Solution found., Thanks all for the info

TSPoodlepaddly
post May 8 2011, 06:35 PM

82 posts

I agree that diff people will offer diff suggestion. Guess I just have to place faith in my installer. This time, I know I have meet a good one.

Howie, see you this coming Friday. Cheers.

This post has been edited by Poodlepaddly: May 8 2011, 10:33 PM
Quazacolt
post May 8 2011, 08:06 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ May 8 2011, 04:31 PM)
Thanks bro Krayden and allblack for the advice. Will try to visit s few audio shop see if they have any ice to test. I hope to audit ice with ears, not just looking at product spec sheets. Which is something hard to find lately. Any ice kaki in kl who can let me audit their car this coming weekend? :3
KL? i thought you mentioned you're from kuantan/kelantan or something?
TSPoodlepaddly
post May 8 2011, 08:31 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 8 2011, 08:06 PM)
KL? i thought you mentioned you're from kuantan/kelantan or something?
You can guess that's how 'far' I went to learn ice.
krayden
post May 8 2011, 09:22 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(howiechoo @ May 8 2011, 05:27 PM)
there's ppl like to talk about brand, there's ppl like to talk about look, there's ppl like to talk about performance....how many ppl here used more than 5 different brand of comp set, amp and sub before and can differentiate them if it's not compare side by side? who's recommendation are more neutral? you ain't getting any good recommendation here. Human can't memorize sound.
Aiyah, just short of 1 set of comps to qualify. Ok la howie, I leave the reco to you. Best of luck.
carcrazy
post May 8 2011, 10:01 PM

189 posts

"My questions are: While SQ are for good vocal and soft tingling sound effects. And SPL is for heavy hard bass. But what about songs with eletronic guitar, eletronic piano, like in Benni Benassi? Those are not gentle vocal. Its not heavy thum thum bass. Its electro trance. Is there a thrid category other than HQ and SPL?"
quoted from 1st thread OP

frontstage comps
to achieve the following above, standard tuning done will be
1. amp gain settings
* i prefer NOT to scope, by ear much better sounding
2. set high pass for the front comps
* conventional seetings HP at 70Hz-90Hz
* some juz let it through, meaning NO HP at all so ur midbass keng!! but eventually mids will die easily, cause any 6.5" mid cant play dat low + its mounted in freeair!!
3. EQ settings on HU
* min tuning as EQ band is limited and NOT powerful enuf since its a digital proc
4. strong + sturdy MDF baffle with a modified custom-made umbrella at the back of mids to protect rain water
5. dampen door
6. tweak tweeter angle positioning

optional tweak:
1. reverse polarity on 1 side of the mid to achieve better staging
* but will lose midbass and body/weight of the music, meaning sacifice ur midbass + midrange density for the sake of imaging

note: all the above is conventional tuning method for most cars. but honestly after playing for so many years of ICE, the method above is NOT sufficient enuf to achieve the requirement above

this is juz my honest opinion, pls dun flame me

zaxco
post May 8 2011, 10:39 PM

QUOTE(carcrazy @ May 8 2011, 10:01 PM)
"My questions are: While SQ are for good vocal and soft tingling sound effects. And SPL is for heavy hard bass. But what about songs with eletronic guitar, eletronic piano, like in Benni Benassi? Those are not gentle vocal. Its not heavy thum thum bass. Its electro trance. Is there a thrid category other than HQ and SPL?"
quoted from 1st thread OP

frontstage comps
1. amp gain settings
* some juz let it through, meaning NO HP at all so ur midbass keng!! but eventually mids will die easily, cause any 6.5" mid cant play dat low + its mounted in freeair!!
3. EQ settings on HU
* min tuning as EQ band is limited and NOT powerful enuf since its a digital proc
4. strong + sturdy MDF baffle with a modified custom-made umbrella at the back of mids to protect rain water
5. dampen door

optional tweak:
* but will lose midbass and body/weight of the music, meaning sacifice ur midbass + midrange density for the sake of imaging
note: all the above is conventional tuning method for most cars. but honestly after playing for so many years of ICE, the method above is NOT sufficient enuf to achieve the requirement above

this is juz my honest opinion, pls dun flame me
TSPoodlepaddly
post May 8 2011, 10:44 PM

82 posts

No Carcrazy. Any suggestion is upmost welcomed. Already i new to ICE. If there is people who are willing to suggest and share, i am more than willing to listen. As my boss once told me, no question is a dumb question. That is how we improve from day 1.

This post has been edited by Poodlepaddly: May 8 2011, 10:45 PM
carcrazy
post May 9 2011, 11:04 AM

189 posts

others to consider, need to have PRAT- pace,rhythm and timing in the system
low output impedance power supply to any hardware is critical. filtering, providing decoupling between power supply and amplifier signal circuit to suppress unwanted transients and digital high freq noises.
extreme low inductance value needed for high freq output filtering.
impedance mismatch between all hardware. most audiophiles are paying 100% for their systems but are only hearing 70% of its full potential.
symptoms - loss of dynamics and texture. more obvious symptoms include a lack of attack in the music (not just bass, but every single note played), a lifeless and thin “digital sound” and a need to turn up the volume to achieve the same sound level.
inject flavor into the system to achieve natural tonality. pure audio/simplicity setup is not sufficient!

This post has been edited by carcrazy: May 9 2011, 11:28 AM
TSPoodlepaddly
post May 9 2011, 07:39 PM

82 posts

^ I am sorry, is that Spain? Or was it German?
carcrazy
post May 9 2011, 11:34 PM

189 posts

its easier for you to understand if you were to experience it in ur own car.. better still with before and after so u can do a AB comparison of ur own setup.
by understanding the statement above, one can pursue with a direction. so dats my job!! u can leave it to me.
i consider dat as a optimization stage any given setup, to further bring out the SQ or SQL

playing/setting/install with the following(but its mandatory) is NOT sufficient. cause many areas has yet to rectify
"frontstage comps
1. amp gain settings
3. EQ settings on HU
5. dampen door

optional tweak:
* but will lose midbass and body/weight of the music, meaning sacifice ur midbass + midrange density for the sake of imaging "

note: the above is still consider a plug-and-play game. u need to customized in order to excel further with existing hardware. dats the 'key' to audio nirvana!! not by playing the upgrading game(buy-sell-buy-sell) over and over again. end up juz going in circles!! dats why u alwiz see thread like " WTS: high-end system for sale, reason: quit ICE"
cant get the sound after so many times of upgrades and money spent

conclusion: there's is an end to car hifi upgrade. so like our sifu krayden said, " do it once, do it right then retired " and simply enjoy ur investment, the musicality system in ur ride.

hope it helps!!
happy icing

This post has been edited by carcrazy: May 10 2011, 12:55 AM

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0144sec    0.84    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:02 PM