Nokia 5800 XpressMusic a.k.a "TUBE" v.31

PlanetX
post Mar 12 2012, 11:41 PM

41 posts

Video Ringtones optimized for 5800

18 edited MP4 Video Ringtones with very high bitrate/sampling rate for clarity and to preempt distortion at high volume encoding, in HE-AAC format.

Old tunes from Michael Jackson, Carpenters, Bee Gees, Whitney Houston, Cliff Richard, etc.

Best viewed under Profiles-> Ringtones, in order to see the video's actual aspect ratio during incoming calls. Ringtone volume setting at 90% unless you are in a disco.

rclxm9.gif

109MB Link:

PlanetX
post Mar 30 2012, 09:01 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Mar 30 2012, 05:15 PM)
Anyone having problem with their 5800 after upgrading to the latest firmware?
The phone sometimes hang... nothing can be done (not even can switch off) except to remove the battery. Then the phone back to normal... Till the next occurrence. Happen 2 times so far...

Have never encounter this before the upgrading of the firmware...  icon_question.gif
The lastest firmware is very stable. It is definitely due to certain third party sofware present in the phone which is incompatible with the latest firmware.

You should do a Hard Reset to factory defaults and format your memory card too while keeping you important data in your PC. Try to use you phone at default settings to see if the problem persist.

http://www.master-reset.com/2009/02/master...800-xpress.html

If problem persist, just flash again after doing the hard reset without the memory card or with newly formated card. Sometimes even the least expected add-ons like 3rd party themes can cause havoc. There was one theme which caused videos to hang but to identify that problem, it caused me many wasted days.

rclxm9.gif

PlanetX
post Apr 10 2012, 05:58 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Apr 10 2012, 04:21 PM)
strange , my 5800 is doing the same thing and even worst. All button 'xpress music', green call, middle menu, and red call button ALL lights on and there is no way to turn it off unless off the phone. I think due to this, it also manage to kill the battery sad.gif , now cannot charge it anymore ...

anybody have any clue whats happening ??
Your light time-out setting is corrupted. Settings > Phone > Display> light time-out.

Software issue so reflash firmware. rclxm9.gif
PlanetX
post Apr 10 2012, 06:29 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(Zen-X @ Apr 10 2012, 06:17 PM)
anyone can help me? sad.gif
I don't use this sort of application but the one recommended by Ovi Store is Tweet60. Download here:

http://handheld.softpedia.com/get/Blog/Tweets60-78443.shtml

rclxm9.gif
PlanetX
post Apr 10 2012, 07:01 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Apr 10 2012, 06:33 PM)
will a full reset work ? or i need to flash again ??

anyway thanks !! will try to full reset first smile.gif
The reason why I did not recommend a Hard Reset is that I dont know which firmware is used. The 20.x.x firmware version is prone to corruption. Also, if your Z drive is modified by some unknown external application, reset may not work.

Anyway, you can try a Hard Reset and not the normal full reset. Procedure is in one of my post above.

rclxm9.gif
PlanetX
post Apr 11 2012, 01:06 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Apr 11 2012, 12:15 AM)
the certificate for my phone expired d, didnt notice already 3yearw wiv the 5800xm smile.gif
i try reapply the certificate from opda last week and till now still havent get it. thinking to flash hack it if cannot get certificate  sad.gif

anyways any app for wifi tethering like joikuspot that are free?
No need to resort to tedious methods. Just use Rom Patcher to install any unsigned applications and even to modify/customize the protected contents of the phone.

http://www.doncaprio.com/2011/12/how-to-ha...c5-e5-e6-e.html

rclxm9.gif
PlanetX
post Apr 11 2012, 10:34 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Apr 11 2012, 06:17 PM)
any nice theme to recommend for 5800? seems most not that nice tongue.gif
Most Nokia themes are for 5800 and C6 models:

http://themes.mob.org/list/symbian_os_94_s...40,orderBy-date

http://www.ownskin.com/

http://www.zedge.net/themes/2340/nokia-580...c-themes/0-2-1/

---

If you want to add gif (animated images) to your main screen, use this:

http://www.mobidhoom.com/anim-sprite-lite-v233s60v3/

Do not use images larger than 500kb, to conserve battery.

rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by PlanetX: Apr 11 2012, 11:13 PM
PlanetX
post Apr 11 2012, 11:00 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Apr 11 2012, 09:09 PM)
all hyping the pureview 808 i guess n the rest of the birds flying off 2 android world n ios world
This is a matter of discernment and taste. My priority is that a smart phone should not be too smart in spying on its users like Androids and iOS including less top heavy features which most users do not even use.

More than 10 years since I last used symbian NK 6600 until recently. Despite symbian being not so smart, it took me more than a month to modify the firmware and edit some strings to prevent a majority of spywares.

Only managed to prevent about 90% of the spywares since some of them are part of the OS and the phone will not funtion without them.

List of Common Intrusions:

1) When a sim card is inserted into the phone for the 1st time or after changing firmware, data communication with Nokia (120kb) including sms to the Telco is initiated. Users without data plan will have to PAY RM1.20 without realizing..... if this is perceived as a smart phone, then the user must be perceived as a donkey. They have the god given right to spy, the user even have to pay for the cost to spy.

2) When the time is changed, there is a message asking if the user is in another country. This info will later be transmitted to the Godfather and the filial son have to pay to inform without knowing...

3) Ovi Store will contact phone every few days to check status of user.

4) Email integration, contacts, conversions, sms (even deleted ones), surf history can be accessed by Godfather if needed.

5) Location Monitoring is common amongst Godfathers including by Telcos. There is a new location chipset by Broadcom which can measure the height from ground level. Lets say, you are in a toilet on the 10th floor, Godfather can locate you even on the toilet bowl..

6) Many 3rd party applications also act as information gathering outlets. So there are many Godfathers around.

Read more about Androids, iOS, Snapdragons.... I suspect the users of smart phones are brilliant individuals who has weighed all the factors and made a wise choice including not succumbing to the urge of keeping up with the Joneses....

http://news.discovery.com/tech/your-androi...ing-111201.html

rclxm9.gif

Added on April 12, 2012, 3:11 am
QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Apr 11 2012, 06:45 PM)
Thanks again ... now I'm more confused haha ... anyway the phone is temporary dead,  I think because the battery is dead. Going to find someone who have the same battery model to test my n5800
Cool down...

1) Take out the Battery. Do you see the gold plated connectors used to connect to the terminals of the phone? Use a big needle to make the slits of the battery connectors smaller and tighter. Push left and then push right with needle.

2) Take out your Sim Card and Memory Card. Phone can be used in offline mode.

3) Connect back the battery and then the charger. The phone can be used when it is charging even if your battery is dead, unless you battery is loose, then charging will terminate (covered under 1 above).

4) If you cannot switch on the phone, take it to the phone shop and ask them to test a new charger. Your charger may be spoilt.

Added on April 12, 2012, 3:22 am
QUOTE(navilink @ Apr 11 2012, 10:45 PM)
wow thanks 
anyway the gif link is not working.. but i guess the app is called AnimSprite.. will look out for this
Link edited.

How to use this application:

PlanetX
post Apr 12 2012, 06:28 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Apr 12 2012, 01:47 PM)
1) yeah, at first i assume it was the connectors as well, but after close inspection (by eye) the connectors does look connected. However, i will take your advice and use the needle trick to see if there is any different

2) yeah, sim and memory card already taken out

4) i use the same charger to charge another nokia phone, and it charge without problem. So can i safely dismissed that the charger is ok ?

Again, big thanks for sharing your knowledge smile.gif
Your charger should be ok. The most important step now is to determine if you get a VIBRATION when you press the power on button..

1) After performing all the previous steps, plug in battery and charger, switch on charger and wait 30 seconds, then hold down the power-on button. Repeat a few times if you do not get a vibration.

2) If you do get a VIBRATION but phone still cannot boot, Press and hold GREEN + RED + CAMERA button (located at the bottom of the key lock slider), at the same time press and hold the Power-on button. Do not let go all the 4 buttons until the phone boots. If still cannot, repeat a few times since not easy to hold down 4 buttons together. Refer to photo:

http://www.master-reset.com/2009/02/master...800-xpress.html

3) If totally no vibration, go to shop and test their charged battery or get from friend. If you can get a vibration when power-on or even if the phone can boot, do step (2) above to prevent same problem in the future. Also determine if the other battery can be charged on your phone. If can charge, buy new battery. Sun Global battery at RM36, equivalent to original. If cannot charge, do not buy new battery. Phone battery jack or charge control circuit of phone may be faulty.

Where are you now? If in the right place, there may be an easier solution.

rclxm9.gif
PlanetX
post Apr 12 2012, 08:22 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Apr 12 2012, 07:19 PM)
thanks !!

working hour in TTDI, non working hour at Jalan Ipoh

thats y now trying to source a charged battery and test to fully determine the problem
Try all the steps in my previous post, failing which, go to any of the many phone shops in Tmn Tun or Jln Ipoh. Bring charger along. Ask for Sun Global 5800 (BL-5J), 100% they will not have such brand so they will recommend you all the below average batteries including false originals. Just tell them you want to test their battery if good, if battery cannot work, then ask them to use another piece, battery may not be charged.

If battery can work, test whether battery can charge using your charger. If ok, then offer them RM20 (they are not worth more than that). If cannot, say thank you....Then post here, I tell you where to get Sun Global.

Why is it stated in your location you are also in Penang and Johor Bahru?

rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by PlanetX: Apr 12 2012, 08:33 PM
PlanetX
post Apr 13 2012, 09:30 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Apr 13 2012, 01:11 AM)
Tried your earlier suggestions still same result. Anyway trying to get a battery from my friend.  Hopefully can test it out soon.

Oh, my hometown in Penang, wife hometown in Jb  biggrin.gif
Hopefully it is your battery and not the phone's charging control circuit. Your earlier problem may have been caused by a faulty battery. The voltage may have fluctuated due to the faulty IC charging control chip of the battery and hopefully, it did not damage your phone's internal components. A dead battery will never give this sort of problem.

Follow your wife down South, then you can test with my battery.

rclxm9.gif
PlanetX
post Apr 15 2012, 07:46 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Apr 14 2012, 12:28 PM)
long already never do CFW .. can anyone suggest a good n stable latest CFW .. i need to flash my fren's 5800XM  

anyways .. i need to see v.32 soon  
The firmware version is at v60. shakehead.gif

No point using CFW now, most issues have been resolved. If he wants Symbian Anna type of interface use this CFW:

PlanetX
post Apr 15 2012, 05:49 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Apr 15 2012, 10:20 AM)
so .. tat means i can install application without certificate?  hmm.gif
Yes, you can even do more than the above, refer to Page 30, Post #592

rclxm9.gif
PlanetX
post Apr 29 2012, 10:29 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Apr 27 2012, 03:58 PM)
sigh , tested with several batteries and no go sad.gif

i think my 5800 is certified already sad.gif , will bring it to nokia and see how much needed to resurrect it ...
What a pity! This is a different problem altogether which can only be confirmed by testing the pcb board.

I would suggest you bring it to any good phone repair shop that does repair themselves and not send it to most phone shops that sends it to their contract repairman so you pay double.

Better don't send to Nokia, this involves stripping your phone apart, testing, repair then reassembling your phone because all distributors charge by the hour and hire not so smart technicians, so not worthwhile.

shocking.gif

Added on April 29, 2012, 11:08 pm
QUOTE(buzzle25 @ Apr 29 2012, 08:00 PM)
Hi guys & sifu,

My Nokia 5800 sometimes hang when receiving incoming sms & sometimes hand when trying to switch on the phone in the morning? If I take out the battery and the place it back, the phone can be switch on till the next hang up.

This problem only started to occur a few times already after I upgraded the firmware to V 60.0.003 dated 22/9/2011
Custom version 60.0.003.c03.01
Previously when I was using the older firmware, the phone has never hang at all. problem only started after updating to the new firmware.

Have also tried to flash the phone as highlighted, but it still hangs...  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Ok. Firstly, try to troubleshoot step by step:

1) Do not use memory card and use all default settings after doing the full master reset.

2) Determine if battery is the culprit. Before switch on the phone in the morning, plug-in the charger, after a few seconds, switch-on phone. You battery should not be fully charged, if it is fully charged, the charger will cut off and this step will not work.

Try doing this a few times, if no hang, means you battery is unstable or terminals dirty. Are you using imitation battery?

If still hangs, take out the sim card, boot phone in offline mode, following this same procedure.

3) It does not matter if you phone hangs when receiving sms because first you have to determine why it hangs during boot/switch-on. It is very rare for a original firmware to hang during boot.

4) How did you upgrade your firmware previously? By using data cable to Nokia Suite?

rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by PlanetX: Apr 29 2012, 11:12 PM
PlanetX
post Jun 2 2012, 12:10 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(Nam226 @ May 31 2012, 10:25 PM)
Sigh, another 5800xm bites the dust...somebody please guide me how to revives it. I have three 5800xm in my family but already two having problem where it shows purple vertical lines at the right side and then keep rebooting over and over again.. What do you suggest I do? sad.gif

Btw, not the mem card as problem persist when already removed and warranty is obviously expired.
Sounds like a defective LCD flexible ribbon or the contact clip for the ribbon is loose and not LCD. This may also be the cause of rebooting.

Normally if LCD damage, the artifacts are usually black or discoloured spots.

It is very simple to check the LCD ribbon if you know, if not, better send it to the repair shop.

rclxm9.gif

PlanetX
post Jun 2 2012, 01:58 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(Nam226 @ Jun 2 2012, 08:19 AM)
I see, another case of ribbon problem again. Had a ribbon problem before with the 5300xm unable to respond on the keypad. Got it fixed for RM50.

There is no black or discoloured spots so not lcd lah like that but I.... don't ...know how to check LCD ribbon, anybody can recommend any reasonable price self-repair shop (not those that send to other repair shop)? Thanks in advance! smile.gif
Don't you think it is best to state your location so that those who know any repair shops can recommend?

Perhaps you can also walk around and look for a repair shop. Always look to back of the shop for repair and testing equipment in order to asertain if they are real repair shops or agents.

rclxm9.gif
PlanetX
post Jun 27 2012, 02:46 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Jun 26 2012, 04:24 PM)
lol

erm

i downloaded whatsapp for this nokia 5800

and now it auto connect to my unifi at home everytime i shut off the connnection
worse

everytime my fren msg me using watapp..
it auto connect to maxis gprs...and they will deduct my credit =.=
how to disable that
If you still want to use Watsapp, you cannot use a program like NetQin to prevent it from connecting to the net.

If your Wi-Fi is unreacheable, it will automatically select your Maxis data plan to connect.

The only solution is delete the Maxis internet access point under 'Connectivity->Destinations'.

The above is useless anyway, cost money because there are times when it silently connects without your knowledge which cost money. Many external programs will also try to connect to the net silently, so it is best not to set-up GPRS for those without Data Plan.

After deleting, Maxis will send you reminders that your GPRS is not set up, just ignore and after a few times, they will give up.

thumbup.gif

Added on June 27, 2012, 2:54 am
QUOTE(kvnlim @ Jun 27 2012, 02:33 AM)
Hi All,

I no sure if this is a noob question or what but i will continue ask as well.

I own Nokia 5800 Blue but i believe this phone was no from local malaysia but that ok... once i found out, i will update here...

i was plan to flash my phone with other CFW but i no sure hw to do it nor the way to flash it... I need ur help to suggest me which CFW that is the best to be use n how to flash it....

Pls help
Safest method for those who do not know anything about flashing is to get a data cable, install Nokia Suite to your PC and download the latest original firmware from Nokia. Many improvements over previous versions.

rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by PlanetX: Jun 27 2012, 02:28 PM
PlanetX
post Jun 27 2012, 08:44 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(kvnlim @ Jun 27 2012, 07:01 AM)
Ya i agree with u.. but my nokia 5800 will selected the FW that no related to me at all... n i need chinese language but it not included... i need help here.... i willing to learn to flash to other CFW...
Your chances are very slim. How are you going to get a modded FW with Chinese which is suitable for your FW region? Then if not suitable, do you know how to edit the firmware to include chinese? Different regions have different product codes. Asia pacific is RM356 but product code is different for each country.

If you know how to edit your product code to HK or Taiwan, then you can even download the original FW from Nokia with chinese.

I dont know Chinese so this is the best I can offer: Dial (*#0000#), Copy down your firmware version, Type RMxxxx, etc. Then go to any chinese forum about phones and ask them.

The other choice is to learn english which will be much easier than all the above.

rclxm9.gif

PlanetX
post Jul 18 2012, 06:37 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Jul 17 2012, 12:56 AM)
my 5800 call halfway got stuck..need plu out battery...

any idea how to solve this??
How to ascertain the fault:

1) Clean the battery terminals (use cotton buds) of the phone and plug in the charger and see if it is still stuck when calling. If not stuck, that means your battery is not supplying enough current under load. Change Battery.

2) If still stuck when charger is used, do a full reset and try calling without any external software installed (refer to my previous post here on how to do a full reset).

3) If still stuck after full reset, upgrade your firmware by using Nokia Suite by hooking up to your PC.

rclxm9.gif
PlanetX
post Jul 18 2012, 07:34 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Jul 18 2012, 07:04 PM)
kenot reset..a lot important smses inside sweat.gif
If you have a memory card installed, then can transfer the messages there:

Under Messaging: Options > Settings > Other > Find 'Memory in Use', Change it to E:Memory Card.

rclxm9.gif

Added on July 18, 2012, 7:58 pm
QUOTE(swissdec @ Jul 18 2012, 07:21 PM)
what is latest custom firmware nowadays....?
i still love my xm...cause i get it free smile.gif

n how to make our xm read pdf with free apps..?
any apps..?
methods.?

i just think the solution is to make is custom firmware..n hope it have already with adobe reader...
FM is V60

PDF Reader:

0.0199sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:21 PM