 2011, 05:43 PM
thk38
post Jun 2 2011, 01:55 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(darkcroation @ Jun 1 2011, 04:14 PM)
senQ n Senheng same??or different?so SenHeng without the flap case?
You need to ask the saleperson to request the casing from head office, cause I pinkup the casing a few day after i purchase my iconia.

Added on June 2, 2011, 2:04 pm
QUOTE(enchekere @ May 31 2011, 10:53 AM)
This is what I did :

1. Register a US based Google Acc on my PC (I use Ultrasurf as VPN) and when for the validation I just put my Malaysia number.
2. Install Market Enabler and set the telco to any US carrier.
3. Clear all Market Data.
4. Also remove the Sync option with my Malaysia Google acc.
5. Launch the Market and sign in with the US acc.

So far I had downloaded Flash, Busybox, Angry Bird, Skyfire, Pulse and even some books without any problem.
Wonder if the firmware upgrade working or not??? Have you tried it...

This post has been edited by thk38: Jun 2 2011, 02:04 PM
thk38
post Jun 4 2011, 10:37 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(joe_liew @ Jun 3 2011, 07:31 PM)
Hi, i'm new owner of A500. I'm facing the problem when i press the Power Button to standby the device in sleep mode. It standby for about 3 to 5 minutes then it wakes up by itself for few seconds then went back into sleep mode again without me touching or press anything at all.  . This seems to repeat itself until if i shutdown the device completely. I spoke with Highpoint support agent and they suggested that i bring the device to their subang jaya HQ office to do the build number update to Acer_A500_1.139.04_COM_GEN1. I went to their HQ office and they did the update. Guess what? This problem still exist and is happening again. Anyone care to share your experience??

Boy, im beginning to hate Acer and perhaps switch to Asus Transformer Tablet.
Can u tried to set in to "airplane" mode and see if the problem still arise.
thk38
post Jun 9 2011, 12:39 AM

138 posts

Please check "system update" for latest firmware update, I am downloading my now.. Cheers.

This post has been edited by thk38: Jun 9 2011, 12:40 AM
thk38
post Jun 9 2011, 12:31 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(enchekere @ Jun 9 2011, 11:43 AM)
After the update, what is your build number? I had bricked my Iconia before and had to go with the Chinese update and later on US conversion. Now my build is  1.141.07_COM_GEN1.
Mine one Malaysia version, now 1.139.04 after firmware update. I intend to update to 1.141.07_COM_GEN1, not sure can or not using the method as shown in XDA-DEVELOPER

I thinks yours is latest version.
thk38
post Jun 10 2011, 06:02 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(andy8274 @ Jun 10 2011, 02:01 PM)
what's the price and any photo?  hmm.gif
13 confirmed buyer!
andy8274  case + SP
Mockbain  case + SP
barryz7  case + SP
ahhazazi  case
eveready  case + SP
8 from acer Iconia Tab A500 facebook member
Me too.
Thk38. Case + sp (should I go for matte or clear sp, any suggestion?)
thk38
post Jun 24 2011, 08:43 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(andy8274 @ Jun 22 2011, 02:03 PM)
as per mention, 30th June is the last day and middle of July just can get the case.
well, you can make the payment now too. please check pm for the payment details
Sikai Case group purchase program : 10 buyer wanted! Last order 30th June 2011. middle of July should able to get the case
3 days to process bank in individual and fill in the purchase form
RM88 for the case (SRP RM108)
RM22 for the screen protector (SRP 32)
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v330/via...X_158358218.jpg

Mockbain  case + SP
barryz7  case + SP
ahhazazi  case only
eveready  case + SP
Teng N  case + SP
Mrlonely78  case + SP
Please pm for seller info. Thanks, dude...

0.0391sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:51 AM