Nokia 5800 XpressMusic a.k.a "TUBE" v.31

PlanetX
post Jul 18 2012, 10:19 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Jul 18 2012, 10:00 PM)
can transfer all??
Check under 'Other', how many saved messages are alloted. Memory card is much bigger, you can even increase 10 times the amount stored. Increase as you wish, later on after transfering.

rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by PlanetX: Jul 18 2012, 10:20 PM
PlanetX
post Aug 15 2012, 05:58 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Aug 14 2012, 06:39 PM)
i want to use wifi but phone didnt ask to use which one... directly use 3G eventough i have wifi
Ok, if you prefer Wi-Fi, there is also no point whatsoever to use 3G for calls too.

Use GSM, which is at a lower frequency, less radiation emitted thus you brains and ears will last much longer.

How to disable 3G data internet:

1) Switch you phone to offline mode, then go under 'settings' > 'connectivity', then enter 'DESTINATIONS'.

2) Click on 'Internet'. Then use the options button to delete the access point of your mobile provider. Then, revert back from 'Offline mode' to 'General', in order to use your phone.

3) You can either remain using 3G for calls or if you wish to change to GSM, then under 'Connnectivity'. click 'Network' on top and under 'Network Mode', change to 'GSM'.

By performing steps (1) and (2), there will no longer be any more data internet using mobile provider.

rclxm9.gif

P.S. Afer you delete the access point of your phone provider, they will send you a few sms asking you to install back the access point.

Throw away the installation sms and after a few attempts, they will not pester you again.

This post has been edited by PlanetX: Aug 15 2012, 06:14 PM
PlanetX
post Aug 15 2012, 06:27 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Aug 15 2012, 06:16 PM)
haha, thank you. so smart la the phone know we delete the access point
Actually, you are very fortunate that this is a symbian phone which is not so smart.

If Andriods or iOs, they can even know the colour of your underwear if they wish to.....

tongue.gif
PlanetX
post Sep 5 2012, 09:41 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Sep 5 2012, 08:30 PM)
wats the point of being an underwear fetish in here ? LOL!
How you conclude with above is one of the reasons I try to avoid local forums. The level of comprehension and discernment are almost void.

What was stated by me was a metaphor to articulate the high level of intrusion into the privacy of users of so called 'modern technology'.

The warnings of Plato, more than 2,000 years ago is still valid in this age of cyberspace, when he said: "A wise man talks because he has something to say; a fool talks because he has to say something".

whistling.gif

PlanetX
post Sep 17 2012, 06:30 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Sep 17 2012, 03:09 PM)
is there a v60 CFW for nokia 5800 with chinese input? i searched and seems the latest is stuck at v40 which i cannot downgrade..

i can only think of flashing it with original firmware with chinese only sad.gif
Can be done but may cause migraine... laugh.gif

1) Upgrade to latest original v60.0.003 with the RM version required under (2)

2) Download Symbian Anna V7.5 from link appended.

3) Download the Guide to editing language pack from link appended

PlanetX
post Sep 17 2012, 09:37 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Sep 17 2012, 07:57 PM)
by migraine u mean difficult? sweat.gif
haizzz why has it to be so difficult..
Difficult but for those with some basic knowledge and time, this can also be considered 'easy'.

My suggestion:

1) Flash to the latest original FW with chinese.

2) When you have the time, then modify the CFW Symbian Anna V7.5 with the required language pack.

rclxm9.gif
PlanetX
post Sep 17 2012, 10:36 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Sep 17 2012, 10:10 PM)
well.. actually i just want it to have chinese language.. coz giving it to my father to use haha.. but good to have CFW though.. no need to sign apps haha..
Actually, you may also give your Dad a migraine. The Fonts and Icons of the CFW Symbian Anna are so compact and small, he may need a microscope to read.

Go for the original FW and install font router to use the Colibri bold fonts. Suitable for matured beings..

You don't need a CFW to install unsigned applications. Just use Rom Patcher.

rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by PlanetX: Sep 17 2012, 10:37 PM
PlanetX
post Sep 18 2012, 07:04 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Sep 18 2012, 09:46 AM)
oh ok! rom patcher! finding it now..

formatted to ori taiwan FW!  rclxm9.gif  but missed the old Apache CFW based on C6 that i installed on 5800 before this haha..
Link with clear instructions:

PlanetX
post Sep 18 2012, 08:57 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Sep 18 2012, 08:25 PM)
managed to hack it already.. using Norton AV instead of DrWeb rclxm9.gif
Forgot to mention, use Dr.Web instead of Norton. This useless Norton cannot be uninstalled completely, leaving residue all over the place.

Best hope is to use endclearv2 and try to clean the leftovers. Not sure if this will work, Norton has many dirty tricks.

You will need to install powerpython before installing end clear below:

PlanetX
post Sep 18 2012, 10:13 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Sep 18 2012, 09:04 PM)
ahh too late.. installed norton already.. well nvm, i dont think norton leftovers will drastically slow down the phone eh sweat.gif
The leftovers I am talking about are corporate spyware types. Silent connection when online....The google and facebook type of ultimate intrusion.

rclxm9.gif
PlanetX
post Sep 18 2012, 10:57 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Sep 18 2012, 10:16 PM)
oh crap!! damnn.. don't tell me i need to do hard reset.. but if i disable all kind of internet connection (WAP/GPRS etc) should be ok?
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=53874147

rclxm9.gif
PlanetX
post Oct 20 2012, 07:34 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(anzen600 @ Oct 20 2012, 06:03 PM)
Well, as for my problem it would be the GPS is moving real slow. It captures the movement of the car kinda slow compare to normal usage last time . This results I always went into wrong direction  rclxms.gif  .Anyone have any solution ?

Btw, as Xploit recommends, did you try to enable the GPS ?well ,paying 0.10 cents would be a quicker way to lock signal  biggrin.gif
The main issue here is lack of available free ram. The processor is quite small compared with recent models but the built in GPS is the most powerful of all even when compared with newer models.

If the processor CPU is slow, it relies more on the Ram to reconcile data during triangulation.

Use any program like JBak Taskman to check available ram or any such software. When you have the GPS running and the free available ram is less than 50 MB, do not expect fast results.

rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by PlanetX: Oct 20 2012, 07:39 PM
PlanetX
post Dec 2 2012, 08:58 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(ciwek90 @ Dec 2 2012, 12:32 PM)
Hello sifus. Need help here  icon_question.gif , my phone's screen suddenly being weird. Most of the time it will become like picture attached when unlocking it. Need to off and on and off and on like that. Then only it can show like normal if success. Does it mean LCD problem? How much cost to repair it? Thanks!  notworthy.gif

Sounds like it is your flex connector cable for the LCD is damaged. About RM30.

rclxm9.gif
PlanetX
post Jan 16 2013, 08:02 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(SpeechLess11 @ Jan 15 2013, 10:46 PM)
hi there, anyone facing the problem of 'unable to perform bluetooth operation' ???? i really giving me some hard time as i need to use my bluetooth!!!
If you have used the bluetooth before, then now cannot, do a hard reset. Check back my previous post here for the steps.

Easier not to pair with the other device, just click send on any data and send to the other device.

rclxm9.gif

PlanetX
post Feb 1 2013, 02:56 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker07 @ Feb 1 2013, 12:30 PM)
hello, how to recover all the missing messages which have been stored in memory card ? all the sms have been missing after few times phone restarted. Please help. TQ
Firstly, determine your storage drive is Memory Card (E). Under messaging, click options, then click others, check storage. If © phone memory, then change to E drive and restart. If still the same, do this:

Get a File Manager program like X-plore or JBtaskman, use their File manager and find E:\Private\1000484b\Mail2. Copy the whole folder to your PC and read the the individual messages in the subfolders in mail2 by using text viewer.

If you want to try and recover the messages in memory (E) to display in the phone, then delete the index file in Mail2, then copy the whole mail2 folder to C:\Private\1000484b\Mail2. Change your storage in phone to C:, Phone memory and restart.

If this works, then you can use the same procedure and delete the index file under mail2 in C: phone memory and copy back the whole mail2 folder in C: to Memory (E). Then change back the storage drive to Memory (E) and restart.

thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by PlanetX: Feb 1 2013, 03:05 PM
PlanetX
post Feb 1 2013, 10:24 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Feb 1 2013, 09:27 PM)
Never ever point ure contacts / sms'es to memory card smile.gif .. leave as it is to the phone memory .. if u need to do backup, use PC Suite and rip the messages to ure computer smile.gif
What is the rationale of not using the memory card as storage device for messages? There are more advantages for using the memory card in Symbian devices:

1) Limited phone storage capacity. Anything less than 50mb for 5800 will make it sluggish.

2) The filing system of the Phone drive and Memory Drive are identical. No advantage in any of these aspect.

3) System malfunction can occur regardless of drive used for storage.

4) To restore, only need to copy back the mail2 folder minus the index dat file to any of the other drive or back-up to the PC as outlined above in my previous post.

5) Just copy and paste the folder to the PC if back-up required. Using PC suite for this matter is a massive invasion of privacy. It is already bad enough that all the messages and calls are recorded by our Service Provider and by doing so, another company has all our details.

rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by PlanetX: Feb 1 2013, 10:27 PM
PlanetX
post Mar 18 2013, 10:27 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(konbawa @ Mar 17 2013, 10:13 PM)
pls help! my 5800 keeps on go online by data... how do i shut it"?
Try this simple method:

1) Confirm your ISP data connection is set to "WHEN NEEDED":- Menu > Settings and Connectivity > Admin. settings > Packet data

2) Download this program to prevent Data Connection and/or Wi-Fi. If you want to use Wi-Fi or Data Connection, just choose and enable it in the program menu.

PlanetX
post Mar 31 2013, 07:05 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(collin92 @ Mar 31 2013, 06:31 AM)
cry.gif
I've just bricked my 5800..
I try to flash CFW Belle,
But the homescreen didn't get like i suppose to get,
So i keep flashing 3-4x with diff settings,
Suddenly after 3 secsi hit button"Flash",
Mywindows crashed.

So after reboot, want to re-flash again,
Crashed at the same stage,

Even using JAF, and then try to use Phoenix, still same, windows crashed due to "Security Kernel error"

Somebody can help me?
sad.gif
The trouble with flashing is that most do follow safety precautions.

You problem is easy to resolve:

1) Your anti-virus is preventing the flashing

2) Hold down F8 when your computer starts and flash in safe mode

rclxm9.gif Donate RM1 or more to charity for money saved from repairs if sent to phone shop!

This post has been edited by PlanetX: Mar 31 2013, 07:13 AM
PlanetX
post Mar 31 2013, 06:03 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(collin92 @ Mar 31 2013, 02:10 PM)
1) I didnt use any antivirus.  whistling.gif
I've flashed countless CFW before, but this is my first time got trouble~ haha sad.gif

2) I'll try this, Thanks! Hopefully it will success~   biggrin.gif
1) You are a very lucky person until now. From your error report, this is a security kernel error. What is the meaning of security kernel? A kernel is a bridge layer between applications and operating systems. So your security kernel error is a security error response to the compatibility of your flash program with the operating system.

You dont need to install any antivirus program to get this type of errors because Microsoft by default have the Microsoft Security Center which also includes basic antivirus and firewall.

You have flashed countless times, tell me something. Is you PC system the same without any new installation of applications, upgrades or updates of any sorts until today? If the answer is no, then there is no point in stating that you have flashed countless of times.

2) Flashing under safe mode. This will 100% work if your flash program is compatible with the version of Windows that you are using now. By stating Windows version, I also mean that in the event an operating system have been updated with fixes, the Windows OS may not be compatible anymore.

Do not forget the donation! rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by PlanetX: Mar 31 2013, 06:24 PM
PlanetX
post Apr 3 2013, 03:27 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(collin92 @ Apr 2 2013, 10:54 PM)
1) err.. i also didn't install Microsoft Security Essential.  biggrin.gif
Your point about my countless time in flashing phone is valid, though~ But at least people know that I have a little bit of experienced in flashing  blush.gif

2) I can't run the flash program on safe mode~
I`m using Windows 8, so I must run J.A.F on compatibility mode~

My problem is solved!  rclxm9.gif  I flash with the OFW~  sweat.gif
Right now enjoying CFW Windows Phone-like~  laugh.gif

Btw thanks dude!
(sorry cant donate  tongue.gif )
Congrats to you. Actually, there is a very safe method of how to install any incompatible program in Win8 and run in whatever conditions without errors and prevent damage to your system if your system hangs in the normal mode. I should not be telling everything since there is no donation to charity. whistling.gif

Bear in mind that all Windows OS default installation comes with basic antivirus and firewall in the Internet Explorer package so is not the Microsoft Security Essential that may have caused security kernel errors. Microsoft Security Essential or The Microsoft Security Center are only the control layers depending on which OS you have but the critical security components are still present and cannot be uninstalled by a layman unless it is done by an expert in editing/modifying the registry.

thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by PlanetX: Apr 3 2013, 04:10 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0194sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:53 PM