5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V3, The ultimate Android super smartphone ??

Bugeca
post May 12 2011, 01:12 AM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ May 12 2011, 12:55 AM)
can someone please test for me this SGS2 screen allows how many touch at a time..

and has anyone try usb on-the-go features using cheap usb cable? does it works? if yes, then i dont have to buy the usb on the go cable online when i buy my SGS2 later..

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1070573
I cannot put my toe on the screen, so 10 touches registered. smile.gif

But the touch registration is a bit slow (delay), I've to slide a bit the second finger for it to be detected but it was ok for the third and so forth.

Another note... the touch circles vibrate although you're not moving any fingers.
Bugeca
post May 12 2011, 01:23 AM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ May 12 2011, 01:14 AM)
thanks yehlai..

actually I called the seller yesterday. but he only has no warranty unit..
for me if no warranty, better i buy myself from UK. at least i have the receipt / purchase order for in need of warranty later on..

i prefer with warranty unit.. biggrin.gif

Added on May 12, 2011, 1:17 am
thanks a lot!  thumbup.gif

hmm u mean the only delay is from 1 touch to 2 touches?

and i know this won't happen in real life, but if u slide all ur 10 fingers at a same time, does the screen registered the movement?
The delay is when you put the second finger, just the touch but it won't effect the two fingers multi touch function as we definitely move both fingers when doing that action.

Hahaha, actually it was hard to move all the 10 on screen and yes it still registered all the movements and one finger might unregistered (when it overlapped with others).
Bugeca
post May 12 2011, 01:39 AM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ May 12 2011, 01:30 AM)
haha yeah.. it must be funny to move all 10 fingers on such screen tongue.gif

btw thanks a lot!!  notworthy.gif
No prob.

Here are some updates. The touch is not consistent across the apps that I used to test the functionality.

When using Multitouch Visualizer, there was a delay on second finger. But using multitouch test that come with Android System Info, there was no delay but it showed another funny output. When I touched the screen with all five fingers, then lifted off three fingers simultaneously. The app still registers 3 touches although only two fingers were on the screen. hmm.gif

Edit: BTW, I'm using Supercurio rooted kernel, stock kernel might have different output

This post has been edited by Bugeca: May 12 2011, 01:49 AM
Bugeca
post May 12 2011, 09:23 AM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

Be very clear with local ap warranty. Most of em will say 1 year but what is it covers. Lcd and accessories mostly 3 months, only the phone is 1 year.
Bugeca
post May 12 2011, 02:57 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

Firmware update from Kies. For KDD set.

Bugeca
post May 12 2011, 08:14 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(jonrwg @ May 12 2011, 08:11 PM)
WOW. that is high. Mine max only 3200.  sweat.gif
OK, just install XEKE1 firmware (latest on samfirmware). Big Big improvement on Android OS usage with only 3%. Going to try out a few days.
Benny, are you on XWKDJ firmware?
There are two firmwares available. XEKE1 and XWKE1. Which one did you flashed?

Bugeca
post May 12 2011, 08:58 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(jonrwg @ May 12 2011, 08:50 PM)
Impressive score.  rclxms.gif
I flashed XEKE1. Before this XWKDJ. XEKE1 i think is meant for Russian coz on the keyboard the space bar you'll hv option to change language by sliding left n right. never noticed this on previous firmware.
The one from KIES is the XWKE1 which is UK official. Mind sharing your baseband version? If it is same, then no need to flash again coz only language and locale difference.

This post has been edited by Bugeca: May 12 2011, 08:59 PM
Bugeca
post May 12 2011, 09:25 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(jonrwg @ May 12 2011, 09:11 PM)
Baseband: XXKDJ
It is a same release only region is different.
Bugeca
post May 13 2011, 12:14 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ May 13 2011, 08:56 AM)
NFC is not just for payment. can also be used for...
* file transfer
* biz card exchange
* perhaps in future, customised ads
* touch and go kinda access
and many, many more...
Yeah true, but the implementation might take a while. Most of the above features required another NFC compatible devices. Only phone from Samsung has it atm in the market (SGS2 & GNS). Wait till apple / HTC / Nokia (reintroduce) / Moto / etc and other non-phone manufacturers start implementing it then you can see the true potential of this tech. Maybe IP5 got this feature?
Bugeca
post May 13 2011, 12:51 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ May 13 2011, 12:35 PM)
Guys, I've got a question if u don't mind me asking. I've rooted my phone. What happens if I update the firmware. Do I lose my root? If yes, do I unroot it again using the same method?

Thanks in advance!
You will loose the root. Re-root using the same method but some even flash back the stock kernel (from updated firmware) and still retain the root.

BTW, a new firmware showed up in the Kies, again!
Bugeca
post May 13 2011, 01:11 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ May 13 2011, 12:57 PM)
@Bugeca, the root method is for the KD firmware, but we can use it again for the KE firmware?
Maybe I should just flash it to the latest and forget about rooting it first.
IMHO, for Samsung Android, as long as the version is same, it does not matter much on firmware. Or you can root using KDD (Chainfire kernel) after rooting, flash back KE1 kernel (kernel only Odin file is available at his site).
Bugeca
post May 13 2011, 09:07 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(skylinestan @ May 13 2011, 08:58 PM)
Any pros here can give some details for this two version Eynos & tegra??which one is better & more higher price??
Like playing games and do not have xbox / ps3 --- go for tegra tongue.gif

Like to use phone as enterprise users (email etc.) then Exynos.

Playing multimedia especially video should have no problem on both version but watch out for the video codec (profile) on Tegra since the CPU does not have ARM Neon instruction.
Bugeca
post May 13 2011, 11:51 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ May 13 2011, 11:42 PM)
just heard as well that sgs2 will be abt rm2k or so.

so, price-wise,i think more or less confirmed that way...

so now... the Q: tegra or exynos? samoled+ or slcd?

for me, if its not exynos & samoled+, then i might just wait. coz like another forumer said, sgs2 main selling pt is samoled+ and samsung's own exynos.
Need to know the product code. That is all needed to know what is the spec.
Bugeca
post May 14 2011, 01:28 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(adidass @ May 14 2011, 01:26 PM)
hi there, may i know if the galaxy tab can work with pen drive & microsoft office???? thanks!!!!
There is a dedicated thread to discuss about galaxy tab. Can ask over there.
Bugeca
post May 14 2011, 04:49 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(genus @ May 14 2011, 04:32 PM)
Donno is it a problem of Exynos, many games don't get supported by SGS2 now  blush.gif
hope the developer will fix it.
Only for games that are not supporting standard opengl compression. Exynos gpu (mali) does not have proprietry compression (not surprise thou coz it was created by Arm). Others gpu has it own compression method on top of standard one.

Fragmentation is the issue actually.
Bugeca
post May 16 2011, 10:27 AM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ May 16 2011, 04:35 AM)
i read that there is a yellow sign every time we reboot the device.. but i dont see it on my sgs2.. does it refers to the triangle in the downloading mode?
There are two indicators. The yellow triangle appear when you flash custom kernel (insecure), can remove it if you flash back stock kernel. The other indicator appear in Download Mode, it will count how many times you already flash the phone and also display either you're running custom binary or stock binary. This can only be erased using USB jig.

Added on May 16, 2011, 10:28 am
QUOTE(vassalle @ May 16 2011, 10:24 AM)
Got mine from SS15 shop. Let me know if you need the link.

Warning: paid premium for this phone to get this. So don't expect a bargain! smile.gif
RM2750?

This post has been edited by Bugeca: May 16 2011, 10:28 AM
Bugeca
post May 16 2011, 11:48 AM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

Additional info on Samsung Firmware (Odin)

1. Repartition - to partition your phone mount points. Not necessary unless required by the firmware. The Odin file is called PIT file (Partition Infomation Table). Mostly related to region i.e. Europe, Asia etc. might have different PIT structure. Useful if you've corrupted partition.
2. Bootloader - not really use in firmware flash. I only use this once on my SGS1 for missing download mode.
3. PDA - this is the Android firmware. Samsung firmware version is referring to this file. The version will be display in "Build number"
4. Phone - this is modem driver file. Higher version does not mean better. Depends on region. The version will be displayed in Baseband version. Can mix and match between firmware.
5. CSC - Carrier Specific Customization - Telco settings (APN), bloatware and anything telco like to dump into the phone. Responsible for telco branding. Can mix and match between firmware.

The only thing ODIN cannot do is telco SIM lock and unlock features.

This post has been edited by Bugeca: May 16 2011, 11:54 AM
Bugeca
post May 18 2011, 03:35 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(KiToRo @ May 18 2011, 02:22 PM)
thanks for advise...im doing so...but now going charge for 3hours already...but still in 72%...which mean next time i osos need about 4hrs to fully charge my phone? blink.gif
Just charge it overnight and no need to charge to 8 hours. No point coz the phone will cut off the charging. You'll waste your electricity, introduce heat to the battery and missing early usage enjoyment.

If you wanted to do rapid charge, use other charger. The one from Samsung is only 0.7A, my HTC and Palm charger is 1A. I used it for my SGS1 and 2.
Bugeca
post May 18 2011, 03:51 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(sbd @ May 18 2011, 03:46 PM)
yes I kena a reboot last nite. it may have done a FOTA anyway, when now plug into Kies, I get the message that 'this firmware cannot be upgraded' - i think it's because we've got UK handsets and our physical location is Malaysia and all the FOTAs and Kies are getting confused/screwed up.
Are you running KE2? Samsung has pulled out KE2 from Kies server. If running KE1, it will says latest firmware ady.

This post has been edited by Bugeca: May 18 2011, 03:52 PM
Bugeca
post May 18 2011, 03:57 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(sbd @ May 18 2011, 03:52 PM)
anyone successfully installed skype? apparently it is not in the market. i remember the same problem with my galaxy s but somehow I fould a link but now cannot find....
If rooted. Install Market Enabler or Market Access to emulate US region. Then find it. If still not available, go to Market settings and select Show All Apps checkbox.

This post has been edited by Bugeca: May 18 2011, 03:57 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0213sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:14 AM