Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> [ALERT] Official fake/counterfeit list

ernie ball
post Aug 13 2005, 10:06 AM

459 posts

We all know those advertised "OEM Sony Mouse" are fake, not only fake brand, but the advertised 800dpi is bulls*it, i've brought one and the resolution is far from that. I have a 620dpi and 800dpi a4tech mouse and the "OEM Sony" mouse don't even have a resolution that's near to 620dpi. In my experience, running 800dpi resolution can be quite uncomfortable to the wrist,it strain the wrist too much from the higher precision needed to move the mouse, even when your screen resolution is 1280x1024. So if your "800dpi OEM" mouse is not any faster than your typical optical mouse, most probably it's fake.

And yet many sellers subscribed to the excessive usage of the word "OEM". Let's make things change for once. Many uninformed buyer had been misleaded. We all know who the sellers are, but none of us are willing to stand up and say something.
ernie ball
post Aug 13 2005, 04:31 PM

459 posts

First of all, try to understand what i'm trying to say before you shoot me.

IMHO, i think it's okay to sell fake item to people, IF you dutifully let your buyer know what you're selling is not the original item (not by using the word OEM). Some people still choose to buy fake item because of the huge price difference.

It's a crime if you don't tell the truth to your customer, what they are getting for their money. In this case, even real item sold can have misleading advertisements. For example, let's say i have a PalmOne Zire 31 for sale, and i say that it's built-in Wifi, (in case you don't know, it doesn't come with Wifi), then i'm cheating the customer, right?

bottom line: We should not ban fake items, it's been around us for such a long time it's impossible to curb their inflow.A simple quiz, how many of you are using real Windows XP there? (No, i'm not saying you're using fake Windows XP, but you get my idea). The only thing we need to do is to make sure the buyer know what they're buying. It's different thing to buy a "water" item and a fake item.
ernie ball
post Aug 19 2005, 01:12 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(Boffin01 @ Aug 19 2005, 10:08 AM)
Dinster, dudes and dudettes,

Fake Magnetic LED torch/ Kinetic LED torch/ Faraday LED torch.  vmad.gif

I was curious enough to butcher one open and I found the following:

1) PCB got holes for diodes to rectify the coil's output but no diodes was found.
2) Output of the coil was shorted out on the PCB.
3) The magnet that moves inside the coil was not a magnet at all.
4) The power to the LED is supplied by 2 CR2032 coin batteries.

No way you'll ever get any kinetic energy coverted into electrical energy macam ni.

I googled but found no mention of a fake magnetic torch so we found it here on LYN first!  smile.gif

Buyers beware.

Many thanks,
Boffin01
What this guy says is extremely true, i support his statement.

Curiously, i also have one of these last time, i know some of the kinetic torch did not even had any component on the circuit board, but mine does have a high capacity capacitor (0.47F, considered extremely high capacity), apart from the 4 1N4001 diodes. No, i don't buy this from the forum, but from your momma's grocery store, because i can actually see something in the circuit board.

Now the fun part. I dismantle it and found two button cells totalling 6v (usually ~4.5v is enough to power up a white led). Since the voltage is too high, the diodes were there to decrease the voltage to ~4v.

And as a experiment of the charging capability as claimed, i took out the battery from the torchlight, then i empty the capacitor off any remaining charge, took nearly 2 minutes. (like i say, it's a huge capacitor.) Then i shake the torchlight vigourously, yes, i do look kinda weird, but this is for the sake of science biggrin.gif

My observations?

1) You can't produce enough power to light up the torchlight as you shake.

2) After shaking for 5 minutes non-stop (good exercise), you can light the torchlight, but it's very dim, kinda like a nearly dead torchlight. You can't do anything useful with the light.

3) Further shaking produces no significant change to the brightness.

Don't ask me the voltage level and stuff, i don't have a voltmeter that time.

the manufacturer's claim is totally bullsh*t because you can never produce enough energy to operate the torchlight. And they just hope you don't really finish up the 2xCR2032 battery in a few year's time, which is quite true, if you're not a torchlight maniac.

My bottom line: The torchlight is still worth the price. 2xCR2032 already cost more than rm10 in the first place. Just to compare penny to penny, it's still worth it. The led is quite bright, it will last you years without replacing the batt, who cares if the circuit works?
ernie ball
post Aug 22 2005, 01:09 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(emmeir @ Aug 22 2005, 12:32 PM)
I also bought some from vColl and breaker..
But we must consider the quality item ( Original ) is too expensive
Around 150 above..
But they sell it rm69-70...
Half of the original price
So.. Surely the quality is more worst...
No, the fact is, they told us it's original from sony. Now, that's cheating. I'm buying one myself, and i feel cheated, i think it's only appopriate if mr. VCool could've told me it's fake, in the first place. You know, i even give this to my brother, now i'm a cheap ******* who gave their brother fake stuff. Imagine that! I never opened the charger and check the "ingredients", i guess someone should do something.

As I said before in my previous posts, there's a big difference if it's water goods and fake stuff. I thought i'm buying water goods, but i'm getting a fake stuff. I'm very angry now, if only someone would take action. The charger is a few thousand KMs away from me now, i wish i could get it back, dissect it and let you all know what's inside, once and for all. If anyone willing, send me a unit and let me analyse the content of this charger. FYI it's easy to read the IC and determine if it's really contain the voltage monitoring function, temp monitor, bla bla. Maybe I'll even ask my brother to send it back to me, it's a shame to give someone a fake item, it's even worse if you don't know it's a fake, in the first place. mad.gif

0.1618sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:29 AM